DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application filed on 08/18/2023, is a U.S. National Stage Application, filed under 35 U.S.C. § 371, of International Application No. PCT/NL2022/050083 filed on 02/18/2022, which claims the priority to International Application No. PCT/NL2021/050109, filed 02/18/2021.
Status of claims
The preliminary amendment filed on08/18/2023, that canceled claims 1-34, and added claims 35-52, is acknowledged. Claims are 35-52 are pending.
Claim interpretation
Examination requires claim terms first be construed in terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. See MPEP § 2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111.01. It is also appropriate to look to how the claim term is used in the prior art, which includes prior art patents, published applications, trade publications, and dictionaries. MPEP § 2111.01 (III). However, specific embodiments of the specification cannot be imported into the claims, particularly where the subject claim limitation is broader than the embodiment. MPEP § 2111.01(II).
As provided in MPEP 2111.01.IV, “the only exceptions to giving the words in a claim their ordinary and customary meaning in the art are (1) when the applicant acts as their own lexicographer; and (2) when the applicant disavows or disclaims the full scope of a claim term in the specification. To act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. CCS Fitness, Inc. v. Brunswick Corp., 288 F.3d 1359, 1366, 62 USPQ2d 1658, 1662 (Fed. Cir. 2002).” In the instant case, Applicant defines the term subject” as:
The term "subject" as used herein refers to humans suffering from or at risk for a certain disease or disorder. The term "subject" and "patient" herein are used interchangeably. [Pg. 5].
The specification attempt to provide a specific definition to the term “subject” that is “suffering from of at risk of any disease or disorder. Because the definition targets any disease or disorder, the term subject” is given its ordinary and customary meanings attributed by those of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2111.01.
Instant specification provides specific definition to the term “increased risk”:
“the term 'increased risk' has its conventional meaning and refers to a situation in a subject, preferably human, where in individuals, either male or female, have an LDL- cholesterol level above 2.6 mmol/1 (100,54 mg/dL), such that they are exposed at an increased risk of a cardiovascular event, compared to those with lower levels. [Pg. 5].
The specification, while providing specific definition to the term “increased risk”, the specification recites that the term gets its conventional meaning. Thus, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term is given its ordinary and customary meanings attributed by those of ordinary skill in the art as described by EUPATI (European Patients Academy on Therapeutic Innovation), [“increased risk”. (01/2021). EUPATI. Retrieved from Internet Archive, website:
https://web.archive.org/web/20210104204248/https://toolbox.eupati.eu/resources/risk-factors-in-health-and-disease/].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
§ 102 Rejection over Ford
Claims 35-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by J. Ford et al. (WO 2017/023166 A1, 02/09/2017, “Ford” cited in the PTO-892).
Ford discloses a method of treatment of subjects suffering from hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia or having an increased risk for hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia comprising administering Compound A or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and ezetimibe or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. [Pg. 9, ln. 15-20, claim 31]. Ford discloses that the subject is particularly statin intolerant. [Pg. 6, ln. 22, Pg. 9, ln. 30].
Ford’s Compound A with the structure below, [Pg. 5, ln. 17], recited in the instant claims as obicetrapib:
Ford discloses the ezetimibe, [Pg. 9, ln. 25]:
Ford discloses in Example 2 a method of treating subjects suffering from or having an increased risk of hyperlipidemia by administering compound A together with ezetimibe. [Pg. 20, ln. 15].
Therefore, Ford anticipates claims 35-37.
With regard to claims 38-39 and 41-44, Ford discloses that compound A administered orally at 5 mg or 10 mg, [Pg. 18, ln. 10-12], and ezetimibe is administered at preferably 10 mg, [Pg. 17, 23], wherein Compound A and ezetimibe are administered orally. [Pg. 24, ln. 26]. Ford discloses that Compound A treatment alone decreased LDL-C and increased HDL-C, and it was remarkably found that when Compound A was combined with ezetimibe a further reduction in LDL-C was observed. [Pg. 25, ln. 13-20].
With regard to claims 45-48, Ford discloses that the combination of Compound A and ezetimibe more preferably formulated as an oral fixed dose combination, [Pg. 10, ln. 26-28], wherein the term 'fixed dose combination' refers to a combination of defined doses of Compound A and ezetimibe presented in a single dosage unit, a tablet or a capsule, and administered as such. [Pg. 7, ln. 32-34].
With regard to claim 49, Ford discloses that the combination of Compound A and ezetimibe used in a method of treatment of subjects suffering from cardiovascular diseases or having an increased risk for cardiovascular diseases. [Pg. 9, ln. 15-17]. Ford discloses that “the term 'increased risk' refers to a situation in a subject exposed at an increased risk of a cardiovascular event, compared to those with lower levels. [Pg. 7, ln. 7-10].
With regard to claims 50-52, Ford discloses a method of treatment of subjects suffering from cardiovascular diseases or having an increased risk for cardiovascular diseases by administering Compound A or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and ezetimibe or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. [Pg. 6, ln. 1-3, Pg. 16, ln. 4-6, claim 27, Pg. 9, ln. 15-17]. Ford discloses that the subject is particularly statin intolerant. [Pg. 6, ln. 22, Pg. 9, ln. 30]. Ford discloses that the combination of Compound A and ezetimibe is particularly suitable to be administered to patients which are suffering from cardiovascular diseases or have an increased risk for cardiovascular diseases, but which are statin intolerant. [Pg. 6, ln. 19-22]. Ford discloses that Compound A treatment alone decreased LDL-C and increased HDL-C, and it was remarkably found that when Compound A was combined with ezetimibe a further reduction in LDL-C was observed. [Pg. 25, ln. 13-20]. Ford discloses that a linear risk reduction in cardiovascular is associated with lowering LDL-C levels, and LDL-C lowering treatment reduce the risk for cardiovascular, wherein "the lower the LDL-C level, the better the risk reduction for the patient". [Pg. 1, ln. 16-19].
With regard to claim 40, Ford discloses that CETP inhibition, i.e., Compound A lowers the concentration of ApoB. [Pg. 3, ln. 17-21]. Ford discloses that the combination of Compound A and ezetimibe reduces LDL and lipoproteins e.g., ApoB. [Pg. 12, ln. 1-6]. Ford discloses that the efficacy assessment of the combination of Compound A and ezetimibe include measuring the concentration of apolipoprotein B, ApoB. [Pg. 18, ln. 19-20, ln. 33]. Ford discloses that ApoB measured 2 weeks prior to treatment, [Pg. 24, 15-21], and ApoB measured after 10 days of treatment. [Pg. 24, ln. 29-32]. While Ford discloses that the combination of Compound A and ezetimibe lowers LDL and ApoB, and that ApoB concentration has been measure prior and after the treatment with the combination of Compound A and ezetimibe in subjects suffering from or having an increased risk of hyperlipidemia, Ford is silent on the concentration of ApoB but otherwise teaches a substantially identical method as claimed. As such, it is reasonable to presume that the resulting concentration of ApoB is inherently reduced. The burden is on Applicant(s) to show that this property is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See MPEP 2112.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting over USPN 11642344 B2
Claims 35-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of USPN 11642344 B2 in view of J. Ford et al. (WO 2017/023166 A1, 02/09/2017, “Ford” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 35-52 recite: a method of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk for hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, and method of treating a subject suffering from cardiovascular disease or having an increased risk for cardiovascular disease, the methods comprising: orally administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of (i) between 1 to 10 mg per day obicetrapib, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, and (ii) between 5 to 20 mg ezetimibe per day ezetimibe, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, wherein the subject is partially or completely intolerant to statins, wherein apolipoprotein B (ApoB) concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein LDL-C concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein the reduction of LDL-C levels by the combination of obicetrapib and ezetimibe is no less than the LDL-C reduction by the same dose of obicetrapib administered as monotherapy, wherein obicetrapib and ezetimibe are administered in a single oral dosage form in the form of capsule or tablet, wherein the method reduces the risk for major adverse cardiovascular events.
USPN 11642344 B2 claims a method of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk for cardiovascular diseases, the method comprising administering to said subject in need thereof an effective dosage amount of a compound of the formula A (obicetrapib) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the effective dosage amount of said Compound A to be administered to said subject is 1-25 mg daily, wherein said effective dosage amount of said compound A to be administered to the subject in need thereof is 5 mg or 10 mg daily, wherein the effective dosage amount of said compound A to be administered to the subject in need thereof is 5 mg daily, wherein the effective dosage amount of said compound A to be administered to the subject in need thereof is 10 mg daily, wherein said cardiovascular diseases are selected from hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, wherein said effective dosage amount of said compound A to be administered to the subject in need thereof is 5 mg or 10 mg daily in a solid oral dosage form or liquid oral dosage form, wherein said solid oral dosage form is a tablet, wherein said solid oral dosage form is a capsule.
USPN 11642344 B2 does not recite that the method includes administering ezetimibe.
The disclosures set forth above in the 102 Rejection over the same Ford et al. reference are herein incorporated by reference (pages 4-5 above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of instantly claimed invention to combine ezetimibe with compound A (obicetrapib) in the method of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk for cardiovascular diseases, hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, in view of the teachings of Ford. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because Ford teaches a method of treating subjects suffering from hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia or having an increased risk for hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia by administering Compound A or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and ezetimibe or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for a subject particularly statin intolerant, wherein the combination of obicetrapib and ezetimibe remarkably further reduce LDL-C compared to obicetrapib alone. [Pg. 25, ln. 13-20]. Therefore, instant claims 35-39, and 41-52 are obvious over the combination of USPN 11642344 B2 and Ford. Instant claim 40 is obvious as discussed above in the 102 Rejection (page 6).
Double Patenting over Copending Application No. 19/060,610
Claims 35-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 40, 41, and 45 of copending Application No. 19/060,610 (US PG-PUB 20250186442 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 35-52 recite: a method of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk for hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, and method of treating a subject suffering from cardiovascular disease or having an increased risk for cardiovascular disease, the methods comprising: orally administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of (i) between 1 to 10 mg per day obicetrapib, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, and (ii) between 5 to 20 mg ezetimibe per day ezetimibe, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, wherein the subject is partially or completely intolerant to statins, wherein apolipoprotein B (ApoB) concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein LDL-C concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein the reduction of LDL-C levels by the combination of obicetrapib and ezetimibe is no less than the LDL-C reduction by the same dose of obicetrapib administered as monotherapy, wherein obicetrapib and ezetimibe are administered in a single oral dosage form in the form of capsule or tablet, wherein the method reduces the risk for major adverse cardiovascular events.
Copending Application No. 19/060,610 recites in claims 1 and 13, a fixed dose pharmaceutical composition comprising a. obicetrapib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or co-crystal thereof; b. ezetimibe or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or co-crystal thereof; and c. one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, wherein the composition comprises 1 to 20 mg obicetrapib and 5 to 20 mg ezetimibe, preferably said composition comprises 5 mg obicetrapib and 10 mg ezetimibe or 10 mg obicetrapib and 10 mg ezetimibe, wherein the composition is tablet or capsule.
Copending Application No. 19/060,610 specification recites the composition of the combination of obicetrapib and ezetimibe is for treatment of subjects requiring reduction in LDL cholesterol and/or an increase in HDL cholesterol, said subjects are suffering from or having hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, heterozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (HeFH) or established atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD), wherein the said subjects are partially or completely intolerant to statins. [Pg. 33], wherein the combination reduces LDL-C plasma levels compared to methods based on therapy with obicetrapib, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or co-crystal thereof, alone, and reduces ApoB plasma levels. [Pg. 7, 43, 164].
MPEP 804 states: The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. Toro Co. v. White Consol. Indus., Inc., 199 F.3d 1295, 1299, 53 USPQ2d 1065, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 1999) ("[W]ords in patent claims are given their ordinary meaning in the usage of the field of the invention, unless the text of the patent makes clear that a word was used with a special meaning."); Renishaw PLC v. Marposs Societa' per Azioni, 158 F.3d 1243, 1250, 48 USPQ2d 1117, 1122 (Fed. Cir. 1998) ("Where there are several common meanings for a claim term, the patent disclosure serves to point away from the improper meanings and toward the proper meanings."). "The Patent and Trademark Office (‘PTO’) determines the scope of the claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction ‘in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art.’ " Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc) (quoting In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also MPEP § 2111.01. Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the reference claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the reference patent or application (as distinguished from an obvious variation of the subject matter disclosed in the reference patent or application). In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 441-42, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970). The court in Vogel recognized "that it is most difficult, if not meaningless, to try to say what is or is not an obvious variation of a claim," but that one can judge whether or not the invention claimed in an application is an obvious variation of an embodiment disclosed in the patent or application which provides support for the claim. According to the court, one must first "determine how much of the patent disclosure pertains to the invention claimed in the patent" because only "[t]his portion of the specification supports the patent claims and may be considered." The court pointed out that "this use of the disclosure is not in contravention of the cases forbidding its use as prior art, nor is it applying the patent as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 103, since only the disclosure of the invention claimed in the patent may be examined." In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 86 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Moreover, Copending Application No. 19/060,610 recites in claim 40 a method of treatment of a subject requiring reduction in LDL cholesterol and/or an increase in HDL cholesterol, a subject with heterozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (HeFH) and/or subject with established atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD), wherein the method comprises administering a therapeutically effective dose of the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1 to a patient in need thereof. Copending Application No. 19/060,610 recites in claim 41 a method of treatment of subjects suffering from hyperlipidaemia or mixed dyslipidaemia, wherein the method comprises administering the pharmaceutical composition of anyone of the preceding claims claim 1 to a patient in need thereof. Copending Application No. 19/060,610 recites in claim 45 the composition of claim 1 for use in the treatment of subjects requiring additional lowering of low-density lipoprotein cholesterol
Therefore, the combination of obicetrapib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or co-crystal thereof, and ezetimibe or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of claims 1 and 13 of Copending Application No. 19/060,610, that has a utility of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk for hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, cardiovascular disease, meets the limitations of claims 35-52.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting over Copending Application No. 19/154,743
Claims 35-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of copending Application No. 19/154,743 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 35-52 recite: a method of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk for hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, and method of treating a subject suffering from cardiovascular disease or having an increased risk for cardiovascular disease, the methods comprising: orally administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of (i) between 1 to 10 mg per day obicetrapib, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, and (ii) between 5 to 20 mg ezetimibe per day ezetimibe, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, wherein the subject is partially or completely intolerant to statins, wherein apolipoprotein B (ApoB) concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein LDL-C concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein the reduction of LDL-C levels by the combination of obicetrapib and ezetimibe is no less than the LDL-C reduction by the same dose of obicetrapib administered as monotherapy, wherein obicetrapib and ezetimibe are administered in a single oral dosage form in the form of capsule or tablet, wherein the method reduces the risk for major adverse cardiovascular events.
Copending Application No. 19/154,743 recites in claims 1-28, A fixed dose pharmaceutical composition comprising obicetrapib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or co-crystal thereof, ezetimibe or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or co-crystal thereof, and, pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, for use in a method of synergistically lowering LDL-C plasma levels in a subject in need thereof, said method comprising the administration of the fixed dose pharmaceutical composition, wherein the subject is a subject suffering from mixed dyslipidemia, or established atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD), wherein the subject is a subject that is intolerant to statins and is unable to reach an LDL-C plasma level of < 70 mg/dL with ezetimibe alone, wherein said method results in a reduction of LDL-C plasma levels of at least 40%, from baseline, wherein baseline is defined as start of the treatment with obicetrapib and ezetimibe, wherein the method comprises the oral administration of obicetrapib at a daily dose of about 10 mg and the oral administration of ezetimibe at a daily dose of about 10 mg. Copending Application No. 19/154,743 defines “fixed dose” as single dosage unit (e.g. a tablet or a capsule) and administered as such [Pg. 9, ln. 12-14]. Therefore, Copending Application No. 19/154,743 meets claims 35-39, 41, 45-52.
Claims 40, 42-44 are met for the following reasons: Copending Application No. 19/154,743 teaches a method of using combination of obicetrapib and ezetimibe in treating subject suffering from mixed dyslipidemia and cardiovascular disease, wherein the subject is statins intolerant. Copending Application No. 19/154,743 is silent on the concentration of ApoB and on the reduction of LDL-C of the combination being no less than the reduction by obicetrapib monotherapy, but otherwise teaches a substantially identical method as claimed. As such, it is reasonable to presume that the resulting concentration of ApoB is inherently reduced, and LDL-C is inherently more than the reduction of the obicetrapib monotherapy. The burden is on Applicant(s) to show that this property is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See MPEP 2112.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting over Copending Application No. 18/346,342
Claims 35-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/346,342 (US20240010630A1) in view of J. Ford et al. (WO 2017/023166 A1, 02/09/2017, “Ford” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 35-52 recite: a method of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk for hyperlipidemia or mixed dyslipidemia, and method of treating a subject suffering from cardiovascular disease or having an increased risk for cardiovascular disease, the methods comprising: orally administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of (i) between 1 to 10 mg per day obicetrapib, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, and (ii) between 5 to 20 mg ezetimibe per day ezetimibe, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, wherein the subject is partially or completely intolerant to statins, wherein apolipoprotein B (ApoB) concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein LDL-C concentration in the blood of the subject is reduced, wherein the reduction of LDL-C levels by the combination of obicetrapib and ezetimibe is no less than the LDL-C reduction by the same dose of obicetrapib administered as monotherapy, wherein obicetrapib and ezetimibe are administered in a single oral dosage form in the form of capsule or tablet, wherein the method reduces the risk for major adverse cardiovascular events.
Copending Application No. 18/346,342 recites in claim 1, Amorphous obicetrapib hemicalcium.
Copending Application No. 18/346,342 specification recites A method of treating a subject suffering from or having an increased risk of developing a cardiovascular disease, the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a [Pg. 77, [0371]]. The specification recites that obicetrapib, potent CETP- inhibitor, lower LDL-C and ApoB, wherein a strong association between low density lipoprotein-cholesterol (LDL-C) levels and cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk. [Pg. 1, [0002]-[0004].
MPEP 804 states: The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. Toro Co. v. White Consol. Indus., Inc., 199 F.3d 1295, 1299, 53 USPQ2d 1065, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 1999) ("[W]ords in patent claims are given their ordinary meaning in the usage of the field of the invention, unless the text of the patent makes clear that a word was used with a special meaning."); Renishaw PLC v. Marposs Societa' per Azioni, 158 F.3d 1243, 1250, 48 USPQ2d 1117, 1122 (Fed. Cir. 1998) ("Where there are several common meanings for a claim term, the patent disclosure serves to point away from the improper meanings and toward the proper meanings."). "The Patent and Trademark Office (‘PTO’) determines the scope of the claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction ‘in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art.’ " Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc) (quoting In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also MPEP § 2111.01. Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the reference claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the reference patent or application (as distinguished from an obvious variation of the subject matter disclosed in the reference patent or application). In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 441-42, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970). The court in Vogel recognized "that it is most difficult, if not meaningless, to try to say what is or is not an obvious variation of a claim," but that one can judge whether or not the invention claimed in an application is an obvious variation of an embodiment disclosed in the patent or application which provides support for the claim. According to the court, one must first "determine how much of the patent disclosure pertains to the invention claimed in the patent" because only "[t]his portion of the specification supports the patent claims and may be considered." The court pointed out that "this use of the disclosure is not in contravention of the cases forbidding its use as prior art, nor is it applying the patent as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 103, since only the disclosure of the invention claimed in the patent may be examined." In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 86 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
However, Copending Application No. 18/346,342 does not teach that the method includes administering ezetimibe.
The disclosures set forth above in the 102 Rejection over the same Ford et al. reference are herein incorporated by reference (pages 4-5 above).
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the obviousness Double Patenting on page 9.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting Rejection Consideration
A non-statutory double patenting rejection over US application of 17/873,009 (published as US PG-PUB 2022/0194895 A1) was considered but not applied because US application of 17/873,009 requires specific patients populations, a hypo-responder to high-intensity statin (HIS) therapy, and required concomitant statin therapy, whereas the instant claims recite a patient population that exhibits statin intolerance.
Conclusion
Claims 35-52 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/M.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622