DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/09/2026 (hereinafter “amendment”) has been accepted and entered. Claims 1 and 3-4 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albrecht et al. US 4,567,993, herein after referred to as Albrecht.
Regarding claim 1 Albrecht discloses a plastic screw cap (10 closure, Figs. 1-8) including:
a top plate (32 upper end wall);
a skirt wall (34 cylindrical skirt) that extends downward from a peripheral edge of the top plate an inner surface of the skirt wall including a thread (30 internal threads) to be screwed to an outer surface of a container mouth portion (Fig. 2); and
a tamper-evident band (36 separable band) that is connected to a lower end of the skirt wall via a breakable bridge (40 frangible bridge) an inner surface of the tamper-evident band including a locking projection (50 annular lug) capable of being locked to a lower surface of a container jaw portion (Figs. 2-6), wherein
the inner surface of the tamper-evident band (36) further includes a flow path forming projection (43 rib, Figs. 6-7) that is located above and spaced from the locking projection (50) and, in a state where the plastic screw cap is attached to the container mouth portion (Fig. 6), the flow path forming projection (43) abuts an outer surface of the container jaw portion at or above a maximum outer diameter part of the container jaw (Figs. 6-7, the maximum diameter part of the container mouth is the container ridge 44 of which the path forming projection abuts therefore the path forming projection 43 abuts the outer surface of the container jaw at the maximum diameter part as the maximum diameter part includes the undersurface 54 of the maximum outer diameter part 44) to form a flow path (either side of 43) between the container jaw portion and the inner surface of the skirt wall
Regarding claim 4 Albrecht discloses a plastic screw cap according to claim 1 and further discloses wherein the flow path forming projection (43) has an axially extending rib shape or a block shape (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albrecht in view of Inoue JP 6373099 B2, herein after referred to as Inoue.
Regarding claim 3 Albrecht discloses a plastic screw cap according to claim 1 and further discloses the locking projection is a plurality of the locking projections (50) are formed at regular intervals in the circumferential direction (Col. 4 lines 53-56), and
the flow path forming projection (43) is disposed between and above the locking projections (43 is above and would be in between separate locking projection as they are spaced around the circumference).
Albrecht is silent to the path forming projection being above and between each adjacent pair of the locking projections.
Inoue teaches a screw cap (2) with a plurality of locking projections (36) formed at regular intervals in the circumferential direction (Fig. 2) and a flow path forming projections (either side of 40, Fig. 1) that is disposed between and above each adjacent pair of the locking projections (Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing of the flow path forming projections to be disposed between and above each adjacent pair of locking projections as taught by Inoue as it is well known in the art and yield predictable results as well as allowing the screw cap to have multiple flows paths which allow for a more even flow and allow for flows path when the container is in different orientations (tilted, vertical, on its side etc.). Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Albrecht fails to disclose “the claimed flow path forming projection” and fails to disclose the “the flow path forming projection abuts an outer surface of the container jaw at or above a maximum outer diameter part of the container jaw portion”, examiner disagrees. As stated above Albrecht discloses that the maximum diameter part of the container mouth is 44 of which the path forming projection 43 abuts as shown in Fig. 6. Therefore, the path forming projection 43 abuts the outer surface of the container jaw at the maximum diameter part as the maximum diameter part includes the undersurface 54 of the maximum outer diameter part 44. It appears that the applicant is arguing the path forming projection is located at or above the height of the maximum diameter of the container jaw portion, which is not claimed as the claim recites at or above the maximum outer diameter part, not the maximum outer diameter. As such Albrecht discloses the path forming projection as claimed. Further the applicant does not recite that the plastic screw cap is fully seated, merely that it is attached so the path forming projection can abut at different heights as the lid is placed on the container for the first time and still be attached to the container mouth portion.
Arguments to claim 3 are based on arguments to claim 1 and are addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Lauren Kmet whose telephone number is (313)446-4834. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am-6pm.
/L KMET/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735