DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Maxwell fails to disclose or suggest the specific cohesive strength or volume ratios claimed in the application, and that Maxwell lacks the recognition that these parameters can improve rupture stability. Examiner maintains that while Maxwell does not disclose specific cohesive strength or volume ratios, Maxwell does disclose gels with different cohesive strengths and the relative structure. Further, Youn teaches increasing the viscosity and degree of cross-linking to strengthen the cohesive gel as needed to prevent wrinkling and Becker teaches the claimed volume ratios. Therefore, to modify Maxwell as claimed would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (see rejection below for details).
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5, 9, 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees that Williams discloses a mechanical “load” rather than a “cohesive strength” of the gel. Examiner also acknowledges that estimating the volume ratio of 50% from Figure 4 of Maxwell was improper. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Maxwell (2007/0135916), Youn (2022/0409354), Becker (2017/0348089), and Mojaradi (2013/0325119).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell (2007/0135916) in view of Youn (2022/0409354) and Becker (2022/0409354)).
Regarding claim 1, Maxwell discloses a breast implant (FIG 3 or 4) comprising: a filler including two or more types of silicone gels having different cohesive strengths (FIG 3 or 4 and [0027] or [0028], wherein the illustrated gel filler having varying cohesiveness is considered two or more “types” of gels as claimed); and a silicone shell surrounding the filler ([0023] and [0027] or [0028], FIG 3 or 4); wherein an inside of the silicone shell is divided into a side portion and a middle portion (FIG 3, where the side portion is the posterior portion and the middle portion is the anterior portion [0027]), and two types of silicone gels having different cohesive strengths are disposed in the side portion and the middle portion, respectively ([0027]), wherein the silicone gel disposed in the side portion has higher cohesive strength than the silicone gel disposed in the middle portion (FIG 3, [0027]), but fails to disclose wherein the silicone gel disposed in the side portion has a cohesive strength of specifically 23 to 40 N, and wherein the side portion occupies 20 to 50 vol% based on a total volume of the inside of the silicone shell.
Youn discloses a silicone breast implant filled with a cohesive gel and a method of increasing viscosity and cross-linking to strengthen the cohesive gel ([0012]). Youn teaches that as the degree of cross-linking of the silicone gel disposed in the side portion is increased, it becomes hard and thick ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the degree of cohesiveness in the side portion of Maxwell’s breast implant by increasing the viscosity and degree of cross-linking to strengthen the cohesive gel as needed, as taught by Youn, in order to prevent wrinkling ([0012], [0127], FIG 18). Further, there is no evidence of record that establishes that a gel cohesiveness of 23-40N would result in a difference in the function of Youn’s silicone breast implant. A person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying Youn’s silicone breast implant, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the device would function as intended being given the claimed gel cohesivity. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the cohesiveness “may” be within the claimed range, and offering other acceptable ranges (10-40N, specification at pg 8, lines 10-15) and therefore there appears to be no criticality places on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Maxwell as modified by Youn fails to disclose wherein the side portion occupies 20 to 50 vol% based on a total volume of the inside of the silicone shell. Becker teaches a breast implant wherein the side potion (124) occupies 25 to 75 vol% based on the total volume of the inside of the silicon shell ([0038], “the volume of the inner shell 124 may be between 25 and 75 % of the volume of the outer shell 102”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maxwell in view of Becker to include that the side portion occupies 25 and 75 vol% based on the total volume of the inside of the silicon shell, as taught by Becker, in order to have adjustable volume and sizing of the implant ([0039]). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side portion occupation from between 25 and 75 vol% to between 20 to 50 vol% as claimed since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pgs. 3 and 8 of the instant specification indicating the side portion “may” occupy the claimed range).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell (2007/0135916) in view of Youn (2022/0409354) and Mojaradi (2013/0325119).
Regarding claim 7, Maxwell discloses a breast implant (FIG 3 or 4) comprising: a filler including two or more types of silicone gels having different cohesive strengths (FIG 3 or 4 and [0027] or [0028], wherein the illustrated gel filler having varying cohesiveness is considered two or more “types” of gels as claimed); and a silicone shell surrounding the filler ([0023] and [0027] or [0028], FIG 3 or 4); wherein the inside of the silicone shell is divided into an upper portion and a lower portion (FIG 4), and two types of silicone gels having different cohesive strengths are disposed in the upper portion and the lower portion, respectively (FIG 4, [0028]); wherein the silicone gel disposed in the lower portion has higher cohesive strength than the silicone gel disposed in the upper portion (FIG 4, [0028]), but fails to disclose wherein the silicone gel disposed in the lower portion has a cohesive strength of 23 to 40 N, and wherein the lower portion occupies 20 to 50 vol% based on a total volume of the inside of the silicone shell.
Youn discloses a silicone breast implant filled with a cohesive gel and a method of increasing viscosity and cross-linking to strengthen the cohesive gel ([0012]). Youn teaches that as the degree of cross-linking of the silicone gel disposed in the side portion is increased, it becomes hard and thick ([0012]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the degree of cohesiveness in the lower portion of Maxwell’s breast implant by increasing the viscosity and degree of cross-linking to strengthen the cohesive gel as needed, as taught by Youn, in order to prevent wrinkling ([0012], [0127], FIG 18). Further, there is no evidence of record that establishes that a gel cohesiveness of 23-40N would result in a difference in the function of Youn’s silicone breast implant. A person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying Youn’s silicone breast implant, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the device would function as intended being given the claimed gel cohesivity. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the cohesiveness “may” be within the claimed range, and offering other acceptable ranges (10-40N, specification at pg 8, lines 10-15) and therefore there appears to be no criticality places on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Maxwell as modified by Youn fails to disclose wherein the lower portion occupies 20 to 50 vol% based on a total volume of the inside of the silicone shell. Mojaradi discloses a breast implant (FIG 2) filled with gels of different levels of cohesiveness ([0019]). Mojaradi teaches that lower portion occupies an equal volume to the upper cavity, 50% ([0005], the prosthetic cavity is split into two equal upper and lower volumes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maxwell in view of Mojaradi to include that the lower portion occupies 20 and 50 vol% based on the total volume of the inside of the silicon shell, as taught by Mojaradi, in order to have different compartments with the required cohesiveness ([0030]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774