DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration, the previous rejection of record was withdrawn in light of new amendments. However new rejection is applied to the amended claims. All changes made in the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0320358 hereinafter Lee.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a battery module comprising: a plurality of battery cells [100] stacked in a first direction; a module frame that houses the battery cells (i.e., battery units formed in a module and expected to include a housing that accommodates the module) (paragraph 3); and a spacer (sliding plate) [300] disposed between adjacent battery cells (see annotated figure 1 shown below), wherein the spacer [300] comprises leaf springs [330] that are movable in the first direction (paragraphs 14, 40).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches a battery module comprising: a plurality of battery cells [100] stacked in a first direction; a module frame that houses the battery cells (i.e., battery units formed in a module and expected to include a housing) (paragraph 3); and a spacer [300] disposed between adjacent battery cells (see annotated figure 1 shown above), wherein the spacer [300] comprises a first leaf spring and a second leaf spring (i.e., first and second sliding plates) [330] that are connected to upper and lower support members (shaft members) [310 and 312] (paragraphs 14, 40, see figure 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee teaches that the plurality of battery cells [100] are stacked in the first direction, and the first and second leaf springs (i.e., first and second sliding plates) [330] are movable in the first direction (paragraph 14).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0044113 hereinafter Wagner.
Regarding Claim 1, Wagner teaches a battery module [1] comprising: a plurality of battery cells [2] stacked in a first direction; a module frame [5] that encloses the battery units; and a sliding plate (partition and spring element) [4 and 6] disposed between adjacent battery cells (see annotated figure 1 shown below), wherein the sliding plate comprises spring element [6] that are movable in the first direction (paragraphs 32-33).
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0320358 hereinafter Lee in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0044113 hereinafter Wagner.
Regarding Claims 2-5, the combination teaches a battery module wherein the sliding plate comprises a first sliding plate and a second sliding plate (see figures 1-2 of Lee), and connection (support) members including upper and lower parts that connect the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate (see figures 1-2 of Lee). Wagner further teaches a spring element in the support (connection) member (see figures 1 above), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such support mechanism in the battery assembly before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can effectively secure the battery module together.
Regarding Claims 7-12, the combination teaches a battery module wherein the sliding plate comprises a first sliding plate and a second sliding plate (see figures 1-2 of Lee), and support (shaft) members including upper and lower parts that connect the first sliding plate and the second sliding plate (see figures 1-2 of Lee). Wagner further teaches that the module frame comprises end plates and bracing elements (i.e., frame assembly) configured to enclose the battery units and the sliding plates (see figures 1 above), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such support mechanism in the battery assembly before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can effectively secure the battery module together.
The combination teaches that the module frame comprises frame assembly to enclose the battery units; the shaft members fixed in the frame assembly; and a mounting part formed on a side surface part of the module frame in the first direction (see combination of Lee and Wagner described above).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination teaches a battery pack comprising the battery module as described above (paragraph 2 of Wagner).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752