DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 1/20/2026 for application 18/277,899.
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 10-17 have been examined and are pending. Claims1, 7, 8, 11, 15, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1, 7, 8, 11, 15, and 16 are independent claims. This Action is made non-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 6-8 and 10-17 have been fully considered..
Applicant asserts the following: These rejections are respectfully traversed as being inapplicable to the amended claims for the following reasons. Regarding the recitations added to independent claim 1 of the present application in the response filed on August 6, 2025, the Examiner concedes in the first full paragraph of page 13 of the Office Action that Molcho and Yamamoto do not teach those features. However, the Examiner goes on to state in the second full paragraph of page 13 of the Office Action that Zhang cures the deficiencies of Molcho and Yamamoto in this regard by disclosing "wherein the reacquisition condition management unit checks the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deletes the reacquisition condition information of the data file" by its disclosure in paragraph [0072] of "delete the data because of absence of file." Regarding the recitations added to independent claim 11 in the response filed on August 6, 2025, the Examiner concedes in the last full paragraph of page 23 of the Office Action that Molcho and Yamamoto do not disclose certain features. However, the Examiner goes on to state in the paragraph spanning pages 23-24 of the Office Action that Obara cures the deficiencies of Molcho and Yamamoto in this regard by disclosing, in what the Examiner refers to as the 3rd page, lines 29-43 and the 4th page, lines 30-33 of Obara, "wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file" by its disclosure of "update, common data, overlapping ranges of data, ... specification changes." Applicant notes that, when identifying the matters described in Zhang, the Examiner used the terminology of the present invention as recited in the claims of the present application. Furthermore, Applicant notes that, when identifying the matters described in Obara, the Examiner also used the terminology of the present invention as recited in the claims of the present application. However, Applicant respectfully submits that, in principle, when identifying the subject matter described in an applied document, the terminology used in the cited document should be utilized to make it clear as to exactly what portion of the applied document is being alleged to meet the claimed features of an application under Examination. Applicant respectfully submits that the above-indicated English translation of paragraphs [0070]-[0072] of Zhang does not lead to the Examiner's above-quoted finding in the second full paragraph of page 13 of the Office Action that Zhang cures the deficiencies of Molcho and Yamamoto by disclosing "wherein the reacquisition condition management unit checks the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deletes the reacquisition condition information of the data file" by its disclosure in paragraph [0072] of "delete the data because of absence of file."
Examiner respectfully submits that Molcho in view of Yamamoto, Zhang, and Melnikov properly rejects claim 1. Regarding claim 1, Molcho discloses, FIG. 1 and paragraph 0040, a data management server comprising by disclosing server computer, memory, controller, code, FIG. 1 and paragraph 0040, a control unit by disclosing server computer, memory, controller, code, FIG. 1 and paragraph 0040, a database by disclosing server computer, memory, controller, code, paragraph 0268, a reacquisition condition management unit configured to record and manage reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other by disclosing unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data; paragraph 0268, a data transmission unit configured to, based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server by disclosing information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer, paragraph 0111, 0267, and 0074, register the reacquisition condition information of the data file in the reacquisition condition management unit by disclosing requested modifications, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, registration process. Yamamoto discloses, paragraph 0039, transmit the data file to the database by disclosing device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document; FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, and paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0006, and 0039, a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted by disclosing export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, receiving server 2, access right recorded in ACL table 14; access right information; paragraph 0039, access rights. Zhang discloses wherein the reacquisition condition management unit checks the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deletes the reacquisition condition information of the data file by disclosing delete the data because of absence of file. Paragraph 0072 of the English translation of Zhang discloses as follows: “[0072] As the data stored in the memory, the client will delete the data, so the downloaded file and cannot be used because of the absence of important file” ;Melnikov discloses, paragraph 0035, wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file by disclosing identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space.
Applicant asserts the following: Also, while Obara is printed in two columns and has numbered paragraphs, the Examiner describes the locations of the applied text as "3rd page, lines 29-43, 4th page, lines 30-33."16 Applicant respectfully submits that, in the English translation of Obara, the phrase "overlapping ranges of" appears only in paragraph [0011]. As a result, Applicant assumes that the Examiner's reference to "3rd page, lines 29-43" was intended to refer to paragraph [0011] of Obara. Furthermore, because the words "specification" and "change" appear in paragraph [0018] after paragraph [0011] in the English translation of Obara, Applicant presumes that the Examiner's reference to "4th page, lines 30-33" was intended to refer to paragraph [0018] of Obara. If any of Applicant's above-indicated understandings is incorrect, the Examiner is requested to clarify the record in the next Office Communication. Applicant respectfully submits that the above-indicated English language translations of paragraphs [0011] and [0018] of Obara does not lead to the Examiner's above-quoted finding in the paragraph spanning pages 23-24 of the Office Action that Obara cures the deficiencies of Molcho and Yamamoto by disclosing, in the 3rd page, lines 29-43 and in the 4th page, lines 30- 33, "wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file" by its disclosure of "update, common data, overlapping ranges of data, ... specification changes." Because Obara is written in the Japanese language, Applicant fully understands the contents of Obara. Applicant respectfully submits that while Obara contains the phrase "determination mechanism," it does not contain the phrase "reacquisition condition management unit." Furthermore, Applicant respectfully submits that Obara also lacks the phrases "data file" and "at least partially overlaps with." Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner misrecognizes the contents of Obara and thus has made an error in the above-quoted finding in the paragraph spanning pages 23-24 of the Office Action with regard to the matters allegedly disclosed in Obara. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C.§ 103 are inappropriate because they are based on an incorrect determination of the contents of each of Zhang and Obara. As a result, newly-amended independent claim 1 of the present application is in condition for allowance.
Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of Molcho in view of Yamamoto, Obara, and Melnikov properly rejects claim 11. Regarding claim 11, Molcho discloses, FIG. 1 and paragraph 0040, a data management server comprising by disclosing server computer, memory, controller, code, FIG. 1 and paragraph 0040, a control unit by disclosing server computer, memory, controller, code, FIG. 1 and paragraph 0040, a database by disclosing server computer, memory, controller, code, paragraph 0268, a reacquisition condition management unit configured to record and manage reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other by disclosing unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data; paragraph 0268, a data transmission unit configured to, based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server by disclosing information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer, paragraph 0111, 0267, and 0074, register the reacquisition condition information of the data file in the reacquisition condition management unit by disclosing requested modifications, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, registration process. Yamamoto discloses, paragraph 0039, transmit the data file to the database by disclosing device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document; FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, and paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0006, and 0039, a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted by disclosing export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, receiving server 2, access right recorded in ACL table 14; access right information; access rights. Obara discloses, 3rd page, lines 29-43, 4th page, lines 30-33, wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file by disclosing update, common data, overlapping ranges of data, specification changes, common data. Obara modifies the combination of Molcho and Yamanmoto. Melnikov discloses, paragraph 0035, wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file by disclosing identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space.
The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claims be further amended and details in the specification be incorporated to distinguish the claimed invention over prior art of record. Should the Applicant desire an interview to further clarify the claim interpretation/rejections, please contact the Examiner at (571) 272 5368 to schedule an interview.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reacquisition condition management unit configured to record/manage/acquire” and “data transmission unit configured to register,” recited in claim 1; “reacquisition condition management unit configured to acquire,” “reacquisition condition creation unit configured to add,” and “”data output unit configured to output” recited in claim 10; “a reacquisition condition management unit configured to record and manage; “ “a data transmission unit configured to… register”; and “a data acquisition unit configured to… acquire” recited in claim 11.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 8, 11, 15, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 17, of claim 1, “the target range” lacks an antecedent basis; in line 13 of claim 7, “the target rang” lacks an antecedent basis; in line 13 of claim 8, “the target range” lacks an antecedent basis; in line 17 of claim 11, “the target range” lacks an antecedent basis; in line 13 of claim 15, “the target range” lacks an antecedent basis; in line 13 of claim 16, “the target range” lacks an antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molcho (US20210271229), PCT filed February 28, 2021,1 in view of Yamamoto (US20070101437), filed October 24, 2006, Zhang (CN103036925), published April 10, 2013, and Melnikov (US20120054779), filed August 30, 2010 .
Regarding claim 1, Molcho discloses a data management server comprising: (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
a control unit (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
a database (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
a reacquisition condition management unit configured to record and manage reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other (Molcho, paragraph 0268, unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data);
a data transmission unit configured to, based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server, (Molcho, paragraph 0268, information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer);
register the reacquisition condition information of the data file in the reacquisition condition management unit and(Molcho, paragraph 0111, requested modifications, paragraph 0267, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, paragraph 0074, registration process).
Molcho does not explicitly disclose transmit the data file to the database; and a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted.
However, in an analogous art, Yamamoto discloses transmit the data file to the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document);
a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, paragraph 0045 receiving server 2, paragraphs 0049, access right recorded in ACL table 14; paragraph 0006, access right information; paragraph 0039, access rights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamamoto with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho to include transmit the data file to the database; and a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Molcho and Yamamoto do not explicitly disclose wherein the reacquisition condition management unit checks the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deletes the reacquisition condition information of the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang discloses wherein the reacquisition condition management unit checks the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deletes the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Zhang, paragraph 0072, delete the data because of absence of file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho and Yamamoto to include wherein the reacquisition condition management unit checks the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deletes the reacquisition condition information of the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of preventing downloading of a file (Zhang: abstract).
Molcho, Yamamoto, and Zhang do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Melnikov discloses wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file (Melnikov, paragraph 0035, identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Melnikov with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, and Zhang to include wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of reclaiming data storage in a reclamation target having unused storage (Melnikov: paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 2, Molcho, Yamamoto, Zhang, and Melnikov disclose the data management server according to claim 1, wherein the reacquisition condition information includes at least identification information of a data file for which it is designated as unavailable for acquisition, and range information of data stored in the data file (Yamamoto, paragraph 0028, 0029, UID common to both management apparatuses 1 and 2 can be generated).
Regarding claim 6, Molcho, Yamamoto, Zhang, and Melnikov disclose the data management server according to claim 1, further comprising a communication unit, wherein the data file provided from outside of the data management server and imported to the data management server is received via the communication unit. (Yamamoto, FIGs 3 and 6 show files imported by document DB 23).
Regarding claim 7, Molcho discloses a data management method for storing a data file provided from outside in an internal database, the method executed by a computer including a control unit and a database, the method comprising the steps of: (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
recording and managing reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other (Molcho, paragraph 0268, unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data);
based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server (Molcho, paragraph 0268, information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer);
registering the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Molcho, paragraph 0111, requested modifications, paragraph 0267, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, paragraph 0074, registration process).
Molcho does not explicitly disclose transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted.
However, in an analogous art, Yamamoto discloses transmitting the data file to the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document);
when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, paragraph 0045 receiving server 2, paragraphs 0049, access right recorded in ACL table 14; paragraph 0006, access right information; paragraph 0039, access rights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamamoto with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho to include transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Molcho and Yamamoto do not explicitly disclose checking the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deleting the reacquisition condition information of the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang discloses checking the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deleting the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Zhang, paragraph 0072, delete the data because of absence of file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho and Yamamoto to include checking the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deleting the reacquisition condition information of the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of preventing downloading of a file (Zhang: abstract).
Molcho, Yamamoto, and Zhang do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Melnikov discloses wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file (Melnikov, paragraph 0035, identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Melnikov with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, and Zhang to include wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of reclaiming data storage in a reclamation target having unused storage (Melnikov: paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 8, Molcho discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium encoded with a data management program for storing a data file provided from outside in an internal database, the program executed by a computer including a control unit and a database, and the program comprising the steps of: (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
recording and managing reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other (Molcho, paragraph 0268, unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data);
based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server (Molcho, paragraph 0268, information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer);
registering the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Molcho, paragraph 0111, requested modifications, paragraph 0267, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, paragraph 0074, registration process).
Molcho does not explicitly disclose transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted.
However, in an analogous art, Yamamoto discloses transmitting the data file to the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document);
when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, paragraph 0045 receiving server 2, paragraphs 0049, access right recorded in ACL table 14; paragraph 0006, access right information; paragraph 0039, access rights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamamoto with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho to include transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Molcho and Yamamoto do not explicitly disclose checking the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deleting the reacquisition condition information of the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang discloses checking the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deleting the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Zhang, paragraph 0072, delete the data because of absence of file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho and Yamamoto to include checking the data file stored in the database at a predetermined timing and, when the data file is not present, deleting the reacquisition condition information of the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of preventing downloading of a file (Zhang: abstract).
Molcho, Yamamoto, and Zhang do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Melnikov discloses wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file (Melnikov, paragraph 0035, identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Melnikov with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, and Zhang to include wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of reclaiming data storage in a reclamation target having unused storage (Melnikov: paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 10, Molcho, Yamamoto, Zhang, and Melnikov disclose a data management system comprising: a receiving-side server serving as a data management server according to claim 1 (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3 and 6, apparatus 2); and
a providing-side server that creates a data file provided from outside to the receiving-side server, the providing-side server including a control unit, and a database, (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, document managing apparatus 1),
the control unit including a data acquisition unit configured to acquire a data file stored in the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0034, apparatus, database);
a reacquisition condition creation unit configured to add to the data file reacquisition available/unavailable information in which whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition is designated, and (Yamamoto, paragraph 0040, export, changes, paragraph 0042, updates);
a data output unit configured to output the data file to which the reacquisition available/unavailable information is added by the reacquisition condition creation unit to outside as a provision data file to be provided to the receiving-side server (Yamamoto, paragraph 0040, export).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molcho (US20210271229), PCT filed February 28, 2021,1 in view of Yamamoto (US20070101437), filed October 24, 2006, Zhang (CN103036925), published April 10, 2013, and Melnikov (US20120054779), filed August 30, 2010, and further in view of Ophir (US20200007823), PCT filed December 19, 2017.
Regarding claim 3, Molcho, Yamamoto, Zhang, and Melnikov disclose the data management server according to claim 2.
Molcho, Yamamoto, Zhang, and Melnikov do not explicitly disclose the data stored in the data file corresponds to at least one of data indicating an action state of an edge device, data indicating a production state of the edge device, data indicating a quality state of a product of the edge device, data indicating an operation state of the edge device, and data indicating an event of the edge device, and the range information of the data includes a period relating to a time stamp generated from the data.
However, in an analogous art, Ophir discloses the data stored in the data file corresponds to at least one of data indicating an action state of an edge device, data indicating a production state of the edge device, data indicating a quality state of a product of the edge device, data indicating an operation state of the edge device, and data indicating an event of the edge device, and the range information of the data includes a period relating to a time stamp generated from the data (Ophir, paragraph 0024, edge devise, status messages, data values of each parameter, paragraph 0079, edge devices, current state data, requirements, management engine, paragraph 0139, time stamp).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ophir with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, Zhang, and Melnikov to include the data stored in the data file corresponds to at least one of data indicating an action state of an edge device, data indicating a production state of the edge device, data indicating a quality state of a product of the edge device, data indicating an operation state of the edge device, and data indicating an event of the edge device, and the range information of the data includes a period relating to a time stamp generated from the data. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Claims 11, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molcho (US20210271229), PCT filed February 28, 2021,1 in view of Yamamoto (US20070101437), filed October 24, 2006, Obara (JP H11250093), published September 17, 1999, and Melnikov (US20120054779), filed August 30, 2010.
Regarding claim 11, Molcho discloses a data management server comprising: (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
a control unit (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
a database (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
a reacquisition condition management unit configured to record and manage reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other (Molcho, paragraph 0268, unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data);
a data transmission unit configured to, based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server (Molcho, paragraph 0268, information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer);
register the reacquisition condition information of the data file in the reacquisition condition management unit (Molcho, paragraph 0111, requested modifications, paragraph 0267, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, paragraph 0074, registration process).
Molcho does not explicitly disclose transmit the data file to the database; and a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted.
However, in an analogous art, Yamamoto discloses transmit the data file to the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document);
a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, paragraph 0045 receiving server 2, paragraphs 0049, access right recorded in ACL table 14; paragraph 0006, access right information; paragraph 0039, access rights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamamoto with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho to include transmit the data file to the database; and a data acquisition unit configured to, when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the reacquisition condition information managed by the reacquisition condition management unit, acquire the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Molcho and Yamamoto do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Obara discloses wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Obara, 3rd page, lines 29-43, update, common data, overlapping ranges of data, 4th page, lines 30-33, specification changes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Obara with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho and Yamamoto to include wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of smoothly transferring from an old database system to a shared database system (Obara: abstract).
Molcho, Yamamoto, and Obara do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Melnikov discloses wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file (Melnikov, paragraph 0035, identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Melnikov with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, and Obara to include wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of reclaiming data storage in a reclamation target having unused storage (Melnikov: paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 12, Molcho, Yamamoto, Obara, and Melnikov disclose the data management server according to claim 11, wherein the reacquisition condition information includes at least identification information of a data file for which it is designated as unavailable for acquisition, and range information of data stored in the data file (Yamamoto, paragraph 0028, 0029, UID common to both management apparatuses 1 and 2 can be generated).
Regarding claim 14, Molcho, Yamamoto, Obara, and Melnikov disclose the data management server according to claim 11, further comprising a communication unit, wherein the data file provided from outside of the data management server and imported to the data management server is received via the communication unit (Yamamoto, FIGs 3 and 6 show files imported by document DB 23).
Regarding claim 15, Molcho discloses a data management method for storing a data file provided from outside in an internal database, the method executed by a computer including a control unit and a database, the method comprising the steps of: (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
recording and managing reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other (Molcho, paragraph 0268, unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data);
based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server (Molcho, paragraph 0268, information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer);
registering the reacquisition condition information of the data file and transmitting the data file to the database (Molcho, paragraph 0111, requested modifications, paragraph 0267, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, paragraph 0074, registration process).
Molcho does not explicitly disclose transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted.
However, in an analogous art, Yamamoto discloses transmitting the data file to the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document);
when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, paragraph 0045 receiving server 2, paragraphs 0049, access right recorded in ACL table 14; paragraph 0006, access right information; paragraph 0039, access rights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamamoto with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho to include transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Molcho and Yamamoto do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Obara discloses wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Obara, , 3rd page, lines 29-43, update, common data, overlapping ranges of data, 4th page, lines 30-33, specification changes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Obara with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho and Yamamoto to include wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of smoothly transferring from an old database system to a shared database system (Obara: abstract).
Molcho, Yamamoto, and Obara do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Melnikov discloses wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file (Melnikov, paragraph 0035, identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Melnikov with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, and Obara to include wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of reclaiming data storage in a reclamation target having unused storage (Melnikov: paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 16, Molcho discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium encoded with a data management program for storing a data file provided from outside in an internal database, the program executed by a computer including a control unit and a database, and the program comprising the steps of: (Molcho, FIG. 1, paragraph 0040, server computer, memory, controller, code);
recording and managing reacquisition condition information in which information relating to a data file stored in the database and reacquisition available/unavailable information relating to whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition are associated with each other (Molcho, paragraph 0268, unavailable feature/ color, selection not permitted, user prevent from using data);
based on the reacquisition available/unavailable information added to a data file to be provided from outside of the data management server (Molcho, paragraph 0268, information unavailable to a data file, color not available for a 3D printer);
registering the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Molcho, paragraph 0111, requested modifications, paragraph 0267, a set of design characteristics, constraints and/or rules for manufacturing an item, paragraph 0074, registration process).
Molcho does not explicitly disclose transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted.
However, in an analogous art, Yamamoto discloses transmitting the data file to the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, device 2 has a document DB 23 which stores a document);
when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3, 6, and 9, export files, receiving server 2 has an access control list, paragraph 0045 receiving server 2, paragraphs 0049, access right recorded in ACL table 14; paragraph 0006, access right information; paragraph 0039, access rights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamamoto with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho to include transmitting the data file to the database; and when receiving a request for acquiring the data file stored in the database, based on the managed reacquisition condition information, acquiring the data file from the database only when acquisition of the data file is permitted. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Molcho and Yamamoto do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Obara discloses wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file (Obara, , 3rd page, lines 29-43, update, common data, overlapping ranges of data, 4th page, lines 30-33, specification changes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Obara with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho and Yamamoto to include wherein, when the range information of the data stored in the data file transmitted by the data transmission unit at least partially overlaps with the range information of the data stored in the database, the reacquisition condition management unit updates the reacquisition condition information of the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of smoothly transferring from an old database system to a shared database system (Obara: abstract).
Molcho, Yamamoto, and Obara do not explicitly disclose wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file.
However, in an analogous art, Melnikov discloses wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file (Melnikov, paragraph 0035, identify allocated but unused storage space, reclaim the allocated by unused memory spaces, optimize the storage space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Melnikov with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, and Obara to include wherein, when the range of data actually included in the data file corresponding to the reacquisition condition information is smaller than the target range managed in the reacquisition condition, the reacquisition condition management unit reduces the target range managed in the reacquisition condition to the range of data included in the data file. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of reclaiming data storage in a reclamation target having unused storage (Melnikov: paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 17, Molcho, Yamamoto, Obara, and Melnikov disclose a data management system comprising: a receiving-side server serving as a data management server according to claim 11 (Yamamoto, FIGs. 3 and 6, apparatus 2); and
a providing-side server that creates a data file provided from outside to the receiving-side server, the providing-side server including a control unit, and a database, (Yamamoto, paragraph 0039, document managing apparatus 1),
the control unit including a data acquisition unit configured to acquire a data file stored in the database (Yamamoto, paragraph 0034, apparatus, database);
a reacquisition condition creation unit configured to add to the data file reacquisition available/unavailable information in which whether the data file is available or unavailable for acquisition is designated, and (Yamamoto, paragraph 0040, export, changes, paragraph 0042, updates);
a data output unit configured to output the data file to which the reacquisition available/unavailable information is added by the reacquisition condition creation unit to outside as a provision data file to be provided to the receiving-side server (Yamamoto, paragraph 0040, export).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molcho (US20210271229), PCT filed February 28, 2021,1 in view of Yamamoto (US20070101437), filed October 24, 2006, Obara (JP H11250093), published September 17, 1999, and Melnikov (US20120054779), filed August 30, 2010, and further in view of Ophir (US20200007823), PCT filed December 19, 2017.
Regarding claim 13, Molcho, Yamamoto, Obara, and Melnikov disclose the data management server according to claim 12.
Molcho, Yamamoto, Obara, and Melnikov do not explicitly disclose the data stored in the data file corresponds to at least one of data indicating an action state of an edge device, data indicating a production state of the edge device, data indicating a quality state of a product of the edge device, data indicating an operation state of the edge device, and data indicating an event of the edge device, and the range information of the data includes a period relating to a time stamp generated from the data.
However, in an analogous art, Ophir discloses the data stored in the data file corresponds to at least one of data indicating an action state of an edge device, data indicating a production state of the edge device, data indicating a quality state of a product of the edge device, data indicating an operation state of the edge device, and data indicating an event of the edge device, and the range information of the data includes a period relating to a time stamp generated from the data (Ophir, paragraph 0024, edge devise, status messages, data values of each parameter, paragraph 0079, edge devices, current state data, requirements, management engine, paragraph 0139, time stamp).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ophir with the data management server data management method / non-transitory computer readable medium of Molcho, Yamamoto, Obara, and Melnikov to include the data stored in the data file corresponds to at least one of data indicating an action state of an edge device, data indicating a production state of the edge device, data indicating a quality state of a product of the edge device, data indicating an operation state of the edge device, and data indicating an event of the edge device, and the range information of the data includes a period relating to a time stamp generated from the data. One would have been motivated to provide users with the benefits of a document managing system which can facilitate the management of access rights to documents (Yamamoto: paragraph 0013).
Conclusion
/W.J.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439