DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1, 3-6, 8-14 and 19-21.
Applicants' arguments, filed 03/04/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-14, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (WO 2019/156116 A1, Aug. 15, 2019) (hereinafter Kobayashi) in view of Horino et al. (JPH10194953A, Jul. 28, 1998) (hereinafter Horino).
Kobayashi discloses cellulose acetate particles having a total degree of acetyl substitution of 0.7-2.9. The cellulose acetate particles have an average particle size of 80 nm to 100 µm, a sphericity of 0.7-1.0, and a surface smoothness of 80-100%. The cellulose acetate particles are impregnated with a plasticizer. The cellulose acetate particles comprise 2-40 wt. % plasticizer. Suitable plasticizers include glycerin ester-based plasticizer. The cellulose acetate particles are used in a cosmetic composition. (abstract).
Kobayashi differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises magnesium or calcium particles (i.e., metal compound-containing particles).
However, Horino discloses obtaining an antibacterial cosmetic by including a specific metal hydroxide. Horino specifically discloses an antibacterial cosmetic comprising one or more kinds of antibacterial particles, such as magnesium hydroxide and calcium hydroxide. The amount of antibacterial particles are preferably 0.05-40 wt. % based on the total cosmetic (abstract). The average particle size of the antibacterial particles can be 0.01 to 15 µm (¶ [0032]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated 0.05-40 wt. % magnesium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide with an average particle size of 0.01 to 15 µm into the cosmetic composition of Kobayashi motivated by the desire to formulate the cosmetic composition with an antibacterial effect as taught by Horino.
In regards to instant claim 10 reciting 2 to 20 carbons, Kobayashi discloses an acetyl group and an acetyl group contains at least 2 carbons.
In regards to the limitation of instant claim 6, Horino discloses 0.05-40 wt. % magnesium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide; thus, the claimed amount of magnesium or calcium would have been obvious from this range.
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (WO 2019/156116 A1, Aug. 15, 2019) (hereinafter Kobayashi) in view of Horino et al. (JPH10194953A, Jul. 28, 1998) (hereinafter Horino), and further in view of Arima et al. (JP 08059404 A, Mar. 5, 1996) (hereinafter Arima).
The teachings of Kobayashi and Horino are discussed above. Kobayashi and Horino do not teach wherein the antibacterial particles are aggregates.
However, Arima discloses antibacterial inorganic oxide particles comprising aggregated inorganic oxide microparticles comprising an antibacterial metal component for use in cosmetics (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the antibacterial particles as aggregates since this is another known and effective form for antibacterial particles to be provided in cosmetics as taught by Arima.
3. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (WO 2019/156116 A1, Aug. 15, 2019) (hereinafter Kobayashi) in view of Horino et al. (JPH10194953A, Jul. 28, 1998) (hereinafter Horino), and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2010/0185224, Jul. 22, 2010) (hereinafter Wu).
The teachings of Kobayashi and Horino are discussed above. Kobayashi and Horino do not teach wherein the cosmetic composition comprises sodium hydroxide particles.
However, Wu discloses wherein sodium hydroxide is an antimicrobial agent (¶ [0047]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated sodium hydroxide as the antibacterial particle into the composition of Kobayashi since it is another known and effective metal hydroxide compound with an antibacterial effect as taught by Wu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment have been made.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-14 and 19-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application Nos. 17/435,128, 18/010,591, 18/564,333, 18/718,131, 18/290,466, and 18/848,724 in view of Horino et al. (JPH10194953A, Jul. 28, 1998) (hereinafter Horino).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as reciting the addition of metal compound-containing particles.
However, Horino discloses obtaining an antibacterial cosmetic by including a specific metal hydroxide. Horino specifically discloses an antibacterial cosmetic comprising one or more kinds of antibacterial particles, such as magnesium hydroxide and calcium hydroxide. The amount of antibacterial particles are preferably 0.05-40 wt. % based on the total cosmetic (abstract). The average particle size of the antibacterial particles can be 0.01 to 15 µm (¶ [0032]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated magnesium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide into the claimed composition motivated by the desire to formulate the composition with an antibacterial effect as taught by Horino.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-14 and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,628,134 and 11,434,348 in view of Horino et al. (JPH10194953A, Jul. 28, 1998) (hereinafter Horino).
The pending claims differ from the patented claims insofar as reciting the addition of metal compound-containing particles.
However, Horino discloses obtaining an antibacterial cosmetic by including a specific metal hydroxide. Horino specifically discloses an antibacterial cosmetic comprising one or more kinds of antibacterial particles, such as magnesium hydroxide and calcium hydroxide. The amount of antibacterial particles are preferably 0.05-40 wt. % based on the total cosmetic (abstract). The average particle size of the antibacterial particles can be 0.01 to 15 µm (¶ [0032]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated magnesium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide into the claimed composition motivated by the desire to formulate the composition with an antibacterial effect as taught by Horino.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment have been made.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-14 and 19-21 are rejected.
Claims 15-18 have been withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614