Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (US 2019/0027714).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Jung discloses a pouch-type battery case configured to accommodate an electrode assembly (see abstract which describes a pouch for a battery), in which electrodes and separators are alternately stacked (in stack 200, see paragraph 54), the pouch-type battery case comprising:
a pair of recess parts (310a and 310b, see Fig. 8(c), each of which has a recessed shape;
a pair of terraces (350, as depicted in Fig. 5) that are disposed around the pair of recess parts (see Fig. 5), wherein, when the pouch-type battery case is unfolded, the pair of terraces are inclined with respect to one another such that the pair of terraces approach one another along a downward direction (this limitation is a conditional limitation that occurs when the battery case is unfolded, as can be seen in Fig. 8(c), the structure of Jung is capable of forming inclinations of the terraces that approach one another in a downward direction); and
a bridge (315) disposed between the pair of recess parts (see Fig. 8(c)) and connecting the pair of recess parts to each other, the bridge having a pair of connection surfaces extending upward from a bottom surface of each of the pair of recess parts (see annotated Fig. 8(c) below which illustrates that the connection surfaces are sloped upward from a bottom where they are connected to the recess parts 310a and 310b), wherein, when the pouch-type battery case is unfolded, the pair of connection surfaces are inclined with respect to one another such that the pair of connection surfaces approach one another along an upward direction (as illustrated in Fig. 8(c)), the upward direction being opposite to the downward direction,
wherein in a state in which the pouch-type battery case is unfolded is a state of the pouch-type battery case before the pouch-type battery case is folded (Fig. 8(c) of Jung illustrates a state in which the pouch battery case is unfolded (not fully folded) before it is fully folded);
wherein, in the state in which the pouch-type battery case is unfolded, an angle formed by the pair of terraces is an obtuse angle (while Jung teaches a non-obtuse angle in Fig. 8(c), the same features with respect to the terrace and the bridge would be exhibited if the angle was obtuse). It is also noted that Applicant’s claims of “in the state in which the pouch-type battery case is unfolded” or “when the pouch-type battery case is unfolded” are simply operational limitations that define a structure that is present when that operational limitation occurs. As such, the operational limitation (obtuse angle) does not need to be taught by Jung in order for Jung to anticipate the claim, but rather Jung must teach a structure that exhibits such features if/when that operational limitation is performed, which it does.
Annotated Fig. 8(c)
Regarding claim 2, Jung further discloses in the state in which the pouch-type battery case is unfolded, the bottom surfaces of the pair of recess parts are inclined with respect to one another such that the bottom surfaces diverge from one another along the upward direction (such is the case which can be seen in Fig. 8(c) where the recessed parts form a V shaped structure which diverge from each other in an upward direction).
Regarding claim 3, Jung further discloses in the state in which the pouch-type battery case is unfolded, the angle formed by the pair of terraces is 130 degrees to 170 degrees. This limitation is directed toward a manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The structure of Jung can be operated in such a way that the pouch is opened to a degree in which the terraces form the claimed angle. Regarding limitations recited in claim 3 which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed system, neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP §2114 and 2115. Further, process limitations do not have a patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.
Regarding claim 4, Jung further discloses an inner edge (as depicted in annotated Fig. 6 below) connecting an inner circumference of the recess part to the bottom surface of the recess part; and an outer edge (as depicted in annotated Fig. 6 below) connecting an outer circumference of the recess part to the terrace, wherein the inner edge has a radius of curvature greater than or equal to a radius of curvature of the outer edge (see annotated Fig. 6 below which clearly shows a large radius of curvature for the inner edge than the outer edge).
Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding claims 5-7, Jung further discloses a distance between the inner edge and the outer edge in an orthogonal direction is 0.35 mm or less, the horizontal direction being perpendicular to the upward and downward directions. It is noted that this horizontal/orthogonal direction is dependent on the angle of the fold. As such, Jung can exhibit a range of distances depending on the angle of the fold. I this case, the inner and outer edge, when the fold angle is 180 degrees is zero as they are only separated by a vertical distance as depicted in Fig. 6. In Jung, when folded with an obtuse angle which is anything between 90 and 180 degrees including 179.9 degrees, Jung will exhibit a distance between these two edges that is less than 0.35mm or the curvature of the outer edge as it can be infinitely close to zero without being zero. In other words, this claim appears to define a structure based on how the structure can be operated. In this case, depending on how the pouch is folded, Jung can indeed teach such a limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Jung further discloses in the state in which the pouch-type battery case is unfolded, a bending part connecting the pair of terraces to each other and convexly rounded in the downward direction (see annotated Fig. 4 below which illustrates the claimed bending part and the convex/rounded portion is formed when the pouch casing is bent, as depicted in Fig. 8(c)), wherein the bridge further comprises a first connection edge (see annotated Fig. 8(c) above) connecting the pair of connection surfaces to each other and convexly rounded in the upward direction (as depicted in Fig. 8(c)), and a height of a lowermost end of the bending part is greater than or equal to a height of an uppermost end of the first connection edge (Jung does not distinguish between the bending part of the terraces and the bending part where the battery will sit, which is the bridge 315 and is illustrated in Fig. 8(c), as such, these two “bends” have the same structure and therefore equal heights).
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 9, Jung further discloses in the state in which the pouch-type battery case is unfolded, the bridge further comprises a pair of second connection edges connecting the pair of connection surfaces to the bottom surfaces of the pair of recess parts and convexly rounded in the downward direction (as illustrated in annotated Fig. 8(c) above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Jung, teaches a pouch battery comprising a virtual line that passes through the inner circumferences of the recess part and the inner edge and is perpendicular to the terrace. Jung, however, teaches that the bends/folds of the terrace part are the same bends/folds as the bridge section which would result in the first and second length being equal, rather than the claimed second distance being shorter than the first distance. The prior art neither teaches nor suggests a reason to modify the structure of Jung to arrive at the claimed configuration.
Relevant Prior Art
US 2020/0280044 - Discloses a pouch cell that has a radius of curvature of the inner edge is greater than a radius of curvature of the outer edge, as claimed in claim 4 (see Fig. 6 of US 2020/0280044).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 7, Applicant argues that Jung does not teach an obtuse angle, as claimed when the pouch is in an unfolded state. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. As best understood, it appears that Applicant is arguing a very narrow interpretation of “unfolded”. In the argument, Applicant states that Fig. 8(c) of Jung is an “intermediate folding step” and therefore does not qualify as an “unfolded state”. However, it is noted that this interpretation of “unfolded” is excessively narrow and does not give the term its broadest reasonable interpretation. Fig. 8(c) of Jung does indeed teach an unfolded state in that it is not folded closed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725