Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the RCE filed on 12/19/2025. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Information disclosure statement
The information disclosure statements filed 8/29/2025 and 10/22/2025 have been fully considered and there are no issues with the submissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210061199 A1 hereinafter Wynkoop in view of JP 2018203168 A hereinafter Matsuda.
Regarding claim 1 Wynkoop discloses a control system for a work machine comprising: (The control devices are configured to enable the operator to control machine 100 Paragraph [0015])
a computer including a processor that executes a processing according to a program, (ECU 204 may include storage media to store and/or retrieve data or other information, for example, signals from sensors. Storage devices, in some examples, are described as a computer-readable storage medium. In some examples, storage devices include a temporary memory, meaning that a principal purpose of one or more storage devices is not long-term storage. Storage devices are, in some examples, described as a volatile memory, meaning that storage devices do not maintain stored contents when the computer is turned off. Paragraph [0021]) wherein the computer is configured to:
perform authentication of an operator; (In some cases, ECU 204 can also authenticate the operator using the security credentials. Paragraph [0028])
store setting data associated with a plurality of operators; and (ECU 204 can authenticate these credentials by referencing a stored table, list, database, etcetera of authorized users of machine 100. Paragraph [0028], For example, ECU 204 and/or I/O device 206 can store a table, database or other collection of data, which associates each of a plurality of operator names with a set of one or more saved machine parameters. Paragraph [0029])
wherein the computer is configured to not receive the authentication and release of the authentication while outputting the control signal (In an example, ECU 204 is configured to, prior to setting the current parameters of machine 100 to the saved parameters of the operator, determine a current operating state of the machine. For example, ECU 204 may be configured to determine if machine 100 is in an idle state and, only set the current parameters to the operator's saved parameters if machine 100 is in the idle state. Paragraph [0034])
However, Wynkoop does not disclose in a case in which the operator is authenticated, output a control signal to drive a vehicle body of the work machine with power supplied by a power source, according to the setting data associated with a respective authenticated operator of the plurality of operators
Matsuda discloses in a case in which the operator is authenticated, output a control signal to drive a vehicle body of the work machine with power supplied by a power source, according to the setting data associated with a respective authenticated operator of the plurality of operators (Further, when the first authentication information is acquired, the authentication unit 23 performs authentication (authentication process) between the acquired first authentication information and the second authentication information stored in the second storage unit 21. If the first authentication information and the second authentication information are associated with each other, the authentication unit 23 determines that the authentication has been established, and permits driving of the first electric motor 8 and the second electric motor 9. In addition, when the first authentication information and the second authentication information are not associated with [Description])
Therefore, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system disclosed by Wynkoop to incorporate the use of stored authentication data as disclosed by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the control system of Wynkoop to incorporate stored user authentication data and settings as taught by Matsuda in the abstract.
Regarding claim 2 Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the system as recited in claim 1. However, Wynkoop does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to activate the power source of a work vehicle after the operator is authenticated.
Matsuda discloses the system further comprising an activation unit configured to activate the power source of a work vehicle after the operator is authenticated. (According to this, the prime mover 5 of the work machine 1 can be driven only when the power storage device 15 provided in the work machine 1 is associated with the first authentication information. On the other hand, when the power storage device 15 provided in the work machine 1 is not associated with the first authentication information, the prime mover 5 of the work machine 1 cannot be driven. (Description))
Therefore, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system method disclosed by Wynkoop to require user authentication before applying power to the machine as disclosed by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of a user authentication system in order to allow an operator to power the machine would allow the control system of Wynkoop to ensure that only properly authenticated individuals could access the machine as suggested by Matsuda in the abstract.
Regarding claim 3, Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the system as recited in claim 1. Wynkoop additionally discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive a change in the setting data associated with the respective operator by an operation of the respected authenticated operator while the power source is driven. (While the operator of machine 100 may benefit from the efficiency of ECU 204 automatically determining and setting the operator's saved machine parameters, there may also be instances in which the operator wishes to adjust or otherwise change one or more of the saved parameters. In such cases, as an example, ECU 204 can be configured to receive one or more signals indicating changes to the saved machine parameters of the operator in response to input on I/O device 206, and save the changes to the saved machine parameters associated with the operator name in the second data set of machine parameters stored on ECU 204 and/or I/O device Paragraph [0036])
Regarding claim 4, Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the system as recited in claim 1. However, Wynkoop does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped, and not display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is driven.
Matsuda discloses wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped, and not display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is driven. (When the authentication is established, the authentication unit 31 switches the first switching unit 31 from OFF to ON so that the power of the storage battery 15 a can be supplied to the inverter 16. On the other hand, when the authentication is not established, the authentication unit 31 keeps the first switching unit 31 OFF so that the power of the storage battery 15 a cannot be supplied to the inverter 16. (Description))
Therefore, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the authentication unit and display screen (an electronic display device, Abstract) of vehicle control system disclosed by Wynkoop to require the power being off during authentication as disclosed by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of an authentication system to require power to the system / display screen would allow the system of Wynkoop to ensure that only properly authenticated individuals could access the machine as suggested by Matsuda in the abstract.
Regarding claim 5, Wynkoop discloses a control method for a work machine comprising:
a step of performing authentication of an operator; (In some cases, ECU 204 can also authenticate the operator using the security credentials. Paragraph [0028])
a step of reading, setting data associated with a plurality of operators, the setting data associated with a respective authenticated operator of the plurality of operators; and (ECU 204 can authenticate these credentials by referencing a stored table, list, database, etcetera of authorized users of machine 100. Paragraph [0028], For example, ECU 204 and/or I/O device 206 can store a table, database or other collection of data, which associates each of a plurality of operator names with a set of one or more saved machine parameters. Paragraph [0029])
wherein authentication and release of the authentication are not received while outputting the control signal. (In an example, ECU 204 is configured to, prior to setting the current parameters of machine 100 to the saved parameters of the operator, determine a current operating state of the machine. For example, ECU 204 may be configured to determine if machine 100 is in an idle state and, only set the current parameters to the operator's saved parameters if machine 100 is in the idle state. Paragraph [0034])
However, Wynkoop does not disclose a step of in a case in which the operator is authenticated outputting a control signal to drive a vehicle body of the work machine with power supplied by a power source in accordance with the setting data for the respective authenticated operator.
Matsuda discloses a step of in a case in which the operator is authenticated outputting a control signal to drive a vehicle body of the work machine with power supplied by a power source in accordance with the setting data for the respective authenticated operator. (Further, when the first authentication information is acquired, the authentication unit 23 performs authentication (authentication process) between the acquired first authentication information and the second authentication information stored in the second storage unit 21. If the first authentication information and the second authentication information are associated with each other, the authentication unit 23 determines that the authentication has been established, and permits driving of the first electric motor 8 and the second electric motor 9. In addition, when the first authentication information and the second authentication information are not associated with [Description])
Therefore, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system disclosed by Wynkoop to incorporate the use of stored authentication data as disclosed by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the control system of Wynkoop to incorporate stored user authentication data and settings as taught by Matsuda in the abstract.
Regarding claim 6, Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the system as recited in claim 2. Wynkoop additionally discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a change in the setting data associated with the respective authenticated operator by an operation of the respective authenticated operator while the power source is driven. (While the operator of machine 100 may benefit from the efficiency of ECU 204 automatically determining and setting the operator's saved machine parameters, there may also be instances in which the operator wishes to adjust or otherwise change one or more of the saved parameters. In such cases, as an example, ECU 204 can be configured to receive one or more signals indicating changes to the saved machine parameters of the operator in response to input on I/O device 206, and save the changes to the saved machine parameters associated with the operator name in the second data set of machine parameters stored on ECU 204 and/or I/O device Paragraph [0036])
Regarding claim 7, Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the system as recited in claim 2. However, Wynkoop does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped, and not display a screen to perform he authentication when the power source is driven.
Matsuda discloses wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped, and not display a screen to perform he authentication when the power source is driven. (When the authentication is established, the authentication unit 31 switches the first switching unit 31 from OFF to ON so that the power of the storage battery 15 a can be supplied to the inverter 16. On the other hand, when the authentication is not established, the authentication unit 31 keeps the first switching unit 31 OFF so that the power of the storage battery 15 a cannot be supplied to the inverter 16. (Description))
Therefore, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the authentication unit and display screen (an electronic display device, Abstract) of vehicle control system disclosed by Wynkoop to require the power being off during authentication as disclosed by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of an authentication system to require power to the system / display screen would allow the system of Wynkoop to ensure that only properly authenticated individuals could access the machine as suggested by Matsuda in the abstract.
Regarding claim 8, Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the system as recited in claim 3. However, Wynkoop does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped and not display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is driven.
Matsuda discloses wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped and not display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is driven. (When the authentication is established, the authentication unit 31 switches the first switching unit 31 from OFF to ON so that the power of the storage battery 15 a can be supplied to the inverter 16. On the other hand, when the authentication is not established, the authentication unit 31 keeps the first switching unit 31 OFF so that the power of the storage battery 15 a cannot be supplied to the inverter 16. (Description))
Therefore, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the authentication unit and display screen (an electronic display device, Abstract) of vehicle control system disclosed by Wynkoop to require the power being off during authentication as disclosed by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of an authentication system to require power to the system / display screen would allow the system of Wynkoop to ensure that only properly authenticated individuals could access the machine as suggested by Matsuda in the abstract.
Regarding claim 9 Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the system as recited in claim 6. However, Wynkoop does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped, and not display a screen to perform authentication when the power source is driven.
Matsuda discloses wherein the processor is configured to display a screen to perform the authentication when the power source is stopped, and not display a screen to perform authentication when the power source is driven. (When the authentication is established, the authentication unit 31 switches the first switching unit 31 from OFF to ON so that the power of the storage battery 15 a can be supplied to the inverter 16. On the other hand, when the authentication is not established, the authentication unit 31 keeps the first switching unit 31 OFF so that the power of the storage battery 15 a cannot be supplied to the inverter 16. (Description))
Therefore, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the authentication unit and display screen (an electronic display device, Abstract) of vehicle control system disclosed by Wynkoop to require the power being off during authentication as disclosed by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of an authentication system to require power to the system / display screen would allow the system of Wynkoop to ensure that only properly authenticated individuals could access the machine as suggested by Matsuda in the abstract.
Regarding claim 10, Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the work machine as recited in claim 1. Wynkoop additionally discloses wherein the setting data includes individual vehicle driving or operating preferences for the respective authenticated operator. (ECU 204 can authenticate these credentials by referencing a stored table, list, database, etcetera of authorized users of machine 100. Paragraph [0028], For example, ECU 204 and/or I/O device 206 can store a table, database or other collection of data, which associates each of a plurality of operator names with a set of one or more saved machine parameters. Paragraph [0029])
Regarding claim 11, Wynkoop and Matsuda disclose the control method according to claim 5. Wynkoop additionally discloses wherein the setting data includes individual vehicle driving or operating preferences for the respective authenticated operator. (ECU 204 can authenticate these credentials by referencing a stored table, list, database, etcetera of authorized users of machine 100. Paragraph [0028], For example, ECU 204 and/or I/O device 206 can store a table, database or other collection of data, which associates each of a plurality of operator names with a set of one or more saved machine parameters. Paragraph [0029])
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicants’ argument “Neither Wynkoop nor Matsuda discloses or suggests the above features of claims 1 and 5 as amended, not has the Examiner alleged this to be the case. The rejection alleges that it would have been prima facia obvious to modify the control system disclosed by Wynkoop to incorporate the use of stored authentication data as disclosed by Matsuda. (Office Action, pp. 3-4). Wynkoop describes in paragraph [0034] that ECU 204 is configured to only set the current parameters to the operator's saved parameters if machine 100 is in the idle state and postpone setting the current machine parameters to the saved machine parameters when it is determined that machine 100 is not in an idle state.
However, the above description in paragraph [0034] of Wynkoop merely refers to the
"parameter change," which is different from the "identification of the operator" and is only made after the operator has already been identified. Therefore, it is the "identification of the operator" disclosed by Wynkoop that would need to be combined with Matsuda to arrive at the claimed invention. But there is no suggestion or motivation to combine the "parameter change" by Wynkoop with Matsuda since Matsuda only discloses authenticating a battery, and not an operator.
Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted that claims 1 and 5 are allowable over the cited references. The above rejected dependent claims depend from one of the allowable independent claims, include all recitations thereof, and are therefore allowable over the cited references for at least the reasons presented above. Withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.” Filed 12/19/2025 has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended claims 1 and 5 are patentable because the cited references allegedly require the work machine to be in an idle state in order to perform authentication, and that is condition is different from the claimed limitation that authentication occurs when the power source is stopped and is not received while the power source is driven. However, Wynkoop discloses performing authentication of an operator using stored credentials prior to evaluating a current operating state of the machine. Wynkoop teaches that application of stored operator specific parameters is postponed unless the machine is determined to be in an idle state. In this system, authentication necessarily occurs before determining whether the parameter changes may be applied, and the ECU remains powered to perform authentication and operating state determination. Paragraph [0062] of applicant’s specification further confirms that authentication is performed while system components are powered and operational, as authentication is required to permit driving of the work machine demonstrating that an idle condition does not correspond to lack of power. Additionally, Matsuda discloses outputting a control signal to drive a vehicle body with power supplied by a power source in accordance with setting data associated with an authenticated operator. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Wynkoop and Matsuda to incorporate stored operation authentication data and associated settings into the control system of Wynkoop.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA JEFFREY PENKO/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667