DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 21-38 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. (US 2020/0237452 A1) (“Wolf”) (cited in the non-final rejection dated November 07, 2025) in view of Jenkins et al. (US 2020/0129148 A1) (“Jenkins”).
Regarding claims 21, 27 and 33, Wolf discloses A system/processor-implemented method comprising (Abstract and entire document):
an arthroscopic camera (See at least FIG. 1-5 and [0151] – [0152] arthroscopic surgeries, and discussing the cameras as internal to surgical cavities, within the patient or vasculature of the patient);
a display device (See at least FIG. 1-5 and [0096], “FIG. 1 includes a display screen 113 that may show views from different cameras 115, 121, 123 and 125, as well as other information.”);
memory storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions, wherein executing the one or more instructions causes the at least one processor to (See at least FIG. 1-5 and [0097], “In some embodiments, device 301 may include local memory for storing at least some of the data received from sensors 311A and 311B. Additionally, device 301 may include a processor for compressing video/image data before transmitting the data to the data-receiving device.”):
receive, during the surgical procedure, video frames of an anatomy of a patient from the arthroscopic camera (See at least FIG. 1-5 and [0109] – [0113] discussing video frames of anatomy of patient from the arthroscopic cameras); and
display the video frames on the display device (See at least FIG. 1-5 and [0109] – [0113] discussing video frames of anatomy of patient from the arthroscopic cameras);
Wolf fails to disclose during the receiving of video frames: process the video frames to identify at least vascular features of the patient's vasculature;
determine spatial reference locations within the patient's vasculature based at least on the identified vascular features;
receive input to place at least one digital location marker at a respective location within the video frames and associate the respective location within the video frames with a spatial reference location within the patient's vasculature; and
display, on the display device, at least one placed digital location marker at an associated spatial reference location as the arthroscopic camera is moved relative to the anatomy.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jenkins discloses during the receiving of video frames: process the video frames to identify at least vascular features of the patient's vasculature (FIG. 1 and 5 and [0041], “The intraluminal imaging system 100 (or intravascular imaging system) can be any type of imaging system suitable for use in the lumens or vasculature of a patient.” And [0049], “The processing system 106 receives echo data from the scanner assembly 110 by way of the PIM 104 and processes the data to reconstruct an image of the tissue structures in the medium surrounding the scanner assembly 110. Generally, the device 102 can be utilized within any suitable anatomy and/or body lumen of the patient. The processing system 106 outputs image data such that an image of the vessel or lumen 120, such as a cross-sectional IVUS image of the lumen 120, is displayed on the monitor 108.”);
determine spatial reference locations within the patient's vasculature based at least on the identified vascular features (FIG. 5 and associated paragraphs, spatial references 540a/b//c/d/c/f, etc. as spatial reference locations based on vascular features);
receive input to place at least one digital location marker at a respective location within the video frames and associate the respective location within the video frames with a spatial reference location within the patient's vasculature (FIG. 5 and associated paragraphs, spatial references 540a/b//c/d/c/f, etc. para. [0060] discusses the input as assisted or automatic at the respective locations, the markers are at the spatial reference locations within the vasculature); and
display, on the display device, at least one placed digital location marker at an associated spatial reference location as the arthroscopic camera is moved relative to the anatomy (As shown in FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device/system/computer method as taught by Wolf to include during the receiving of video frames: process the video frames to identify at least vascular features of the patient's vasculature; determine spatial reference locations within the patient's vasculature based at least on the identified vascular features; receive input to place at least one digital location marker at a respective location within the video frames and associate the respective location within the video frames with a spatial reference location within the patient's vasculature; and display, on the display device, at least one placed digital location marker at an associated spatial reference location as the arthroscopic camera is moved relative to the anatomy as taught by Jenkins to mark locations simpler, faster ([0008]).
Regarding claims 22, 28 and 34, Wolf as modified discloses The system of claim 21, Wolf as modified further discloses wherein executing the one or more instructions causes the at least one processor to: display, on the display device in association with the anatomy, indications of the identified vascular features of the patient's vasculature (Jenkins As shown in FIG. 5).
Regarding claims 23, 29 and 25, Wolf as modified discloses The system of claim 21, Wolf as modified further discloses wherein executing the one or more instructions causes the at least one processor to: during the receiving of video frames: determine blood flow of the patient's vasculature; and display, on the display device in association with the anatomy, indications of the blood flow of the patient's vasculature (Jenkins As shown in FIG. 5 see also [0043] discussing specific blood flow indications).
Regarding claims 24, 30 and 36, Wolf as modified discloses The system of claim 23, Wolf as modified further discloses wherein the blood flow is blood flow for respective vascular features that is selected from the group consisting of: blood flow volume, blood flow velocity, oxygen delivery level, and nutrient delivery level (Jenkins As shown in FIG. 5 see also [0043] discussing specific blood flow indications such as blood flow volume and velocity).
Regarding claims 25, 31 and 37, Wolf as modified discloses The system of claim 21, Wolf as modified further discloses wherein the identified vascular features are selected from the group consisting of: arteries, arterioles, venules, veins, and capillaries (Jenkins FIG. 1-5 and [0041], “Generally, the device 102 can be utilized within any suitable anatomy and/or body lumen of the patient. The processing system 106 outputs image data such that an image of the vessel or lumen 120”).
Regarding claims 26, 32 and 38, Wolf as modified discloses The system of claim 23, Wolf as modified further discloses wherein executing the one or more instructions causes the at least one processor to: during the receiving of video frames: automatically place, based on the blood flow of the patient's vasculature, at least one digital location marker at a respective location within the video frames and associate the respective location within the video frames with a spatial reference location within the patient's vasculature (Jenkins FIG. 5 and associated paragraphs, spatial references 540a/b//c/d/c/f, etc. para. [0060] discusses the input as assisted or automatic at the respective locations, the markers are at the spatial reference locations within the vasculature).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791