DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Reply
This communication is responsive to the amendment(s) and/or argument(s) filed 5/26/26. The previous ground(s) of objection and/or rejection is/are withdrawn. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth hereinbelow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 55 and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer et al. (US 8,292,900 B2, hereinafter Meyer).
For claim 55, Meyer discloses a method of assembling an apparatus (Figs 6-7) (Cols 8-9), comprising inter alia:
a. providing a guidewire (16);
b. providing a coupling device (30 and 32) comprising a first tubular portion (32), and a second tubular portion (30) comprising a longitudinal section overlapping and joined laterally in a fixed orientation (Col 4) to a longitudinal section of the first tubular portion (Figs 6-7) (Cols 8-9); and
c. affixing the coupling device to a distal portion of the guidewire (guidewire 16 is affixed through 32 via bend region 56), such that that a lengthwise section of the first tubular portion of the coupling device surrounds the distal portion of the guidewire (Figs 6-7) (Cols 8-9), wherein the affixing includes deforming at least part of the lengthwise section of the first tubular portion that surrounds the distal portion of the first guidewire using an assembly tool (via provided electro stimulus causing 56 to deform and bend actuating material 62) (Figs 6-7) (Cols 8-9), the deforming being operative to secure the distal portion of the guidewire therewithin (Figs 6-7) (Cols 8-9),
wherein the second tubular portion is formed to accommodate slidable passage therethrough of a different guidewire (14) in a straight-line path between respective proximal and distal openings (openings of 30, Figs 6-7) of the second tubular section (Figs 6-7) (Cols 8-9) (see also exemplary Fig 12) , the straight-line path having a length-to-diameter ratio of at least 10:1 (length of 30,32 may be 100mm, Col 6, while standard guidewire diameter is 0.36mm).
For claim 57, Meyer discloses the method of claim 55, wherein the affixing includes using an assembly material (electro activated polymer 62).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 5/26/26, with respect to the amended claims overcoming the objections and 112b rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and 112b rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, wherein Applicant specifically argues the following:
Meyer does not disclose affixing the device ('wiring assist device) to a distal portion of the guidewire, i.e., the branch guidewire. To be clear, an online dictionary definition of 'affix' according to the Oxford Dictionaries on Google.com is to 'stick, attach, or fasten (something) to something else.
Meyer's branch guidewire is, throughout the specification and in all embodiments, advanced or advanceable through the device into branch vessels. Clearly, Meyer does not envision affixing the second guidewire to the device, e.g., in the sense of 'sticking, attaching or fastening'.
For example, at column 4, lines 4-7: 'The example wire assist device is described below with reference to FIGS. 1-8 to provide systems and methods for advancing a branch guidewire into a branch vessel of a vessel bifurcation.'.
Another example is found at column 9, line 64, to column 10, line 4: 'Referring now to FIGS. 9-13, an example method of treating a vessel bifurcation 18 is shown and described. A vessel bifurcation 18 includes a main vessel 20 and a branch vessel 22. In a first example method, a main guidewire 14 is advanced until a distal end thereof is positioned distal of an opening or ostium 24 into the branch vessel 22. A branch guidewire 16 is advanced distally to a point where a distal end thereof is positioned proximal of the ostium 24.'
A guidewire advancing through a tube is not affixed to the tube.
Moreover, the deformation of the second tubular portion in instant claim 55 is part of the process of affixing the coupling device to a distal portion of the guidewire, as per paragraph (c) of the claim: "wherein the affixing includes deforming at least part of the lengthwise section of the first tubular portion that surrounds the distal portion of the first guidewire".
In contradistinction, Meyer's bending or deformation of the second tubular section (guidewire housing member 32, e.g., in Figs. 1-7) is in order to direct a branch guidewire (a vessel bifurcation wire) into a branch vessel - and is not part of, or related to, an affixing process.
Thus, Meyer neither discloses nor anticipates the teachings of claim 55, at least in paragraph (c), which requires an affixing step that includes deforming.
Nonetheless, in order to complete a compact prosecution, Applicant now proposes a further amendment of claim 55 by adding that 'the deforming [is] operative to secure the distal portion of the guidewire therewithin'. This amendment is not intended to narrow the scope of the claim but rather to emphasize that the deforming is not just an incidental or unrelated action as is the case in Meyer, but rather is a key action in the carrying out of the affixing step.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees in response and notes the following:
Initially, the Examiner notes the instant Specification states inter alia the following:
(last paragraph page 5) “In some embodiments, the affixing can include mechanically and/or thermally deforming at least part of the longitudinal section of the first tubular portion that surrounds the distal portion of the first guidewire using an assembly tool.”
(middle two paragraphs page 16) “In some embodiments, as illustrated schematically in FIG. 10A, the affixing step includes the use of an assembly aid, and specifically an assembly material 63. The assembly material 63 can include, for example, but not exhaustively: an adhesive; a mechanical element interposed between the distal portion of the guidewire 10 and the first tubular portion 15 such as, in a non-limiting example, a shim; and/or any other material effective to secure the guidewire 10 within the first tubular section 15, including, in non-limiting examples, by adding heat or pressure when using the assembly material 63 in the affixing. FIG. 11B is a schematic end view showing the distal portion of the guidewire 10 surrounded by the first tubular portion 15 with the assembly material 63 intervening therebetween. In other examples, the assembly material 63 intervenes therebetween in a portion of the circumference of the guidewire 10 and/or first tubular section 15 but not around the entire circumference.
“In some embodiments, as illustrated schematically in FIG. 10B, the affixing step includes the use of an assembly tool 67. The assembly tool 67 can include, for example, but not exhaustively: a crimping tool or jig, a heat-shrinking tool, a welding or brazing tool, or a heat-welding tool. In embodiments, the assembly took 67 applies at least one of heat and pressure to secure the distal portion of the guidewire 10 within the first tubular section 15. FIG. 11C is a schematic end view showing the distal portion of the guidewire 10 surrounded by the first tubular portion 15, where at least a portion of the first tubular portion 15 has been mechanically and/or thermally deformed, e.g., by heat and/or pressure, so as to secure the distal portion of the guidewire 10 within.”
In response to Applicant’s argument that Meter does not disclose the affixing step, the Examiner respectfully notes that Meyer’s electroactive polymer tubular section contains/secures/surrounds/fastens the guidewire therein. The electroactive polymer is activated to mechanically deform and bend for directing of and traversal of the guidewire therethrough, further increasing the containment/securement/surrounding/fastening via the mechanical pressure applied to the guidewire by the now bent structure. Although the guidewire may traverse the tubular portion in straight or bent configurations, this does not preclude the guidewire from being contained, secured, surrounding, and fastened in the tubular portion with the additional pressure in the bent state. The Office’s interpretation of the claim language is consistent with the plain meaning and the instant disclosure, particularly because Meyer’s guidewire is designed to be secured and stay firmly in place while fastened and secured therein with added mechanical pressure and/or friction of the bent tubular structure to traverse tortuous vasculature.
The Examiner respectfully notes that the claims do not positively recite nor implicitly, inherently and/or inferentially require that affixing the coupling device to a distal portion of the guidewire, such that the affixed guidewire is (i) mechanically and/or thermally attached, (ii) prevented from longitudinal translation or rotation, and/or (iii) the guidewire is mechanically attached rendering it immovable. Conversely, the claims merely require the guidewire is affixed or fixed. These would appear to obviate the prior art rejection.
As similar, albeit rudimentary analogies, for example at least: (i) a garden hose may be affixed to a reel or spool such that it is fastened and secured therewith but still moveable thereout and therein, (ii) a paper towel roll may be affixed to a stationary post paper towel holder but still rotate when pulled such that affixing and movement therethrough still occur, (iii) a roll of tape may be affixed to a dispenser that permits dispending of tape, and/or (iv) an electrical wire may be affixed in a conduit that permits traversal therethrough and while fastening and affixing the electrical wire to a mounted structure via securement in the conduit.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “stick”, “attach”, “mechanically deform”, “affixing adding pressure”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791