CTNF 18/278,107 CTNF 89281 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 2 recites the limitation " the methacrylation " in line 1 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Chen et al (KR 1020200056452) . With regards to claim 1 , Chen teaches a 3D printing composition (page 1) that contains an oligomeric compound having one or more ethylene unsaturated groups (page 1) that is a urethane acrylate compound (page 5) at a concentration of 55 to 85 wt% (page 8) and a (meth)acrylate compound that includes isobornyl (meth)acrylate (page 8) at a concentration of 45% or less (page 8), and a photoinitiator (page 8) at a concentration of 0.01 to 8% (page 8). With regards to claim 2 , Chen teaches the oligomer to have (meth)acrylate end groups (page 7 compounds IV and V). With regards to claim 3 , Chen teaches the oligomer to be a urethane diacrylate (page 7 compounds IV and V). With regards to claim 4, Chen teaches the composition to contain isobornyl acrylate (page 10). With regards to claim 5 , Chen teaches the photoinitiator to be a phosphine oxide compound (page 11). With regards to claim 6 , Chen teaches the photoinitiator to include Diphenyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)phosphine oxide (page 11). With regards to claim 7 , Chen teaches the addition of a polytetramethylene glycol based polyetherdiol (page 11). With regards to claim 8 , Chen teaches the composition to be used for making a 3D object (page 1) using stereolithography (page 4). With regards to claim 9 , Chen teaches the radiation exposure to be at a wavelength of 390 nm (page 14). With regards to claim 10 , Chen is silent on the flexural strength under the claimed conditions using the claimed calculations. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01 . Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the flexural strength are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art. With regards to claim 11 , Chen teaches the composition to be placed in a mold and curing the composition using irradiation (pages 14 and 15). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA WHITELEY whose telephone number is (571)272-5203. The examiner can normally be reached 8 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached at 5712721130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JESSICA WHITELEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763 Application/Control Number: 18/278,107 Page 2 Art Unit: 1763 Application/Control Number: 18/278,107 Page 3 Art Unit: 1763