DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Nakamura (US 20070018356 A1)
Applicant argues that Nakamura does not disclose "a press with a first pressing tool and a second pressing tool. .. wherein the first pressing tool and/or the second pressing tool are designed in such manner that their expansion profile (DVPl, DVP2) deviates by a maximum of 3.5% of the expansion profile (DVW) of the workpiece during at least 97.5% of the expansion profile."
Examiner does not find this persuasive because this limitation was read as an intended use.
In short, the limitation is a function of the material worked upon (the workpiece); and if a limitation is a function of the material worked upon, then it is an intended use.
“Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
The prior rejection indicated on Page 1 Line 13 that: “The “workpiece” is considered the material worked upon by the pressing system.”; and indicated the disputed limitation was considered an intended use on Page 7 Line 20.
If applicant disputes this interstation, then they should have explained the limitation and how it is a structural limitation and not an intended use. Instead, Applicant asserts that the Nakamura system is used differently. This raises question as to the scope of the claim and whether the disputed limitation is required to be performed as seemingly alleged by Applicant.
As an explanation of why the limitation was considered an intended use, consider the meaning of the terms in the limitation:
“wherein the workpiece passes through an expansion profile (DVW) as a function of the pressure profile acting in the working space and the temperature profile acting in the working space”
This means that a pressure and temperature is applied to the workpiece. This is generic to all workpieces because all materials change size when pressure and heat are applied. The amount they change depends on the heat and pressure. Also, this is the material worked upon by the system.
Next is,
“wherein the first pressing tool and the second pressing tool pass through a respective expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) as a function of the pressure profile acting in the working space and the temperature profile acting in the working space”
This means that a pressure and temperature is applied to the tools and the tools expand. This is generic to all tools because all materials change size when pressure and heat are applied. The amount they change depends on the heat and pressure.
Additionally, the temperature and pressure in the claim are undefined, so the claim does not exclude certain tools based on capability to withstand certain temperatures and pressures.
Last is:
“wherein the first pressing tool and/or the second pressing tool are designed in such manner that their expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) deviates by a maximum of 3.5% of the expansion profile (DVW) of the workpiece during at least 97.5% of the expansion profile”
This means that the tools are designed to have a expand a certain amount relative to how much the workpiece expands when the pressure and the temperature is applied.
For example if the workpiece expands 100 (arbitrary units) then the tool must expand 96.5~103.5 (arbitrary units) for 97.5% of the expansion process. The expansion process being any temperature and when any pressure is applied during the particular intended use of the tool with any composition of workpiece. Thus, this is an intended use because it defines the structure of the system on material worked upon and when the system is used in a particular manner.
As stated above, the prior office action clearly stated that the limitation was considered an intended use. Rather than explaining how the limitation is not an intended use and clarifying the claims, Applicant makes a variety of allegations regarding the applied prior art and fails to explain why the interpretation is incorrect. If this claim limitation is not an intended use then applicant should explain what the claim means and how it further limits the claimed structure.
Applicant argues that in Nakamura, “Figs. 6-7 and 9 show only a portion of a pressing process, and thus only a portion of expansion at a certain point in time that does not equate to an expansion profile of the pressing tools and the workpiece, let alone the claimed ranges and features.” (bottom of Pg. 8 to top of page 9 of remarks).
Examiner does not find this persuasive because that the prior art only illustrates a portion of a process is irrelevant in a claim to a system claim. The prior art either teaches the same structure or it does not. Here, the prior art teaches the same physical elements that make up the system, the structure.
Mine (US 20150017390 A1)
Applicant argues that the rejection is too short and rejection lacks sufficient detail to allow Applicant an opportunity to adequately respond
Examiner does not find this persuasive because the rejection is clear. The rejection cites Fig 1. Fig 1 of Mine is shown next to Fig 1 of the present Application, below. The correspondence between features in the figures is readily apparent and does not require element-by-element annotation for Applicant to review and respond.
The claim is directed to a system and a claim to a system is the structure that is recited in the claim. Mine shows the same structure as claimed. Thus, Mine meets the claim.
As shown in the prior cited Figs 1-3 of Mine, duplicated below, 12 is a tool, 10 is a tool, 16 is a heater. The tools are pressed together (pressure) and the workpiece 15 gets molded. This clearly shows the same structure as claimed.
The correspondence between features in the figures and the claimed invention is readily apparent and does not require element-by-element annotation for Applicant to review and respond.
Applicant makes similar arguments as made in Nakamura, above.
Examiner does not find this persuasive for the same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 16-26 and 31-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 16, the limitation
“wherein the workpiece passes through an expansion profile (DVW) as a function of the pressure profile acting in the working space and the temperature profile acting in the working space
wherein the first pressing tool and the second pressing tool pass through a respective expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) as a function of the pressure profile acting in the working space and the temperature profile acting in the working space, wherein the first pressing tool and/or the second pressing tool are designed in such manner that their expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) deviates by a maximum of 3.5% of the expansion profile (DVW) of the workpiece during at least 97.5% of the expansion profile”
renders the claim indefinite because it requires a user to actually use the claimed structure to accomplish a recited function. A structure claim that requires a user to actually use a structure to accomplish a recited function constitutes an attempt to bridge more than one statutory class of invention and renders the claim indefinite1.
If an end user used the apparatus without performing the claimed action, then they would not meet every limitation of the claim because the above limitation would not be met, however no structural change would have occurred to the structure.
Although, in the prior office action the Examiner interpreted the following limitation as referring to an intended use, Applicant’s remarks filed on 02/24/2026 indicates that Applicant intends for this limitation to be required by the claim. Applicant intends for the claim to require the process of using the structure as being part of the claim. In a claim to a device, however, it is the physical structure that sets forth the metes and bounds of the patent claim.
In other words, the claim was previously interpreted such that the limitation “wherein the workpiece passes through an expansion profile… wherein the first pressing tool and the second pressing tool pass through a respective expansion profile…” was an intended use of the system, however, Applicants reply indicates that they intend that the user is required to use the system as claimed. This is not permitted in a device claim. Or, alternatively, it is unclear how this is a structure.
Note: Claims 17-26 and 31-41 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 16.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. pressure generating device
temperature generating device
pressing tool
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Mine (US 20150017390 A1)
If the workpiece is part of the system, then Mine is relied upon regarding claims 17-18.
In reference to claim 16, Mine discloses the invention (see Fig 1-3, and “pressure” and “temperature” in the abstract; also see Claim 8).
Figure 1 of Mine is shown next to Fig 1 of the present Application.
The correspondence between features in the two images is readily apparent and does not require element-by-element annotation for Applicant to review and respond.
The claim is directed to a system and a claim to a system is the structure that is recited in the claim. Mine shows the same structure as the claimed system. Thus, Mine meets the claim.
Figs 1-3 of Mine are also duplicated below, in sequence, for ease of reference.
In reference to claim 17-18, Mine discloses the invention as in claim 16 and further discloses that the workpiece comprises two fusible components (“continuous fibers and a matrix resin of a thermoplastic resin is heated and pressed in the mold” [P0034]).
Claim 16, 19-21, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 20070018356 A1)
In reference to claim 16, Nakamura discloses a press with a first pressing tool and a second pressing tool, wherein the first pressing tool and the second pressing tool can be moved relative to one another to form a working space (Fig 6-7 and Fig 9),
a workpiece (Fig 6-7 element 1)
a pressure generating device for generating a pressure profile acting on the workpiece located in the working space (Fig 6 element 2)
a temperature generating device for generating a temperature profile acting on the workpiece located in the working space (“the first die and the second die are also respectively heated to a temperature substantially” [P0012]);
The device would be capable of the claimed intended use,
wherein the workpiece passes through an expansion profile (DVW) as a function of the pressure profile acting in the working space and the temperature profile acting in the working space
wherein the first pressing tool and the second pressing tool pass through a respective expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) as a function of the pressure profile acting in the working space and the temperature profile acting in the working space, wherein the first pressing tool and/or the second pressing tool are designed in such manner that their expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) deviates by a maximum of 3.5% of the expansion profile (DVW) of the workpiece during at least 97.5% of the expansion profile.
The limitation is a function of the material worked upon (the workpiece); and if a limitation is a function of the material worked upon, then it is an intended use.
“Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
The prior rejection indicated on Page 1 Line 13 that: “The “workpiece” is considered the material worked upon by the pressing system.”; and indicated the disputed limitation was considered an intended use on Page 7 Line 20.
If applicant disputes this intpretation, then they should explain the limitation and how it is a structural limitation and not an intended use.
As a further explanation of why the limitation is considered an intended use, let’s consider the meaning of the terms in the limitation:
“wherein the first pressing tool and the second pressing tool pass through a respective expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) as a function of the pressure profile acting in the working space and the temperature profile acting in the working space”
This means that a pressure and temperature is applied to the tools and the tools expand. This is generic to all tools because all materials change size when pressure and heat are applied. The amount they change depends on the heat and pressure.
Additionally, the temperature and pressure in the claim are undefined, so the claim does not exclude certain tools based on capability to withstand certain temperatures and pressures.
The next half of the claim is:
“wherein the first pressing tool and/or the second pressing tool are designed in such manner that their expansion profile (DVP1, DVP2) deviates by a maximum of 3.5% of the expansion profile (DVW) of the workpiece during at least 97.5% of the expansion profile”
This means that the tools are designed to have a expand a certain amount relative to the workpiece property when the pressure and the temperature is applied.
For example if the workpiece expands 100 (arbitrary units) then the tool must expand 96.5~103.5 (arbitrary units) for 97.5% of the expansion process, when any temperature and when any pressure is applied during the particular intended use of the tool. This is an intended use because it defines the structure of the system on material worked upon when the system is used in a particular manner.
In reference to claim 17-18 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
The prior art teaches the same structure of the apparatus. The workpiece is material worked upon.
“It will be borne in mind that it has been long established that a person may not patent a combination of device and material upon which the device works, nor limit other persons from the use of similar material by claiming a device patent.”
In re Smith, 36 F.2d 302, 303 (CCPA 1929)
“Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.”
In re Young (CCPA 1935)
“there is no patentable combination between a device and the material upon which it works.”
In re Rishoi, 197 F.2d 342, 344-45 (CCPA 1952)
“[T]he grant of a patent on a composition or machine cannot be predicated on a new use of that machine or composition”
In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246, 248, 114 USPQ 161, 162 (CCPA 1957)
“Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
In reference to claim 19 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 16. See Fig 6. See element 12 in Fig 6 re membrane.
In reference to claim 20-21 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 16. The prior art device would be capable of the claimed intended use.
In reference to claim 25 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 16. The prior art device would be capable of the claimed intended use.
In reference to claim 36-37 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 16. The prior art device would be capable of the claimed intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 20070018356 A1)
In reference to claim 26 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 16.
Nakamura does not disclose the dimensions of the system.
The size of the system is not a matter of invention. It would be obvious to change the size of the tooling in order to make differently sized parts.
In reference to claim 38-41 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 16.
Nakamura does not disclose the dimensions of the system.
The size of the system is not a matter of invention. It would be obvious to change the size of the tooling in order to make differently sized parts. The prior art device would be capable of the claimed intended use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
1 35 U.S.C. § 101 delineates four categories of statutory subject matter: “processes,” “machines,” “manufactures,” and “compositions of matter.” A claim is indefinite if it does not reasonably apprise those skilled in the art of the statutory class of invention the claim is directed to or if the claim attempts to bridge more than one statutory class of invention.
See IPXL Holdings, 430 F.3d at 1384 (claim attempting to claim both a system and a method of using that system held indefinite); In re Rishoi, 197 F.2d 342, 345 (CCPA 1952) (“[T]here is no patentable combination between a device and the material upon which it works.”); In re Smith, 36 F.2d 302, 303 (CCPA 1929) (“It will be borne in mind that it has been long established that a person may not patent a combination of device and material upon which the device works, nor limit other persons from the use of similar material by claiming a device patent.”).