DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 01/08/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 13, 16-18, and 29 have been amended.
Claims 31 and 32 have been added.
Claims 14, 27 and 30 have been canceled.
Claims 1-13, 15-26, 28-29, and 31-32 are pending in this application.
Objection to the Specification is withdrawn since it has been amended accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17, and 18 filed on 01/08/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments related solely to newly added limitations addressed in the instant Office Action with newly identified prior art, thus rendering applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 13, 15-17, and 31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210306916, hereinafter “Bae”) in view of Gao et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220338027, hereinafter “Gao”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Bae unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 17:
Regarding Claim 1, Bae teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (para [0105]: UE 100 … (e.g., by using a processor and a memory)), comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig. 2: TC1 and TC2, and para [0059]: UE 100 the UE 100 may be enabled to communicate within the network 120);
at least one memory comprising instructions (para [0050]: The computer program instructions are stored in a memory); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (para [0050]: … running on one or more processors, in one or more computing devices, executing computer program instructions):
determine an uplink (UL) transmission (Tx) switching procedure including a plurality of switching cases, the UL Tx switching procedure associated with at least one of one or more Tx chains or one or more antenna ports, at least one of the one or more Tx chains or the one or more antenna ports corresponding to one or more component carriers (CCs) (para [0075]: Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, to reduce inefficiencies, a mechanism is provided in which switching from CASE 1 to CASE 2 may happen based on a determination that two Tx chains are to be used on the second carrier 102, and in which switching from CASE 2 to CASE 1 may happen based on a determination that there is a UL transmission on the first carrier 101. For example, the UE 100 may implicitly determine that (interpreted as “determine an uplink (UL) transmission (Tx) switching procedure including a plurality of switching cases): (1) switching from CASE 1 to CASE 2 is appropriate based on two Tx chains being used on the second carrier 102; and (2) switching from CASE 2 to CASE 1 is appropriate based on the suitability of a first carrier transmission Tx1.) (para [0063]: CASE 1 may correspond to a configuration where the first Tx chain TC1 of the UE 100 is coupled (e.g., communicatively coupled) to the first port p1 and to the first antenna A1 for first carrier transmission Tx1 (e.g., transmission on the first carrier 101) (interpreted as “the UL Tx switching procedure associated with at least one of one or more Tx chains or one or more antenna ports, at least one of the one or more Tx chains or the one or more antenna ports corresponding to one or more component carriers (CCs)”)), and where the second Tx chain TC2 of the UE 100 is coupled to the second port p2 and to the second antenna A2 for second carrier transmission Tx2 (e.g., transmission on the second carrier 102). CASE 1 may correspond to a multi-carrier scheme.)(para [0064]: CASE 2 may correspond to a configuration where the first Tx chain TC1 is coupled to the first port p1 and to the first antenna A1 for second carrier transmission Tx2, and where the second Tx chain TC2 is coupled to the second port 2 and to the second antenna A2 for second carrier transmission Tx2. CASE 2 may correspond to a MIMO scheme or a virtualization scheme.) (Examiner’s note: The first and second cases (CASE 1 and CASE 2) discussed in Bae are interpreted as the “plurality of switching cases”.), wherein the plurality of switching cases includes at least three switching cases including a target switching case; (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Gao.)
configure, based on the determined UL Tx switching procedure, at least one of the one or more Tx chains or the one or more antenna ports associated with the target switching case of the plurality of switching cases (para [0077]: Based on the above determinations, the UE 100 may cause the first Tx chain TC1 to be located in (e.g., switched to, or relocated to) the first carrier 101 (e.g., switched from CASE 2 to CASE 1(interpreted as “a target switching case”) (operation 440B).); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver and to a base station, at least one UL transmission based on the configured at least one of the one or more Tx chains or the one or more antenna ports associated with the target switching case (para [0102]: For example, for CASE 2 (interpreted as “a target switching case”), the first Tx chain TC1 may be configured to transmit a first data X1 on the second carrier 102 (interpreted as “at least one UL transmission based on the configured …”), and the second Tx chain TC2 may be configured to transmit a second data X2 on the second carrier 102.) (para [0062]: Referring to FIGS. 1-3, the two cases (CASE 1 and CASE 2), described in Table 1 (below) and depicted in FIG. 1, may refer to switching configurations for UL transmission from the UE 100 to the base station(s) 110 (interpreted as “transmit, to a base station, at least one UL transmission …”) of the wireless communication system 10, where the UE 100 includes two carriers with two total Tx chains.).
Bae fails to teach the missing feature “wherein the plurality of switching cases includes at least three switching cases including a target switching case”.
In analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches the above missing features as following;
wherein the plurality of switching cases includes at least three switching cases including a target switching case (paragraphs [0238-251] of Gao: In an embodiment, the number of Tx chains and the number of antenna ports for the UL transmissions in the modes 1, 2, and 3 (interpreted as “at least three switching cases including a target switching case”) can be found in the following Table V (see para [0243] of Gao). Table V of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table V of Gao)
(para [0251] of Gao: In an embodiment, the number of Tx chains and the number of antenna ports for the UL transmissions in these three transmission modes may be summarized into Table VI.). Table VI of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table VI of Gao)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Bae's method by using the features (‘three switching mode for UL transmission’) of Gao to provide improvements to transmission chain/antenna carrier switching in communication systems involving multiple Tx chain schemes, such as multi-input multi-output (MIMO), virtualization, and multi-carrier transmission. See para [0006] of Bae.
Regarding claim 17, it is a method claim corresponding to the a user equipment claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 10, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Gao further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of switching cases is mapped to at least one of the one or more antenna ports, wherein the one or more antenna ports correspond to one or more antenna port combinations configured for each of the one or more CCs (para [0251] of Gao: In an embodiment, the number of Tx chains and the number of antenna ports for the UL transmissions in these three transmission modes may be summarized into Table VI.). Table VI of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table VI of Gao)
Regarding Claim 11, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Gao further teaches wherein the plurality of switching cases is mapped to the one or more antenna ports based on a physical channel or signal of the at least one UL transmission, wherein the one or more antenna ports correspond to one or more antenna port combinations configured for each of the one or more CCs (para [0251] of Gao: In an embodiment, the number of Tx chains and the number of antenna ports for the UL transmissions in these three transmission modes may be summarized into Table VI.). Table VI of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table VI of Gao)
Regarding Claim 13, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: Bae further teaches
switch, based on the determined UL Tx switching procedure, to the target switching case from one of the plurality of switching cases.
(para [0075]: Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, to reduce inefficiencies, a mechanism is provided in which switching from CASE 1 to CASE 2 may happen based on a determination that two Tx chains are to be used on the second carrier 102, and in which switching from CASE 2 to CASE 1 may happen based on a determination that there is a UL transmission on the first carrier 101. For example, the UE 100 may implicitly determine that: (1) switching from CASE 1 to CASE 2 (interpreted as “target switching case”) is appropriate based on two Tx chains being used on the second carrier 102; and (2) switching from CASE 2 to CASE 1 is appropriate based on the suitability of a first carrier transmission Tx1.)
Regarding Claim 15, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Bae further teaches
wherein the one or more CCs include a first CC and a second CC (para [0007]: a transmission chain across carriers, the method including determining to switch a first transmission chain for a transmission between a first carrier and a second carrier,).
Regarding Claim 16, Bae and Gao teaches The apparatus of claim 1, Bae further teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a user equipment (para [0105]: UE 100 … (e.g., by using a processor and a memory)).
Regarding Claim 31, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Gao further teaches
wherein, for a first switching case of the plurality of switching cases (mode 1 in Table VI of Gao is interpreted as “first switching case”), a number of Tx chains associated with a first CC of the one or more CCs is one and a number of Tx chains associated with a second CC of the one or more CCs is one (see Table VI of Gao: 1T + 1T); Table VI of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table VI of Gao)
wherein, for a second switching case of the plurality of switching cases (mode 2 in Table VI of Gao is interpreted as “second switching case”), the number of Tx chains associated with the first CC is zero and the number of Tx chains associated with the second CC is two (see Table VI of Gao: 0T + 2T);
wherein, for a third switching case of the plurality of switching cases (mode 3 in Table VI of Gao is interpreted as “third switching case”), the number of Tx chains associated with the first CC is two and the number of Tx chains associated with the second CC is zero (see Table VI of Gao: 2T + 0T);
wherein at least two switching cases of the plurality of switching cases allow for a first antenna port configuration (see Table VI of Gao: Number of antenna ports for UL transmission (interpreted as “antenna port configuration”)); and
wherein, to determine the UL Tx switching procedure, the at least one processor is configured to determine a mapping rule between the first antenna port configuration and a corresponding target switching case of the at least two switching cases (see Table VI of Gao: Number of antenna ports for UL transmission)(Examiner’s note: In Table VI of Gao, an indication of mode 2 followed by an antenna port configuration of 0P+1P may imply switching to mode 1. See Fig. 6 of the Drawings and corresponding paragraph [0078] of the Specification of the instant application).
Claim(s) 2-8, 18-23, 25, 28-29, and 32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Gao, and further in view of Park et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230156608, hereinafter “Park”).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding Claim 18, Bae teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 1, Base stations 110) (para [0236] of Park: The processor(s) 202 may control the memory(s) 204 and/or the transceiver(s) 206 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document.), comprising:
at least one transceiver (para [0059]: The wireless communication system 10 may include a first carrier 101 and a second carrier 102, which may correspond to different frequency bands.);
at least one memory comprising instructions (para [0050]: The computer program instructions are stored in a memory); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (para [0050]: the various components of these devices may be a process or thread, running on one or more processors, in one or more computing devices, executing computer program instructions and interacting with other system components for performing the various functionalities described herein.):
(The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Park.), the UL Tx switching procedure associated with at least one of one or more Tx chains or one or more antenna ports, at least one of the one or more Tx chains or the one or more antenna ports corresponding to one or more component carriers (CCs) (para [0075]: Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, to reduce inefficiencies, a mechanism is provided in which switching from CASE 1 to CASE 2 may happen based on a determination that two Tx chains are to be used on the second carrier 102, and in which switching from CASE 2 to CASE 1 may happen based on a determination that there is a UL transmission on the first carrier 101. For example, the UE 100 may implicitly determine that: (1) switching from CASE 1 to CASE 2 is appropriate based on two Tx chains being used on the second carrier 102; and (2) switching from CASE 2 to CASE 1 is appropriate based on the suitability of a first carrier transmission Tx1.) (Examiner’s note: The first and second cases (CASE 1 and CASE 2) discussed in Bae are interpreted as the “plurality of switching cases”.) (para [0063]: CASE 1 may correspond to a configuration where the first Tx chain TC1 of the UE 100 is coupled (e.g., communicatively coupled) to the first port p1 and to the first antenna A1 for first carrier transmission Tx1 (e.g., transmission on the first carrier 101) (interpreted as “the UL Tx switching procedure associated with at least one of one or more Tx chains or one or more antenna ports, at least one of the one or more Tx chains or the one or more antenna ports corresponding to one or more component carriers (CCs)”)), and where the second Tx chain TC2 of the UE 100 is coupled to the second port p2 and to the second antenna A2 for second carrier transmission Tx2 (e.g., transmission on the second carrier 102). CASE 1 may correspond to a multi-carrier scheme.), (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Gao.); and
receive, via the at least one transceiver and from the UE, at least one UL transmission based on at least one of the one or more Tx chains or the one or more antenna ports associated with the target switching case of the plurality of switching cases (para [0102]: For example, for CASE 2 (interpreted as “a target switching case”), the first Tx chain TC1 may be configured to transmit a first data X1 on the second carrier 102 (interpreted as “at least one UL transmission based on at least one of the one or more Tx chains …”), and the second Tx chain TC2 may be configured to transmit a second data X2 on the second carrier 102.) (para [0062]: Referring to FIGS. 1-3, the two cases (CASE 1 and CASE 2), described in Table 1 (below) and depicted in FIG. 1, may refer to switching configurations for UL transmission from the UE 100 to the base station(s) 110 (interpreted as “receive, via the at least one transceiver and from the UE, at least one UL transmission …”) of the wireless communication system 10, where the UE 100 includes two carriers with two total Tx chains.).
Bae does not teach the missing feature “wherein the plurality of switching cases includes at least three switching cases including a target switching case”.
In analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches the above missing features as following;
wherein the plurality of switching cases includes at least three switching cases including a target switching case (paragraphs [0238-251] of Gao: In an embodiment, the number of Tx chains and the number of antenna ports for the UL transmissions in the modes 1, 2, and 3 can be found in the following Table V (see para [0243] of Gao). Table V of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table V of Gao)
(para [0251] of Gao: In an embodiment, the number of Tx chains and the number of antenna ports for the UL transmissions in these three transmission modes may be summarized into Table VI.). Table VI of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table VI of Gao)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Bae’s method by using the features (‘three switching mode for UL transmission’) of Gao to provide improvements to transmission chain/antenna carrier switching in communication systems involving multiple Tx chain schemes, such as multi-input multi-output (MIMO), virtualization, and multi-carrier transmission. See para [0006] of Bae.
Bae and Gao does not explicitly teach the missing feature “transmit, via the at least one transceiver and to a user equipment (UE), an indication of an uplink (UL) transmission (Tx) switching procedure including a plurality of switching cases”.
In analogous art, Park teaches the above missing features as following;
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of an uplink (UL) transmission (Tx) switching procedure including a plurality of switching cases (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information for changing configuration of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier to the UE (interpreted as “an indication of an uplink (UL) transmission (Tx) switching procedure including a plurality of switching cases”)) (para [0125] of Park: when option 2 is supported for inter-band UL CA, sub-option 2-3 as shown in Table 7 below may be defined.)
(Table 7 of Park)
(paragraphs [0127-0128] of Park: Alternatively, for the above scenario, two cases as shown in Table 8 may be considered.
(Table 8 of Park)
In the above scenario, a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA.). (Para [0220] of Park: As described above, when it is possible to configure Tx switching or to support Tx switching, the UE may dynamically change configuration for each of the carriers according to indication of the BS (the switching information) (interpreted as “an indication of the UL Tx switching procedure”)).
Examiner’s note: The UL switching cycle discussed in Park is associated with Case 1 and Case 2 (interpreted as “an uplink (UL) transmission (Tx) switching procedure including a plurality of switching cases”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae and Gao by using the features of Park in order to have more effective method such that " when it is possible to configure Tx switching or to support Tx switching, the UE may dynamically change configuration for each of the carriers according to indication of the BS (the switching information)." [Para [0220] of Park].
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 2, Bae and Gao teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: Bae and Gao fail to teach:
receive, from a base station, an indication of the UL Tx switching procedure, wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure indicates the target switching case.
In analogous art, Park teaches the above missing features as follows,
receive, via the at least one transceiver and from the base station, an indication of the UL Tx switching procedure, wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure indicates the target switching case (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information for changing configuration of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier (interpreted as “target switching case”) to the UE.)(para [0220] of Park: As described above, when it is possible to configure Tx switching or to support Tx switching, the UE may dynamically change configuration for each of the carriers according to indication of the BS (the switching information)(interpreted as “an indication of the UL Tx switching procedure”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae and Gao by using the features of Park in order to have more effective method such that " when it is possible to configure Tx switching or to support Tx switching, the UE may dynamically change configuration for each of the carriers according to indication of the BS (the switching information)." [Para [0220] of Park].
Regarding Claim 3, Bae, Gao and Park teach The apparatus of claim 2, Park teaches wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information for changing configuration (interpreted as “target switching case”) of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier to the UE. The BS may transmit a power control value for each of the first carrier and the second carrier to the UE through the DCI or the MAC-CE.) (paragraphs [0127-0128] of Park: Alternatively, for the above scenario, two cases as shown in Table 8 may be considered.
In the above scenario, a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA.).
Regarding Claim 4, Bae, Gao and Park teach The apparatus of claim 2, Park further teaches wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is associated with multiple component parts, each of the multiple component parts being associated with one of the plurality of switching cases (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information(interpreted as “multiple component parts”) for changing configuration of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier) (para [0134]: When one Tx mode of the first Tx mode (1-Tx+1-Tx) and the second Tx mode (0-Tx+2-Tx) is indicated to the UE (interpreted as “the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is associated with multiple component parts”), the UE may maintain the configuration of a Tx chain for each carrier according to a previously indicated Tx mode until another Tx mode is indicated.)
Regarding Claim 5, Bae, Gao and Park teach The apparatus of claim 2, Park further teaches wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is associated with multiple component parts, each of the multiple component parts being associated with two of the plurality of switching cases (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information(interpreted as “the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is associated with multiple component parts”) for changing configuration of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier) (para [0134]: When one Tx mode of the first Tx mode (1-Tx+1-Tx) and the second Tx mode (0-Tx+2-Tx) is indicated to the UE (interpreted as “the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is associated with multiple component parts”), the UE may maintain the configuration of a Tx chain for each carrier according to a previously indicated Tx mode until another Tx mode is indicated.) Examiner’s note: See Table 7 of Park. The first Tx mode (1-Tx+1-Tx) is case 1 and the second Tx mode (0-Tx+2-Tx) is case 2. Here, case 1 and case 2 in Table 7 of Park are interpreted as “two of the plurality of switching cases”.
Regarding Claim 6, Bae, Gao and Park teach The apparatus of claim 2, Park further teaches wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure indicates that one of the one or more CCs is a priority CC. (para [0137] of Park: In relation to Option 3, if the total number of Tx chains configured for each carrier is more than the capability of the UE, the UE may stop UL transmission of a specific carrier (e.g., larger carrier index) according to a specific rule (e.g., priority rule)) (or a UL Tx chain of a carrier having a low priority may be 0-Tx). Accordingly, the UE may perform another procedure in the state in which it is assumed/considered that there is no original configuration/indication for UL transmission for a carrier having a low priority.)(para [0138] of Park: Indication of the Tx mode may be performed through MAC-CE (medium access control-Control Element) or DCI.)
Regarding Claim 7, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Bae and Gao fail to teach wherein the UL Tx switching procedure including the plurality of switching cases is predetermined, predefined, or preconfigured.
In analogous art, Park teaches the UL Tx switching procedure including the plurality of switching cases is predetermined, predefined, or preconfigured (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information(interpreted as “the UL Tx switching procedure”) for changing configuration of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier) (para [0134]: When one Tx mode of the first Tx mode (1-Tx+1-Tx) and the second Tx mode (0-Tx+2-Tx) is indicated to the UE (interpreted as “the UL Tx switching procedure including the plurality of switching cases is predetermined, predefined, or preconfigured”), the UE may maintain the configuration of a Tx chain for each carrier according to a previously indicated Tx mode until another Tx mode is indicated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae and Gao by using the features of Park in order to have more effective method such that " when it is possible to configure Tx switching or to support Tx switching, the UE may dynamically change configuration for each of the carriers according to indication of the BS (the switching information)." [Para [0220] of Park].
Regarding Claim 8, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Bae and Gao fail to teach wherein one of the plurality of switching cases is a priority switching case.
In analogous art, Park teaches the one of the plurality of switching cases is a priority switching case (para [0136] of Park: Option 3: The number of available UL Tx chains for each BWP configured for each carrier may be predefined or configured.)( para [0137] of Park: In relation to Option 3, if the total number of Tx chains configured for each carrier is more than the capability of the UE, the UE may stop UL transmission of a specific carrier (e.g., larger carrier index) according to a specific rule (e.g., priority rule) (interpreted as “a priority switching case”)) (or a UL Tx chain of a carrier having a low priority may be 0-Tx).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae and Gao by using the features of Park in order to have more effective method such that " when it is possible to configure Tx switching or to support Tx switching, the UE may dynamically change configuration for each of the carriers according to indication of the BS (the switching information)." [Para [0220] of Park].
Regarding Claim 19, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Park teaches wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure indicates the target switching case, wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information for changing configuration (interpreted as “target switching case”) of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier to the UE. The BS may transmit a power control value for each of the first carrier and the second carrier to the UE through the DCI or the MAC-CE.) (paragraphs [0127-0128] of Park: Alternatively, for the above scenario, two cases as shown in Table 8 may be considered.
In the above scenario, a UL switching cycle may be configured via RRC in the case of Inter-band UL CA.).
Regarding Claim 20, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 19, Park further teaches wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is associated with multiple component parts, each of the multiple component parts being associated with one or two of the plurality of switching cases (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information(interpreted as “multiple component parts”) for changing configuration of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier) (para [0134]: When one Tx mode of the first Tx mode (1-Tx+1-Tx) and the second Tx mode (0-Tx+2-Tx) is indicated to the UE (interpreted as “the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure is associated with multiple component parts”), the UE may maintain the configuration of a Tx chain for each carrier according to a previously indicated Tx mode until another Tx mode is indicated.)
Regarding Claim 21, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 19, Park further teaches wherein the indication of the UL Tx switching procedure indicates that one of the one or more CCs is a priority CC (para [0137] of Park: In relation to Option 3, if the total number of Tx chains configured for each carrier is more than the capability of the UE, the UE may stop UL transmission of a specific carrier (e.g., larger carrier index) according to a specific rule (e.g., priority rule)) (or a UL Tx chain of a carrier having a low priority may be 0-Tx). Accordingly, the UE may perform another procedure in the state in which it is assumed/considered that there is no original configuration/indication for UL transmission for a carrier having a low priority.)(para [0138] of Park: Indication of the Tx mode may be performed through MAC-CE (medium access control-Control Element) or DCI.)
Regarding Claim 22, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Park further teaches wherein the UL Tx switching procedure including the plurality of switching cases is predetermined, predefined, or preconfigured (para [0218] of Park: The BS may transmit transmission chain switching information(interpreted as “the UL Tx switching procedure”) for changing configuration of a transmission chain for each of the first carrier and the second carrier) (para [0134]: When one Tx mode of the first Tx mode (1-Tx+1-Tx) and the second Tx mode (0-Tx+2-Tx) is indicated to the UE (interpreted as “the UL Tx switching procedure including the plurality of switching cases is predetermined, predefined, or preconfigured”), the UE may maintain the configuration of a Tx chain for each carrier according to a previously indicated Tx mode until another Tx mode is indicated.).
Regarding Claim 23, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Park further teaches wherein one of the plurality of switching cases is a priority switching case (para [0136] of Park: Option 3: The number of available UL Tx chains for each BWP configured for each carrier may be predefined or configured.)( para [0137] of Park: In relation to Option 3, if the total number of Tx chains configured for each carrier is more than the capability of the UE, the UE may stop UL transmission of a specific carrier (e.g., larger carrier index) according to a specific rule (e.g., priority rule) (interpreted as “a priority switching case”)) (or a UL Tx chain of a carrier having a low priority may be 0-Tx).).
Regarding Claim 25, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Gao further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of switching cases is mapped to at least one of the one or more antenna ports based on a physical channel or signal of the at least one UL transmission, wherein the one or more antenna ports correspond to one or more antenna port combinations configured for each of the one or more CCs (para [0251] of Gao: In an embodiment, the number of Tx chains and the number of antenna ports for the UL transmissions in these three transmission modes may be summarized into Table VI.). Table VI of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table VI of Gao)
Regarding Claim 28, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Bae further teaches wherein the one or more CCs include a first CC and a second CC (para [0007]: a transmission chain across carriers, the method including determining to switch a first transmission chain for a transmission between a first carrier and a second carrier,).
Regarding Claim 29, Bae, Gao, and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Bae further teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a base station (Fig. 1, Base stations 110).
Regarding Claim 32, Bae, Park and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 18, Gao further teaches
wherein, for a first switching case of the plurality of switching cases (mode 1 in Table VI of Gao is interpreted as “first switching case”), a number of Tx chains associated with a first CC of the one or more CCs is one and a number of Tx chains associated with a second CC of the one or more CCs is one (see Table VI of Gao: 1T + 1T and Fig. 6 of the Drawings of the instant application); Table VI of Gao is reproduced herein below.
(Table VI of Gao)
Fig. 6 of the Drawings of the instant application is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 6 of the Drawings of the instant application)
wherein, for a second switching case of the plurality of switching cases (mode 2 in Table VI of Gao is interpreted as “second switching case”), the number of Tx chains associated with the first CC is zero and the number of Tx chains associated with the second CC is two (see Table VI of Gao: 0T + 2T);
wherein, for a third switching case of the plurality of switching cases (mode 3 in Table VI of Gao is interpreted as “third switching case”), the number of Tx chains associated with the first CC is two and the number of Tx chains associated with the second CC is zero (see Table VI of Gao: 2T + 0T);
wherein at least two switching cases of the plurality of switching cases allow for a first antenna port configuration (see Table VI of Gao: Number of antenna ports for UL transmission (interpreted as “antenna port configuration”)); and
wherein, to determine the UL Tx switching procedure, the at least one processor is configured to determine a mapping rule between the first antenna port configuration and a corresponding target switching case of the at least two switching cases (see Table VI of Gao: Number of antenna ports for UL transmission)(Examiner’s note: In Table VI of Gao, an indication of mode 2 followed by an antenna port configuration of 0P+1P may imply switching to mode 1. See Fig. 6 of the Drawings and corresponding paragraph [0078] of the Specification of the instant application).
Claim(s) 9 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Gao, and further in view of Li et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0199586, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding Claim 9, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Bae and Gao fail to teach wherein one CC of the one or more CCs is a primary component carrier (PCC) and another CC of the one or more CCs is a secondary component carrier (SCC), the one CC being a priority CC
In analogous art, Li teaches the above missing features as follows,
wherein one CC of the one or more CCs is a primary component carrier (PCC) and another CC of the one or more CCs is a secondary component carrier (SCC), the one CC being a priority CC (para [0162] of Li: The priorities of the serving cells may be predefined. For example, in the M serving cells, a priority of a PCell is higher than a priority of an SPCell, and the priority of the SPCell is higher than a priority of an SCell.) (para [0282] of Li: Using an example in which a first carrier and a second carrier are configured for the terminal device, and a maximum quantity of uplink channels supported by uplink communication of the terminal device is 2, a relationship between a quantity of channels and a quantity of ports on a carrier may be shown in Table 1.
(Table 1 of Li)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae and Gao by using the features of Li in order to have more effective method such that "a priority of a PCell is higher than a priority of an SPCell." [Para [0162] of Li].
Regarding Claim 12, Bae and Gao teach The apparatus of claim 1, Bae and Gao fail to teach wherein, if a first CC of the one or more CCs is associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD), the first CC is a priority CC, or wherein, if the first CC is associated with time division duplexing (TDD), the priority CC is one of the one or more CCs with a greater amount of UL transmissions.
In analogous art, Li teaches the above missing features if a first CC of the one or more CCs is associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD), the first CC is a priority CC (para [0320] of Li: a serving cell of a terminal device in an FDD communication system is used as an example. The serving cell may include an uplink carrier with a center frequency of 900 MHz and a downlink carrier with a center frequency of 3.5 GHz.)(para [0216] of Li: For example, the network device may initialize and configure the cell states of the N serving cells based on a priority sequence of the N serving cells (interpreted as “the first CC is a priority CC”), and perform cell state switching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae and Gao by using the features of Li in order to have more effective method such that "a priority of a PCell is higher than a priority of an SPCell." [Para [0162] of Li].
Claim(s) 24 and 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae, in view of Gao, in view of Park, and further in view of Li.
Regarding Claim 24, Bae, Gao and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Bae, Gao and Park fail to teach wherein one CC of the one or more CCs is a primary component carrier (PCC) and another CC of the one or more CCs is a secondary component carrier (SCC), the one CC being a priority CC.
In analogous art, Li teaches the above missing features (para [0162] of Li: The priorities of the serving cells may be predefined. For example, in the M serving cells, a priority of a PCell is higher than a priority of an SPCell, and the priority of the SPCell is higher than a priority of an SCell.) (para [0282] of Li: Using an example in which a first carrier and a second carrier are configured for the terminal device, and a maximum quantity of uplink channels supported by uplink communication of the terminal device is 2, a relationship between a quantity of channels and a quantity of ports on a carrier may be shown in Table 1.
(Table 1 of Li)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae, Gao and Park by using the features of Li in order to have more effective method such that "a priority of a PCell is higher than a priority of an SPCell." [Para [0162] of Li].
Regarding Claim 26, Bae, Gao and Park teach The apparatus of claim 18, Bae, Gao and Park fail to teach wherein, if a first CC of the one or more CCs is associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD), the first CC is a priority CC, or wherein, if the first CC is associated with time division duplexing (TDD), the priority CC is one of the one or more CCs with a greater amount of UL transmissions.
In analogous art, Li teaches the above missing features if a first CC of the one or more CCs is associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD), the first CC is a priority CC (para [0320] of Li: a serving cell of a terminal device in an FDD communication system is used as an example. The serving cell may include an uplink carrier with a center frequency of 900 MHz and a downlink carrier with a center frequency of 3.5 GHz.)(para [0216] of Li: For example, the network device may initialize and configure the cell states of the N serving cells based on a priority sequence of the N serving cells (interpreted as “the first CC is a priority CC”), and perform cell state switching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Bae, Gao and Park by using the features of Li in order to have more effective method such that "a priority of a PCell is higher than a priority of an SPCell." [Para [0162] of Li].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411