Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 105-109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 105 recites the limitation "a first superconducting wiring layer" and "a third superconducting wiring layer in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears these recitations should refer back to the first and third wiring layers and should have a “the” instead of “a” preceding the subject.
Claim 105 recites the limitation "a second superconducting wiring layer" and "a fourth superconducting wiring layer in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears recitations should refer back to the second and fourth wiring layers and should have a “the” instead of “a” preceding the subject.
Claim 108 recites the limitation "a first superconducting wiring layer" and "a third superconducting wiring layer in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears these recitations should refer back to the first and third wiring layers and should have a “the” instead of “a” preceding the subject.
Claim 108 recites the limitation "a second superconducting wiring layer" and "a fourth superconducting wiring layer in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears recitations should refer back to the second and fourth wiring layers and should have a “the” instead of “a” preceding the subject.
Claim 109 recites the limitation "a first superconducting wiring layer" and "a third superconducting wiring layer in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears these recitations should refer back to the first and third wiring layers and should have a “the” instead of “a” preceding the subject.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 88-92, 99-101, 103-104 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (US 2020/0012961).
Regarding claims 88-90; 99; Kelly teaches a method of forming a superconducting integrated circuit (abstract, para. 0001) the method comprising depositing a first superconducting wiring layer comprising a first high kinetic inductance material (606; the superconductor is niobium or aluminum, meets broad the limitation of high kinetic inductance material; para. 0059, 0074), depositing a second superconducting wiring layer such that the second layer is positioned to couple with the first layer and create a control circuit (608, superconductor layers coupled to one another through a via; forming control elements; para. 0076), depositing a third superconducting layer overlaying the first and second superconducting wiring layer, the third layer comprising a second high kinetic inductance material (610; the superconductor is niobium or aluminum, meets broad the limitation of high kinetic inductance material; para. 0059, 0074), a fourth superconducting layer positioned to be communicatively coupled with the third layer to form a control circuit (628; form control elements; para. 0059,0074, 0076), forming a controllable device in an additional layer such that the least one of the first and second circuit is communicatively coupled to the controllable device (604; qubit control element; para. 0074). Additionally, Kelly teaches a substrate (602) on which the superconductor layers are deposited (para. 0074).
While Kelly does not teach that the first and third materials are different, Kelly teaches that the superconducting layers comprise at least one of aluminum, niobium-titanium and is not particularly limited with regard to the superconductor (para. 0068). Therefore, it would have been obvious to select two different superconductor materials for the first and third layer.
Regarding claims 91-92, Kelly teaches that the superconductor layers are separated from each other by a dielectric material (shielding layer; para. 0074).
Regarding claims 100-101; it would have been obvious to provide duplication of parts (fifth and sixth wiring similar to the first and second; multiple controllable devices) as duplication of parts is obvious. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
Regarding claims 103-104, Kelly teaches superconducting vias between the first and second control circuit and the first control circuit and the controllable device (meets limitation of galvanic coupling; fig. 6, #620, 622, 625, 626; para. 0076)
Claim(s) 93-94, 96-97, 102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (US 2020/0012961) in view of Huang (US 2020/0144476).
Regarding claims 93-94, 102; Kelly teaches a method as described above in claim 88, but fails to teach the controllable device includes depositing a trilayer.
Kelly teaches that the circuit elements include coplanar waveguides (qubit readout element) comprising a josephson junction (para. 0064, 0079)
Huang teaches a superconductor circuit (abstract) wherein a Josephson junction comprises a trilayer (para. 0315).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the controllable element (readout element) of Kelly as a JJ trilayer in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by Kelly and Huang, respectively.
Regarding claim 96-97, Kelly is interpreted as the controllable device being layer 630 which is a control element (para. 0077). Additionally, it would have been obvious to provide the control element as a trilayer in order to provide a known configuration for a control element as described above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 105-109 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach depositing the first and third wiring layer as part of forming a portion of a storage inductor of a DAC, depositing the second and the fourth layer as part of forming a portion of control circuitry for the DAC.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735