DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Hu et al. 20220310724 applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 should be dependent on claim 7 and not claim 17 to ensure that claim 7 is lacking antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. 20220310724.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 3 of Hu discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate 101 having a display area 103, a transition area (area between 3 and 103), and a barrier area (area 3), the barrier area being outside of the display area, and the transition area being separated between the display area and the barrier area;
a driver layer 2, on a side of the substrate and within the display area, comprising a device layer (transistor layer), a wiring layer (layer above layer 26 in fig. 7) and a first protective layer 26;
wherein the wiring layer is on a side of the device layer away from the substrate, and the first protective layer 26 covers the (bottom of the) wiring layer and (the top of) the device layer;
a barrier structure (3 and 26 in area 3), on the same side of the substrate as the driver layer and in the barrier area, surrounding the driver layer and comprising a support layer (layers below element 3), a barrier layer 3 and a second protective layer 403 above 3);
wherein the barrier layer 3 is on a side of the support layer 26 away from the substrate and in a different area of a same film layer 26 than the wiring layer, and a side wall of the barrier layer is provided with a barrier groove 301 surrounding the driver layer; and
the second protective layer 403 is on a surface of the barrier layer away from the substrate and in a different area of a same protective film 26 than the first protective layer 26 (in 103 region) ; and
a light-emitting layer 402 covering the driver layer and the barrier structure and being discontinuously at least at the barrier groove;
wherein the barrier layer 3 is provided with barrier grooves (301) on the side wall close to the driver layer and on the side wall (301) away from the driver layer;
each of the wiring layer and the barrier layer (see fig. 7) comprises a first metal layer 31, a second metal layer 32, and a third metal layer 33 stacked in sequence along a direction away from the substrate;
the first metal layer and the third metal layer are of a same material (titanium – par [0082]) which is different from a material of the second metal layer 32 (aluminum); and
in the barrier layer, a boundary of an orthographic projection of the second metal layer on the substrate is within boundaries of orthographic projections of the first metal layer and the third metal layer on the substrate to form the barrier groove.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 3 of Hu discloses wherein the support layer comprises: a first insulation layer 22 on a side of the substrate; a first conductive layer 201a on a surface of the first insulation layer away from the substrate; and a second insulation layer 24 covering a surface of the first conductive layer away from the substrate; and wherein the barrier layer is on a side of the second insulation layer away from the substrate.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 3 of Hu discloses wherein the support layer further comprises: a third insulation layer (portion of 26) covering a surface of the second insulation layer away from the substrate; and wherein the barrier layer is on a side of the third insulation layer away from the substrate.
Regarding claim 5, fig. 3 of Hu discloses wherein the support layer further comprises: a second conductive layer 201b on a surface of the third insulation layer away from the substrate; and a fourth insulation layer (portion of 26 above 201b) covering a surface of the second conductive layer 201b away from the substrate; and wherein the barrier layer is on a surface of the fourth insulation layer away from the substrate.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 3 of Hu discloses wherein the barrier structure further comprises: a first spacer layer (portion of 401) on a surface of the second protective layer away from the substrate; and a second spacer layer (portion of 403) on a surface of the first spacer layer away from the substrate.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 3 of Hu discloses a display device, comprising the display panel of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu.
Regarding claim 9, HU discloses claim 1 but does not disclose wherein a material of the protective film comprises at least one of silicon nitride and silicon oxide.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.)
See also In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); Ryco, Inc.v.Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.).
As such it would it would have been obvious to form a display panel of Hu comprising wherein a material of the protective film comprises at least one of silicon nitride and silicon oxide in order to use material desired by applicant to meet applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 10, HU discloses claim 1 but does not disclose wherein a thickness of the protective film is greater than or equal to 0.1 μm, and is less than or equal to 0.2 μm.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a display panel of Hu comprising wherein a thickness of the protective film is greater than or equal to 0.1 μm, and is less than or equal to 0.2 μm in order to meet applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to form a display panel of Hu further comprising: an encapsulation layer covering the light-emitting layer and the barrier structure in order to form an encapsulant to protect the display panel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893