DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Claims
The amendments filed 9/22/2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/22/2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant traverses the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) based on Bissonnette et al (Br J Dermatol 175:902-911, 2016; of record) in view of Kubo et al (Ann Rheum Dis 73:2192-2198, 2014; of record) and Anderson et al (US 2019/0135808; of record). As argued by Applicant, in order to support a rejection based on the rationale that “[t]he simple substitution of one known JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor useful in the treatment of atopic dermatitis for another known JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor useful in the treatment of atopic dermatitis is prima facie obvious”, there must be “a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable” (Applicant Arguments, Page 5). And, as further argued by Applicant, “[a] ‘simple substitution’ premised on the fact that two molecules inhibit the same kinase ignores the array of physical, chemical, and biological properties of that molecule. Those properties are independent of kinase activity” (Applicant Arguments, Pages 5-6).
The argument is not found persuasive. As discussed in the basis of the rejection, Bissonnette et al teach “[t]opical tafacitinib for atopic dermatitis” (Title) wherein, as taught by Kubo et al, “[t]ofacitinib [is] a JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor” (Abstract) and, as taught by Anderson et al, Compound I (Page 32, Example #117) is a potent JAK1 and JAK3 inhibitor, exhibiting a JAK1 and JAK3 inhibition IC50 of < 0.01 µM (Page 125, Table 2), which can be formulated as a pharmaceutical composition including “those suitable for... topical... administration” (Paragraph 0111) for use in “the treatment of JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated conditions” (Paragraph 0003; see also Paragraph 0111) wherein “[i]n certain embodiments, the JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated disease is chosen from... atopic dermatitis” (Paragraph 0358).
As such, it would have been obvious to utilize Compound I as the JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor in the method of Bissonnette et al (i.e., it would have been obvious to substitute one known JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor useful in the treatment of atopic dermatitis for another known JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor useful in the treatment of atopic dermatitis with a reasonable expectation of success). In the instant case, (1) the prior art element performs the function specified in the claim; (2) the claimed component and its function was known in the art; (3) a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the elements and could have substituted one known element for another; and (4) the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Applicant is reminded that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining similar properties (In re O'Farrell, 853 F.2d 894 (Fed. Cir. 1988). As stated by the Court in KSR International Co., v. Teleflex Inc., 127 US 1727 (2007), “when a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious” (quoting Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 US 273 (1976)).
Applicant, however, argues that Kubo et al – which teach that “[t]ofacitinib [is] a JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor” (Abstract) – “supplies mechanism only, and nothing about topical delivery” and “does not address skin, topical formulation, cutaneous permeation, cutaneous metabolism, or atopic dermatitis” (Applicant Arguments, Page 6). As further argued by Applicant, “[s]ystemic exposure to a JAK inhibitor does not mean that local, topical administration of a JAK inhibitor will have the same desired pharmacology” (Applicant Arguments, Page 6).
The argument is not found persuasive. As stated in In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381 (CCPA 1963), “[f]rom the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable”. Moreover, as disclosed by Bissonnette et al, “[t]ofacitinib, a small-molecule JAK inhibitor, was investigated for the topical treatment of AD” (Abstract) and “[i]n the current clinical study we showed that JAK inhibition can improve signs and symptoms of AD” (Page 907, Column 1).
Applicant next argues that “Anderson does not direct the skilled artisan to Compound I, and does not teach topical treatment of atopic dermatitis with Compound I” (Applicant Arguments, Page 7).
The argument is not found persuasive. As discussed in the basis of the rejection, Anderson et al explicitly disclose that Compound I (Page 32, Example #117) is a potent JAK1 and JAK3 inhibitor, exhibiting a JAK1 and JAK3 inhibition IC50 of < 0.01 µM (Page 125, Table 2).
Applicant, however, argues that “Anderson’s Table 2 does not distinguish Compound I” and “reports potency only in broad bins” wherein “Example 117 [i.e., Compound I] is one of a great many exemplified compounds sharing the top bin for both enzymes – including, for instance” 19 additional compounds (Applicant Arguments, Page 7).
The argument is not found persuasive. As indicated by Merck v. Biocraft (874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989), it is a matter of obviousness for one of ordinary skill in the art to select a particular component from among many disclosed by the prior art as long as it is taught that the selection will result in the disclosed effect, even when the possible selections number 1200 or in the thousands (see also Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327 (1945): “[r]eading a list and selecting a known component to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle”). Additionally, responding to the related argument that “that the prior art must point to only a single lead compound for further development efforts”, the court in Altana Pharma AG v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 566 F.3d 999 (Fed. Cir. 2009) noted that such a “restrictive view of the lead compound test would present a rigid test similar to the teaching-suggestion-motivation test that the Supreme Court explicitly rejected in KSR” (at 1025).
Applicant, however, also argues that “Anderson’s route-of-administration paragraph is a boilerplate list that expressly declines to identify a preferred route” and which further states that “the most suitable route may depend upon for example the condition and disorder of the recipient” (Applicant Arguments, Pages 7-8). And “Anderson’s concentration disclosure is likewise generic” (Applicant Arguments, Page 8).
Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references (see In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 1986)). In the instant case, the rejection is also based on Bissonnette et al and Kubo et al. Notably, Bissonnette et al teach topical administration “2% tofacitinib ointment” (Page 903, Column 2), a JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor, for the treatment of atopic dermatitis.
Applicant next argues that “Anderson contains no topical formulation of Compound I” and “teaches nothing about the properties a formulation must have to deliver Compound I into the skin, or to keep it there long enough to act” and the instant “specification’s ex vivo human skin data show that formulations containing the same 2% w/w Compound I differed approximately five-fold in dose recovered in the dermis and approximately fifty-five-fold in amount reaching the receptor compartment” (Applicant Arguments, Page 8).
Applicant is once again reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In the instant case, the rejection is also based on Bissonnette et al and Kubo et al. Notably, Bissonnette et al teach topical administration “2% tofacitinib ointment” (Page 903, Column 2), a JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor, for the treatment of atopic dermatitis. It would have been prima facie obvious to utilize Compound I in the ointment of Bissonnette et al with a reasonable expectation of success. Indeed, Anderson et al specifically disclose that “formulations suitable for topical administration include... ointment[s]” (Paragraph 0368). Obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining similar properties.
Applicant next argues that “[t]he record affirmatively establishes that topical efficacy was unpredictable,” as “Bissonnette itself... states that ‘this is the first reported randomized clinical trial of a topical, small-molecule JAK inhibitor in patients with AD’” (Applicant Arguments, Page 9). As argued by Applicant, “[a] single first-in-class result does not make an entire mechanistic class interchangeable for topical use” (Applicant Arguments, Page 9).
Again, Applicant is reminded that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining similar properties.
Applicant further argues that “Bissonnette attributes its result to properties specific to tofacitinib” and “explains that ‘tofacitinib has been shown to inhibit cytokines such as IL-4 directly and leads to rapid attenuation of JAK-STAT signaling in keratinocytes,’... neither of which is attributed to Compound I anywhere in the applied art” (Applicant Arguments, Page 9).
The argument is not found persuasive. As stated by Bissonnette et al, “[t]ofacitinib preferentially inhibits signaling by heterodimeric receptors associated with JAK3 and/or JAK1 with functional selectivity over receptors that signal via pairs of JAK2. This inhibition blocks signaling through several cytokine receptors, including IL‐2, IL‐4, IL‐7, IL‐9, IL‐13, IL‐15 and IL‐21” and “inhibition of the JAK–STAT pathway and cytokines such as IL‐4, IL‐13 and IL‐31, is the likely mechanism of action for tofacitinib in AD” (Page 907, Column 1). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that inhibition of JAK1 and JAK3 signaling via Compound I, as taught by Anderson et al, would similarly block IL-4 signaling, as well as γ chain cytokines such as IL‐7, IL‐9, IL‐13, IL‐15 and IL‐21.
Applicant further argues that “Bissonnette attributes its results to... systemic penetration” which “essentially introduced a pharmacologically relevant concentration of tofacitinib systemically by a transdermal route rather than by oral delivery. That is, JAK enzymes were inhibited throughout the body” (Applicant Arguments, Page 9). Yet, as argued by Applicant, “Compound I, in its formulation, was able to inhibit JAK enzymes locally in the skin sufficient to provide efficacy without inhibiting JAK enzymes in other tissues” (Applicant Arguments, Page 10).
The argument is not found persuasive. Although Bissonnette et al observe “measurable systemic levels of tofacitinib” (Page 907, Column 2), nowhere do “Bissonnette attribute its results to... systemic penetration” as asserted by Applicant. Additionally, nowhere does Applicant demonstrate that Compound I did not inhibit JAK enzymes in other tissues. Indeed, the Specification acknowledges systemic exposure of Compound I (Specification, Paragraph 0111).
Applicant next asserts unexpected results (Applicant Arguments, Page 10). Applicant, pointing to Paragraph 0123 and Figure 6, argues that 91.3% of patients receiving Compound I achieved EASI-50, whereas “Bissonnette required a PGA score of 2 (mild) or 3 (moderate), AD covering 20% of total BSA and lichenification score <1 in each... EASI body region” and “enrolled... adults with mild-to-moderate AD” and (Applicant Arguments, Pages 10-11).
At the outset, Paragraph 0123 does not demonstrate this. Furthermore, the argument is difficult to understand. Nevertheless, it appears that Applicant is attempting to argue that the patients treated according to Bissonnette et al exhibited mild-to-moderate AD, whereas the instant Specification treated “subjects with moderate to severe AD” (Paragraph 0128). Accordingly, Applicant may be arguing that the showing that “91.3% of patients [having moderate to severe AD] receiving Compound I achieved EASI-50” is unexpected based on the teaching in Bissonnette et al that ~90% of tofacitinib patients [having mild to moderate AD] achieve EASI-50 (Page 909, Figure 3).
This argument is not found persuasive. Nowhere has Applicant demonstrated that Compound I is unexpectedly effective compared to tofacitinib in treating patients having moderate to severe AD. Nor are the claims limited to the treatment of patients having moderate to severe AD.
Applicant next argues that it is unexpected that Compound I provides “[e]fficacy... without the systemic exposure that the closest prior art relied upon” (Applicant Arguments, Page 11).
Yet, as discussed above, although Bissonnette et al observe “measurable systemic levels of tofacitinib” (Page 907, Column 2), nowhere do “Bissonnette attribute its results to... systemic penetration” as asserted by Applicant.
Next, Applicant argues that “[t]he preambles of claims 1 and 13 are limiting” and, as such, “the Office bears the burden of showing that the applied art teaches or suggests treating a skin condition caused by immune deficiency, and of showing that subjects of Bissonnette has the requisite immune deficiency” (Applicant Arguments, Page 12).
Yet, as drafted, the term “immune deficiency” – which is not defined by the Specification – is understood to entail any impairment, deficiency, inadequacy, or dysfunction in one or more components of the immune system, including, for example, abnormalities in immune-cell activity, immune signaling, immune-mediated protective responses, and so on. Since atopic dermatitis is characterized by, at minimum, abnormalities in immune signaling, the subjects of Bissonnette et al entail patients suffering from a skin condition caused by immune deficiency as recited by the claims.
Applicant next argues that “the recited reductions are not shown, and inherency is not established” (Applicant Arguments, Page 12). Applicant further argues that “the examiner ‘must provide a basis in fact and/or technical reasoning to reasonably support the determination that the allegedly inherent characteristic necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art” (Applicant Arguments, Page 13).
The argument is not found persuasive. First, it is MAINTAINED that, as discussed by the court in Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2005), a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited” (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). In the instant case, the whereby clause (i.e., reducing an EASI score, BSA measurement, etc.) simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited (i.e., topically administering Compound I to a human subject suffering from atopic dermatitis). And second, Applicant is further directed to Paragraphs 17-18 in the previous Action which address the claimed limitations “even if the wherein clause were afforded patentable weight”. Nevertheless, in further response to Applicant’s argument, while the fact that a certain result or characteristic may occur or be present in the prior art is not sufficient to establish the inherency of that result or characteristic (In re Rijckaert, 9 F.3d 1531 (Fed. Cir. 1993); see also In re Robertson, 169 F.3d 743 (Fed. Cir. 1999), “[i]nherency may not be established by probabilities or possibilities”), it is well settled that “inherency may supply a missing claim limitation in an obviousness analysis” so long as “the limitation at issue necessarily must be present or the natural result of the combination of elements explicitly disclosed by the prior art” (PAR Pharm., Inc. v. TWI Pharm., Inc. 773 F.3d 1186 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). “If… the disclosure is sufficient to show that the natural result flowing from the operation as taught would result in the performance of the questioned function, it seems to be well settled that the disclosure should be regarded as sufficient” (quoting In re Oelrich, 666 F.2d 578 (C.C.P.A. 1981). Thus, as stated by the court in PAR Pharm., Inc. v. TWI Pharm., Inc., “inherency... is present… when the limitation at issue is the ‘natural result’ of the combination of prior art elements” (Id.). And, as stated by the court in In re Dillon (919 F.2d 688 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), “it is not necessary in order to establish a prima facie case of obviousness… that there be a suggestion in or expectation from the prior art that the claimed [invention] will have the same or similar utility as one newly discovered by applicant”.
While the court in PAR Pharm., Inc. v. TWI Pharm., Inc. further indicates that “the concept of inherency must be limited when applied to obviousness” and “[a] party must… meet a high standard in order to rely on inherency to establish the existence of a claim limitation in the prior art in an obviousness analysis”, it must also be remembered that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent Applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. As such, a prior art disclosure of a product or method “appearing to be substantially identical” to that instantly claimed, and rationale or evidence “tending to show inherency”, shifts the burden to the Applicant to prove otherwise (MPEP 2112 (IV)-(V)). As stated in In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw (562 F2d 1252 (CCPA 1977)), “[w]here… the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product” (see also In re Fitzgerald 619 F2d 67 (CCPA 1980): the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on”).
This is especially true in cases where the newly discovered, inherent limitation is claimed functionally rather than structurally. For example, in In re Kubin (561 F.3d 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2009)), discussing claims drawn to an isolated nucleic acid molecule encoding a polypeptide “wherein the polypeptide binds CD48”, the court stated that there is “no obligation to predicate [an] obviousness finding on factual findings regarding a prior art teaching of [the polypeptide’s] binding to the CD48 protein” – the limitation is “not an additional requirement imposed by the claims on the [polypeptide], but rather a property necessarily present in” the polypeptide. As stated by the court in Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344 (Fed. Cir. 2012), “[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation – no matter how obvious – to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property” (discussing claims drawn to methods of administering a active agent “wherein upon oral administration… an initial serum concentration of the [active agent] greater than about 0.1 µg / ml is obtained at any time within about 30 minutes after administration” and further noting that “[t]he initial blood serum concentration resulting from administering [the active agent] is an inherent property of the formulation, and an obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by administering it to a patient and claiming the resulting serum concentrations”).
In the instant case, the claimed and prior art prima facie obvious methods are identical, comprising administration of the same compound to the same patient population. As such, absent evidence to the contrary, it is asserted that the prima facie obvious method comprising topically administering Compound I would necessarily reduce an EASI score and/or BSA measurement of the subject.
Applicant next argues that “[c]laim 8 requires that ‘about 0.25 mL to about 8 mL of the composition comprising 2% w/w of Compound I is administered topically to said subject’” but “the Office’s own calculation falls outside the claimed range” (Applicant Arguments, Page 13).
The argument is not found persuasive. As discussed in the basis of the rejection, Bissonnette et al teach that the “2% w/w tofacitinib ointment... was applied twice daily to all AD areas... at a target rate of approximately 3 mg cm-2” (Page 903, Column 2). Based on an approximate total body surface area of an average adult human of about 17,300 cm2 wherein “mean BSA was 6.8” (Page 905, Column 1), it is calculated that approximately 1,176 cm2 of affected skin was treated according to the method of Bissonnette et al, which would entail application of about 3,528 mg of tofacitinib (at 3 mg/cm2) or about 176 mL of ointment comprising 2% tofacitinib. And since about 176 mL of ointment comprising 2% tofacitinib was applied “to all AD areas” according to the method of Bissonnette et al, it is necessarily the case that about 0.25 mL to about 8 mL was applied to some portion of that area (i.e., to “a region of the subject affected by the skin condition”) as instantly claimed.
Applicant, however, argues that “the claim measures the amount ‘administered topically to said subject,’ not the amount applied to some sub-region of the treated area selected after the fact” (Applicant Arguments, Page 14).
It is MAINTAINED that the method of “administering topically to a region of the subject... a composition comprising... Compound I” (claim 1), “wherein about 0.25 mL to about 8 mL of the composition... is administered topically to said subject” (claim 8) embraces the amount administered topically to a region.
Lastly, Applicant argues that there is “no articulated reason to select a solution” (Applicant Arguments, Page 14).
The argument is not found persuasive. In the instant case, (1) the prior art element performs the function specified in the claim; (2) the claimed component and its function was known in the art; (3) a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the elements and could have substituted one known element for another; and (4) the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Applicant is reminded that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining similar properties (In re O'Farrell, 853 F.2d 894 (Fed. Cir. 1988). As stated by the Court in KSR International Co., v. Teleflex Inc., 127 US 1727 (2007), “when a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious” (quoting Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 US 273 (1976)).
For all the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is MAINTAINED.
Applicant next traverses the rejections of claims on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting. Since Applicant’s traversal does not introduce any arguments not already addressed above, the arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-14 and 16-22 are MAINTAINED rejected, and new claims 29-30 are NEWLY rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bissonnette et al (Br J Dermatol 175:902-911, 2016; of record) in view of Kubo et al (Ann Rheum Dis 73:2192-2198, 2014; of record) and Anderson et al (US 2019/0135808; of record).
Claim 1 is drawn to a method for treating a skin condition caused by immune deficiency (more specifically, atopic dermatitis (claim 2)) in a human subject in need thereof, the method comprising:
topically administering (twice a day (claim 6)) to a region of the subject affected by the skin condition (more specifically, to a skin lesion caused by the skin condition (claim 4)), a composition comprising about 0.5% to about 4.0% of a compound having the structure of Compound I:
wherein the skin condition is treated.
Bissonnette et al teach “[t]opical tafacitinib for atopic dermatitis” (Title). Specifically, Bissonnette et al teach that topical application of “2% tofacitinib ointment... twice daily to all AD areas, except those on hair-bearing scalp” for 4 weeks (Page 903, Column 2) to human subjects having an Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) total score ranging from 1.4 to 13.3, body surface area (BSA) ranging from 2.0 to 17.0, and Physician’s Global Assessment (PGA) of mild to moderate (Page 906, Table 1) – which is understood to entail a subject exhibiting skin lesions – resulted in “[s]ignificant improvements in EASI, PGA and BSA... by week 1 and improvements in pruritus... by day 2” (Abstract) and “demonstrated significantly greater efficacy vs. vehicle” (Page 909, Column 1).
As such, the method of treating atopic dermatitis taught by Bissonnette et al differs from the instantly claimed method in that Bissonnette et al teach topical administration of tofacitinib as opposed to Compound I.
Yet, as taught by Kubo et al, “[t]ofacitinib [is] a JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor” (Abstract).
And, as further taught by Anderson et al – disclosing “pyrrolopyridine compounds and compositions and their application as pharmaceuticals for the treatment of disease” (Abstract), in particular, pyrrolopyridine compounds which are inhibitors of “JAK1 and JAK3 kinase activity... for the treatment of JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated conditions” (Paragraph 0003; see also Paragraph 0111), wherein pharmaceutical compositions include “those suitable for... topical... administration” (Paragraph 0358) wherein “the active ingredient may comprise from 2% w/w to 5% w/w” or “from 0.1% to 1% w/w of the formulation” (Paragraph 0368), and wherein “[i]n certain embodiments, the JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated disease is chosen from... atopic dermatitis” (Paragraph 0427) – Compound I (Page 32, Example #117) is a potent JAK1 and JAK3 inhibitor, exhibiting a JAK1 and JAK3 inhibition IC50 of < 0.01 µM (Page 125, Table 2).
Accordingly, based further on Kubo et al and Anderson et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to topically administer (twice daily) a composition comprising 2% Compound I in the method of treating atopic dermatitis taught by Bissonnette et al as opposed to tofacitinib. The simple substitution of one known JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor useful in the treatment of atopic dermatitis for another known JAK1/JAK3 inhibitor useful in the treatment of atopic dermatitis is prima facie obvious.
As such, claims 1-2, 4 and 6 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 3 and 29 are drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein said administering reduces an EASI score, BSA measurement, etc. of the subject (claim 3) and wherein said administering results in a plasma concentration of Compound I of less than about 15 ng/mL in the subject (claim 29).
At the outset, as discussed by the court in Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2005), a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited” (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). In the instant case, the whereby clause (i.e., reducing an EASI score, BSA measurement, etc. and/or having a plasma concentration of less than about 15 ng/mL) simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited (i.e., topically administering Compound I to a human subject suffering from atopic dermatitis). As such, the wherein clause is not given patentable weight. As noted by the court in Verdegaal Bros., Inc. v. Union Oil Co. of Calif., 814 F.2d 628 (Fed. Cir.), cert. Denied, 484 U.S. 827 (1987), merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.
As such, claims 3 and 29 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Furthermore, as to claim 3, as discussed above, Bissonnette et al teach that topical application of “2% tofacitinib ointment... twice daily to all AD areas, except those on hair-bearing scalp” for 4 weeks (Page 903, Column 2) resulted in “[s]ignificant improvements in EASI, PGA and BSA... by week 1 and improvements in pruritus... by day 2” (Abstract).
Accordingly, even if the wherein clause were afforded patentable weight, it is evident that the prima facie obvious method comprising topically administering Compound I would necessarily reduce an EASI score and/or BSA measurement of the subject.
For either reason, claim 3 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 7 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein a composition comprising 2% w/w Compound I is administered twice daily.
As discussed above, regarding the rejection of claims 1-2, 4 and 6, it would have been prima facie obvious to topically administer (twice daily) a composition comprising 2% Compound I for the treatment of atopic dermatitis, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Since claim 7 does not introduce any limitations not already addressed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4 and 6 above, claim 7 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 is drawn to the method of claim 1 (comprising “topically administering to a region of the subject affected by the skin condition), wherein about 0.25 mL to about 8 mL of the composition comprising 2% w/w Compound I is administered topically to said subject.
As taught by Bissonnette et al, the “2% w/w tofacitinib ointment... was applied twice daily to all AD areas... at a target rate of approximately 3 mg cm-2” (Page 903, Column 2).
Based on an approximate total body surface area of an average adult human of about 17,300 cm2 wherein “mean BSA was 6.8” (Page 905, Column 1), it is calculated that approximately 1,176 cm2 of affected skin was treated according to the method of Bissonnette et al, which would entail application of about 3,528 mg of tofacitinib (at 3 mg/cm2) or about 176 mL of ointment comprising 2% tofacitinib. And since about 176 mL of ointment comprising 2% tofacitinib was applied “to all AD areas” according to the method of Bissonnette et al, it is necessarily the case that about 0.25 mL to about 8 mL was applied to some portion of that area (i.e., to “a region of the subject affected by the skin condition”) as instantly claimed.
As such, claim 8 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 9-10 are drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the composition is a solution.
As discussed above, Bissonnette et al teach topical application of “2% tofacitinib ointment” (Page 903, Column 2).
Yet, as taught by Anderson et al, pharmaceutical compositions “suitable for topical administration include liquid or semi-liquid preparations suitable for penetration through the skin to the site of inflammation such as a solution... [or] ointment” (Paragraph 0368).
Accordingly, based further on Anderson et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the topical composition comprising 2% Compound I for treating atopic dermatitis as a solution. The simple substitution of one known topical formulation for another is prima facie obvious.
As such, claims 9-10 are also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 11 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein said administering comprises topical application of a solution comprising 2% w/w Compound I twice daily.
As discussed above, regarding the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 9-10, it would have been prima facie obvious to topically administer (twice daily) a composition in the form of a solution comprising 2% Compound I for the treatment of atopic dermatitis, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Since claim 11 does not introduce any limitations not already addressed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 9-10 above, claim 11 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 13 is drawn to a method for reducing severity and extent of skin lesions caused by an immune deficiency in a human subject in need thereof (more specifically, a human subject diagnosed with atopic dermatitis (claim 14)), the method comprising:
topically administering (twice a day (claim 16)) to a human subject having the immune deficiency a composition comprising about 0.5% to about 4.0% of a compound having the structure of Compound I (more specifically, a solution comprising 2% w/w Compound I (claims 18-21) wherein about 0.25 mL to about 8 mL of the composition is administered to said subject (claim 22)):
wherein the severity and extent of the skin lesions is reduced (more specifically, wherein an EASI score, BSA measurement, etc. of the subject is reduced (claim 17)).
As discussed above, Bissonnette et al in view of Kubo et al and Anderson et al teach a method of treating atopic dermatitis, comprising topically administering, twice daily, to a region of a subject affected by the skin condition (including a skin lesion caused by the skin condition) a composition in the form of a solution comprising 2% w/w of Compound I, wherein about 0.25 mL to about 8 mL of the composition is administered to said subject, wherein said administering reduces an EASI score and/or BSA measurement of the subject.
At the outset, while Bissonnette et al do not specifically teach reducing the severity and extent of skin lesions, as instantly claimed, Applicant is reminded that a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).
Nevertheless, it is evident that the subjects treated according to Bissonnette et al, having a baseline Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) total score ranging from 1.4 to 13.3, body surface area (BSA) ranging from 2.0 to 17.0, and Physician’s Global Assessment (PGA) of mild to moderate (Page 906, Table 1; see also Page 905, Column 1: “[o]verall mean EASI total score was 5.6, mean BSA was 6.8 and mean ISI score was 6.0”), exhibited skin lesions caused by atopic dermatitis. And, considering that, following treatment, “the proportion of patients with a PGA of clear or almost clear... was 73%” (Page 905, Column 2) and “[s]ignificant improvements in EASI, PGA and BSA were observed” (Abstract), it is further evident that the subjects treated according to Bissonnette et al exhibited a reduction in the severity and extent of skin lesions.
For either reason, claims 13-14, 16-22 and 30 are also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are MAINTAINED rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,800,775 in view of Anderson et al (US 2019/0135808; of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 17 of the ‘775 patent is drawn to a method of treating a JAK1- and/or JAK3-mediated disease in a subject in need thereof, comprising selecting a subject having a JAK1- and/or JAK3-mediated disease selected from atopic dermatitis and administering, topically, to the selected subject, a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of claim 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to carry out the method of the ‘775 patent utilizing a composition comprising 2% w/w Compound I based on Anderson et al, which teach that Compound I (Page 32, Example #117) is a potent JAK1 and JAK3 inhibitor, exhibiting a JAK1 and JAK3 inhibition IC50 of < 0.01 µM (Page 125, Table 2), which can be administered in the form of a pharmaceutical composition including those “suitable for topical administration include[ing] liquid or semi-liquid preparations suitable for penetration through the skin to the site of inflammation such as a solution... [or] ointment” (Paragraph 0368), wherein “the active ingredient may comprise from 2% w/w to 5% w/w” or “from 0.1% to 1% w/w of the formulation” (Paragraph 0368), for “the treatment of JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated conditions” (Paragraph 0003; see also Paragraph 0111), wherein “[i]n certain embodiments, the JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated disease is chosen from... atopic dermatitis” (Paragraph 0427).
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are MAINTAINED rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-16 and 18-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,981,906 in view of Anderson et al (US 2019/0135808; of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 13 of the ‘906 patent is drawn to a method of treating a JAK1- and/or JAK3-mediated disease in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the selected subject, a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of claim 1, wherein, as recited by claim 15, the JAK1- and/or JAK3- medicated disease is atopic dermatitis.
It would have been prima facie obvious to carry out the method of the ‘775 patent by topically administering a composition comprising 2% w/w Compound I based on Anderson et al, which teach that Compound I (Page 32, Example #117) is a potent JAK1 and JAK3 inhibitor, exhibiting a JAK1 and JAK3 inhibition IC50 of < 0.01 µM (Page 125, Table 2), which can be administered in the form of a pharmaceutical composition including those “suitable for topical administration include[ing] liquid or semi-liquid preparations suitable for penetration through the skin to the site of inflammation such as a solution... [or] ointment” (Paragraph 0368), wherein “the active ingredient may comprise from 2% w/w to 5% w/w” or “from 0.1% to 1% w/w of the formulation” (Paragraph 0368), for “the treatment of JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated conditions” (Paragraph 0003; see also Paragraph 0111), wherein “[i]n certain embodiments, the JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated disease is chosen from... atopic dermatitis” (Paragraph 0427).
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are MAINTAINED rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,281,111 in view of Anderson et al (US 2019/0135808; of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of the ‘906 patent is drawn to a method of treating a JAK1- and/or JAK3-mediated disease in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the selected subject, a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I), wherein, as recited by claim 2, the JAK1- and/or JAK3- medicated disease is atopic dermatitis, and wherein, as recited by claim 6, the compound is instantly claimed Compound I
It would have been prima facie obvious to carry out the method of the ‘775 patent by topically administering a composition comprising 2% w/w Compound I based on Anderson et al, which teach that Compound I (Page 32, Example #117) is a potent JAK1 and JAK3 inhibitor, exhibiting a JAK1 and JAK3 inhibition IC50 of < 0.01 µM (Page 125, Table 2), which can be administered in the form of a pharmaceutical composition including those “suitable for topical administration include[ing] liquid or semi-liquid preparations suitable for penetration through the skin to the site of inflammation such as a solution... [or] ointment” (Paragraph 0368), wherein “the active ingredient may comprise from 2% w/w to 5% w/w” or “from 0.1% to 1% w/w of the formulation” (Paragraph 0368), for “the treatment of JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated conditions” (Paragraph 0003; see also Paragraph 0111), wherein “[i]n certain embodiments, the JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated disease is chosen from... atopic dermatitis” (Paragraph 0427).
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are MAINTAINED provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 43-66 of copending Application No. 19/086,512 in view of Anderson et al (US 2019/0135808; of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The ‘512 claims are drawn to a method of treating a JAK1- and/or JAK3-mediated disease in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of instantly claimed Compound I (claim 43), wherein the JAK1- and/or JAK3-mediated disease is atopic dermatitis (claim 44).
It would have been prima facie obvious to carry out the method of the ‘512 application by topically administering a solution comprising 2% w/w Compound I based on Anderson et al, which teach that Compound I (Page 32, Example #117) is a potent JAK1 and JAK3 inhibitor, exhibiting a JAK1 and JAK3 inhibition IC50 of < 0.01 µM (Page 125, Table 2), which can be administered in the form of a pharmaceutical composition including those “suitable for topical administration include[ing] liquid or semi-liquid preparations suitable for penetration through the skin to the site of inflammation such as a solution... [or] ointment” (Paragraph 0368), wherein “the active ingredient may comprise from 2% w/w to 5% w/w” or “from 0.1% to 1% w/w of the formulation” (Paragraph 0368), for “the treatment of JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated conditions” (Paragraph 0003; see also Paragraph 0111), wherein “[i]n certain embodiments, the JAK1 and/or JAK3-mediated disease is chosen from... atopic dermatitis” (Paragraph 0427).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611