DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action responsive to application 18278155 filed 8/21/2023. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a microwave supply unit… configured to supply microwaves to the heating cooking chamber” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsushima 4661669.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Matsushima teaches a heating cooking apparatus (Fig. 8) comprising:
a heating cooking unit (1) including a heating cooking chamber (4, see Fig. 2);
a microwave supply unit fixed to the heating cooking unit and configured to supply microwaves to the heating cooking chamber (magnetron 9);
an air blowing mechanism (as discussed below, includes 10/13) configured to blow air onto the microwave supply unit (see Fig. 8); and
a fixing member fixed to the heating cooking unit (see Fig. 1: Annotated Fig. 8 from Matsushima below, includes annotated 1st plate, 2nd plate, horizontal plate),
wherein the air blowing mechanism includes
a fan (10),
a motor (13) configured to drive the fan, and
a first attachment member disposed on a side, in a predetermined direction, of the fan (annotated 1st attachment member is disposed on a side, in a rightward direction in the figure, of 10), and
the fixing member includes
a support portion (includes annotated horizontal plate) configured to support the first attachment member (via connection to 4c through the plate which extends vertically from the annotated horizontal plate and in is contact with 4c), and
an attachment portion (combined regions of annotated horizontal plate and annotated 1st plate to which the annotated 1st attachment member and the annotated engagement portion are attached) to which the first attachment member is attached.
Figure 1: Annotated Fig. 8 from Matsushima
Regarding Dependent Claim 2, Matsushima further teaches the fixing member further includes
a first plate (annotated 1st plate) extending along a vertical direction, and
a second plate (annotated 2nd plate) extending from the first plate along a direction opposite to the predetermined direction (extends from annotated 1st plate along a leftward direction, which is opposite to the rightward direction discussed for claim 1 above),
the support portion includes
a horizontal plate (annotated horizontal plate) disposed on a side, in the direction opposite to the predetermined direction, of the first plate (horizontal plate is to a leftward side of the 1st plate, with the leftward direction opposite to the rightward direction discussed above for claim 1), and
the first attachment member includes
an engagement portion (annotated engagement portion) configured to engage with the horizontal plate (engagement portion engaged with horizontal plate at the right-hand edge of the horizontal plate).
Regarding Dependent Claim 7, Matsushima further teaches
the microwave supply unit is fixed below the heating cooking chamber (9 is below 4), and
the fixing member is fixed below the heating cooking chamber (1st plate, 2nd plate, horizontal plate are all below 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Dependent Claim 3, the prior art fails to teach, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim, the first attachment member is disposed between the horizontal plate and the inclined plate.
The closest prior art is Matsushima. Matsushima’s Fig. 8 was relied upon for the rejection of claim 2 above, however, the “microwave supply unit” could be interpreted as including both the magnetron 8 and the high-voltage transformer 9. In such a case, Fig. 2 could be relied upon in much the same way as Fig. 8, except that the fan of Fig. 2 cools the high-voltage transformer 9 portion of the microwave supply unit and Fig. 2 includes an inclined plate (14e). The first attachment member, which is part of the air blowing mechanism and would be interpreted as the same nominally C-shaped bracket shown in Fig. 2 surrounding 13 as is also shown in Fig. 8, is not “disposed between the horizontal plate and the inclined plate” (the first attachment member in Fig. 2 is not positioned between the horizontal plate 14a and the inclined plate 14e but is rather wholly positioned to the right of both 14a and 14e in Fig. 2).
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, the prior art fails to teach, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim, the second attachment member is placed on the placing portion.
The closest prior art is Matsushima as discussed for claim 2 above. Matsushima does teach a placing portion disposed at an upper end of the second plate (an upper surface or other upper part of the annotated second plate can be called the “placing portion”) and a second attachment member (vertical portion of bracket surrounding 13 in combination with horizontal portion of bracket surrounding 13 at the lower end of the bracket which attaches to the bottom of 1). Matsushima’s second attachment member, however, is not “placed on” the placing portion in any reasonable interpretation, as they are only connected to each other via the first attachment member and the first plate.
Dependent Claims 5 & 6 depend from claim 4, which is objected to for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J WALTHOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741