DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 8, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 3 are amended and claim 2 is canceled.
Claims 1 and 3-10 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on claim 1 that “it is noted that, in Seok, the slave discards its own looped-back signal, and therefore Seok does not disclose any repeater-to-slave transmission that the slave would accept” (Response filed January 8, 2026, Page 6), “Transmitting the signal ‘to the slave device’ necessarily means transmitting it in a form that the slave device can accept” (Response filed January 8, 2026, Page 6) and “the cited references, taken either alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest all of the limitations of independent claim 1” (Response filed January 8, 2026, Page 7), Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Seok teaches “Relay1 may receive a multicast/broadcast frame from STA1 in a unicasting manner” (Seok [Para. 0222] and “When an STA serves as a source of a multicast/broadcast frame, the STA may unicast the multicast/broadcast frame to the relay STA. Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame the A2 field may be set to the MAC address of the STA serving as a source of the multicast/broadcast frame” (Seok [Para. 0198]). According to Seok, the repeater receives the signal from the slave including MAC address of the slave as the first identification information.
Seok also provides “Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) in the Basic Service Set (BSS) which the Relay1 configures” (Seok [Para. 0223]), “Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs in the BSS which the relay STA configures (as a relay AP). Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA, the A1 field may be set to a multicast/broadcast MAC address, the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA, and the A3 field may be configured as the MAC address of the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame” (Seok [Para. 0199]) and “Meanwhile, the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame may also receive the multicast/broadcast frame broadcast by the relay STA” (Seok [Para. 0215]). Based on Seok, the repeater transmits a repeater signal to both STA1 and STA2 as the slave and master respectively after receiving the unicast signal from the slave. The MAC address of the slave as the first identification in the A2 field of the slave signal is converted into the MAC addresses of the repeater in field A2 and slave in field A3 in combination as the second identification corresponding to the first identification.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “transmit” in the limitations of Claim 1 does not require the transmitted signal be accepted by the target of the transmission. Furthermore. Seok states “The STA may discard the received multicast/broadcast frame. if the value of the source address field (e.g., the A3 field) of a multicast/broadcast frame delivered from the relay STA in a broadcasting manner is identical to the MAC address of the STA, the STA may discard the multicast/broadcast frame” (Seok [Para. 0215]) and “when Relay1 receives the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted from the AP in step S1840 in the broadcasting manner, Relay1 may check the source address of the frame and discard the frame” (Seok [Para. 0227]). The repeater signal that the slave receives includes both MAC addresses of the repeater in field A2 and the slave in field A3 as the second identification. Seok indicates that the signal from the repeater is accepted first before discarded since discarding the received signal is performed after checking second identification, the address in field A3 of the signal, and checking address in a specific field is only performed after the signal is accepted.
The teaching of Seok, “If the collision occurs between STA4 and STA5, each of STA4 and STA5 does not receive ACK” (Seok [Para. 0098]), also indicates the received repeater signal may serve as an ACK to notify the successful reception of the slave signal.
Therefore, Seok teaches that a repeater receives a slave signal including first individual identification information transmitted wirelessly from a slave device, the repeater device transmits a repeater signal including the second individual identification information corresponding to the first individual identification information wirelessly to the slave device and a master device based on the slave signal, and additionally, the repeater signal is accepted by the slave device. In combination, Seok, Shibata and Splitz teach all of the limitations of the amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (US20150381676A1, hereinafter Seok) in view of Shibata et al. (US20220007151A1, hereinafter Shibata) and Splitz et al. (US20130109319A1, hereinafter Splitz).
For claim 1, Seok teaches a repeater device ([FIG 20] Relay. [Para. 0238], The STA 10 of FIG. 20 may be configured as a relay entity) comprising: a repeater device receive unit (transceiver (FIG. 20)) that receives a slave signal transmitted wirelessly from a slave device and including first individual identification information ([Para. 0222] and [FIG. 18], Relay1 may receive a multicast/broadcast frame from STA1 in a unicasting manner. [Examiner’s Note: STA1 is the slave device and Relay1 the repeater device]. [Para. 0198], When an STA serves as a source of a multicast/broadcast frame, the STA may unicast the multicast/broadcast frame to the relay STA. Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame the A2 field may be set to the MAC address of the STA serving as a source of the multicast/broadcast frame [Examiner’s Note: MAC address of STA1 set in A2 field is the first individual identification information]. [Para. 0237], The transceiver 13 may transmit/receive radio signals), and a repeater device transmit unit that transmits a repeater signal including the second individual identification information corresponding to the first individual identification information wirelessly to the slave device and a master device, based on the slave signal ([Para. 0223] and [FIG 18], In step S1820, Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) in the Basic Service Set (BSS) which the Relay1 configures. [Para. 0199], Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs in the BSS which the relay STA configures (as a relay AP). Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA, the A1 field may be set to a multicast/broadcast MAC address, the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA, and the A3 field may be configured as the MAC address of the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame [Examiner’s Note: MAC addresses of Relay1 set in A2 field and source STA in A3 field constitute the second individual identification information that corresponds to the first individual identification information, the MAC address of source STA in A2 field in the unicast]. [Para. 0215], Meanwhile, the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame may also receive the multicast/broadcast frame broadcast by the relay STA. [Examiner’s Note: STA1 sends the initial signal to Relay1 including the first identification and receives the signal that Relay1 transmits to STA1 and STA2 including the second identification. STA1 sends the initial signal, STA1 is the slave device. STA2 receives the signal relayed from the initial signal, STA2 is the master device. That STA1, STA2 and Relay1 are within the Basic Service Set indicates that the initial signal from STA1 is the service information provided for STA2]), and the repeater device transmit unit transmits the repeater signal including the second individual identification information to the slave device and the master device ([Para. 0223] and [FIG 18], In step S1820, Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) in the BSS which the Relay1 configures. [Para. 0199], Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs in the BSS which the relay STA configures (as a relay AP). Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA, the A1 field may be set to a multicast/broadcast MAC address, the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA, and the A3 field may be configured as the MAC address of the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame [Examiner’s Note: MAC addresses of Relay1 set in A2 field and source STA in A3 field constitute the second individual identification information that corresponds to the first individual identification information, the MAC address of source STA in A2 field in the unicast]. [Para. 0215], Meanwhile, the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame may also receive the multicast/broadcast frame broadcast by the relay STA. [Para. 0237], The transceiver 13 may transmit/receive radio signals).
Although teaching the slave device sending a signal to the repeater device and the repeater device transmits a signal to the slave and master devices, Seok does not explicitly disclose a storage that stores a conversion table that correlates the first individual identification information with a second individual identification information; an individual identification information converter that refers to the conversion table to convert the first individual identification information into the second individual identification information.
Shibata is directed to providing relay device, relay method, and relay program. More specifically, Shibata teaches a storage that stores a conversion table that correlates the first individual identification information with a second individual identification information ([Para. 0088], FIG. 7 shows a specific example of information that is stored in the information storage unit 40 b. The IP address and the MAC address of the relay device are held as sender information for downlink communication [Examiner’s Note: Device A may be taken as the slave device and device B the master device. The addresses of device A and relay device 10 are correlated through the table]), an individual identification information converter that refers to the conversion table to convert the first individual identification information into the second individual identification information ([Para. 0086] and [FIG. 7], the header information conversion unit 32 b. In uplink communication, conversion unit converts the sender to the “relay device” (from the “radio device), the destination to the “radio control device”. [Para. 0084], the header information conversion unit 22 b. In downlink communication, conversion unit converts the sender to the “relay device” (from the “radio control device”) and the destination to the “radio device”. [Para. 0047], the relay device 10 only changes the destination information, signals in which the radio device A and the radio device B are set as addresses are respectively transmitted thereto, and the radio device A and the radio device B can properly receive the signals. [Examiner’s Note: The signal passing in the communication between device A and B is such as A -> relay10 -> S -> relay 10 -> A and B]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, so that relay converts the sender information from device A to Raley device 10 in the signal transmitted to devices A and B, as taught by Shibata. The modification would have provided a relay device that, when transferring an uplink signal and a downlink signal, makes it possible to appropriately set sender information and destination information (Shibata [Para. 0017]).
Although teaching the repeater includes converter converting the identification information received into the identification information to be transmitted, Seok and Shibata do not explicitly disclose wherein the repeater device receive unit further receives a response signal responding to the repeater signal, transmitted wirelessly from the master device.
Splitz is directed to providing systems and methods for dynamic squelching in radio frequency devices. More specifically, Splitz teaches wherein the repeater device receive unit further receives a response signal responding to the repeater signal ([Para. 0113], upon the successful receipt of the relayed message, the target device responds with the ACK message to the sending device), transmitted wirelessly from the master device ([Para. 0113], upon the successful receipt of the relayed message, the target device responds with the ACK message to the sending device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok and Shibata, so that the sending device receives ACK message responding to the received message, as taught by Splitz. The modification would have provided a controlled method to balance battery life against receiver sensitivity (Splitz [Para. 0128]).
For claim 8, Seok, Shibata and Splitz further teach a wireless communication system (Seok [Para. 0009], provided herein is a relay for delivering a multicast/broadcast frame in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system) comprising: the repeater device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (US20150381676A1, hereinafter Seok) in view of Shibata et al. (US20220007151A1, hereinafter Shibata) and Splitz et al. (US20130109319A1, hereinafter Splitz), and further in view of Ueda et al. (JP2014072791A, hereinafter Ueda) and Kikuchi (JP2021002818A, hereinafter Kikuchi).
For claim 3, Seok, Shibata and Splitz teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach a slave device transmitting a signal via the repeater device according to claim 1 to the master device (Seok [Para. 0222], Relay1 may receive a multicast/broadcast frame from STA1 in a unicasting manner. Seok [Para. 0223], Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) [Examiner’s Note: STA1 is the slave device, Relay1 the repeater and STA2 the master device]), the slave device comprising: a slave device transmit unit that transmits the slave signal including the first individual identification information wirelessly to the repeater device (Seok [Para. 0222] and [FIG. 18], Relay1 may receive a multicast/broadcast frame from STA1 in a unicasting manner. [Examiner’s Note: STA1 is the slave device and Relay1 the repeater device]. Seok [Para. 0198], When an STA serves as a source of a multicast/broadcast frame, the STA may unicast the multicast/broadcast frame to the relay STA. Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame which the STA unicasts to the relay STA, the A2 field may be set to the MAC address of the STA serving as a source of the multicast/broadcast frame [Examiner’s Note: MAC address of STA1 set in A2 field is the first individual identification information]. Seok [Para. 0237], The transceiver 13 may transmit/receive radio signals), a slave device receive unit that receives a signal (Seok [Para. 0223] and [FIG 18], In step S1820, Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) in the Basic Service Set (BSS) which the Relay1 configures. Seok [Para. 0199], Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs in the BSS which the relay STA configures (as a relay AP). Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA, the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA. Seok [Para. 0200], Meanwhile, the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame may also receive the multicast/broadcast frame broadcast by the relay STA. Seok [Para. 0237], The transceiver 13 may transmit/receive radio signals), and a notification unit for notifying a user of reception success information indicating that reception has succeeded (Splitz [Para. 0113], upon the successful receipt of the relayed message, the target device responds with the ACK message to the sending device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok and Shibata, so that the sending device receives ACK message responding to the sent message, as taught by Splitz. The modification would have provided a controlled method to balance battery life against receiver sensitivity (Splitz [Para. 0128]).
Although teach the controller receiving acknowledgement for success of reception of the transmitted signal, Seok, Shibata and Splitz do not explicitly disclose and a notification unit for notifying a user of reception success information indicating that reception has succeeded.
Ueda is directed to providing radio communication system. More specifically, Ueda teaches and a notification unit for notifying a user of reception success information indicating that reception has succeeded ([Page 3, first para.], it is preferable that the control device includes a control completion display unit that displays that the control is completed when response signals from all the controlled devices are received. [Page 3, last sixth para.], As shown in FIG. 1, a wireless communication system 1 includes a control device (hereinafter referred to as a controller) 2. And a plurality of wireless switches (hereinafter referred to as switches) 4. The wireless communication system 1 also includes a plurality of repeaters 5 that relay wireless signals between the controller 2 and the switch 4. The switch 4 that receives signals via the repeater 5 is used as the controlled device [Examiner’s Note: Repeater 5 receives signal from the controller to forward to switch 4]. [Page 3 second last para], the controller 2 includes a display unit 25 that displays the communication status of the switch 4 and the repeater 5. The display unit 25 turns on the green LED if the communication status with the relay 5 in the system is appropriate. The user is notified of the communication status in the system. [Page 5, second paragraph], When the controller 2 receives response signals from all the switches 4 in the system, the controller 2 displays on the display unit 25 (control completion display unit) that the control is completed [Examiner’s Note: Since the display unit 25 displays the communication status of the switch 4 and the repeater 5, that the communication status with switch 4 is successful reception of response from switch 4 indicates the communication status with repeater 5 is also the successful reception of response from repeater 5]), wherein the notification unit includes at least one of a light-emitting device, a display device and an audio output device ([Page 3 second last para], the controller 2 includes a display unit 25 that displays the communication status of the switch 4 and the repeater 5. The display unit 25 turns on the green LED if the communication status with the switch 4 and the relay 5 in the system is appropriate, and the red LED if there is an error. The user is notified of the communication status in the system).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata and Splitz, so that the controller device includes notification unit that notifies the user success of communication with the repeater, as taught by Ueda. The modification would have avoided signal collision even when a repeater is used between the controlled device and the control device in two-way wireless communication (Ueda [Page 2. fifth para. in Description section]).
Although teach the controller receiving acknowledgement for success of reception of the transmitted signal, Seok, Shibata, Splitz and Ueda do not explicitly disclose a storage that stores the first and second individual identification information.
Kikuchi is directed to providing error state notification system. More specifically, Kikuchi teaches a storage that stores the first and second individual identification information ([Page 4, para. 8] and [FIG. 3], the slave unit ID is stored in advance in a storage medium (not shown) of the message transmission type slave unit 7. Further, the repeater ID is stored in the pairing information storage unit 711 by the pairing registration in advance).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz and Ueda, so that the slave device ID and repeater ID are stored in the slave device, as taught by Kikuchi. The modification would have provided the error state of the system is notified in a manner corresponding to the determined state (Kikuchi [Page 2, para. 4]).
For claim 9, Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Ueda and Kikuchi further teach a wireless communication system (Seok [Para. 0009], provided herein is a relay for delivering a multicast/broadcast frame in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system) comprising: the slave device according to claim 3 (see claim 3 rejection).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (US20150381676A1, hereinafter Seok) in view of Shibata et al. (US20220007151A1, hereinafter Shibata), Splitz et al. (US20130109319A1, hereinafter Splitz), Ueda et al. (JP2014072791A, hereinafter Ueda) and Kikuchi (JP2021002818A, hereinafter Kikuchi), and further in view of Yoshii et al. (JP2004208035A, hereinafter Yoshii).
For claim 4, Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Ueda and Kikuchi teach the apparatus of claim 3. The references further teach the slave device (Seok [Para. 0223] and [FIG 18], STA1) according to claim 3, and wherein the notification unit notifies the user of the reception success information when the signal received by the slave device receive unit includes the first individual identification information (Seok [Para. 0223] and [FIG 18], In step S1820, Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) in the Basic Service Set (BSS) which the Relay1 configures. Seok [Para. 0199], Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs in the BSS which the relay STA configures (as a relay AP). Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA, the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA. Seok [Para. 0200], Meanwhile, the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame may also receive the multicast/broadcast frame broadcast by the relay STA).
The references further teach and wherein the notification unit notifies the user of the reception success information when the signal received by the slave device receive unit includes the first individual identification information (Ueda [Page 3, first para.], it is preferable that the control device includes a control completion display unit that displays that the control is completed when response signals from all the controlled devices are received. Ueda [Page 3, last sixth para.] and [FIG. 1], in the following description, the switch 4 that transmits and receives signals directly with the controller 2 is used as the controlled device [Examiner’s Note: Switch 4 receives signal directly from controller 2 and also transmits signal directly to controller 2]. Ueda [Page 3 second last para], the controller 2 includes a display unit 25 that displays the communication status of the switch 4 and the repeater 5. The display unit 25 turns on the green LED if the communication status with the switch 4 and the relay 5 in the system is appropriate. The user is notified of the communication status in the system. [Page 5, second paragraph], When the controller 2 receives response signals from all the switches 4 in the system, the controller 2 displays on the display unit 25 (control completion display unit) that the control is completed).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz and Kikuchi, so that the controller device includes notification unit that notifies the user success of communication with the switch, as taught by Ueda. The modification would have avoided signal collision even when a repeater is used between the controlled device and the control device in two-way wireless communication (Ueda [Page 2. fifth para. in Description section]).
Although teaching the slave device receiving notification indicating success of reception of the signal directly from master device without a repeater between them, Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Ueda and Kikuchi do not disclose wherein the slave device is capable of transmitting a signal directly to the master device without going through the repeater device.
Yoshii is directed to providing wireless communication device and system. More specifically, Yoshii teaches wherein the slave device is capable of transmitting a signal directly to the master device without going through the repeater device ([Para. 0083] and [FIG. 8], In the base unit 101, while performing a call between the slave unit 102 and the base unit 101 via the relay unit 103...Monitoring is performed (ST816, ST817, ST818). Then, in synchronization with the synchronization burst communicated between slave device 102 and relay device 103, master device 101 outputs a synchronization burst directly to slave device 102 (ST819). [Para. 0084], When synchronization between the parent device 101 and the child device 102 is established, this time, direct communication is performed between the parent device 101 and the child device 102 without going through the relay device 103. As a result, communication between master device 101 and slave device 102 is resumed (ST820)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Ueda and Kikuchi, so that the slave and master devices communicate directly without going through the repeater and with the repeater being between them, as taught by Yoshii. The modification would have provided a wireless communication device and a wireless communication system capable of maintaining communication with good communication quality, when the slave moves and the distance between the relay and the slave increases, the electric field strength decreases (Yoshii [Para. 0008 and 0010]).
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (US20150381676A1, hereinafter Seok) in view of Shibata et al. (US20220007151A1, hereinafter Shibata) and Splitz et al. (US20130109319A1, hereinafter Splitz), and further in view of Cregg et al. (US20060126617A1, hereinafter Cregg) and Inoue et al. (JPH04103297A, hereinafter Inoue).
For claim 5, Seok, Shibata and Splitz teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach a master device receiving a signal via the repeater device according to claim 1 from the slave device (Seok [Para. 0222], Relay1 may receive a multicast/broadcast frame from STA1 in a unicasting manner. Seok [Para. 0223], Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) [Examiner’s Note: STA1 is the slave device, Relay1 the repeater and STA2 the master device]), the master device comprising: a master device receive unit that receives the repeater signal including the second individual identification information (Seok [FIG. 20] and [Para. 0237], The transceiver 13 may transmit/receive radio signals. Seok [Para. 0223] and [FIG 18], In step S1820, Relay1 may broadcast the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1810 to STAs (STA1, STA2, . . . ) in the BSS which the Relay1 configures. [Para. 0199], Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs (as a relay AP). Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA, the A1 field may be set to a multicast/broadcast MAC address, the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA, and the A3 field may be configured as the MAC address of the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame [Examiner’s Note: STA1 sends the initial signal to Relay1 including the first identification and receives the signal that Relay1 transmits to STA1 and STA2 including the second identification. STA1 sends the initial signal, STA1 is the slave device. STA2 receives the signal relayed from the initial signal, STA2 is the master device. That STA1, STA2 and Relay1 are within the Basic Service Set indicates that the initial signal from STA1 is the service information provided for STA2]. Seok [Para. 0199], Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs in the BSS which the relay STA configures (as a relay AP). Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA … the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA [Examiner’s Note: MAC address of Relay1 set in A2 field is the second individual identification information]), a master device transmit unit that transmits a response signal including the second individual identification information to the repeater device when the master device receive unit receives the repeater signal (Splitz [Para. 0113], upon the successful receipt of the relayed message, the target device responds with the ACK message to the sending device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok and Shibata, so that the sending device receives ACK message responding to the received message, as taught by Splitz. The modification would have provided a controlled method to balance battery life against receiver sensitivity (Splitz [Para. 0128]).
Although teach the master device transmitting response signal when receiving the repeater signal, Seok, Shibata and Splitz do not explicitly disclose a master device transmit unit that transmits a response signal including the second individual identification information to the repeater device when the master device receive unit receives the repeater signal.
Cregg is directed to providing mesh network of intelligent devices communicating via powerline and radio frequency. More specifically, Cregg teaches a master device transmit unit that transmits a response signal including the second individual identification information to the repeater device when the master device receive unit receives the repeater signal (Seok [Para. 0199], Once the relay STA receives the multicast/broadcast frame from the STA, the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs. Herein, in the multicast/broadcast frame transmitted by the relay STA the A2 field may be configured as the MAC address of the relay STA. Splitz [Para. 0113], upon the successful receipt of the relayed message, the target device responds with the ACK message to the sending device. Cregg [Para. 0104], To respond with an ACK, a receiving device swaps the From Address 1010 and the To Address 1015 in the message it received [Examiner’s Note: Seok teaches that the repeater’s address is transmitted to the master as the second individual identification information. Splitz teaches that the master responds to the repeater with ACK. Cregg teaches ACK including sender’s address, the From Address, in ACK. Therefore, based on the teachings of Seok, Splitz and Cregg, the master device responds to the repeater with ACK including the address of the sender (the repeater) as the second individual identification]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata and Splitz, so that the ACK message responding to the received message includes the address of the sending device, as taught by Cregg. The modification would have allowed any device to transmit, receive, or repeat other messages according to a simple protocol and made communication among devices more robust and reliable by adding more devices (Cregg [Para. 0021]).
Although teaching the master device receiving and transmitting signals, Seok, Shibata, Splitz and Cregg do not explicitly disclose and an output unit that, when the master device receive unit receives the repeater signal, outputs a control signal to a device to be controlled that is correlated previously with the second individual identification information.
Inoue is directed to providing hierarchical decentralizing system. More specifically, Inoue teaches and an output unit that ([Page 2, Sect. Example, first two paragraphs] and [FIG. 1], 5a and 5b are sub-central control devices connected to branch networks 2a and 2b, and 6a to 6f are in branch networks 2a and 2b connected to the sub-central control device 5a and 5b [Examiner’s Note: 5a and 5b are master devices. Connecting with terminals in the branch networks 2a and 2b indicates that the master devices include network I/O as input and output unit]), when the master device receive unit receives the repeater signal, outputs a control signal to a device to be controlled that is correlated previously with the second individual identification information ([Page 2, Sect. Example, first and second para.] and [FIG. 1], the central control device can communicate with any sub-central control device via a branch network. 3 is a centralized control device connected to trunk network l. 4a and 4b are repeaters. The central control device can communicate with any sub-central control device via a branch network. 5a and 5b are sub-central control devices connected to branch networks 2a and 2b, and 6a to 6f are in branch networks 2a and 2b connected to the sub-central control device 5a and 5b. [Page 2, Sect. Example, third para.], a case where the terminal 6a is controlled by the central control device 3 will be shown. [Page 2, Sect. Example, sixth para.], The operation of controlling the terminal device 6a from the central control device 3 will be explained using FIGS. 3 and 4. First, the central control device 3 transmits a control packet P1 to the repeater 4a. The address ad2 of the sub-central control device 5a, which was set as the extended address of the bucket P1. The repeater 4a transmits the packet P3 to the sub-central control device 5a. The sub-central control device 5a interprets the control packet P3, determines that the control is dependent on the terminal device 6a from the central control device 3, and transmits the packet P5 to the terminal device 6a [Examiner’s Note: Sub-central device 5a is the master device and 4a is the repeater. Central control device 3 is the slave device. AS shown in FIG 4, the address ad2 of the sub-central control device 5a in packet P3 is used for the second identification information. The sub-central control device 5a and terminal device 6a are in the same branch network 2a. Therefore, terminal device 6a is correlated with the second identification information, the address ad2 of the sub-central control device 5a]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz and Cregg, so that the master device outputs control signal to terminals correlated with the master device, as taught by Inoue. The modification would have allowed the terminal only needs to communicate with the sub-central control device, and the processing becomes simple (Inoue [Page 2, Sect. For production]).
For claim 10, Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg and Inoue teach the apparatus of claim 5. The references further teach a wireless communication system (Seok [Para. 0009], provided herein is a relay for delivering a multicast/broadcast frame in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system) comprising: the master device according to claim 5 (see claim 5 rejection).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (US20150381676A1, hereinafter Seok) in view of Shibata et al. (US20220007151A1, hereinafter Shibata), Splitz et al. (US20130109319A1, hereinafter Splitz), Cregg et al. (US20060126617A1, hereinafter Cregg) and Inoue et al. (JPH04103297A, hereinafter Inoue), and further in view of Murakami et al. (US20190335568A1, hereinafter Murakami).
For claim 6, Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg and Inoue teach the master device according to claim 5. Although teaching the master device outputting signal to the terminals correlated with the master device, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising a storage storing an output destination table that correlates the second individual identification information with an output destination information, wherein the output unit refers to the second individual identification information and the output destination table to output a control signal to an output destination indicated by the output destination information.
Murakami is directed to providing lighting system and wireless relay method thereof. More specifically, Murakami teaches the master device according to claim 5 further comprising a storage storing an output destination table that correlates the second individual identification information with an output destination information ([Para. 0045] and [FIG. 2], wireless controller 20 performs a communication control and lighting control of luminaires 2 and 5. [Para. 0046], Second communication unit 20 a communicates, for example, with luminaire 2 through wireless communication r1 and with luminaire 5 through wireless communication r2 via wireless communication r1 and luminaire 2. [Examiner’s Note: Luminaire 2 is the master device communicating with and wireless controller 20 is the slave device communicating directly with the master device without repeater between them]. [Para. 0062] FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a storage table stored in storage unit 10 e of luminaire 2. Storage unit 10 e of luminaire 2 stores identification information about luminaire 2. Storage unit 10 e also stores information about whether luminaire 2 is configured as relay luminaire T1 and information relating to the individual numbers of the relay-destination luminaires 5-8 [Examiner’s Note: Identification of luminaire 2 in the table is the second identification information. The relay destination luminaires 5 – 8 in the table are the output destinations]), wherein the output unit refers to the second individual identification information and the output destination table to output a control signal to an output destination indicated by the output destination information ([Para. 0041], As illustrated in FIG. 1, out of luminaires 1-8, luminaires 1-4 are disposed proximate to wireless controller 20 and luminaires 5-8 are disposed farther from wireless controller 20. Luminaires 1-4 and wireless controller 20 are communicable through wireless communication r1. Luminaire 2 is configured as relay luminaire T1 and is communicable with luminaires 5-8 through wireless communication r2. In other words, luminaires 5-8 and wireless controller 20 are communicable via relay luminaire T1. [Para. 0057], Luminaires 2 and 5 each include first communication unit 10 a. [Para. 0067], Relay luminaire T1 that has received second signal s2 wirelessly communicates with luminaires 5-8 in second group G2 via first communication unit 10 a. [Para. 0087] and [FIG. 6], relay luminaire T1 transmits signal s21 for confirming the communication states of luminaires 5-8. Each control unit 10 c of luminaires 5-8, which has received signal s21, determines the communication quality between each control unit 10 c and relay luminaire T1 [Examiner’s Note: The first communication unit 10 a of luminaire 2 as the output unit outputs control signal s21 to luminaires 5-8 as the output destinations as the table in luminaire 2 storage indicates]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg and Inoue, so that the master device includes a table that associates the identification of the master device and the output destinations, and outputs the control signal to the destinations as indicated by the table, as taught by Murakami. The modification would have provided a lighting system that makes it possible to easily assign a relay luminaire and the like whenever the luminaires and the wireless controller wirelessly communicate (Murakami [Para. 0005]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (US20150381676A1, hereinafter Seok) in view of Shibata et al. (US20220007151A1, hereinafter Shibata), Splitz et al. (US20130109319A1, hereinafter Splitz), Cregg et al. (US20060126617A1, hereinafter Cregg), Inoue et al. (JPH04103297A, hereinafter Inoue) and Murakami et al. (US20190335568A1, hereinafter Murakami), and further in view of Yoshii et al. (JP2004208035A, hereinafter Yoshii).
For claim 7, Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg, Inoue and Murakami teach the apparatus of claim 6. The references further teach the master device (Seok [Para. 0219], there may be STAs which are directly associated with an AP without assistance from a relay [Examiner’s Note: The AP is the master device]) according to claim 6, the output destination table further correlates the first individual identification information with the output destination information (Murakami [Para. 0045] and [FIG. 2], wireless controller 20 performs a communication control and lighting control of luminaires 2 and 5. Murakami [Para. 0046], Second communication unit 20 a communicates, for example, with luminaire 2 through wireless communication r1 and with luminaire 5 through wireless communication r2 via wireless communication r1 and luminaire 2. [Examiner’s Note: Luminaire 2 is the master device communicating with and wireless controller 20 is the slave device communicating directly with the master device without repeater between them]. Murakami [Para. 0062] FIG. 4 is a diagram showing a storage table stored in storage unit 10 e of luminaire 2. Storage unit 10 e of luminaire 2 stores identification information about luminaire 2. Storage unit 10 e also stores information about whether luminaire 2 is configured as relay luminaire T1 and information relating to the individual numbers of the relay-destination luminaires 5-8 [Examiner’s Note: Identification of wireless controller in the table is the first identification information. The relay destination luminaires 5 – 8 in the table are the output destinations]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg and Inoue, so that the master device includes a table that associates the identification of the slave device and the output destinations, as taught by Murakami. The modification would have provided a lighting system that makes it possible to easily assign a relay luminaire and the like whenever the luminaires and the wireless controller wirelessly communicate (Murakami [Para. 0005]).
The references further teach the master device receive unit further receives the slave signal including the first individual identification information (Seok [Para. 0230] and [FIG. 19], In step S1920, Relay1 may deliver the multicast/broadcast frame received from STA1 in step S1910 to the AP. Seok [Para. 0212], the relay STA may unicast the multicast/broadcast frame received from the STA to the root AP. the SA field of the A-MSDU subframe may be set to the MAC address of the STA serving as the source of the multicast/broadcast frame [Examiner’s Note: The MAC address of STA1 is the first identification information]. Seok [Para. 0219], there may be STAs which are directly associated with an AP without assistance from a relay. Seok [Para. 0215], an STA having transmitted a multicast/broadcast frame to the root AP receives back the multicast/broadcast frame. [Examiner’s Note: The STA may transmit the frame to the AP directly]), the master device transmit unit transmits the response signal including the first individual identification information to the slave device when the master device receive unit receives the slave signal including the first individual identification information (Seok [Para. 0213], The root AP receiving the multicast/broadcast frame from the relay STA may deliver, in a broadcasting manner, the received multicast/broadcast frame for the other STAs. The A3 field may be set to the MAC address of an STA that has initially transmitted the multicast/broadcast frame to the relay STA. Seok [Para. 0219], there may be STAs which are directly associated with an AP without assistance from a relay. Seok [Para. 0215], an STA having transmitted a multicast/broadcast frame to the root AP receives back the multicast/broadcast frame. That is, if the value of the source address field (e.g., the A3 field) of a multicast/broadcast frame delivered from the root AP in a broadcasting manner is identical to the MAC address of the STA [Examiner’s Note: The frame from the AP may be transmitted to the STA directly]).
The references further teach and the output unit refers to the first individual identification information and the output destination table to output a control signal to an output destination indicated by the output destination information (Murakami [Para. 0041], As illustrated in FIG. 1, out of luminaires 1-8, luminaires 1-4 are disposed proximate to wireless controller 20 and luminaires 5-8 are disposed farther from wireless controller 20. Luminaires 1-4 and wireless controller 20 are communicable through wireless communication r1. Luminaire 2 is configured as relay luminaire T1 and is communicable with luminaires 5-8 through wireless communication r2. In other words, luminaires 5-8 and wireless controller 20 are communicable via relay luminaire T1. Murakami [Para. 0057], Luminaires 2 and 5 each include first communication unit 10 a. Murakami [Para. 0067], Relay luminaire T1 that has received second signal s2 wirelessly communicates with luminaires 5-8 in second group G2 via first communication unit 10 a. Murakami [Para. 0087] and [FIG. 6], relay luminaire T1 transmits signal s21 for confirming the communication states of luminaires 5-8. Each control unit 10 c of luminaires 5-8, which has received signal s21, determines the communication quality between each control unit 10 c and relay luminaire T1 [Examiner’s Note: The first communication unit 10 a of luminaire 2 as the output unit outputs control signal s21 to luminaires 5-8 as the output destinations as the table in luminaire 2 storage indicates]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg and Inoue, so that the master device includes a table that associates the identification of the master device and the output destinations, and outputs the control signal to the destinations as indicated by the table, as taught by Murakami. The modification would have provided a lighting system that makes it possible to easily assign a relay luminaire and the like whenever the luminaires and the wireless controller wirelessly communicate (Murakami [Para. 0005]).
Although teaching the master device transmitting acknowledgement to directly the slave device without a repeater between them, Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg, Ueda and Murakami do not disclose wherein the master device is capable of receiving a signal directly from the slave device without going through the repeater device.
Yoshii is directed to providing wireless communication device and system. More specifically, Yoshii teaches wherein the master device is capable of receiving a signal directly from the slave device without going through the repeater device ([Para. 0083] and [FIG. 8], In the base unit 101, while performing a call between the slave unit 102 and the base unit 101 via the relay unit 103...Monitoring is performed (ST816, ST817, ST818). Then, in synchronization with the synchronization burst communicated between slave device 102 and relay device 103, master device 101 outputs a synchronization burst directly to slave device 102 (ST819). [Para. 0084], When synchronization between the parent device 101 and the child device 102 is established, this time, direct communication is performed between the parent device 101 and the child device 102 without going through the relay device 103. As a result, communication between master device 101 and slave device 102 is resumed (ST820). [Para. 0057], a frame communicated in the wireless communication system 100 is composed of source identification information 502. [Para. 0058], The sender identification information 502 indicates a PSID indicating the identification information of the slave unit 102).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Seok, Shibata, Splitz, Cregg, Ueda and Murakami, so that the slave and master devices communicate directly without going through the repeater and with the repeater being between them, as taught by Yoshii. The modification would have provided a wireless communication device and a wireless communication system capable of maintaining communication with good communication quality, when the slave moves and the distance between the relay and the slave increases, the electric field strength decreases (Yoshii [Para. 0008 and 0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417