DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 26 and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 4, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites that “blood components are chosen according to one or more parameters”. It is unclear how this step relates to the method as it is unclear if these “blood components” are added to the blood or if they are inherent components of blood. If Applicant intends for the latter interpretation to be used, it is further unclear how these components can be “chosen” since they would presumably already be present in the blood. For examination purposes, the first interpretation was used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann (US 6722370) in view of Lane (US 20110257577).
Regarding claim 1, Mann discloses a method of perfusing a drug in a liver of a patient comprising:
positioning a first perfusion catheter in the hepatic artery of the liver (6:20-24 and 6:31-36 discloses a “third catheter” used to perfuse a composition into the hepatic artery);
positioning a second perfusion catheter in the portal vein of the liver (5:24-39 discloses a “portal vein catheter” to perfuse a solution);
positioning one or more recovery catheters in the inferior vena cava of the patient proximal to the liver (fig. 4; 5:60-62 and 6:1-13 discloses a “second catheter” which is placed in the IVC near the hepatic vein to recover fluid), wherein the first perfusion catheter, the second perfusion catheter, and the one or more recovery catheters together form a closed perfusion circuit through the liver (6:44-50 discloses a closed loop circuit between the three catheters); and
causing a perfusate to flow through the closed perfusion circuit, wherein the closed perfusion circuit isolates perfusion through the liver from the systemic circulation of the patient (6:44-49 discloses outflow collected by the second catheter is reintroduced by both the hepatic artery and portal vein catheters; the circuit is isolated due to the deployment of balloons on the first, second, and third catheters).
While Mann further discloses that blood cells are oxygenation ex vivo during circulation (10:51-54), Mann does not explicitly teach or disclose the closed perfusion circuit includes at least one membrane oxygenation device.
Lane teaches a closed loop circuit for use with the liver (fig. 12; paragraph 165) which includes at least one membrane oxygenation device (membrane oxygenator 266 in fig. 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the perfusion circuit of Mann to include the at least one membrane oxygenation device, as taught by Lane in order to provide or maintain oxygenation (paragraph 163).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified method of Mann, Mann discloses positioning the one or more recovery catheters in the inferior vena cava of the patient comprises positioning a double-balloon catheter with one balloon proximal to the hepatic veins and one balloon distal to the hepatic veins (fig. 4 shows a double balloon catheter).
Regarding claim 11, in the modified method of Mann, Mann discloses one or more of the first perfusion catheter, the second perfusion catheter, or the one or more recovery catheters are introduced percutaneously (claim 1 discloses introducing a catheter into the portal vein via a percutaneous route).
Regarding claim 12, in the modified method of Mann, Mann discloses the perfusate comprises autologous blood, matched blood from donors, or a combination thereof (6:16-19 discloses the perfusate composition can include blood as the carrier which would either be autologous or donor).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Lane, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Sterman (US 6699231).
Regarding claim 2, modified Mann teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose positioning the first perfusion catheter in the hepatic artery comprises positioning the first perfusion catheter via the arteria femoralis.
Sterman is directed towards a similar method and teaches positioning a perfusion catheter in the hepatic artery comprises positioning the perfusion catheter via the arteria femoralis (20:17-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Mann to include the step of positioning the first perfusion catheter in the hepatic artery comprises positioning the first perfusion catheter via the arteria femoralis, as taught by Sterman, since Sterman teaches this method is effective at positioning a catheter into the hepatic artery.
Regarding claim 13, modified Mann teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claims 1 and 12, as discussed above. Mann further discloses that the perfusate contains blood as the solution and a blood component as part of the composition (9:9-28 discloses a drug incorporated into the blood). However, modified Mann does not teach or disclose blood components are chosen according to one or more parameters, wherein the one or more parameters comprise presence or absence of selected antibodies.
Sterman teaches a perfusate which comprises blood and a blood product (5:37-41) and the blood components are chosen according to one or more parameters, wherein the one or more parameters comprise presence or absence of selected antibodies (4:39-58 discloses choosing to include labelled antibodies or antibodies as a biologic treatment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the perfusate to include antibodies, as taught by Sterman, as Sterman teaches this is a known additive for liver treatment.
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Lane, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allers (US 20040210236).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mann teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose positioning the second perfusion catheter in the portal vein comprises positioning the second perfusion catheter via the umbilical vein.
Allers teaches the step of positioning the second perfusion catheter in the portal vein comprises positioning the second perfusion catheter via the umbilical vein (paragraph 76). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Mann to include the step of positioning the second perfusion catheter in the portal vein comprises positioning the second perfusion catheter via the umbilical vein, as taught by Allers since Allers teaches that this way has a high probability of success since it may be impossible to access the portal vein transhepatically (paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 14, modified Mann teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose the perfusion is maintained over a duration of about 15 minutes, 30 minutes, 45 minutes, 1 hour, 2 hours, 3 hours, 4 hours, or within any range defined therebetween.
Allers teaches a method of perfusing a liver and in which the liver is perfused for 20 minutes (paragraph 74). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Mann so that the perfusion is maintained for 20 minutes, as taught by Allers, as Allers teaches that this is a time period which can provide a therapeutic effect while maintaining patient safety (paragraph 74).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Lane, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Allers and further in view of Zafirelis (US 20050085772).
Regarding claim 9, modified Mann teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose the closed perfusion circuit maintains a flow rate of the perfusate at about 1000 mL/min/1.73 m2 body surface area to about 1500 mL/min/1.73 m2 of body surface area for about 15 min to about 4 hours.
Allers teaches that the closed perfusion circuit maintains a flow of perfusate for about 20 minutes (paragraph 74). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Mann to maintain the flow of perfusate for about 20 minutes, as taught by Allers, as Allers teaches that this is a time period which can provide a therapeutic effect while maintaining patient safety (paragraph 74).
Zafirelis teaches a perfusion flow rate of about 1000 mL/min/1.73 m2 body surface area to about 1500 mL/min/1.73 m2 of body surface area (paragraph 116 discloses a flow rate of 1000 mL/min for an average BSA of 1.2-2.7 sq. meters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow rate of the perfusate to be between the claimed flow rate as Zafirelis teaches that this flow rate is sufficient to pump blood without destroying RBCs (paragraph 40).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Lane, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stevens (US 5584803).
Regarding claim 10, modified Mann teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose applying negative pressure at the one or more recovery catheters, wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to 0 mmHg.
Stevens teaches applying negative pressure at a recovery catheter (shaft 506 in fig. 40), wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to 0 mmHg (44:33-36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Mann to include applying negative pressure at the one or more recovery catheters, wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to 0 mmHg as Stevens teaches this step and pressure is adequate at withdrawing blood from a body lumen.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Lane, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kay (US 20040009151).
Regarding claim 15, modified Mann teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose the perfusate comprises a therapeutic polynucleotide sequence.
Kay is directed towards a method of perfusing a liver (fig. 5) in which the perfusate comprises a therapeutic polynucleotide sequence (paragraph 32 discloses introducing rAAV virons comprising nucleic acid molecule flanked by heterologous nucleotide sequences). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the perfusate of modified Mann to include the therapeutic polynucleotide sequence of Kay, as Kay teaches that this type of perfusate is useful for treating disease in a human (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified method of Mann, Kay discloses the therapeutic polynucleotide sequence is present in one or more viral vectors (paragraph 33 discloses an AAV vector).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified method of Mann, Kay discloses the one or more viral vectors is selected from the group consisting of an adeno-associated virus, an adenovirus, a retrovirus, a herpes simplex virus, a bovine papilloma virus, a lentiviral vector, a vaccinia virus, a polyoma virus, a sendai virus, orthomyxovirus, paramyxovirus, papovavirus, picornavirus, pox virus, alphavirus, variations thereof, and combinations thereof (paragraph 33 discloses adenovirus).
Regarding claim 18, in the modified method of Mann, Kay discloses the viral vector is an adeno-associated virus (AAV), and wherein the AAV is one or more of AAV1, AAV2, AAV3, AAV4, AAV5, AAV6, AAV7, AAV8, AAV9, AAV10, AAV11, AAV12, variations thereof, and combinations thereof (paragraph 33 discloses AAV1-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the closet prior art is Lane, as discussed above. Lane discloses a singular membrane oxygenator (266 in fig. 23) and not a second membrane oxygenator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kay (US 20150004677) discloses methods and systems for isolating a liver (fig. 1; paragraph 1) which comprises a portal vein catheter (portal duct 100 in fig. 1), a hepatic artery catheter (duct 102 in fig. 1), and a recovery catheter configured to be positioned in the inferior vena cava (IVC duct 104 in fig. 1). Kay further teaches a membrane oxygenation device (oxygenator 14 in fig. 1; paragraph 23).
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783