DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on August 18, 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities.
In claims 1-14, US claim format typically includes the indefinite article “A” at the beginning of independent claims and the definite article “The” at the beginning of dependent claims.
In claim 3, line 5, the term “or” should be changed to “and”.
In claim 7, line 2, the term “a” should be inserted after “or”.
In claim 13, a process is claimed that comprises three steps. The claim defines these steps as steps d), e), and f), but there are no claimed steps a), b), or c). As the claim appears to clearly set forth the necessary steps in order to form a foam from the composition of claim 1, it does not appear that any critical steps are missing. However, it is unconventional to label the claimed steps starting with d). It is suggested that steps d), e), and f) be changed to steps a), b), and c), respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 9, line 3, the use of the term “and/or” renders this claim indefinite. Specifically, with respect to the “or” part of this conjunction, it is not clear how the nucleating agent can be chosen from the claimed Markush group if the nucleating agent is not present.
Claim 14 is an improper “use” claim in that it attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/277,801. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap and vary slightly in scope to the claims in US ‘801. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 45 cN and a melt flow rate between 1.0-4.0 g/10min, whereas the claims of US ‘801 require a melt flow strength of at least 45 cN (claim 1) and a melt flow rate between 0.50-8.0 g/10min (claim 4). Likewise, the present method claims are anticipated by method claims of US ‘801 (see claims 15 and 16).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/277,798. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap and vary slightly in scope to the claims in US ‘798. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 45 cN and a melt flow rate between 1.0-4.0 g/10min, whereas the claims of US ‘798 require a melt flow strength of at least 65 cN (claim 1) and a melt flow rate between 0.5-8.0 g/10min (claim 5). Likewise, the present article, i.e., foam, claims are anticipated by the article, i.e., foam, claims of US ‘798 (see claims 7-13), and the present method claims are anticipated by method claims of US ‘798 (see claims 14 and 15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/277,649. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap in scope to the claims in US ‘649. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 45 cN and a melt flow rate between 1.0-4.0 g/10min, whereas the claims of US ‘649 require a melt flow strength of at least 10 cN and no greater than 100 cN (claim 1) and a melt flow rate between 0.5-8.0 g/10min (claim 5). Likewise, the present article, i.e., foam, claims are anticipated by the article, i.e., foam, claims of US ‘649 (see claims 12-14). Regarding method claim 13, the method of claim 15 of US ‘649 does not recite the amount of blowing agent or an extrusion step. However, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have used a blowing agent within the claimed amount motivated by the desire to obtain a foam having desired porosity properties. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have extruded the foam composition, as specifically disclosed in US ‘649, in order to obtain an insulation article as claimed in US ‘649 (see claim 19).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/275,114. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap in scope to the claims in US ‘114. For example, with respect to claim 1, the present claims require a melt strength of at least 45 cN and a melt flow rate between 1.0-4.0 g/10min, whereas the claims of US ‘114 require a melt flow strength of at least 10 cN and no greater than 100 cN (claim 5) and a melt flow rate between 0.5-8.0 g/10min (claim 6). Regarding method claim 13, the method of claim 15 of US ‘114 does not recite the amount of blowing agent. However, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have used a blowing agent within the claimed amount motivated by the desire to obtain a foam having desired porosity properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by McLoughlin et al. (US Pub 2019/0176653).
US ‘653 discloses a high melt strength polypropylene composition having a melt strength of ≤95 cN ([0019], Tables 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over McLoughlin et al. (US Pub 2019/0176653).
Regarding claim 1, US ‘653 discloses a foamable composition comprising a high melt strength polypropylene having a melt strength of between 20-100 cN (claim 1). While both the present invention and US ‘653 use the ISO 16790:2005 test to determine the melt strength, the present claims state that the melt strength is measured at 200ᵒC, whereas US ‘653 measures the melt strength at 190ᵒC. Since US ‘653 discloses a composition that contains the same components and exhibits a melt strength within the claimed range at a temperature close to the measurement temperature of claim 1, it is reasonable to conclude that the composition of US ‘653 that would exhibit a melt strength within the presently claimed range at a temperature of 200ᵒC absent some showing on the record that there is some criticality to measuring the melt strength at 200ᵒC versus 190ᵒC. Further, MPEP 2112 states “[w]here applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). US ‘653 discloses that the high melt polypropylene can have a melt flow rate of about 1 g/10 min or less [0019], which overlaps with the presently claimed range. See MPEP 2131.03.II.
With regard to claim 3, US ‘653 discloses the high melt polypropylene can be a copolymer (claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, US ‘653 discloses the use of various additives ([0040], [0041], [0065]), including a chemical blowing agent which is exemplified as being present in an amount from 0-10 wt% [0065].
With regard to claim 5, US ‘653 would yield a composition that would have the same properties as the composition prepared by the process set forth in the product-by-process of claim 6. See MPEP 2113. Specifically, US ‘653 discloses using a high melt strength polypropylene that includes a non-phenolic stabilizer, such as a hindered amine, wherein the propylene-based polymer is made up of a branched polymer [0020].
With regard to claim 6, US ‘653 discloses a foam comprising the high melt strength polypropylene comprising which is present in an amount within the claimed range (claim 1).
With regard to claims 7 and 8, US ‘653 discloses that the foamable composition can comprise a further polypropylene component (claim 1, [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, US ‘653 discloses that a nucleating agent can be included in the composition ([0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, US ‘653 discloses that the density of the foam can be 10-200 kg/m3 [0045].
Regarding claim 11, US ‘653 discloses that the foam is produced via an extrusion process [0042].
Regarding claims 12 and 14, US ‘653 discloses that the composition is used to form a foamed article, such as a foamed sheet [0053].
Regarding claim 13, US ‘653 discloses the claimed process wherein a blowing agent is used in an amount of up to 1 wt% [0046].
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781