DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and response filed on May 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13 and 15 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/277,806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap and vary slightly in scope to the claims in US ‘806. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 65 cN, whereas the claims of US ‘806 require a melt flow strength of at least 45 cN (claim 1) and no greater than 95 cN (claim 2). Likewise, the present article, i.e., foam, claims are anticipated by the article, i.e., foam, claims of US ‘806 (see claims 6-12), and the present method claims are anticipated by method claims of US ‘806 (see claims 13 and 14).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/277,801. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap and vary slightly in scope to the claims in US ‘801. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 65 cN, whereas the claims of US ‘801 require a melt flow strength of at least 45 cN (claim 1) and no greater than 95 cN (claim 2). Likewise, the present method claims are anticipated by method claims of US ‘801 (see claims 15 and 16).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/277,649. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap in scope to the claims in US ‘649. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 65 cN, whereas the claims of US ‘649 require a melt flow strength of at least 10 cN and no greater than 100 cN (claim 1). Likewise, the present article, i.e., foam, claims are anticipated by the article, i.e., foam, claims of US ‘649 (see claims 12-14). Regarding method claim 15, the method of claim 15 of US ‘649 does not recite the amount of blowing agent or an extrusion step. However, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have used a blowing agent within the claimed amount motivated by the desire to obtain a foam having desired porosity properties. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have extruded the foam composition, as specifically disclosed in US ‘649, in order to obtain an insulation article as claimed in US ‘649 (see claim 19).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/275,114. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap in scope to the claims in US ‘114. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 65 cN, whereas the claims of US ‘114 require a melt flow strength of at least 10 cN and no greater than 100 cN (claim 5). Regarding method claim 15, the method of claim 15 of US ‘114 does not recite the amount of blowing agent. However, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have used a blowing agent within the claimed amount motivated by the desire to obtain a foam having desired porosity properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SABIC® PP-UMS.
The present specification discloses that SABIC® PP-UMS 561P was available as of 18 February 2021. The attached Product Brochure SABIC® PP-UMS-EN document was downloaded at www.sabic.com/en/products/polymers/polypropylene-pp/sabic-pp-ums which states a publication date of 6/11/20191. Also, attached is the SABIC® PP-UMS 561P product brochure. Given the above facts, it is deemed that SABIC® PP-UMS 561P is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 15, Sabic discloses an ultra-high melt strength polypropylene homopolymer having a melt strength of more than 65 cN and a melt flow rate of 2.5 dg/min.
Regarding claim 6, Sabic discloses that the polypropylene has outstanding foam-ability.
Regarding claim 11, Sabic discloses that the polypropylene can be processed by injection molding, blow molding, or extrusion.
Regarding claim 12, Sabic discloses various articles within the scope of the articles listed in the Markush group of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 7-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SABIC® PP-UMS in view of KR 2018-0099562. KR ‘562 was cited in the IDS of May 19, 2026. The translation provided in the IDS is relied upon in the below rejection.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Sabic does not disclose the use of 0.001-5.0 wt% additives in the high melt polypropylene composition. KR ‘056 discloses a composition containing a high melt strength polypropylene ([0022], [0024]). KR ‘056 discloses that it is known in this art to add various additives within the claimed amounts ([0053], [0054]) to the high melt polypropylene containing composition, such as antioxidants, stabilizers, nucleating agents, pigments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the conventionally known additives in effective amounts to the high melt polypropylene composition of Sabic, motivated by the desire to impart the properties associated with the use of such additives to the composition, e.g., pigment for coloration.
Regarding claim 5, while Sabic is silent as to the process of preparing the composition, the composition contains the same materials having the same melt strength properties. MPEP 2113 states "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, Sabic suggests that use of the composition may require the addition of a stabilization package.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Sabic does not disclose using the high melt strength polypropylene with a second polypropylene component. KR ‘056 discloses that it is known to combine high melt strength polypropylene compositions with other polypropylene components to form a polymer mixture ([0013], [0022], [0028]). KR ‘056 discloses that such polymer mixtures result in compositions having excellent foaming quality and enhanced mechanical properties, such as tensile strength and hardness [0018]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have blended the high melt strength polypropylene of Sabic with another polypropylene component, as taught in KR ‘056, motivated by the desire to prepare a composition that has excellent foaming quality and enhanced mechanical properties.
Regarding claim 10, Sabic discloses a density of 905 kg/m3. Further, KR ‘056 discloses that known in the high melt strength polypropylene art to add a blowing agent in amounts within the presently disclosed range, i.e., 0.5-10 wt% ([048]-[050]), in order for form a foamed article. Thus, it would have been obvious to have foamed the composition of Sabic using a conventionally known amount of blowing agent, as taught in KR ‘056, motivated by the desired to form a foamed article having desired porosity properties. Additionally, since the composition of modified Sabic would have the same components in the same amounts as the present claims, it is reasonable to conclude that the suggested foamed article would exhibit the same density or open cell content as the present claims. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 13, Sabic is silent as to the process of preparing a foam from the composition. As disclosed in KR ‘056, it is conventional in the polypropylene art to produce a foam from a composition containing a high melt strength polypropylene composition by adding a blowing agent and subjecting the composition to a foaming process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over McLoughlin et al. (US Pub 2019/0276653).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, US ‘653 discloses a foamable composition comprising a high melt strength polypropylene having a melt strength of between 20-100 cN (claim 1). While both the present invention and US ‘653 the ISO 16790:2005 test to determine the melt strength, the present claims state that the melt strength is measured at 200ᵒC, whereas US ‘653 measures the melt strength at 190ᵒC. Since US ‘653 discloses a composition that contains the same components and exhibits a melt strength within the claimed range at a temperature close to the measurement temperature of claim 1, it is reasonable to conclude that the composition of US ‘653 that would exhibit a melt strength within the presently claimed range at a temperature of 200ᵒC absent some showing on the record that there is some criticality to measuring the melt strength at 200ᵒC versus 190ᵒC. Further, MPEP 2112 states “[w]here applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). US ‘653 discloses that the high melt polypropylene can have a melt flow rate of about 1 g/10 min or less [0019].
With regard to claim 3, Comparative Example 1 is an example where the high melt polypropylene is a homopolymer [0075].
Regarding claim 4, US ‘653 discloses the use of various additives ([0040], [0041], [0065]), including a chemical blowing agent which is exemplified as being present in an amount from 0-10 wt% [0065].
With regard to claim 5, US ‘653 would yield a composition that would have the same properties as the composition prepared by the process set forth in the product-by-process of claim 5. See MPEP 2113. Specifically, US ‘653 discloses using a high melt strength polypropylene that includes a non-phenolic stabilizer, such as a hindered amine, wherein the propylene-based polymer is made up of a branched polymer [0020].
With regard to claim 6, US ‘653 discloses a foam comprising the high melt strength polypropylene comprising which is present in an amount within the claimed range (claim 1).
With regard to claims 7 and 8, US ‘653 discloses that the foamable composition can comprise a further polypropylene component (claim 1, [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, US ‘653 discloses that a nucleating agent can be included in the composition ([0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, US ‘653 discloses that the density of the foam can be 10-200 kg/m3 [0045].
Regarding claim 11, US ‘653 discloses that the foam is produced via an extrusion process [0042].
Regarding claim 12, US ‘653 discloses that the composition is used to form a foamed article, such as a foamed sheet [0053].
Regarding claim 13, US ‘653 discloses the claimed process wherein a blowing agent is used in an amount of up to 1 wt% [0046].
With regard to claim 15, Comparative Example 1 is an example where the high melt polypropylene is present in an amount of 100 wt% of the polymer composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been overcome by the present amendment.
The argument that McLoughlin is a non-enabling disclosure is acknowledged. MPEP 716.01(c)(II) states “Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Examples of statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include…inoperability of the prior art…”.Thus, the present arguments are not considered to be persuasive because they are not in the form of evidence, i.e., affidavit/declaration.
The arguments that McLoughlin does not disclose that the high melt strength polypropylene is a homopolymer (claim 3) and that the high melt polypropylene composition comprises the high melt polypropylene in an amount of ≥95 wt% (claim 15) is not persuasive, because Comparative Example 1 discloses an embodiment which meets these claim limitations.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781
1
