DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The instant application was filed 21 August 2023 and is the national stage entry of PCT/IB2022/051635 filed 24 February 2022. The Applicant claims priority to foreign application IT102021000004412 filed 25 February 2021. An English copy is published as WO2022180565. Therefore, the effective filing date of the instant application is 25 February 2021.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 31 August 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections
not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 31 August 2026, it is noted that claim 1 has been amended and no claims have been canceled or added. Amendments have been made for clarification purposes. No new matter has been added.
Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 31 August 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-10 and 22 based upon the teachings of Dong et al. as set forth in the last Office action because:
The Applicant argues that Dong’s composition comprising glycerin did not perform well compared to the claimed formulation. The Applicant discussed sample preparation and tests ran to compare the two conditions. Dong’s formulation allegedly performed worse in terms of shelf life, stiffness, and viability of the cells (Figure 1). Applicant also discussed how SilkInk supported endomitotic progression, but conventional bioink did not (Figure 2). SilkInk also allegedly supported megakaryocyte endomitosis and terminal thrombopoietic function, but conventional bioink does not (Figure 3).
The evidence of worse shelf life, stiffness, viability, and overall lower performance of Dong’s glycerin composition do not have a causal relationship with the merits and scope of the claimed invention, which includes, broadly, a glucose selected from disaccharides, stereoisomers, isomers, epimers, alditols or acids of glucose, precursors or products deriving from the glucose metabolism, capable of entering the cell via glucose transporters to be part of the glycolysis cycle, become part of the glycolysis cycle, and be metabolized” as recited in instant claim 1. As such, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
“For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention.” Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Tokai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists.”); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 (“[I]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent.”); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a glucose” as well as “wherein said glucose is selected…precursors or products deriving from the glucose metabolism, capable of entering the cell via glucose transporters to be part of the glycolysis cycle, become part of the glycolysis cycle, and be metabolized.”
The limitations of “a glucose” and “said glucose” are indefinite because glucose is already an existing compound. Applicant should clarify if said glucose is actually a “glucose-containing compound.” Furthermore, the limitation of “precursors or products deriving from the glucose metabolism, capable of entering the cell via glucose transporters to be part of the glycolysis cycle, become part of the glycolysis cycle, and be metabolized” lacks clarity or is partially redundant. The metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined because it is unclear how the precursors/products are from the glucose metabolism, are capable of becoming part of the glycolysis cycle, become part of the glycolysis cycle, and then are metabolized.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 107998449 A) in view of Bierhansl et al. (Central Role of Metabolism in Endothelial Cell Function and Vascular Disease, Physiology, 2017), irwreagents.com, aatbio.com, and Redwan (US 20210001009 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches a 3D printing ink material (abs, entire teaching) for extrusion (pg. 3) comprising 2-30% silk fibroin (pg. 3, para. 5), 2-30% gelatin (pg. 3, para. 4), 0.5-20% alginic acid (pg. 3, para. 4), 1 g/mL of a glycerol solution (Example 4), 0.1-50% hydrophilic biomaterial, such as chitosan, cellulose, hyaluronic acid, etc. (pg. 3, para. 10-11), which is interpreted as hydrophilic polysaccharides as the controlled density solution. The solution formed from copolymers, such as 0.5-20% alginic acid solution (pg. 3, paras. 4-8; pg. 2, para. 10), is also interpreted as being a controlled density solution (instant specification, pg. 6, lns. 25-30). The ranges of amounts for gelatin, alginic acid, and silk fibroin fit into the claimed ratio ranges (i.e. 10:1 gelatin to alginic acid and 1:5 silk fibroin and gelatin). The composition does not require xylitol and may instead include glycerol, which is a suitable glucose analogue (instant specification, pg. 6). The composition further includes endothelial cells (Example 4), which is interpreted as addressing extrusion for hematopoietic lineage cells.
Regarding claim 2, the composition further includes endothelial cells (Example 4), which is interpreted as addressing extrusion for hematopoietic lineage cells.
Regarding claim 6, the composition comprises 0.1-50% hydrophilic biomaterial, such as chitosan, cellulose, hyaluronic acid, etc. (pg. 3, para. 10-11), which is interpreted as hydrophilic polysaccharides as the controlled density solution. The solution formed from copolymers, such as 0.5-20% alginic acid solution (pg. 3, paras. 4-8; pg. 2, para. 10), is also interpreted as being a controlled density solution (instant specification, pg. 6, lns. 25-30).
Regarding claim 3, cell concentration may be 0.5-300 million/mL.
Regarding claim 5, in certain embodiments, sodium alginate and a temperature of 37 °C are used (Example 4).
Regarding claim 10, in certain embodiments, sodium alginate and a temperature of 37 °C are used (Example 4).
Regarding claim 22, cell concentration may be 0.5-300 million/mL.
Dong does not specifically teach use of a buffer for claims 1 and 7. Dong also does not specifically teach glucose in claim 1.
Bierhansl teaches that endothelial cells use glucose as the main energy source for vessel and tissue formation (pg. 127). Glucose is also interpreted as addressing the limitation of entering the glycolysis cycle (Bierhansl, pg. 127; instant specification, pg. 6).
Itwreagents.com teaches that HEPES is a common buffer used in cell cultures, biochemical, molecular biological, and microbiological purposes because of their favorable properties and stability (pg. 3).
Aatbio.com teaches that phosphate buffers are commonly and popularly used in biological experiments, molecular and cell biology, chemistry, and material science due to its water solubility and high buffering capacity (pg. 1).
Since Dong does not specifically use glucose in their composition in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Bierhansl’s teaching that glucose is the main energy source for endothelial cells, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings in order to improve the stability or success of Dong’s biological ink composition. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Since Dong does not specify using buffers in their formulation in claims 1 and 7, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use itwreagents.com’s and aatbio.com’s teachings of HEPES and a saline buffer, such as PBS, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings since Dong’s composition uses cellular and biological material for tissue applications. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
In regards to the amounts of components in claim 1, Dong teaches 1 g/mL of a glycerol solution (Example 4) and a skilled artisan would be able to adjust the amount of pH to the desired volume and concentration. Redwan also teaches the importance of maintaining the pH in a specific interval for cell culture conditions (para. 152). That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the amounts can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the bioink composition. The optimum or workable range of the amounts can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of the components as nonobvious.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 107998449 A) in view of Bierhansl et al. (Central Role of Metabolism in Endothelial Cell Function and Vascular Disease, Physiology, 2017), irwreagents.com, aatbio.com, and Redwan (US 20210001009 A1), as applied to claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, 22 above, and further in view of Olijve (Bioink document).
In regards to claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, 22, Dong et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a 3D printing ink material comprising silk fibroin, gelatin, alginic acid, a glycerol solution, and a hydrophilic biomaterial.
Dong does not specifically teach type A or type B gelatin in claim 4.
Olijve teaches that gelatins used in pharmaceutical applications are either type A or type B (pg. 3).
Since Dong does not specifically teach type A or type B collagen in claim 4 but does teach gelatin as a partially hydrolyzed product of collagen (pg. 3, para. 2), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Olijve’s teaching that the pharmaceutical industry uses either type A or type B collagen with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings since Dong’s teaching uses gelatin for pharmaceutical applications. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 107998449 A) in view of Bierhansl et al. (Central Role of Metabolism in Endothelial Cell Function and Vascular Disease, Physiology, 2017), irwreagents.com, aatbio.com, Redwan (US 20210001009 A1), and Olijve (Bioink document), as applied to claim(s) 1-7, 10, 22 above, and further in view of Oliveira (Advances in bioinks and in vivo imaging of biomaterials for CNS applications, Acta Biomaterialia, 2019).
In regards to claim(s) 1-7, 10, 22, Dong et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a 3D printing ink material comprising silk fibroin, gelatin, alginic acid, a glycerol solution, and a hydrophilic biomaterial.
Dong does not specifically teach contrast agents in claim 8.
Oliveira teaches bioprinted scaffolds and contrast agents blended into bioink to produce multifunctional biomaterials (pg. 61).
Since Dong does not specifically teach contrast agents in claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Oliveira’s teaching of incorporating contrast agents into bioink to produce multifunctional biomaterials with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings to improve and enhance the functionality of Dong’s composition for 3D printing of tissues and organs. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 107998449 A) in view of Bierhansl et al. (Central Role of Metabolism in Endothelial Cell Function and Vascular Disease, Physiology, 2017), irwreagents.com, aatbio.com, Redwan (US 20210001009 A1), Olijve (Bioink document), and Oliveira (Advances in bioinks and in vivo imaging of biomaterials for CNS applications, Acta Biomaterialia, 2019), as applied to claim(s) 1-8, 10, 22 above, and further in view of Seyedmahmoud (3D Bioprinting Technologies for Tissue Engineering: A Mini Review, HSOA Journal of Stem Cells Research, Development & Therapy, 2020).
In regards to claim(s) 1-8, 10, 22, Dong et al., as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of a 3D printing ink material comprising silk fibroin, gelatin, alginic acid, a glycerol solution, and a hydrophilic biomaterial.
Dong does not specifically teach a sterile formulation in claim 9.
Seyedmahmoud teaches that for 3D bioprinted materials, a sterile environment is required (pg. 14).
Since Dong does not specifically teach a sterile formulation in claim 9, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Seyedmahmoud’s teaching of using a sterile environment to make 3D bioprinted materials with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the need for a sterile environment to prevent contamination for a successful implantation of the biomaterial. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues through the Declaration that the claimed formulation achieved an unexpected result compared to Dong’s composition, which did not perform as well in terms of cell survivability, stiffness, and shelf life (Remarks, pgs. 7-8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The evidence of worse shelf life, stiffness, viability, and overall lower performance of Dong’s glycerin composition do not have a causal relationship with the merits and scope of the claimed invention, which includes, broadly, a glucose selected from disaccharides, stereoisomers, isomers, epimers, alditols or acids of glucose, precursors or products deriving from the glucose metabolism, capable of entering the cell via glucose transporters to be part of the glycolysis cycle, become part of the glycolysis cycle, and be metabolized” as recited in instant claim 1. As such, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
“For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention.” Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Tokai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists.”); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 (“[I]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent.”); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990).
The Applicant argues that Dong does not teach glycerin in a way that is analogous to the presently claimed formulation (Remarks, pgs. 9-11). The Applicant further argues that Dong’s composition is a different materials-design strategy compared to the present invention (Remarks, pgs. 11-12).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Dong teaches a 3D printing ink material (abs, entire teaching) for extrusion (pg. 3) comprising 2-30% silk fibroin (pg. 3, para. 5), 2-30% gelatin (pg. 3, para. 4), 0.5-20% alginic acid (pg. 3, para. 4), 1 g/mL of a glycerol solution (Example 4), 0.1-50% hydrophilic biomaterial, such as chitosan, cellulose, hyaluronic acid, etc. (pg. 3, para. 10-11), which is interpreted as hydrophilic polysaccharides as the controlled density solution. The instant claims recite silk fibroin, a gelatin, an alginic acid, a glucose, a controlled density solution, a buffer, and a saline buffer present in the composition. Therefore, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613