DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed 06/08/2026 is accepted and entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous 112 rejections and the previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Yoshinaga is now cited to disclose the three-layer container multilayered body, as set forth below.
Applicant did not specifically argue the dependent claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a container multilayered body “consisting of three layers” and further indicates that the intermediate layer “contains a linear low-density polyethylene produced using a single-site catalyst as a main component.” Due to the presence of “as a main component,” it appears that the transitional phrase is only limiting the construction of the multilayered body to be a three-layer structure. In other words, a four-layer multilayered body used to form a container does not read on the claimed limitation, but a three-layer multilayered layer body that has the three layers as claimed, where the intermediate layer contains a linear low-density polyethylene produced using a single-site catalyst as a main component and where the intermediate layer also contains other components does read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein fractions of thicknesses of the innermost layer, the intermediate layer, and the outer layer are 10 to 20 : 210 to 220 : 20.” However, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it clear what does or does not meet this limitation. In addition to the ratio itself being unclear, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be sure what “fractions of thicknesses” is intended to refer to – does this limitation refer to the percentage of total thickness for each layer of the multilayered body, or does this limitation refer to the specific thickness for each layer (i.e. one layer is 10 microns, the other layer is 20-210 microns, etc.). Due to the lack of clarity of the limitation in both the claim and the specification, any ratio of percentage of total thickness for each layer is interpreted as reading on this claim limitation for the purpose of compact prosecution. Since any ratio is being interpreted as reading on the claim limitation, this limitation is being omitted from the write up below.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the contents" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the inlet/outlet" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a bag innermost layer.” It is unclear if this limitation is intended to refer to the innermost layer of the container multilayered body or if this is intended to refer to a different innermost layer. For the purpose of compact prosecution, these limitations are interpreted as referring to the same innermost layer of the container multilayered body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshinaga (JP 2005-335108; citations to attached translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshinaga discloses a container multilayered body (multilayer film A, Fig. 1) that is used to form a container (¶ [0001-0009]), consisting of three layers:
wherein the three layers are:
an innermost layer (7, Fig. 1) made of a cyclic polyolefin (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0027, 0028]);
an intermediate layer (8, Fig. 1) that is formed so as to be adjacent to the innermost layer (7, Fig. 1) and contains a linear low-density polyethylene produced using a single-site catalyst as a main component (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0027, 0028]); and
an outer layer (9, Fig. 1) made of one of a random polypropylene produced using a single-site catalyst or a polypropylene containing an elastomer (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0020, 0027]).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoshinaga discloses the cyclic polyolefin is a hydrogenated product of a ring-opened polymer of a cyclic olefin monomer (¶ [0019]).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 1 from which Claim 4 depends does not explicitly require an elastomer. Thus, such limitations of Claim 4 regarding the elastomer being an olefin-based elastomer or/and a styrene-based elastomer is disclosed by Yoshinaga as Yoshinaga discloses the outer layer being made of a random polypropylene produced using a single-site catalyst.
Regarding Claim 8, Yoshinaga discloses the intermediate layer (8, Fig. 1) further contains a high-density polyethylene having a higher density than the linear low-density polyethylene within a range of 30 mass% or less with respect to the total mass of the intermediate layer (8, Fig. 1; ¶ [0028]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoshinaga discloses the outer layer (9, Fig. 1) consists essentially of one of a random polypropylene produced using a single-site catalyst or a polypropylene containing an elastomer (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US 2010/0276321) in view of Yoshinaga (JP 2005-335108).
Regarding Claim 5, Nakamura discloses a container (30, Fig. 3A), comprising:
an accommodation portion (holding portion 31, Fig. 3A) that accommodates contents (¶ [0081-0084]),
wherein the accommodation portion (31, Fig. 3A) is made of a container multilayered body (10, Fig. 1) that consists of three layers (¶ [0074]), wherein the three layers are:
an innermost layer (11, Fig. 1) made of a cyclic polyolefin (¶ [0074]);
an intermediate layer (12, Fig. 1) that is formed so as to be adjacent to the innermost layer (11, Fig. 1) and contains a linear low-density polyethylene produced using a single-site catalyst as a main component (¶ [0062]); and
an outer layer (13, Fig. 1; ¶ [0064, 0074]).
Nakamura is silent whether the outer layer is made of one of a random polypropylene produced using a single-site catalyst or a polypropylene containing an elastomer.
Yoshinaga discloses a container multilayered body (multilayer film A, Fig. 1), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that is used to form a container (¶ [0001-0009]), consisting of three layers: wherein the three layers are: an innermost layer (7, Fig. 1) made of a cyclic polyolefin (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0027, 0028]); an intermediate layer (8, Fig. 1) that is formed so as to be adjacent to the innermost layer (7, Fig. 1) and contains a linear low-density polyethylene produced using a single-site catalyst as a main component (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0027, 0028]); and an outer layer (9, Fig. 1) made of one of a random polypropylene produced using a single-site catalyst or a polypropylene containing an elastomer (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0020, 0027]). Yoshinaga indicates that the multilayer film can be used to form medical and pharmaceutical packages (¶ [0001-0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the container multilayered body of Nakamura for the container multilayered body of Yoshinaga, as both multilayered bodies consist of three layers of material and are shown to be useful in manufacturing medical and pharmaceutical packaging (as motivated by Yoshinaga ¶ [0001-0009]), and as it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakamura discloses a medical container (30, Fig. 3A), comprising:
an accommodation portion (holding portion 31, Fig. 3A) that accommodates a liquid medicine (¶ [0047, 0081-0084]),
wherein at least the accommodation portion (31, Fig. 3A) is made of a container multilayered body (10, Fig. 1) that consists of three layers (¶ [0074]), wherein the three layers are:
an innermost layer (11, Fig. 1) made of a cyclic polyolefin (¶ [0074]);
an intermediate layer (12, Fig. 1) that is formed so as to be adjacent to the innermost layer (11, Fig. 1) and contains a linear low-density polyethylene produced using a single-site catalyst as a main component (¶ [0062]); and
an outer layer (13, Fig. 1; ¶ [0064, 0074]).
Nakamura is silent whether the outer layer is made of one of a random polypropylene produced using a single-site catalyst or a polypropylene containing an elastomer.
Yoshinaga discloses a container multilayered body (multilayer film A, Fig. 1), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that is used to form a container (¶ [0001-0009]), consisting of three layers: wherein the three layers are: an innermost layer (7, Fig. 1) made of a cyclic polyolefin (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0027, 0028]); an intermediate layer (8, Fig. 1) that is formed so as to be adjacent to the innermost layer (7, Fig. 1) and contains a linear low-density polyethylene produced using a single-site catalyst as a main component (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0027, 0028]); and an outer layer (9, Fig. 1) made of one of a random polypropylene produced using a single-site catalyst or a polypropylene containing an elastomer (¶ [0010, 0013, 0017, 0020, 0027]). Yoshinaga indicates that the multilayer film can be used to form medical and pharmaceutical packages (¶ [0001-0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute the container multilayered body of Nakamura for the container multilayered body of Yoshinaga, as both multilayered bodies consist of three layers of material and are shown to be useful in manufacturing medical and pharmaceutical packaging (as motivated by Yoshinaga ¶ [0001-0009]), and as it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakamura further discloses a liquid medicine-containing medical container (31, Fig. 3A; ¶ [0047, 0081-0084]), wherein the liquid medicine is accommodated in the medical container (31, Fig. 3A; ¶ [0047, 0081-0084]) according to Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 11, Nakamura further discloses a hard port portion (32, Fig. 3A) that functions as an inlet/outlet of the contents (¶ [0082-0084]), wherein the hard port portion (32, Fig. 3A) is made of the same cyclic polyolefin as that for the innermost layer (11, Fig. 1; ¶ [0084]).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakamura further discloses a tube (32, Fig. 3A) is used as the inlet/outlet (¶ [0082-0084]), the tube (32, Fig. 3A) is a multilayered tube (¶ [0084]), and at least a tube outer layer to be heat-sealed with a bag innermost layer (11, Fig. 1) is made of the same cyclic polyolefin as that for the bag innermost layer (11, Fig. 1) or a polypropylene containing an elastomer that is adhesive to the cyclic polyolefin (¶ [0084]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshinaga (JP 2005-335108) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2010/0276321).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoshinaga discloses the container multilayered body as set forth above for Claim 1.
Yoshinaga is silent whether a total thickness of the container multilayered body is 100 to 600 microns.
Nakamura discloses a medical container comprising a three layer multilayered body, thus being in the same field of endeavor, where the total thickness of the container multilayered body is 100 to 600 microns (¶ [0070]) to allow for optimum flexibility and strength of the container (¶ [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the thickness of the container multilayered body of Yoshinaga to be 100 to 600 microns, as taught by Nakamura, to allow for optimum flexibility and strength of the container (as motivated by Nakamura ¶ [0070]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781