CTNF 18/278,132 CTNF 71651 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The amendment filed 8/21/23 has been considered and entered. Claims 12-15 have been added. Claims 1-15 remain in the application for prosecution thereof. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1,2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2009-0000307 in combination with JP 2011-258426 . KR 10-2009-0000307 discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules (400) which includes a plurality of unit module stacks (300) formed in an upper case (410) a refrigerant inlet (412) for the inflow of a refrigerant and allow the refrigerant to flow out through a lower case (420) ([0078]-[0089] and Fig. 4). KR 10-2009-0000307 fails to teach an intake duct including an intake channel communicating with the intake portion and an exhaust duct including an exhaust channel and communicating with the exhaust portion of the battery modules as well as an opening/closing member to release internal pressure buildup. JP 2011-258426 teaches and intake duct (6A) which is a passage for supplying cooling air into a battery cell and a discharge duct (6B) which is a passage for discharging the cooling air discharged from the battery cell and a backflow prevention device (7) which closes a passage when the internal pressure of a cell storage chamber is higher than the pressure at the entrance of the passage [0013], claims 1 and 5, Figs. 4-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR 10-2009-0000307 battery pack to include an intake and discharge ducts as well as a backflow prevention device as evidenced in JP 2011-258426 with the expectation of providing improved safety. Regarding claim 2, KR 10-2009-0000307 teaches flow inlet and flow outlet reversed and would be within one skilled in the art to simply reverse this flow and have the exhaust in the uppercase (410) at the top surface instead of in the lower case (420). Regarding claim 4, JP 2011-258426 teaches the intake duct (6A) which is a passage for supplying cooling air to a battery cell and a discharge duct (6B) which is a passage for discharging the cooling air discharged from the battery cell ([0013] and Fig. 4). Regarding claim 5, JP 2011-258426 teaches a backflow prevention device (7) opens an opening (7M) when cooling air flows into the intake duct (6A) ([0020]-[0022] and Figs. 4-7). Regarding claim 6, JP 2011-258426 teaches the backflow prevention device (7) closes the opening (7M) when gas is discharged due to an abnormality in a battery cell (1) ([0023]-[0024]). Regarding claim 7, JP 2011-258426 teaches the backflow device (7) includes a hinge part (9A) to open or close the opening (7A) ([0020]-[0021] and Figs. 4-6). Regarding claim 8, JP 2011-258426 teaches a discharge duct (6B) discharge cooling air through discharge side slits (SB) which are formed at predetermined intervals along the direction of the battery cells (10 ([0019] and Fig. 4). Regarding claim 9, JP 2011-258426 teaches closing the passage when an internal pressure of a cell storage chamber is higher than the pressure at the entrance of the passage (claims 1 and 5, Figs. 4-7). Regarding claims 10 and 11, KR 10-2009-0000307 teaches a power supply device (claim 20) ad an electric vehicle (claim 21). Regarding claims 12 and 13, JP 2011-258426 teaches valve body (9B) which blocks the outlet of the exhaust portions (7). Regarding claim 14, JP 2011-258426 teaches an open inlet (7) and outlet (8) of the exhaust gas (Figs. 2-4) and the use f a mesh for the outlet would be a matter of design choice. Regrading claim 15, JP 2011-258426 teaches a stopper (9S) to limit opening/closing member (Fig. 8) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2009-0000307 in combination with JP 2011-258426 further in combination with KR 10-2021-0055364 . Features detailed above concerning the teachings of KR 10-2009-0000307 in combination with JP 2011-258426 are incorporated here. KR 10-2009-0000307 in combination with JP 2011-258426 fails to teach the intake duct to cover the bus bar assembly. KR 10-2021-0055364 teaches a discharge part (211b) is located on one side of a cell assembly (100) in the left and right direction to cover a bus bar of the cell assembly (100) ([0064]-[0065] and Figs. 2,4,5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR 10-2009-0000307 in combination with JP 2011-258426 battery module pack to have the intake duct cover the bus bar as evidenced by KR 10-2021-0055364 with the expectation of similar success. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN K TALBOT whose telephone number is (571)272-1428. The examiner can normally be reached Monday -Friday 7-4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL CLEVELAND can be reached at 571-272-1418. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/278,132 Page 2 Art Unit: 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/278,132 Page 3 Art Unit: 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/278,132 Page 4 Art Unit: 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/278,132 Page 5 Art Unit: 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/278,132 Page 7 Art Unit: 1712