DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendment filed 02/20/2026 has been entered and is currently under consideration. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomobe (JP3595613 of record with reference made to examiner provided machine translation) in view of Gibbemeyer (US5292243 of record).
Regarding claim 1, Tomobe teaches:
A temperature adjustment mold for adjusting a temperature of a preform that is injection-molded, has a bottomed shape, and is made of resin, the temperature adjustment mold comprising:
one or more adjusting portions that face a part of an outer peripheral surface of a body portion of the preform and locally heat a predetermined portion in a circumferential direction of the preform (Fig 8: heating blocks 110; 312-318),
a lower mold that faces a bottom portion of the preform and supports a lower end of the adjusting portion (Fig 10: heating block 116); and
an upper mold that faces a neck portion of the preform and supports an upper end of the adjusting portion (Fig 10: heating blocks 114, neck molds 16), wherein
the adjusting portion is disposed such that a gap is formed in the a circumferential direction (Fig 8), and is sandwiched and positioned by the lower mold and the upper mold (Fig 10), and
the gap in the circumferential direction of the temperature adjustment mold is open in a radial direction and communicates with the outside of the temperature adjustment mold (Fig 8).
Tomobe does not teach an attachment position is adjustable in the circumferential direction.
In the same field of endeavor regarding blow molding, Gibbemeyer teaches an adjusting portion with an attachment position that is adjustable in the circumferential direction for the motivation of repositioning the heating element (Fig 3-4: heater support bracket 48; col 6, ln 1-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adjusting portions as taught by Tomobe with the adjustable attachment portions as taught by Gibbemeyer in order to reposition the heating element.
Regarding claim 2, Tomobe in view of Gibbemeyer teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tomobe further teaches wherein a plurality of the adjusting portions is disposed with a gap in the circumferential direction (Fig 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For at least the above reasons, the application is not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741