DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Wang teaches wherein the determination of the further operation condition is done simultaneously with the first determination, the examiner disagrees. First, the examiner notes that the cited portion of Wang in the applicant’s arguments appears to differ from the translation provided by the examiner. It will be presumed that the excerpt is from a different yet equally valid translation. However, the examiner points out that Wang states “it can be understood that in the specific adjusting process, may occur to maintain proportional valve 18 opening is not changed, control stepless speed adjusting speed fan 14, or maintain the electrodeless speed-adjusting fan 14 speed control proportional valve 18 adjusts the opening, or simultaneously controlling the stepless speed adjusting speed fan 14, and control the proportional valve 18 adjusts opening degree” emphasis added. The appropriate fan speed may be determined and maintained, then the proportional valve may be controlled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 23-26, 28-31, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 106642711 A), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses a method for operating a gas heater for providing central heating and/or for providing domestic hot water (“The invention relates to the field of water heater” all citations from machine translation appended to foreign reference), the method comprising:
supplying a gas and a fuel gas into a mixing chamber of the gas heater and supplying a mixed gas from the mixing chamber to a burner of the gas heater (“the gas pipe 16 of the outlet end 34 and the stepless speed adjusting fan (14) connected with the pre-mixing chamber 36, 16 gas outflow from the gas pipeline is provided with the gas flow passage of the air energy after the pre-mixing chamber 36 to the burner 12”);
measuring a differential pressure per unit time and/or providing a sensor signal to a control unit for determining a gas quantity, defined by a volume per unit time or a mass per unit time, before the gas is supplied to the mixing chamber (“the first pressure sensor assembly 22 may have two, one pressure measuring port communicated with the first predetermined position by the first pipeline, and the other one pressure communicated through the second pipeline to the second predetermined position… According to fluid mechanics in the Bernoulli equation, according to the pressure difference between two points of the gas in the flow channel, it can calculate the flow rate of air”);
measuring the differential pressure per unit time and/or providing a sensor signal to a control unit for determining a fuel gas quantity, defined by a volume per unit time or a mass per unit time, before the fuel gas is supplied to the mixing chamber (“the second pressure sensor assembly 26 detects the fourth pipeline 56 to a fifth pressure signal, detecting the fifth pipeline 58 to sixth pressure signal and a second pressure signal from the second pressure sensor component 26 is output to the control unit of the fifth pressure difference of the sixth signal and pressure signal. According to fluid mechanics in the Bernoulli equation, The difference can determine the flow rate of the gas”); and
determining whether one operation condition of the gas heater is fulfilled based on the determined gas quantity wherein the operation condition comprises a check whether the determined gas quantity corresponds to a predetermined gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added) and
determining whether a further operation condition of the gas heater is fulfilled based on the determined fuel gas quantity wherein the further operation condition comprises a check whether the determined fuel gas quantity corresponds to a predetermined fuel gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added),
wherein the determination of the further operation condition is done when the operation condition is fulfilled (“it can be understood that in the specific adjusting process, may occur to maintain proportional valve 18 opening is not changed, control stepless speed adjusting speed fan 14, or maintain the electrodeless speed-adjusting fan 14 speed control proportional valve 18 adjusts the opening, or simultaneously controlling the stepless speed adjusting speed fan 14, and control the proportional valve 18 adjusts opening degree” emphasis added).
Regarding claim 23, Wang discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein:
a. an actuator for setting the gas quantity is controlled when the at least one operation condition is not fulfilled; and/or
b. the actuator for setting the gas quantity is controlled based on a check whether the determined gas quantity corresponds to a predetermined gas quantity; and/or
c. an actuator controls a fan speed for controlling the gas to be supplied to a chamber of the gas heater when the at least one operation condition is not fulfilled (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added).
Regarding claim 24, Wang discloses the method according to claim 23, wherein a control signal is sent to the actuator when the determined gas quantity does not correspond to the predetermined gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added).
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein:
a. a further actuator for setting the fuel gas quantity is controlled when a further operation condition is not fulfilled; and/or
b. the further actuator for setting the fuel gas quantity is controlled based on a check whether a fuel gas quantity profile corresponds to a predetermined ignition ramp; and/or
c. a further actuator controls a fuel gas valve when a further operation condition is not fulfilled (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added).
Regarding claim 26, Wang discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein:
a. it is determined whether another operation condition is fulfilled, wherein another operation condition comprises a check whether a flame signal is present; and/or
b. it is determined whether another operation condition is fulfilled when the determined fuel gas quantity corresponds to a predetermined fuel gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added).
Regarding claim 28, Wang discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein:
a. it is determined whether an additional operation condition is fulfilled wherein the additional operation condition comprises a check whether a measured temperature of a combustion chamber of the gas heater or a determined temperature increase in the combustion chamber is above a predetermined threshold; and/or
b. the gas quantity is determined after a fan has started to supply gas to the mixing chamber; and/or
c. the fuel gas quantity is determined after a fuel gas valve is opened; and/or
d. the fuel gas quantity is determined after the gas quantity is determined; and/or
e. the fuel gas quantity is determined when the determined gas quantity corresponds to a predetermined gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal”).
Regarding claim 29, Wang discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein:
a. it is checked whether a fan speed corresponds to a predetermined fan speed assigned to the determined gas quantity or lies in a predetermined fan speed range assigned to the determined gas quantity; and/or
b. it is checked whether an electric signal provided to a fuel gas valve corresponds to an electric signal assigned to a predetermined fuel gas quantity or lies in a predetermined electric signal range assigned to a predetermined fuel gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal”).
Regarding claim 30, Wang discloses the method according to claim 29, wherein:
a. a heating process or ignition process is executed when the fan speed corresponds to the predetermined fan speed assigned to the determined gas quantity or lies in the predetermined fan speed range assigned to the determined gas quantity and when the at least one operation condition is fulfilled; and/or
b. the heating process or ignition process is executed when the electric signal provided to a fuel gas valve corresponds to an electric signal assigned to the predetermined fuel gas quantity or lies in a predetermined electric signal range assigned to the predetermined fuel gas quantity and when the at least one condition is fulfilled (“the gas pipeline of the gas 16 the burner 12 in position for burning to produce heat energy, and double sensing combustion system 10 of heat exchanger can absorb heat energy for heating water flows”).
Regarding claim 31, Wang discloses a gas heater comprising:
a mixing chamber for mixing gas and fuel gas (“the gas pipe 16 of the outlet end 34 and the stepless speed adjusting fan (14) connected with the pre-mixing chamber 36”);
a burner that is arranged downstream from the mixing chamber and to which a mixed gas of the mixing chamber can be supplied (“burner 12”);
a control unit (“the control unit 20”);
a first sensor for measuring a differential pressure per unit time and/or for providing a sensor signal to the control unit for determining a gas quantity, defined by a volume per unit or a mass per unit time, of the gas to be supplied into the mixing chamber (“the first pressure sensor assembly 22 may have two, one pressure measuring port communicated with the first predetermined position by the first pipeline, and the other one pressure communicated through the second pipeline to the second predetermined position… According to fluid mechanics in the Bernoulli equation, according to the pressure difference between two points of the gas in the flow channel, it can calculate the flow rate of air”); and
a second sensor for measuring the differential pressure per unit time and/or for providing a sensor signal to the control unit for determining a fuel gas quantity, defined by a volume per unit time or a mass per unit time, of the fuel gas to be supplied into the mixing chamber (“the second pressure sensor assembly 26 detects the fourth pipeline 56 to a fifth pressure signal, detecting the fifth pipeline 58 to sixth pressure signal and a second pressure signal from the second pressure sensor component 26 is output to the control unit of the fifth pressure difference of the sixth signal and pressure signal. According to fluid mechanics in the Bernoulli equation, The difference can determine the flow rate of the gas”);
wherein the control unit is adapted to determine whether one operation condition of the gas heater is fulfilled based on the determined gas quantity wherein the operation condition comprises a check whether the determined gas quantity corresponds to a predetermined gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added); and
the control unit is adapted to determine whether one further operation condition of the gas heater is fulfilled based on the determined fuel gas quantity, wherein the further operation condition comprises a check whether the determined fuel gas quantity corresponds to a predetermined fuel gas quantity (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal” emphasis added); and
wherein the determination of the further operation condition is done when the operation condition is fulfilled (“it can be understood that in the specific adjusting process, may occur to maintain proportional valve 18 opening is not changed, control stepless speed adjusting speed fan 14, or maintain the electrodeless speed-adjusting fan 14 speed control proportional valve 18 adjusts the opening, or simultaneously controlling the stepless speed adjusting speed fan 14, and control the proportional valve 18 adjusts opening degree” emphasis added).
Regarding claim 36, Wang discloses the gas heater according to claim 31, wherein:
a. the gas heater comprises a temperature sensor for measuring a temperature in a combustion chamber and/or burner; and/or
b. the control unit is adapted to check whether a fan speed corresponds to a predetermined fan speed assigned to the determined gas quantity or lies in a predetermined fan speed range assigned to the determined gas quantity; and/or
c. the control unit is adapted to check whether an electric signal provided to a fuel gas valve corresponds to an electric signal assigned to a predetermined fuel gas quantity or lies in a predetermined electric signal range assigned to the predetermined fuel gas quantity; and/or
d. the gas heater is configured to use fuel gas which comprises at least 10 mol % hydrogen (“by storing the double sensing combustion system 10 of preset parameter pressure signal with the first target and second target pressure signal corresponding relation, so that after the double sensing combustion system 10 starts working, it can according to the currently set preset parameter and said corresponding relation, determining the first target pressure signal and the second target pressure signal. so the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan speed of 14 so that the first pressure signal tends to first target pressure signal; the control unit can control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18 so that the second pressure signal tending to second target pressure signal. Of course, the control unit 20 can control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 so that the first pressure signal is approaching to the first target pressure signal, so that the second pressure signal becomes the second target pressure signal”).
Regarding claim 40, Wang discloses a computer program product comprising instructions which, when executed by a control unit, cause the control unit to perform the method according to claim 21 (“control unit (20) is connected with stepless speed adjusting fan 14 and proportional valve 18 is electrically. control unit 20 can be controlled through controlling the stepless speed regulating current of the fan 14, to control stepless speed adjusting fan 14 speed. control unit 20 can be controlled by controlling current of proportional valve 18 to control the opening degree of the proportional valve 18. control unit 20 may comprise a microprocessor and a fan driving circuit connection with the microprocessor and the stepless speed regulation blower 14, and the proportional valve drive circuit is connected with the microprocessor and the proportional valve 18 connection”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Chen (CN 210601584 U), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 27, Wang discloses the method according to claim 26.
Wang does not disclose wherein a fuel gas valve is closed when:
a. it is determined that a fuel gas quantity profile does not correspond with a predetermined ignition ramp, and/or if
b. no flame signal is detected.
However, Chen discloses wherein a fuel gas valve is closed when:
a. it is determined that a fuel gas quantity profile does not correspond with a predetermined ignition ramp, and/or if
b. no flame signal is detected (“the control mechanism further comprises a coal gas cutting valve controller, which is used for according to the flame status signal, control the gas shut-off valve 10, to turn off or open the gas. Of course, when the control mechanism detects the pressure in the gas pipeline 8 is abnormal, it also can control the gas shut-off valve 10 through the gas shut-off valve controller to cut off the gas” all citations from machine translation appended to foreign reference).
In view of Chen’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein a fuel gas valve is closed when:
a. it is determined that a fuel gas quantity profile does not correspond with a predetermined ignition ramp, and/or if
b. no flame signal is detected as is taught in Chen, in the method disclosed by Wang because closing the fuel valve when no flame is present will reduce pollution and the risk of explosion by preventing the release and buildup of unburned fuel.
Regarding claim 39, Wang discloses the use of the gas heater according to claim 31.
Wang does not explicitly disclose use in hydrogen or hydrogen containing fuel gas heating applications or natural gas heating applications.
However, Chen teaches use in hydrogen or hydrogen containing fuel gas heating applications or natural gas heating applications (“The utility model embodiment of the scheme is applied widely, and can be applied to the combustion control of blast furnace gas, converter gas, SRV fusion furnace gas, coke oven gas, natural gas and other combustion medium”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose hydrogen containing fuel or natural gas. However, the court has held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). In this regard, it is noted that Chen teaches a variety of fuels including natural gas. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use natural gas in the burner of Wang.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Bowen (US 4572111 A), hereinafter Bowen.
Regarding claim 37, Wang discloses a boiler for heating a liquid, wherein the boiler comprises the gas heater according to claim 31, and a heat exchanger with a combustion chamber, wherein the burner of the gas heater is at least partly arranged within the combustion chamber (“heat exchanger 30”).
Wang does not disclose a condensing boiler.
However, Bowen teaches a condensing boiler (“The products of combustion leaving upstream flue zone 16a are subjected to further heat recovery by transfer to the water in the lower part of cylinder 10 as they pass through the downstream flue zone 16b including the condensing coil 20, in effect preheating the incoming cold water before it is acted on by jacket 21. The temperature of the combustion products is dropped almost to that of the water at the bottom of cylinder 10 by the time they are drawn from outlet 17. This drop in temperature causes the water vapour content of the flue gases and any additional water vapour carried therewith to condense so releasing latent heat which is transferred to the surrounding water. This latent heat may be as much as 12% of the calorific value of the fuel consumed and its recovery together with the additional cooling of the flue gases referred to above may increase total efficiency to the region of 90% or more” column 2, line 59).
In view of Bowen’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include condensing as is taught in Bowen, in the boiler disclosed by Wang because Bowen states that condensing will improve efficiency by extracting more of the caloric value of the fuel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hanson (US 4498863 A) “gas flow meter 38 supplies a gas flow measurement signal to microcomputer 32. Temperature sensor 42 and pressure sensor 44 supply temperature and pressure measurement signal indicative of the temperature and pressure of the gas flowing in line 12. These signals are used to correct the flow measurement signal supplied by flow meter 38. Air flow meter 40 supplies an air flow measurement signal to microcomputer 32” column 2, line 48
West (US 4645450 A) “Blower conduit 129 further includes a differential pressure sensor 137 for sensing the pressure of the air in the blower conduit 129 across the burner assembly 145. An upstream pressure conduit 139 pneumatically connects one side of the pressure sensor 137 with the blower conduit 129. A downstream pressure conduit 141 pneumatically connects the other side of the differential pressure sensor 137 with a burner pressure conduit 143 which is pneumatically coupled to the flame region of the burner assembly 145. The differential pressure sensor 137 is electrically connected to the input of the combustion interface controller 149 by means of an input cable 147” column 9, line 67 and “The fuel meter 155 may be any one of a number of commercially available fuel meters capable of generating an electric signal indicative of the flow rate of fuel passing through the fuel conduit 153. Downstream of the fuel meter 155 is a motor-operated butterfly valve 157 for controlling the flow of fuel into the burner assembly 145” column 10, line 19
Vegter (EP 0341323 A1) “The control device 15 receives from the flow sensor 14 a signal corresponding to the amount of air conveyed and changes the valve position of the control valve as a function thereof until the flow sensor 13 in the gas line 3 indicates that the amount of gas associated with the amount of air conveyed is supplied to the burner 1”
Verse (EP 0488969 A2)
Burnham (US 20070082304 A1)
Kemp (US 20120107753 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762