Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention t o which the claims are directed. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim s 1- 4, 6- 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0181405) in view of Wang et al. (CN 111969157A, machine translation) . Regarding claim s 1 and 20 , Kim discloses a battery module comprising: a battery cell assembly comprising two or more columns (Fig 2) , each column comprising a longitudinal unit cell formed by two or more battery cells arranged in a line in a longitudinal direction and connected to each other the two or more columns (110) stacked in a thickness direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (Fig 2) ; a hollow center guard (180, partition block) disposed at a connection position of end portions of the two or more battery cells of each longitudinal unit cell (Fig 2) ; and a module case (200, pack tray) in which the battery cell assembly and the hollow center guard are accommodated (Fig 6) [0052, 0059] , but does not explicitly disclose a first venting hole communicating with a hollow of the hollow center guard is provided in a sidewall of the hollow center guard, and wherein a second venting hole communicating with the hollow of the hollow center guard is provided in the module case. Wang teaches an exhaust hole (60) that is arranged corresponding to a partition [096] which is then communicated through exhaust passages connected to the outside so that exhaust gases can be discharged from the battery pack [095]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to provide an exhaust hole and exhaust passages which is configured to exhaust gases outside the battery pack with in the partition block of Kim because Wang recognizes that such a configuration allows for the exhaust gases to be discharged external to the battery pack. Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses t he battery module of claim 1, wherein the two or more battery cells of each longitudinal unit cell are connected by welding electrode leads of the two or more battery cells [0044] . Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses t he battery module of claim 2, wherein the electrode lead of the a first battery cell located at a first end portion of a first longitudinal unit cell of the battery cell assembly is electrically connected to a terminal bus bar (114) , and wherein the electrode lead of a second battery cell of the first longitudinal unit cell of the battery cell assembly is electrically connected to an electrode lead of the a second battery cell of a second longitudinal unit of the battery cell assembly [0044] . Regarding claim 4, Kim does not explicitly teach the battery cell assembly ha ving a 1P4S electrical connection structure . However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed since the use and selection of a known standard for an electrical connection structure is readily available to a skilled artisan. T he rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art and under a finite number of options is also obvious to try. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) MPEP 2143. Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 1, wherein each longitudinal unit cell has a connection portion between the two or more battery cells of the longitudinal unit cell [0058], and wherein the hollow center guard is disposed between the battery cell connection portions; of the two or more columns of longitudinal unit cells [0058]. Regarding claim s 7 -9 , Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the hollow center guard has a rod shape extending a predetermined length in a height direction of the battery cell assembly between an upper module case and a lower module case, wherein the first venting hole is disposed in each of both two sidewalls of a lower side of the hollow center guard , and the hollow is divided in two by a partition wall . However, the court held that the configuration of the claimed c enter guard was found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed guard was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the center guard with an appropriate shape and respective placement of venting holes , since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not s ignificant to the function of the combination. Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 1, wherein a second center guard (13 2 , protrusions) is installed on each side surface of the hollow center guard (Fig 3) , and wherein the two or more battery cells of each longitudinal unit cell are connected in the longitudinal direction through the second center guard [0056, 0057] . Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 10, wherein the second center guard includes a through slot or a cut-out slit (coupling grooves, 133, 143) extending downward from an upper end portion thereof, and wherein the two or more battery cells of each longitudinal unit cell are connected through the through slot or the cut-out slit [0056] . Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 1, further comprising end plates including a front-end plate n (150) and a rear end plate (160) configured to cover a front end portion and a rear end portion of the battery cell assembly and coupled to a front end portion and a rear end portion of the module case in the longitudinal direction, respectively (Fig 2 ) . Regarding claim 13, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein a third venting hole communicating with the outside is provided in each of the end plates. Wang teaches an exhaust hole is provided on at least one side plate and communicates with the first exhaust passage [095]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to provide an exhaust hole in the end plate of Kim which communicates with the exhaust passages because Wang recognizes that the exhaust to the exterior can be placed on the side plate structure of the battery housing. Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 12, wherein a terminal bus bar (114) is installed on the front end plate (see Fig 3 below) , and wherein an electrode lead of a first battery cell of the battery cell assembly is coupled to the terminal bus bar [0044] . Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. and Wang et al. as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Addanki et al. (US 2018/0040930). The teachings of Kim and Wang as discussed above are herein incorporated. Regarding claim 15, Kim is silent towards each of the end plates includes an inner space formed between an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein a third venting hole communicating with the inner space is provided in the inner wall of each end plate, and wherein a fourth venting hole communicating with the inner space and the outside is provided in a lower surface of each end plate. Addanki teaches a battery pack assembly (Abstract) where vent chambers are established by multiple plates attached to the battery assemblies including end plates so that the battery vent byproducts may be captured in an enclosed space and may be expelled to a location external to the battery pack [0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to form vent chambers using the multiple plates attached to the battery pack including those of the end plates because Addanki recognizes that an enclosed space may be formed to capture the battery byproducts and vent them to an appropriate location external to the pack. Regarding claim 16, Kim and Addanki does not explicitly disclose wherein a partition wall extending to a portion of a height of each end plate is installed in the inner space of each end plate, and wherein a gas introduced into the third venting hole moves over the partition wall and is discharged through the fourth venting hole. However, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to include additional walls within the inner space as necessary to direct the gases where needed to expel the gases. T he courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) MPEP 2144.04 Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 15, wherein a terminal bus bar (114) is installed on an outer side surface of the front end plate (Fig 3) , wherein a through slot (mating inner portion of 150) is provided in a body portion of the front end plate surrounding the inner space (Fig 2) , and wherein the electrode lead of a first battery cell provided in the battery cell assembly passes through the through slot and is coupled to the terminal bus bar [0045] . Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the battery module of claim 15, wherein a fixed coupling portion, which is coupled to a battery pack, protrudes from a lower end portion of the front end plate (end plate surfaces 113a, 113c) [0047] . Claim s 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Wang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jo et al. (US 20230099554) . The teachings of Kim and Wang as discussed above are herein incorporated. Regarding claim s 5 and 19 , Kim and Wang do not explicitly discloses wherein one or more thermal insulating plates are installed between the two or more columns. Jo teaches a battery module can include a thermal insulation layer between cells stacks or covers to prevent thermal runaway [Abstract, 0002, 0057, 0090, 0123]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the invention was effectively filed to provide a thermal insulation layer installed between the columns or case of Kim and Wang because Jo recognizes that thermal insulation layers between cell stacks can prevent thermal runaway. Contact/Correspondence Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Kwang S Han whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1552 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jonathan Horner can be reached at (571) 270-7358 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT Kwang Han Primary Examiner Art Unit 6221 /Kwang Han/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6221