DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 21 August 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are canceled and Claims 11-20 are new.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “send” in line 2 should be “sent.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al in International Journal of Energy Research.
Wang et al teaches a model on CO2 emission reduction in integrated steelmaking by optimization methods. Steel production uses blast furnace (BF) and basic oxygen furnace (BOF), which reads on more than one steelmaking unit. The model is based on process integration to analyze CO2 emission by optimizing material and energy systems in the steel industry (page 1093). Multi-objective optimization is based on cost and CO2 minimization (page 1095). Different ferrous burden materials are used to analyze costs and CO2 emissions (see Table I and Table III). A crude steel demand has to be satisfied for all cases. A baseline for the BF and BOF is optimized (page 1097). It is permissible to use certified Emission Reductions from the European Union (EU). Four cases are simulated in the model including a reference cases (pages 1100-1101). When internal changes are taken, there is no emission gap at all (page 1102). The optimization model for CO2 emission can be simulated for different process units, the whole steel plant, or from a global point of view. Different technical solutions have been chosen to minimize CO2 emissions (page 1103).
Regarding the target definition step, the “overall expected level Eglob of CO2 emissions”, Wang et al teaches the optimization results including CO2 emission (page 1098). The steelmaking units Si, Wang et al teaches a BF and a BOF. Wang et al teaches optimization results including production of hot metal (page 1097). Regarding the calculation step and initial manufacturing route MRi, Wang et al teaches a model to produce steel in Figure 6 on page 1096. Regarding the comparison step and the calculated expected levels Eexpi and the predefined targets Emaxi, calculated expected levels were applied with the three cases on pages 1100-1101. Wang et al teaches predefined targets on page 1098 and teaches modifying the processes as identified in the three cases 1-3 on pages 1100-1101. The optimized manufacturing route OMRi is taught by the three cases. Regarding the production step, Wang et al teaches the three cases produce steel. Wang et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 12, the BF process provides a product for the basic oxygen furnace.
Regarding Claim 13, the raw materials include coal, coke, iron ore, pellets, scrap, mineral additions (e.g. lime, quartz, limestone, dolomite), and oxygen (pages 1097-1098).
Regarding Claim 14, the raw material includes scrap, mineral additions, alloying elements taught by scrap, and oxygen.
Regarding Claim 16, energy is from the BF and BOF to a combined heat plant (page 1103).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang et al teaches using a BOF and scrap. Cavaliere in Clean Ironmaking and Steelmaking Processes teaches as evidence that BOFs are types of converters (page 275).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang et al teaches using certified emission reductions to meet the CO2 emission allowance with the model boundary as represented by Table IV (pages 1100-1101).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang et al teaches total CO2 emission allowance in Table IV. Figure 9 shows the allowed emission, estimated emission, and the emission gap (page 1102). In Case 1, the steel plant buys excess emission via the emission-trading market. In Case 2, purchasing allowance permits via ETS (EU cap and trade program) or Certified Emission Reductions (CERs) via CDM (one of the flexible mechanisms defined in the Kyoto Protocol) will fill the emissions gap. In Case 3, calculated CO2 emissions are reduced for all periods. Tgreen reads on an optional limitation based on the difference being less than zero (pages 1100-1102).
Regarding Claim 20, the reduced level of CO2 emissions associated with Tgreen reads on zero, since Wang et al does not teach a difference that was not emitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al as applied to claims 11 and 13 above, and further in view of Muchová et al in JRC Scientific and Technical Reports.
Wang et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Wang et al does not identify the types of scrap as recited in Claim 15.
Muchová et al teaches since teaches a comprehensive overview of iron and steel scrap recycling (page 5). The scrap includes new and old scrap (page 7); filings, turnings, dust, grinding bodies, and particles; packaging; construction and demolition waste (page 8); and municipal waste (page 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the scrap sources taught by Muchová et al in the process of Wang et al, since Muchová et al teaches the energy use in processing ferrous scrap is much lower in comparison with the production of metal from ore; dust and air emissions from scrap processing are generally at a low level; and scrap metal poses no risk to the environment in transportation and storage (page 19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Filippo Porzio et al in Applied Energy teaches providing a reference benchmark, average values of CO2 emissions of single processes and products of European iron and steel industry have been collected. Holappa in Metals teaches main improvements that could have a potential influence on the reduction of CO2 emissions. Kim et al in International Journal of Precision Engineering and Manufacturing teaches an aggregate model component of iron and steel industry in Fig. 1 and modeled the production and energy flow of Korean iron and steel industry using a system dynamics simulation. Xu et al in Journal of Iron and Steel Research, International teaches low CO2 emission technologies for iron and steel making.
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733