DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 12/04/2025.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-15, 17, 20-22, and 25-27 are examined.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-15, 17, 20-22 have been amended.
Claims 25-27 are new.
Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 18-19 have been canceled. Claims 8, 16, and 23-24 were previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive and/or moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
112 Rejection
This rejection is maintained for claim 1. The claim has been amended to state, “indicating a three-dimensional shape identified by measuring around the flying body”. The same lack of clarity still exists. Is it measuring a flight envelope around the flying body (like an orb or tunnel) or is it measuring objects/obstacles that are in proximity of the flying body. The remarks on pg. 10 do not add any intentions to the claim language. The rejection is maintained. See further 112 rejection below.
The rejection for claim 4 is withdrawn.
101 Rejection
This rejection is withdrawn.
103 Rejection
Applicant states for the amendment of claim 1 wherein it states, “determining a three-dimensional position of the flying body in the reference map information by matching a reference shape included in the reference map information and the three-dimensional shape indicated by the surrounding information”, is not disclosed by prior art Suiter. Examiner disagrees by the following rationale.
General navigation utilizes both map information and environmental sensor for traveling a route to get to a desired destination safely, specifically avoiding collisions to generate a successful passage. This is the general state of unmanned flight navigation. For instance, it would be understood wherein Suiter’s use of survey data [col:10:15-20 survey data used for landing] for determining landing space and further using weather/seasonal and obstacle avoidance detection for landing [col:44-45] would include the detection of changes from reference landing zone material (reference map information) for fine tuning landing areas. The concepts of using reference material for a known zone (to land safely by further avoiding detected obstacles) and adapting such areas based on changes detected for the known landing zones would be understood as using three-dimensional landing zone reference data and applying three-dimensional obstacle detection data in the landing area to determine the landing zone requires some additional navigation considerations to land safely and apply the appropriate controls with considerations to position the UAS accordingly to land safely. The claim language limitation appears to just disclose general concepts used for unmanned flight navigation. The claim is reevaluated in light of the amendments. To help promote prosecution, an additional reference applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7,9-15 and 17-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner. Any claim not explicitly rejected under this heading is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Wherein claim 1 recites, “acquiring surrounding information indicating a three-dimensional shape identified by measuring around the flying body” is unclear. Is the indicated shape around the flying body referring to a physical object that is in proximity(around) to the flying object such as an obstacle or is the indicated shape around the flying body actually lineated around the physical body of the flying object? Both scenarios would be “measured”. It is unclear to what the limitation is specifying to one of ordinary skill in the art. For purposes of promoting prosecution, the limitation is understood to refer to either or scenario.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15, 17-20, 22, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 10502584 (“Suiter”) and in the alternative in further view of machine translation of JP2020197467 (“Toshio”).
As per claim 1 Suiter discloses a position determination apparatus comprising [Fig. 6]:
at least one memory configured to store instructions [Fig. 6.616 processor]; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations, the operations comprising [col 7:36-40 flight controller, Fig. 6];
acquiring reference map information being three-dimensional map information of an area in which a flying body is to be flown [col 10:25-30 The present invention may utilize satellite imagery such as Landsat, LDCM, TIRS and with terrain data from USGS (www.usgs.gov), WeoGeo, and TopoQuest, Google Maps and the like: 46-48 In operation an embodiment of the present invention may receive traffic, weather, terrain, and flight information from ADS-B];
acquiring surrounding information indicating a three-dimensional shape identified by measuring around the flying body [col 10:58-65 anticipated (or expected) optimum flight profile characteristic of the UAS model's flight envelope. Each configuration for a given model and transition from a first and a second configuration is incumbent on, for example, a particular flight segment, for example, takeoff, climb, cruise, descent, approach, and landing. Other configurations may also exist, for example, obstacle avoidance (understood as an identified 3d shape)]; and
determining a three-dimensional position of the flying body in the reference map information by matching a reference shape included in the reference map information and the three-dimensional shape indicated by the surrounding information [col 10:15-20 In operation, a database of potential alternative landing sites (ALS’s) may be created and maintained utilizing … satellite imagery, survey data,… (reference shapes from reference map), col 2:52-55 may include a system wherein establishing UAS position, altitude, and flight trajectory is based on… radar, Col 11:44-45 having takeoff and landing over obstacles, Examiner’s Note: It is understood wherein use of survey data for determining landing space and further using weather/seasonal obstacle avoidance would include changes from reference landing material for fine tuning landing areas. The concepts of using reference material for a known zone (to land safely avoiding obstacles) and adapting such areas based on changes detected for the known landing zones.];
acquiring route information generated by using the reference map information and indicating a route on which the flying body is to be flown; and
moving the flying body along the route information by using the three-dimensional position of the flying body [col 11:4-12 flying a particular mission according to some expected or optimal flight profile consisting of expected flight segments with expected and/or desired UAS configurations, may distinguish its actual position relative to said mission defined as a series of expected or optimal waypoints (each waypoint being, e.g. , a three-dimensional coordinate with at least one of an expected crossing time or the like).],
wherein the route information includes pose information indicating a pose to be taken by the flying body at each position on the route[col 2:21-30 include a system for determining UAS flight configuration during a flight, implemented by at least one computing device, comprising: an UAS state module configured to: establish UAS position, altitude, and trajectory based upon UAS position and altitude over time; establish UAS flight segment based on at least one of time since departure, position and altitude, and trajectory; determine UAS attitude from sensing at least one of angle and rate for at least one of pitch, bank, and yaw (understood as components of pose), col 10:55-60 For any given autonomous UAS operation there is an optimum flight profile. For any given autonomous UAS model (300) there are optimum configurations along the route of flight (310) and an anticipated (or expected) optimum flight profile characteristic of the UAS model's flight envelope.], and
wherein the operations further comprise controlling a pose of the flying body by using the pose information [col 11:53-55 As the UAS endeavors to fly its optimal mission profile, at any given point in space and time… or expected range, at optimal angle of attack (inclinometer based (612, FIG. 6)].
Examiner’s Note: The claim limitations of “acquiring surrounding information indicating a three-dimensional shape around the flying body” is very broadly stated. The term “indicating a three-dimensional shape around” could be identified as the surrounding area, like a bubble/envelope around the flying body itself, or it could be referencing a shape close to the flying body, such as an obstacle area that the flying body has to avoid so as not to collide. As such, prior art Suiter is understood to disclose a flight envelope, a 3D shape around the flight envelope and in an alternate embodiment, as avoiding obstacles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Suiter with alternate embodiments of Suiter for purposes of controlling a UAV to avoid collisions and land safely by using surrounding environments and desired routes information as vital control parameters.
In the alternative, Toshio discloses determining a three-dimensional position of the flying body in the reference map information by matching a reference shape included in the reference map information and the three-dimensional shape indicated by the surrounding information [¶ 4 Furthermore, images of the inspected structure are taken from multiple locations to obtain three-dimensional point cloud information of the inspected structure, making it possible to identify areas requiring inspection, such as damaged areas… Furthermore, if the damage state can be grasped to some extent in advance from the three-dimensional image, it will be possible to determine from which angle the image should be taken in order to obtain an effective inspection image., ¶ 13 The acquired map information is then overlaid with ground coordinate data with a specific point at the inspection site as the origin to establish correspondence (Step 6).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Suiter with the teachings of Toshio to utilize environmental data to improve location and position data on the self-vehicle by increasing relevant reference data.
As per claim 9 Suiter discloses a position determination method performed by a computer, the position determination method comprising [Fig. 6.616 processor]:
reference information acquisition processing comprising acquiring reference map information being three-dimensional map information of an area in which a flying body is to be flown [col 10:25-30 The present invention may utilize satellite imagery such as Landsat, LDCM, TIRS and with terrain data from USGS (www.usgs.gov), WeoGeo, and TopoQuest, Google Maps and the like: 46-48 In operation an embodiment of the present invention may receive traffic, weather, terrain, and flight information from ADS-B];
surrounding information acquisition processing comprising acquiring surrounding information indicating a three-dimensional shape identified by measuring around the flying body [col 10:58-65 anticipated (or expected) optimum flight profile characteristic of the UAS model's flight envelope. Each configuration for a given model and transition from a first and a second configuration is incumbent on, for example, a particular flight segment, for example, takeoff, climb, cruise, descent, approach, and landing. Other configurations may also exist, for example, obstacle avoidance (understood as an identified 3d shape)]; and
position determination processing comprising determining a three-dimensional position of the flying body in the reference map information by matching a reference shape included in the reference map information and the three-dimensional shape indicated by the surrounding information [col 10:15-20 In operation, a database of potential alternative landing sites (ALS’s) may be created and maintained utilizing … satellite imagery, survey data,… (reference shapes from reference map), col 2:52-55 may include a system wherein establishing UAS position, altitude, and flight trajectory is based on… radar, Col 11:44-45 having takeoff and landing over obstacles, Examiner’s Note: It is understood wherein use of survey data for determining landing space and further using weather/seasonal obstacle avoidance would include changes from reference landing material for fine tuning landing areas. The concepts of using reference material for a known zone (to land safely avoiding obstacles) and adapting such areas based on changes detected for the known landing zones.];
acquiring route information generated by using the reference map information and indicating a route on which the flying body is to be flown; and
moving the flying body along the route information by using the three-dimensional position of the flying body [col 11:4-12 flying a particular mission according to some expected or optimal flight profile consisting of expected flight segments with expected and/or desired UAS configurations, may distinguish its actual position relative to said mission defined as a series of expected or optimal waypoints (each waypoint being, e.g. , a three-dimensional coordinate with at least one of an expected crossing time or the like).],
wherein the route information includes pose information indicating a pose to be taken by the flying body at each position on the route[col 2:21-30 include a system for determining UAS flight configuration during a flight, implemented by at least one computing device, comprising: an UAS state module configured to: establish UAS position, altitude, and trajectory based upon UAS position and altitude over time; establish UAS flight segment based on at least one of time since departure, position and altitude, and trajectory; determine UAS attitude from sensing at least one of angle and rate for at least one of pitch, bank, and yaw (understood as components of pose), col 10:55-60 For any given autonomous UAS operation there is an optimum flight profile. For any given autonomous UAS model (300) there are optimum configurations along the route of flight (310) and an anticipated (or expected) optimum flight profile characteristic of the UAS model's flight envelope.], and
wherein the operations further comprise controlling a pose of the flying body by using the pose information [col 11:53-55 As the UAS endeavors to fly its optimal mission profile, at any given point in space and time… or expected range, at optimal angle of attack (inclinometer based (612, FIG. 6)].
Examiner’s Note: The claim limitations of “acquiring surrounding information indicating a three-dimensional shape around the flying body” is very broadly stated. The term “indicating a three-dimensional shape around” could be identified as the surrounding area, like a bubble/envelope around the flying body itself, or it could be referencing a shape close to the flying body, such as an obstacle area that the flying body has to avoid so as not to collide. As such, prior art Suiter is understood to disclose a flight envelope, a 3D shape around the flight envelope and in an alternate embodiment, as avoiding obstacles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Suiter with alternate embodiments of Suiter for purposes of controlling a UAV to avoid collisions and land safely by using surrounding environments and desired routes information as vital control parameters.
In the alternative, Toshio discloses determining a three-dimensional position of the flying body in the reference map information by matching a reference shape included in the reference map information and the three-dimensional shape indicated by the surrounding information [¶ 4 Furthermore, images of the inspected structure are taken from multiple locations to obtain three-dimensional point cloud information of the inspected structure, making it possible to identify areas requiring inspection, such as damaged areas… Furthermore, if the damage state can be grasped to some extent in advance from the three-dimensional image, it will be possible to determine from which angle the image should be taken in order to obtain an effective inspection image., ¶ 13 The acquired map information is then overlaid with ground coordinate data with a specific point at the inspection site as the origin to establish correspondence (Step 6).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Suiter with the teachings of Toshio to utilize environmental data to improve location and position data on the self-vehicle by increasing relevant reference data.
As per claim 17 Suiter discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform operations, the operations comprising [col 7:36-40 flight controller, Fig. 6]:
acquiring reference map information being three-dimensional map information of an area in which a flying body is to be flown [col 10:25-30 The present invention may utilize satellite imagery such as Landsat, LDCM, TIRS and with terrain data from USGS (www.usgs.gov), WeoGeo, and TopoQuest, Google Maps and the like: 46-48 In operation an embodiment of the present invention may receive traffic, weather, terrain, and flight information from ADS-B];
acquiring surrounding information indicating a three-dimensional shape identified by measuring around the flying body [col 10:58-65 anticipated (or expected) optimum flight profile characteristic of the UAS model's flight envelope. Each configuration for a given model and transition from a first and a second configuration is incumbent on, for example, a particular flight segment, for example, takeoff, climb, cruise, descent, approach, and landing. Other configurations may also exist, for example, obstacle avoidance (understood as an identified 3d shape)]; and
determining a three-dimensional position of the flying body in the reference map information by matching a reference shape included in the reference map information and the three-dimensional shape indicated by the surrounding information [col 10:15-20 In operation, a database of potential alternative landing sites (ALS’s) may be created and maintained utilizing … satellite imagery, survey data,… (reference shapes from reference map), col 2:52-55 may include a system wherein establishing UAS position, altitude, and flight trajectory is based on… radar, Col 11:44-45 having takeoff and landing over obstacles, Examiner’s Note: It is understood wherein use of survey data for determining landing space and further using weather/seasonal obstacle avoidance would include changes from reference landing material for fine tuning landing areas. The concepts of using reference material for a known zone (to land safely avoiding obstacles) and adapting such areas based on changes detected for the known landing zones.];
acquiring route information generated by using the reference map information and indicating a route on which the flying body is to be flown; and
moving the flying body along the route information by using the three-dimensional position of the flying body [col 11:4-12 flying a particular mission according to some expected or optimal flight profile consisting of expected flight segments with expected and/or desired UAS configurations, may distinguish its actual position relative to said mission defined as a series of expected or optimal waypoints (each waypoint being, e.g. , a three-dimensional coordinate with at least one of an expected crossing time or the like).],
wherein the route information includes pose information indicating a pose to be taken by the flying body at each position on the route[col 2:21-30 include a system for determining UAS flight configuration during a flight, implemented by at least one computing device, comprising: an UAS state module configured to: establish UAS position, altitude, and trajectory based upon UAS position and altitude over time; establish UAS flight segment based on at least one of time since departure, position and altitude, and trajectory; determine UAS attitude from sensing at least one of angle and rate for at least one of pitch, bank, and yaw (understood as components of pose), col 10:55-60 For any given autonomous UAS operation there is an optimum flight profile. For any given autonomous UAS model (300) there are optimum configurations along the route of flight (310) and an anticipated (or expected) optimum flight profile characteristic of the UAS model's flight envelope.], and
wherein the operations further comprise controlling a pose of the flying body by using the pose information [col 11:53-55 As the UAS endeavors to fly its optimal mission profile, at any given point in space and time… or expected range, at optimal angle of attack (inclinometer based (612, FIG. 6)].
Examiner’s Note: The claim limitations of “acquiring surrounding information indicating a three-dimensional shape around the flying body” is very broadly stated. The term “indicating a three-dimensional shape around” could be identified as the surrounding area, like a bubble/envelope around the flying body itself, or it could be referencing a shape close to the flying body, such as an obstacle area that the flying body has to avoid so as not to collide. As such, prior art Suiter is understood to disclose a flight envelope, a 3D shape around the flight envelope and in an alternate embodiment, as avoiding obstacles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Suiter with alternate embodiments of Suiter for purposes of controlling a UAV to avoid collisions and land safely by using surrounding environments and desired routes information as vital control parameters.
In the alternative, Toshio discloses determining a three-dimensional position of the flying body in the reference map information by matching a reference shape included in the reference map information and the three-dimensional shape indicated by the surrounding information [¶ 4 Furthermore, images of the inspected structure are taken from multiple locations to obtain three-dimensional point cloud information of the inspected structure, making it possible to identify areas requiring inspection, such as damaged areas… Furthermore, if the damage state can be grasped to some extent in advance from the three-dimensional image, it will be possible to determine from which angle the image should be taken in order to obtain an effective inspection image., ¶ 13 The acquired map information is then overlaid with ground coordinate data with a specific point at the inspection site as the origin to establish correspondence (Step 6).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Suiter with the teachings of Toshio to utilize environmental data to improve location and position data on the self-vehicle by increasing relevant reference data.
As per claims 4, 12, and 20 Suiter discloses further wherein the position determination apparatus is mounted on the flying body, wherein the flying body includes a sensor, and
wherein the operations further comprise transmitting, to an outside of the flying body, the three-dimensional position of the flying body and measurement data of the sensor at the three-dimensional position, in association with each other [col 1: 60-63 traversal of obstacles (both known and unknown), col 5:46-47 standard operating procedure, … and obstacle avoidance procedure, col 6:21-27 UAS state module configured to determine at least one of current UAS position and altitude, current UAS trajectory, anticipated future UAS position and altitude, and UAS performance from at least one of position and altitude over time and a sensor; a trajectory evaluator module configured to: determine at least one of expected UAS position and altitude, expected, Fig. 6.610 wifi/transceiver, claim 12].
As per claims 6, 14, and 20 Suiter discloses further wherein the sensor includes at least one of an image capturing unit an image sensor and a LiDAR, and wherein the surrounding information is generated by using the measurement data of the sensor [col 12:23-25 camera (payload)… payload being surveying or sensor equipment, col 10:15-17 … sites may be created and maintained stylizing … survey data].
As per claims 7 and 15 Suiter discloses further wherein the route is set in order that the flying body measures a measurement target, and wherein the measurement target is at least one of a bridge, a dam, a building, and a tunnel [col 12:11-14 UAS performance or range capabilities… a required traffic avoidance maneuver (it is understood to autonomously avoid an unforeseen obstacle, some measurement of the obstacle has to take place in order to not collide with said obstacle), Fig. 5A-5D diagrammatic flight profile views of illustrating various aspects of the autonomous monitoring system].
As per claims 25, 26, and 27 Suiter discloses further wherein the operations further comprise determining a pose of the flying body based on calculation results on coordinates to match the reference shape and the three-dimensional shape [col 10:15-20 In operation, a database of potential alternative landing sites (ALS’s) may be created and maintained utilizing … satellite imagery, survey data,… (reference shapes from reference map), col 2:52-55 may include a system wherein establishing UAS position, altitude, and flight trajectory is based on… radar, Col 11:44-45 having takeoff and landing over obstacles, Examiner’s Note: It is understood wherein use of survey data for determining landing space and further using weather/seasonal obstacle avoidance would include changes from reference landing material for fine tuning landing areas. The concepts of using reference material for a known zone (to land safely avoiding obstacles) and adapting such areas based on changes detected for the known landing zones while also determining the position of the UAS to land without crashing.].
Claims 5, 13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Suiter/Toshio in further view of CN 112173103 (“Wang”).
As per claims 5, 13, and 21 Suiter discloses further wherein the flying body includes a sensor, and wherein the operations further comprise processing and transmitting, the three-dimensional position of the flying body in association with measurement data of the sensor at the position [col 12:23-25 payload being surveying or sensor equipment, Fig. 6 (processor)].
Suiter/Toshio is not explicit to storing, in a storage, measurement data.
Wang discloses further storing, in a storage, sensor data [abstract: a storage and transmission system, pg. 3 ¶2; provide a construction tunnel working surface detecting device].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to modify Suiter/Toshio with the teachings of Wang to have a computing control apparatus to include a storage of data that is gathered for purposes of gathering and transmitting desired data for users to utilize for improving system efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL A. CASTRO
Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/P.A.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662