Claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ drawings filed August 18, 2023 have been received and entered.
Applicants’ information disclosure statements filed August 18, 2023 and April 11, 2024 have been received and entered.
Applicants’ preliminary amendments filed August 18, 2023 and April 11, 2024 have been received and entered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,117,878 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented application teaches a compound of formula I or Ia wherein formula I is a compound of formula Ik and Compound 1 and its pharmaceutical compositions (A product), and the present application teaches a method of use claims containing the instant compound(s) and composition(s) of the patented application therein which makes the compound and composition claims of the patented application an obvious variation of the present application’s claims.
Claims 1-8 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 are rendered indefinite and vague by the phrase “or complication thereof”. What is a complication associated with a spinal cord injury or damage”. Claims 1 and 9 do not disclose such complication(s).
The remaining claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rendered indefinite to the extent that they incorporate the above terminology.
Claims 1-14 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/120198 A1, hereby known as Yang (A23 of PTO-1449) in view of Tan et al., “Spinal cord injury, dendritic spine remodeling, and spinal memory mechanisms”, Experimental Neurology, Vol. 235, No. 1, pages 142-151 (2012).
Yang teaches benzothiazole compounds line applicants’ formula II (see page 1, section [0004] and page 86, claim 1). Note page 46, section [0147] and page 87, claim 11 teaches applicants’ preferred compound 2 (see claim 12 of present application). Note page 47, section [0150] and page 87, claim 12 teaches applicants’ preferred compound 3 (see claim 15 of present application). Note these benzothiazole compounds are used to increase dendritic spine formation, increase dendritic spine density or improve dendritic spine morphology (see page 88, claim 15).
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the compounds are used to treat a spinal cord injury or damage, or a complication thereof. However, the secondary reference, Tan et al., teaches spinal memory mechanisms are caused by dendritic spine formation that are useful for treating neuropathic pain in spinal cord injury (abstract and page 149, first paragraph under Conclusion and perspectives).
Clearly, one skilled in the art would have assumed the administration of the compounds of applicants’ formula II and preferred compounds 2 and 3 will treat a spinal cord injury or damage and its complications as suggested in Tan et al. by dendritic spine formations.
Claims 9-18 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629