DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 and 11 are pending
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: pouring channel “2” in paragraph 0026, line 7 of the instant specification.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “14”, “5”, “H”, and “4” in Figure 3.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, “half-cell at least” should read “half-cell, at least”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the anode chamber" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of an “anode chamber” in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cathode chamber" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of a “cathode chamber” in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the inlet and outlet" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “for each half-cell at least one inlet and one outlet” is previously introduced in line 7 of claim 1. It is therefore unclear which individual “inlet” and “outlet” is being referred to in claim 5.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the cathodic rear wall" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of a “cathodic rear wall” in the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the anodic rear wall" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of an “anodic rear wall” in the claims
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the at least two vacuum-stiffened electrolytic cells" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Though the limitation of “at least two electrolytic cells” is previously introduced in line 2 of the claim, there is no previous mention of the electrolytic cells being “vacuum-stiffened”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the cathodic rear wall" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of a “cathodic rear wall” in the claims.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the anodic rear wall" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of an “anodic rear wall” in the claims
Any claims dependent on the above claim(s) are rejected for their dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bender et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,309,264) in view of Yano et al. (JP 2006004754 A, citations based on translation).
Regarding claim 1, Bender teaches an electrolytic cell (see e.g. Fig. 1, electrolytic cell 4; Col. 3, lines 37-38) comprising
(i) two metallic half-cells which form an anode chamber and a cathode chamber (see e.g. Fig. 1, hemispherical shells 9 and 11 of anode and cathode sides made of metals; Col. 2, lines 19-26, and Col. 3, lines 44-45),
(ii) an anode and a cathode arranged in the anode chamber and cathode chamber, respectively (see e.g. Fig. 1, anode 12 and cathode 16 fastened to respective shells 9 and 11; Col. 3, lines 48-50),
(iii) a separator membrane which separates the two electrodes from one another (see e.g. Fig. 1, separating membrane 14; Col. 1, lines 50-51, Col. 2, lines 34-36, and Col. 3, lines 41-42),
(iv) for each half-cell, one inlet and one outlet for reactant and product (see e.g. Fig. 1, ducts 21 for respective feed and discharge of starting materials and products in both anolyte and catholyte; Col. 1, lines 52-54, and Col. 3, lines 61-64), and
(v) spacers which position the two electrodes in their respective electrode chambers (see e.g. Fig. 1, spacers 17 and 18 fastening electrodes to shells; Col. 1, lines 59-62, and Col. 3, lines 60-61),
wherein the two half-cells are connected over their perimeter but electrically insulated (see e.g. Fig. 1, perimeter rims of shells 9 and 11 slid into electrically insulated flanges 1 and 2 with sealing rings 13 and 15 therebetween; Col. 3, lines 42-48).
Bender does not explicitly teach the two half-cells having a wall thickness of from 0.05 to 0.15 mm.
Yano teaches a fuel cell (see e.g. Paragraph 0001) comprising metal plates enclosing the anode and cathode sides of the cell, i.e. half-cells (see e.g. Figs. 1-4, anode-side metal plate 4 and cathode-side metal plate 5; Paragraph 0027, lines 1-2), the metal plates preferably having a thickness of 0.1 to 1 mm in consideration of strength, elongation, weight, modulus of elasticity and handling properties (see e.g. Paragraph 0031, lines 3-5), overlapping the claimed range of the present invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the half-cells of Bender to have a wall thickness of 0.1 to 1 mm as taught by Yano as a preferable metal half-cell wall thickness for an electrochemical cell in consideration of strength, elongation, weight, modulus of elasticity and handling properties. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Regarding claim 2, modified Bender teaches the half-cells being comprised of nickel or titanium (see e.g. Bender Col. 2, lines 3-5 and 19-29, cathode side shell made of same material as cathode, such as nickel, and anode side shell made of titanium).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bender teaches the two metallic half-cells being connected over their perimeter by a material (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, sealing rings 13 and 15 between rims of shells 9 and 11; Col. 3, lines 44-48). Modified Bender does not explicitly teach the material being an electrically insulating plastics material, but does teach the material sealing against the separator (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, sealing rings 13 and 15 sealing against membrane 14; Col. 3, lines 47-48).
Yano further teaches an electrically insulating material such as a thermoplastic elastomer being interposed between the outer edges of the metal plates in which a solid polymer electrolyte is sandwiched, thus preventing gas and other substances from flowing from one electrode to the other and preventing short circuits therebetween (see e.g. Yano Figs. 2 and 4, insulating material 6 between metal plates 4 and 5 sandwiching electrolyte 1; Paragraph 0012, lines 11-13, and Paragraphs 0041-0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting material of modified Bender to be an electrically insulating material such as a thermoplastic elastomer as taught by Yano as a suitable material for sealing the edges of metal half-cells and a separator of an electrochemical cell such that gas and other substances are prevented from flowing from one electrode to the other and short circuits are prevented between the metal half-cells. MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Regarding claim 11, modified Bender teaches a method of producing electrolysis stacks, the method comprising combining two or more electrolytic cells as claimed in claim 1 (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, plurality, i.e. two or more, electrolytic cells 4 forming electrolysis apparatus; Col. 2, line 67-Col. 3, line 1, and Col. 3, lines 37-38).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bender in view of Yano, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oldani et al. (EP 1451389 B1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Bender teaches all the elements of the electrolytic cell of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Bender does not teach the spacers being resilient elements, but does teach them being used to supply current and ensure electrical contact (see e.g. Bender Col. 3, lines 55-57, and Col. 4, lines 18-20).
Oldani teaches a membrane-divided electrochemical cell enclosed by metal plates (see e.g. Fig. 1, electrochemical cell 1; Paragraph 0011, lines 1-5), wherein electrical contact transmission between the plates and adjacent electrodes is preferably effected by a compressible resilient current collector (see e.g. Fig. 1, resilient current collectors 6 adjacent electrode 4; Paragraph 0011, lines 23-28), the resilient collector providing improved efficiency of electrical current transmission by increasing contact pressure and compensating for deviations from planarity and dimensional variations (see e.g. Paragraph 0003, lines 1-3 and 9-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacers of modified Bender to comprise compressible resilient current collectors as taught by Oldani to improve the efficiency of their electrical current transmission by increasing contact pressure and compensating for deviations from planarity and dimensional variations.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bender in view of Yano, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eng et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,378,286); evidenced by Walsh (“34 - The Plastic Piping Industry in North America” in Applied Plastics Engineering Handbook, William Andrew Publishing, 2011).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bender teaches all the elements of the electrolytic cell of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Bender further teaches the inlet and outlet being spouts (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, ducts 21; Col. 3, lines 61-64), but does not teach them being welded-in and made of injection-moldable plastics material.
Modified Bender does not explicitly teach the spouts being welded in, but does teach both the spouts being attached to a peripheral flange of the cell (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, ducts 21 in flanges 1 and 2; Col. 3, lines 61-64).
Eng teaches an electrolytic cell (see e.g. Abstract) on which liquid-tight welded joints are formed between a frame of the cell and inlet and/or outlet tubes to prevent any leakage therebetween (see e.g. Col. 5, lines 10-13), and further teaches tubes of the cell being made of electrolyte resistant materials such as polytetrafluoroethylene, chlorinated PVC or polypropylene (see e.g. Col. 5, lines 52-57, Col. 6, line 67-Col. 7, line 11, and Col. 7, lines 19-23), which are all thermoplastics that can be injection molded, as evidenced by Walsh (see e.g. Walsh Page 585 and Page 592, Col. 2, bottom paragraph, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spouts of modified Bender to be welded-in as taught by Eng to prevent any leakage between the spouts and the flanges of the cell to which they are attached, and to be made of an injection-moldable plastic such as polytetrafluoroethylene, chlorinated PVC or polypropylene as further taught by Eng as suitable electrolyte resistant materials for use in tubes of an electrolytic cell. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results. Further, MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bender in view of Yano, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Messner (U.S. Patent No. 3,755,105).
Regarding claim 6, modified Bender teaches all the elements of the electrolytic cell of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Bender does not teach the electrolytic cell being vacuum-stiffened.
Messner teaches electrolysis cells (see e.g. Abstract) in which a vacuum is applied between adjacent components of the cell such as anode back plates and cathode bottom plates of the cell to hold them against each other in electrical contact, thereby stiffening them (see e.g. Figs. 3-4, anode back plate 47 held against cathode bottom plate 42d; Col. 5, lines 54-59, and Col. 6, lines 44-52), this vacuum allowing optimum electrical contact to be maintained while permitting the two components to move with respect to one another to compensate for differences in thermal expansion, bending and/or rupture of contact (see e.g. Col. 2, lines 25-30 and 43-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolytic cell of modified Bender to have a vacuum applied between adjacent components of the cell such as outer anode/cathode plates to hold them against each other in electrical contact, thereby stiffening the cell, as taught by Messner to allow optimum electrical contact to be maintained while permitting the two components to move with respect to one another to compensate for differences in thermal expansion, bending and/or rupture of contact.
Regarding claim 7, modified Bender teaches an electrolysis stack (see e.g. Bender Abstract, electrolysis apparatus) comprising
(i) at least two electrolytic cells as claimed in claim 1 (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, plurality, i.e. two or more, electrolytic cells 4 forming electrolysis apparatus; Col. 2, line 67-Col. 3, line 1, and Col. 3, lines 37-38),
(ii) two pressure plates (see e.g. Bender Figs. 1 and 2a-2b, pressure compensation plates 7; Col. 3, lines 65-67), and
(iii) two tension rods (see e.g. Bender Figs. 2a-2b, tie rods 8; Col. 3, lines 65-68),
wherein
(a) the two pressure plates are opposite one another and are spaced apart rigidly by the two tension rods (see e.g. Bender Figs. 2a-2b, plates 7 drawn together by tie rods 8; Col. 4, lines 5-8);
(b) the at least two electrolytic cells are arranged or stacked relative to one another between the two pressure plates such that in each case the cathodic rear wall of the first electrolytic cell is in contact with the anodic rear wall of the following electrolytic cell (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, electrolytic cells 4 connected in series between plates 7 with the cathode side shell 11 of one cell in contact with the anode side shell 9 of an adjacent cell; Col. 2, line 67-Col. 3, line 4, and Col. 3, lines 48-52 and 65-67); and
(c) the pressure plates are spaced apart from one another such that, together with the at least two electrolytic cells, there is a fixed association (see e.g. Bender Figs. 1 and 2a, the individual electrolytic cells 4 are pressed together, i.e. fixed, by the pressure compensating plates 7 and tie rods 8; Col. 3, lines 65-68, and Col. 4, lines 16-19).
Modified Bender does not teach the at least two electrolytic cells being vacuum-stiffened.
Messner teaches electrolysis cells (see e.g. Abstract) in which a vacuum is applied between adjacent components of the cell such as anode back plates and cathode bottom plates of the cell to hold them against each other in electrical contact, thereby stiffening them (see e.g. Figs. 3-4, anode back plate 47 held against cathode bottom plate 42d; Col. 5, lines 54-59, and Col. 6, lines 44-52), this vacuum allowing optimum electrical contact to be maintained while permitting the two components to move with respect to one another to compensate for differences in thermal expansion, bending and/or rupture of contact (see e.g. Col. 2, lines 25-30 and 43-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolytic cells of modified Bender to have a vacuum applied between adjacent components of the cell such as outer anode/cathode plates to hold them against each other in electrical contact, thereby stiffening the cells, as taught by Messner to allow optimum electrical contact to be maintained while permitting the two components to move with respect to one another to compensate for differences in thermal expansion, bending and/or rupture of contact.
Regarding claim 8, modified Bender teaches the electrolysis stack containing 3 electrolytic cells (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, three individual electrolytic cells 4 exemplified; Col. 3, lines 37-38).
Regarding claim 9, modified Bender teaches a method for producing an electrolysis stack (see e.g. Bender Abstract, construction of electrolysis apparatus), comprising the following steps:
(i) providing at least two electrolytic cells as claimed in claim 1 (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, plurality, i.e. two or more, electrolytic cells 4 forming electrolysis apparatus; Col. 2, line 67-Col. 3, line 1, and Col. 3, lines 37-38),
(ii) providing two pressure plates (see e.g. Bender Figs. 1 and 2a-2b, pressure compensation plates 7; Col. 3, lines 65-67), and
(iii) providing two tension rods (see e.g. Bender Figs. 2a-2b, tie rods 8; Col. 3, lines 65-68),
wherein
(b) the electrolytic cells are connected electrically in series in that they are arranged or stacked relative to one another such that in each case the cathodic rear wall of the first electrolytic cell is in contact with the anodic rear wall of the following electrolytic cell (see e.g. Bender Fig. 1, electrolytic cells 4 connected in series between plates 7 with the cathode side shell 11 of one cell in contact with the anode side shell 9 of an adjacent cell; Col. 2, line 67-Col. 3, line 4, and Col. 3, lines 48-52 and 65-67); and
(c) the electrolytic cells so connected in series according to step (b) are arranged between the two pressure plates by means of the two tension rods such that a fixed association is produced (see e.g. Bender Figs. 1 and 2a, the individual electrolytic cells 4 are pressed together, i.e. fixed, by the pressure compensating plates 7 and tie rods 8; Col. 3, lines 65-68, and Col. 4, lines 16-19).
Modified Bender does not teach (a) the at least two electrolytic cells being vacuum-stiffened by application of a low pressure and (d) the vacuum on the electrolytic cells in the fixed association being released again.
Messner teaches electrolysis cells (see e.g. Abstract) in which a small/low pressure vacuum is applied between adjacent components of the cell such as anode back plates and cathode bottom plates of the cell to hold them against each other in electrical contact, thereby stiffening them (see e.g. Figs. 3-4, anode back plate 47 held against cathode bottom plate 42d with small vacuum; Col. 5, lines 54-59, Col. 6, lines 44-52, and Col. 10, lines 28-42), this vacuum allowing optimum electrical contact to be maintained while permitting the two components to move with respect to one another to compensate for differences in thermal expansion, bending and/or rupture of contact (see e.g. Col. 2, lines 25-30 and 43-49), wherein the vacuum may later be readily broken for easy disassembly and reassembly (see e.g. Col. 2, lines 7-10 and 16-19, and Col. 9, lines 43-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolytic cell of modified Bender to have a small/low pressure vacuum applied between adjacent components of the cell such as outer anode/cathode plates to hold them against each other in electrical contact, thereby stiffening the cell, with the vacuum later readily broken as taught by Messner to allow optimum electrical contact to be maintained while permitting the two components to move with respect to one another to compensate for differences in thermal expansion, bending and/or rupture of contact and provide easy disassembly and reassembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Specht (U.S. Patent No. 4,078,987) discloses a method for facilitating electrode installation during assembly of an electrolytic cell by using a vacuum to compress an expandable electrode component while it is inserted between two other electrodes, followed by eliminating the vacuum.
/MOFOLUWASO S JEBUTU/Examiner, Art Unit 1795