DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/28/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction is improper because the inventions do not lack unity. This is not found persuasive because the special technical feature of the microcapsule is taught.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 16-26 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2010/0055281 A1) to Barrow et al. (hereinafter Barrow).
Barrow is directed toward microcapsules having a core and a shell. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0023] that the core material is an oil based material dissolved in a polyunsaturated fatty acid, which is non-aqueous and immiscible with water. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0007] that the core has one or more shells. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0031] that the shell can be a protein such as a soy combined with a chitosan and that it would be at 1:1 ratio. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0089] that any cross-linker can be used, but “when the microcapsules are to be used to deliver a biologically active substance to an organism, the cross-linkers are preferably non-toxic or of sufficiently low toxicity”, such as a tannic acid or a plant extract and not an aldehyde. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0062] that the diameter of 0.1 to 5 microns that reads on 0.1 to 20 microns. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0064] that the payload may be 20% to 90% of the capsule, which reads on 1 to 95% of active substance. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0056] that a nonionic surfactant may be used. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0031] that the shell may contain a polyphosphate. Barrow discloses each and every element as arranged in the claims of 1-6 and 8-14
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2010/0055281 A1) to Barrow et al. (hereinafter Barrow).
Barrow is directed toward microcapsules having a core and a shell. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0023] that the core material is an oil based material dissolved in a polyunsaturated fatty acid, which is non-aqueous and immiscible with water. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0007] that the core has one or more shells. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0031] that the shell can be a protein such as a soy combined with a chitosan and that it would be at 1:1 ratio. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0089] that any cross-linker can be used, but “when the microcapsules are to be used to deliver a biologically active substance to an organism, the cross-linkers are preferably non-toxic or of sufficiently low toxicity”, such as a tannic acid or a plant extract and not an aldehyde. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0062] that the diameter of 0.1 to 5 microns that reads on 0.1 to 20 microns. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0064] that the payload may be 20% to 90% of the capsule, which reads on 1 to 95% of active substance. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0056] that a nonionic surfactant may be used. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0031] that the shell may contain a polyphosphate.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Barrow to select each and every element as arranged in the claims the forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-6 and 8-14
9. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2010/0055281 A1) to Barrow et al. (hereinafter Barrow) in view of the teachings of (US 2008/0131695 A1) to Aouad et al. (hereinafter Aouad).
Barrow is directed toward microcapsules having a hydrophobic core and a shell. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0023] that the core material is an oil based material dissolved in a polyunsaturated fatty acid, which is non-aqueous and immiscible with water. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0007] that the core has one or more shells. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0031] that the shell can be a protein such as a soy combined with a chitosan and that it would be at 1:1 ratio. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0089] that any cross-linker can be used, but “when the microcapsules are to be used to deliver a biologically active substance to an organism, the cross-linkers are preferably non-toxic or of sufficiently low toxicity”, such as a tannic acid or a plant extract and not an aldehyde. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0062] that the diameter of 0.1 to 5 microns that reads on 0.1 to 20 microns. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0064] that the payload may be 20% to 90% of the capsule, which reads on 1 to 95% of active substance. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0056] that a nonionic surfactant may be used. Barrow discloses at paragraph [0031] that the shell may contain a polyphosphate.
Aouad is directed toward microcapsules having a hydrophobic core and a shell. Barrow and Aouad are both directed toward microcapsules having a hydrophobic core and a shell and therefore are analogous art. Aouad teaches at paragraph [0048] that the hydrophobic core includes perfumes or other oil based compounds. Aouad teaches at paragraph [0020] that the shell can be a polysaccharide. Aouad teaches at paragraph [0009] that perfume loading can be 1% to 95%. Aouad teaches at paragraph [0075] that the shell may include a chitosan. Aouad teaches at paragraph [0076] that the chitosan may be 0.01% to 18% of the shell weight, which reads on Applicants ratio to polysaccharides. Aouad teaches at paragraph [0102] that the shell may contain an amino-aceylated polysaccharide as a solubility modifier.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Barrow in view of the teachings of Aouad to select each and every element as arranged in the claims the forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-15.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766