DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utsuno et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0140314).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-5, Utsuno teaches a solid electrolyte (i.e., sulfide solid electrolyte) (paragraph [0001]) comprising a lithium (Li) element, a phosphorus (P) element, a sulfur (S) element, and a halogen (X) element (i.e., chlorine (Cl) and bromine (Br) (paragraph [0032]),
wherein the halogen (X) element contains at least a bromine (Br) element (paragraph [0032]),
the solid electrolyte has a crystalline phase having an argyrodite-type crystal structure (paragraph [0034]),
the solid electrolyte has a peak A in a range of 2Ɵ = 25.2±0.5 in an X-ray diffraction pattern measured by an X-ray diffractometer (XRD) using CuKα1 as a radiation source (paragraph [0032]-[0035], [0173]-[0185]).
Utsuno does not explicitly articulate the specifics of separating peak A into two peaks (A1 and A2) through waveform separation and determining the ratios of the peak intensities and half-value width as recited in the instant claims however, separation and peak fitting are well-known analytical techniques used to resolve overlapping peaks in X-ray diffraction.
Because Utsuno teaches an identical solid electrolyte composition (i.e., lithium (Li) element, a phosphorus (P) element, a sulfur (S) element, and a halogen (X) element) and crystal structure (i.e., argyrodite-type crystal structure) to the one claimed, the diffraction pattern necessarily contains the same underlying peak structure. The recited ratios of intensities and half-value widths therefore represent properties that would be expected in the material of Utsuno.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply routine peak separation techniques to the diffraction peak taught by Utsuno in order to analyze the peak profile and obtain relative peak intensities and widths. Determining such analytical parameters amounts to the discovery or quantification of properties of a known composition and does not render the claimed composition patentable. In fact, Utsuno recognizes calculating parameters for argyrodite type crystal structure by manually fitting half-width and intensity peaks (paragraph [0202]). Accordingly, since the solid electrolyte composition is identical (i.e., lithium (Li) element, a phosphorus (P) element, a sulfur (S) element, and a halogen (X) element) and exhibits identical properties (i.e., a peak A in a range of 2Ɵ = 25.2±0.5), it would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed subject matter regarding waveform separation and determining the ratios of the peak intensities and half-value width.
Regarding claim 2, Utsuno teaches the molar ratio of the bromine (Br) element to the halogen (x) (i.e., Cl) is 0.6 (i.e., 0.6/1) (paragraph [0226]).
Regarding claim 3, Utsuno teaches a is Li/P and b is S/P (paragraph [0049]). Utsuno teaches b = a – (0.5 to 1.5) and 5.0 ≤ a ≤ 7.5 (paragraph 0049]) therefore, 3.5 ≤ b ≤ 7.0 which overlaps the claimed ratio for S/P. Further Utsuno teaches d is Br/P and is 0.15 or more and 1.6 or less (paragraph [0045]) which overlaps the claimed range. It is noted that Utsuno differ in the exact same range as recited in the instant claim however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the Utsuno range overlap the instant claimed ranges and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, Utsuno teaches an electrode material mixture comprising the solid electrolyte as set forth in claim 1 and an active material (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Utsuno teaches solid electrolyte layer comprising the solid electrolyte as set forth in claim 1 (paragraph [0110]).
Regarding claim 8, Utsuno teaches a battery comprising a solid electrolyte layer and the solid electrolyte as set forth in claim 1 (paragraph [0110]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Miyashita et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0352916). Miyashita teaches a solid electrolyte (i.e., sulfide-based solid electrolyte) comprising a lithium (Li) element, a phosphorus (P) element, a sulfur (S) element, and a halogen (X) element (abstract).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723