DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP 2007059329 A, Machine Translation) in view of Fuhr (US 20090208836 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Ikeda discloses a cylindrical secondary battery module comprising (see Figs. 1 and 2): a plurality of cylindrical secondary battery cells (1 [0014]) having an electrode assembly ([0015], positive terminal (5) and negative terminal and winding group) and an electrolyte accommodated therein ([0015]);
a cell frame ([0014]-not shown but present) in which the plurality of cylindrical secondary battery cells are disposed ([0014]);
and a bus bar (2 [0014]) coupled to each of a plurality of cylindrical secondary battery cells and having a plurality of welding portions extending from the bus bar (4a, 4b, 4c, and 4d [0017]) formed thereon,
wherein among the plurality of welding portions, welding portions spaced apart at larger intervals (diagonally spaced portions [0018], protrusions) are welded to each other ([0018]).
However, Ikeda does not disclose the plurality of welding portions are located below the bus bar within an opening of the bus bar, are spaced apart from each other within the opening, and are disposed on a straight line in a first diagonal direction within the opening.
Fuhr discloses that a bus bar (1314) can be designed such that there is an opening (1326) wherein a welding to a battery electrode is placed ([0095], see Figs. 21 and 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the bus bar of modified Ikeda so that there was an opening which overlies the plurality of welding portions because Fuhr discloses that this is an appropriate bus bar feature for welding a bus bar to a cylindrical battery electrode and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. A substitution of known equivalent structures is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Ikeda discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ikeda discloses wherein four welding portions (4a, 4b, 4c, 4d [0018]) are on the bus bar (2), wherein among the four welding portions, a first welding portion (4a) and a third welding portion (4c) disposed on a straight line in a first diagonal direction ([0018]) are welded to each other, and wherein, among the four welding portions , a second welding portion (4b) and a fourth welding portion (4d) disposed on a straight line in a second diagonal direction are welded to each other ([0018]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ikeda discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ikeda discloses that the battery module can be implemented into a battery pack ([0025]-note these are secondary batteries ([0008]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ikeda discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ikeda discloses that secondary batteries can be used in vehicles ([0010][0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the battery module of Ikeda by having it in a vehicle because Ikeda discloses it is obvious to do so.
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP 2007059329 A, Machine Translation) in view of Fuhr (US 20090208836 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 9-11 above and in further view of Wu (CN 111889858 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, modified Ikeda discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ikeda discloses wherein a series spot welding is performed between two diagonal points ([0011]- spot welding using a voltage).
However, Ikeda does not disclose the welding of the welding portions a primary welding is performed by applying a first voltage in an arbitrary first direction, and then a secondary welding is performed by applying a second voltage in a second direction opposite to the first direction.
Wu discloses a spot welding method for welding a bus bar (5) to an electrode assembly (2) wherein two welding points in a straight line are subject to a primary welding is performed by applying a first voltage (CH1) in an arbitrary first direction, and then a secondary welding (CH2) is performed by applying a second voltage in a second direction opposite to the first direction (See pg. 2-3, Detailed Ways section and description of Fig. 3) and discloses that this results in a stable welding strength being achieved (see paragraph 5, pg. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of spot welding the two welding points on a straight diagonal line of Ikeda by using the method as disclosed by Wu, namely wherein two welding points in a straight line are subject to a primary welding is performed by applying a first voltage (CH1) in an arbitrary first direction, and then a secondary welding (CH2) is performed by applying a second voltage in a second direction opposite to the first direction because this results in a stable welding strength being achieved.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Ikeda discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses that the voltage of CH2 can be increased to CH2+ to optimize the welding process if necessary (see pg. 3, paragraph 6), which results in a magnitude of the second voltage for the secondary welding is greater than a magnitude of the first voltage for the primary welding.
Regarding claim 8, modified Ikeda discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses that the time (Weld2+△t) of the second voltage (CH2) can be longer than the supply time (Weld1) of the first voltage for the primary welding (CH1) (see pg. 3, paragraph 6).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP 2007059329 A, Machine Translation) in view of Fuhr (US 20090208836 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 9-11 above and in further view of Wu (CN 111889858 A, Machine Translation) and Mui (US 20090261073 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ikeda discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ikeda discloses wherein a series spot welding is performed between two diagonal points ([0011]- spot welding using a voltage).
However, Ikeda does not disclose the welding of the welding portions a primary welding is performed by applying a first voltage in an arbitrary first direction, and then a secondary welding is performed by applying a second voltage in a second direction opposite to the first direction.
Wu discloses a spot welding method for welding a bus bar (5) to an electrode assembly (2) wherein two welding points in a straight line are subject to a primary welding is performed by applying a first voltage (CH1) in an arbitrary first direction, and then a secondary welding (CH2) is performed by applying a second voltage in a second direction opposite to the first direction (See pg. 2-3, Detailed Ways section and description of Fig. 3) and discloses that this results in a stable welding strength being achieved (see paragraph 5, pg. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of spot welding the two welding points on a straight diagonal line of Ikeda by using the method as disclosed by Wu, namely wherein two welding points in a straight line are subject to a primary welding is performed by applying a first voltage (CH1) in an arbitrary first direction, and then a secondary welding (CH2) is performed by applying a second voltage in a second direction opposite to the first direction because this results in a stable welding strength being achieved.
In addition, Wu discloses that the voltage of CH2 can be increased to CH2+ to optimize the welding process if necessary (see pg. 3, paragraph 6), which results in a magnitude of the second voltage for the secondary welding is greater than a magnitude of the first voltage for the primary welding.
However, modified Ikeda does not disclose that the first and second weldings apply a voltage as a non-square voltage waveform including a gradual ramp-up portion and a gradual ramp-down portion.
Miu discloses in welding processes other waveforms aside from square can be used such as sine and triangular and the characteristics of these waveforms will determine various resultant weld overlay characteristics such as penetration and deposition ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the square waveform of the applied voltages of Ikeda to be any of the non-square waveform including one triangular wave and sine wave as disclosed by Miu because Miu discloses that these waveforms can be used in order to optimize penetration and deposition.
Modified Ikeda (through the modification of Miu) will have first and second welding which apply a voltage as a non-square voltage waveform including a gradual ramp-up portion and a gradual ramp-down (inherently present in a non-square waveforms of triangular wave and sine waves) portion and a magnitude of the non-square voltage waveform for the second welding is greater than a magnitude of the non-square voltage waveform for the first welding (through modification Miu and Wu).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726