DETAILED ACTION
Claims 3-5, 8-11 amended
Claim 12 canceled
Claims 1-5 withdrawn
Claim 6-11 pending and elected
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 6-11, formula (1-1) in the reply filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the finding of lack of unity of invention is premature in the present application as a full search of the prior art has yet to have been conducted.
This is not found persuasive because to perform a full search (as suggested) would be an over undue burden to prove that there is no undue burden on the examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu (PG Pub 2010/0130687 A1).
Consider Claims 6, 8-10, Tu teaches to process of coating/applying on a substrate with silane coupling agent using vaper phase deposition system (by gasifying of the compound) [0060], where the silane coupling agent include silicon structure having the chemical formula seen in [0052] as below:
Tu teaches that the silane couple agents form covalent bond with the surfaces by chemical bonding/reacting [0059].
Although Tu does not explicitly teach the forming of film on the substrate, however, it would be obvious for ordinary skilled person in the art that the supplying of coating in a vaper form onto the substrate would form a thin film, with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Consider Claim 7, Tu teaches the process of coating using vapor deposition system [0060]. Where it would be obvious for ordinary skilled person in the art that the substrate is placed within the chamber of the vapor deposition system for the deposition step, and then the retrieving/removal of the substrate out of the chamber of the vapor depositing system after the coating process, with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (PG Pub 2014/0170855 A1).
Consider Claims 6, 8-11, Nakajima teaches the coating of resist film using organosilane (abstract) for semiconductor substrate [0007], and teaches coating of the substrate with the resist film using CVD (vapor deposition system) includes gasifying the compound [0156], and where the organosilane include formula (4) [0070], having R2 as alkoxy group [0071] and where the alkoxide include ethoxy group (C2H5O-) [0055], and where an example of chemical structure of formula (4) is as below (in page 18);
Nakajima does not explicitly teach the exact structure as claimed.
However, it would be obvious for ordinary skilled person in the art to use routine experimentation and known principle engineering, to test each and every choice of methoxy and/or ethoxy and then use the ethoxy in the above structure achieving the claimed structure, with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Consider Claim 7, Nakajima teaches the process of coating using vapor deposition system [0156]. Where it would be obvious for ordinary skilled person in the art that the substrate is placed within the chamber of the chemical vapor deposition system for the deposition step, and then the retrieving/removal of the substrate out of the chamber of the chemical vapor depositing system after the coating process, with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718