DETAILED ACTION
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/055319.
The response filed on February 3, 2026 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I with a species election of (i) SEQ ID NO:169 as the ene reductase, (ii) hesperetin dihydrochalcone as a species of dihydrochalcone, (iii) hesperidin as a species of flavanone, chalcone, and/or glycoside, and (iv) SEQ ID NO:146 as the chalcone isomerase in the reply filed on February 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 3, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 19, 2024 and February 6, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because claim 11 depends from a non-elected claim, clam 7. However, in order to expedite the prosecution, the subject matter of claim 7 has been incorporated into claim 11. Appropriate correction, incorporating the limitations of the non-elected claim 7 into claim 11 is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “at least 5…minutes” and “at least …30 minutes”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP 2111.01 states that ''[d]uring examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow.'' In this case, the claims have been broadly to encompass a method of producing any dihydrochalcones or dihydrochalcone recited in claim 6 by incubating (i) any ene reductase having 90-100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24-46, 169-175, or 176, (ii) any flavanone, any chalcone, and/or any corresponding glycoside or the flavanone, chalcone, and their corresponding glycosides recited in claim 4, and (iii) optionally a chalcone isomerase having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:145-156, 157, or 158. Therefore, the claims are drawn to a method of producing a genus of dihydrochalcone or the dihydrochalcone recited claim 6 by incubating (i) a genus of ene reductase, (ii) genus of flavanone, chalcone, and/or any glycoside or the flavanone, chalcone, and their corresponding glycosides recited in claim 4, and (iii) optionally a genus of chalcone isomerase.
MPEP 2163 I. states that to “satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP 2163. II.A.3.(a) sates that “Possession may be shown in many ways. For example, possession may be shown by describing an actual reduction to practice of the claimed invention. Possession may also be shown by a clear depiction of the invention in detailed drawings or in structural chemical formulas which permit a person skilled in the art to clearly recognize that inventor had possession of the claimed invention. An adequate written description of the invention may be shown by any description of sufficient, relevant, identifying characteristics so long as a person skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
According to MPEP 2163.II.A.3.(a).ii), “Satisfactory disclosure of a ‘representative number’ depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus…Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are ‘representative of the full variety or scope of the genus,’ or by the establishment of ‘a reasonable structure-function correlation.’"
The recitation of “biocatalytical manufacturing of dihydrochalcone”, “ene reductase”, “flavanone”, “chalcone”, “chalcone isomerase” fails to provide a sufficient description of the genus of the enzymes, substrates, and product as it merely describes the functional features of the genus without providing any definition of the structural features of the species within the genus. The specification does not specifically define any of the species that fall within the genus. The specification does not define any structural features commonly possessed by members of the genus that distinguish them from others. One skilled in the art therefore cannot, as one can do with a fully described genus, visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus.
Some ene reductases were known in the art. Chavez (Elucidation of the Function of Dihydrochalcones in Apple. Universita di Trento. Pages 1-190. 2019. - form PTO-892) discloses ene reductases, such as an Arabidopsis thaliana reductase (AtDBR, At5g16970), that catalyze conversion of naringenin chalcone to phloretin (Figure 1-2 at page 7 and page 8). However, neither the prior art nor the instant specification provides guidance on which polypeptides having 90-100% sequence identity to any one of SEQ ID NO:24-46 and 169-176 have the function of producing the genus of dihydrochalcone or the dihydrochalcone recited claim 6 or which polypeptides having 90-100% sequence identity to any one of SEQ ID NO:145-158 have the function of producing a chalcone from the genus of flavanone, chalcone, and/or any glycoside or the flavanone, chalcone, and their corresponding glycosides recited in claim 4.
Fransceus (J Ind Microbiol Biotechnol. 2017 May;44(4-5):687-695. – form PTO-892) reviews protein engineering techniques, such as random mutagenesis and recombination, directed evolution and iterative or combinatory saturation “hotspots”. Fransceus states that “a recurring problem, however, is choosing which amino acid positions should be targeted. Answering this question is not an easy feat and requires substantial insight in the relationship between an enzyme’s sequence or structure and its properties.” Sanavia (Computational and Structural Biotechnology Journal, Volume 18, 2020, Pages 1968-1979. – form PTO-892) discloses challenges in the prediction of protein stability in the occurrence of multiple mutations. “Multiple-point mutations are common variations of the protein sequence that may be needed in protein engineering when a single-point mutation is not enough to yield the desired stability change. Dealing with multiple-site variations adds another level of complexity beyond the prediction of the effect of a single variant on protein stability, since it requires the learning of many types of combinatorial effects”.
The specification is limited to description of a method of producing hesperetin dihydrochalcone, naringenin dihydrochalcone, or eriodictyol dihdrochalcone by incubating (i) Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase variants having the amino acid sequence of any one of SEQ ID NO:169-176, (ii) hesperetin, naringenin, or eriodictyol, and (iii) chalcone isomerase having the amino acid sequence of any of SEQ ID NO:145-158. While MPEP 2163 acknowledges that in certain situations “one species adequately supports a genus,” it also acknowledges that “[f]or inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus.” In view of the widely variant species encompassed by the genus, the examples described above are not enough and does not constitute a representative number of species to describe the whole genus. Therefore, the specification fails to describe a representative species of the claimed genus.
The claimed invention requires a defined set of (i) ene reductase, (ii) flavanone or chalcone, and (iii) chalcone isomerase to produce a dihydrochalcone. Although the specification discloses exemplary ene reductases, flananone and chalcones, and chalcone isomerases, a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not necessarily constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species, see Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) or MPEP 2163. While the exemplary CPR/F3' H and host cells were known in the art, this knowledge alone would not allow one level of skill in the art to immediately envisage the claimed genus
Further, one of skill in the art could identify polypeptides having at least 90-95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:196 or 146. However, there is no teaching regarding which 5 or 10% of the amino acids can vary from SEQ ID NO:169 or 146 and result in polypeptide having ene reductase activity or chalcone isomerase activity, respectively. An important consideration is that structure is not necessarily a reliable indicator of function. In the instant case, there is no disclosure relating similarity of structure to conservation of function. Conservation of structure is not necessarily a surrogate for conservation of function. Since the claimed invention is that of enzymes, and there is no disclosure of the domains responsible for ene reductase activity or chalcone isomerase activity, the absence of information may be persuasive that those of skill in the art would not take the disclosure as generic.
Given this lack of description of the representative species encompassed by the genus of the claims, the specification fails to sufficiently describe the claimed invention in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms that a skilled artisan would recognize that applicants were in possession of the inventions of claims 1-6 and 11-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gall (Enzymatic conversion of flavonoids using bacterial chalcone isomerase and enoate reductase. Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2014 Jan 27;53(5):1439-42 - form PTO-1449).
Regarding claim 1, Gall discloses a method for the biocatalytical manufacturing of a dihydrochalcone by (i) providing an enoate reductase, synonymous with ene reductase, (ii) providing a flavanone, (iii) incubating the ene reductase with the flavanone, and (iv) obtaining a dihydrochalcone (abstract, Scheme 1 at page 1439, 1st and 3rd full paragraph at page 1441, and Table 1).
Regarding claim 2, the method of Gall uses a cell extract comprising the ene reductase and therefore the ene reductase is partially purified (page 1441).
Regarding claim 3, the method of Gall discloses that conversion of flavanone to dihydrochalcone at 1 hr, 2hr or 17 hr of reaction time, which reads on an incubation time of at least 30 minutes (Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 4, the flavanone of Gall is naringenin (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 5, the flavanone of the method of Gall is provided as a purified flavanone (page 1441).
Regarding claim 6, the method of Gall produces naringenin dihydrochalcone (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 14, the method of Gall provides a chalcone isomerase (KF154734) between steps (i) and (ii) (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and page 1441). The chalcone isomerase of Gall has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 15, the method of Gall comprises incubating (a) the ene reductase, (b) a chalcone isomerase, and (c) a flavanone (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and page 1441).
Regarding claim 16, the method of Gall further comprises purifying the dihydrochalcone (Table 1).
Therefore, the reference of Gall anticipates claims 1-6 and 14-16.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilmer (US 9,359,622 - form PTO-1449).
Regarding claim 1, Hilmer discloses a method for the biocatalytical manufacturing of a dihydrochalcone by using a transgenic microorganism comprising (i) providing an enoate reductase, synonymous with ene reductase, (ii) providing a flavanone, (iii) adding a flavanone and cultivating transgenic microorganism, and (iv) obtaining a dihydrochalcone (claim 15).
Regarding claim 3, the method of Hilmer discloses that conversion of naringenin (flavanone) to phloretin (dihydrochalcone) after 0.25 to 26 hr, which reads on an incubation time of at least 15-30 minutes (Table 5 at Column 21).
Regarding claim 4, the flavanone of Hilmer is naringenin, hesperedin or hesperetin (Column 4, line 24 through Column 6, line 54 and claim 19).
Regarding claim 5, the flavanone of the method of Hilmer is provided as a purified flavanone (claim 18).
Regarding claim 6, the method of Hilmer produces a pholoretin or hesperetin dihydrochalcone (Column 5 line 45 through Column 6, line 60 and claim 19).
Regarding claim 14, the method of Hilmer provides a plant chalcone isomerase of SEQ ID NO:3 between steps (i) and (ii) (claim 18). The chalcone isomerase of Hilmer has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (claim 27 and see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 15, the method of Hilmer comprises incubating (a) the ene reductase, (b) a chalcone isomerase, and (c) a flavanone (claim 18).
Regarding claim 16, the method of Hilmer further comprises purifying the dihydrochalcone (claim 18).
Therefore, the reference of Gall anticipates claims 1, 3-6, and 14-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gall (Enzymatic conversion of flavonoids using bacterial chalcone isomerase and enoate reductase. Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2014 Jan 27;53(5):1439-42 - form PTO-1449) and Naesby (“Evolva SA” WO 2016/193504 - form PTO-1449).
Regarding claim 1, Gall discloses a method for the biocatalytical manufacturing of a dihydrochalcone by (i) providing an enoate reductase, synonymous with ene reductase, (ii) providing a flavanone, (iii) incubating the ene reductase with the flavanone, and (iv) obtaining an dihydrochalcone (abstract, Scheme 1 at page 1439, 1st and 3rd full paragraph at page 1441, and Table 1).
Regarding claim 2, the method of Gall uses a cell extract comprising the ene reductase and therefore the ene reductase is partially purified (page 1441).
Regarding claim 3, the method of Gall discloses that conversion of flavanone to dihydrochalcone at 1 hr, 2hr or 17 hr of reaction time, which reads on an incubation time of at least 30 minutes (Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 4, the flavanone of Gall is naringenin (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 5, the flavanone of the method of Gall is provided as a purified flavanone (page 1441).
Regarding claim 6, the method of Gall produces a naringenin dihydrochalcone (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 14, the method of Gall provides a chalcone isomerase (KF154734) between steps (i) and (ii) (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and page 1441). The chalcone isomerase of Gall has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 15, the method of Gall comprises incubating (a) the ene reductase, (b) a chalcone isomerase, and (c) a flavanone (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and page 1441).
Regarding claim 16, the method of Gall further comprises purifying the dihydrochalcone (Table 1).
Gall does not disclose an ene reductase having at least 90-95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:41.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Naesby discloses a method of producing phloretin, a dihydrochalcone, by cultivating a host cell expressing a Rubus idaeus ene reductase (ZS1) having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:62 (Example 5 and page 101). Said ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:62 of Naesby has 100% sequence identity to amino acids 3-349 amino acids of the ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:41 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 4, Naesby discloses that phloretin is produced from the flavanone naringenin (Example 5).
Regarding claim 16, Naesby discloses purifying the dihydrochalcone ([0230] and [0240]).
Therefore, in combining the above references, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the method of Gall by replacing the ene reductase with the Rubus idaeus ene reductase of Naesby because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to further increase production of the dihydrochalcone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Gall discloses a biocatalytical method of producing a dihydrochalcone by incubating a chalcone isomerase, ene reductase, and a flavanone and Naesby discloses an ene reductase that can used to produce dihydrochalcone. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claims would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element (ene reductase) for another yields predictable results (conversion of chalcone to dihydrochalcone) to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143.
Therefore, the above references render claims 1-6, 12, and 14-16 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gall (Enzymatic conversion of flavonoids using bacterial chalcone isomerase and enoate reductase. Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2014 Jan 27;53(5):1439-42 - form PTO-1449) and Chavez (Elucidation of the Function of Dihydrochalcones in Apple. Universita di Trento. Pages 1-190. 2019. - form PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Gall discloses a method for the biocatalytical manufacturing of a dihydrochalcone by (i) providing an enoate reductase, synonymous with ene reductase, (ii) providing a flavanone, (iii) incubating the ene reductase with the flavanone, and (iv) obtaining an dihydrochalcone (abstract, Scheme 1 at page 1439, 1st and 3rd full paragraph at page 1441, and Table 1).
Regarding claim 2, the method of Gall uses a cell extract comprising the ene reductase and therefore the ene reductase is partially purified (page 1441).
Regarding claim 3, the method of Gall discloses that conversion of flavanone to dihydrochalcone at 1 hr, 2hr or 17 hr of reaction time, which reads on an incubation time of at least 30 minutes (Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 4, the flavanone of Gall is naringenin (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 5, the flavanone of the method of Gall is provided as a purified flavanone (page 1441).
Regarding claim 6, the method of Gall produces a naringenin dihydrochalcone (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and Table 1 at page 1441).
Regarding claim 14, the method of Gall provides a chalcone isomerase (KF154734) between steps (i) and (ii) (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and page 1441). The chalcone isomerase of Gall has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 15, the method of Gall comprises incubating (a) the ene reductase, (b) a chalcone isomerase, and (c) a flavanone (Scheme 1 at page 1439 and page 1441).
Regarding claim 16, the method of Gall further comprises purifying the dihydrochalcone (Table 1).
Gall does not disclose an ene reductase having at least 90-95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:169.
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, Chavez discloses ene reductases, such as an Arabidopsis thaliana reductase (AtDBR, At5g16970), that catalyze conversion of naringenin chalcone to phloretin (Figure 1-2 at page 7 and page 8). Said Arabidopsis thaliana reductase (AtDBR, At5g16970) ene reductase is identical to the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:25 of the instant application by 1 amino acid and has at least 90% sequence identity to the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase variant (V285Q) of SEQ ID NO:169 of the instant application (see the sequence alignments below).
Regarding claim 4, Chavez discloses that phloretin is produced from the flavanone naringenin (Figure 1-2 at page 7 and page 8).
Therefore, in combining the above references, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the method of Gall by replacing the ene reductase with the Arabidopsis ene reductase of Chavez because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to further increase production of the dihydrochalcone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Gall discloses a biocatalytical method of producing a dihydrochalcone by incubating a chalcone isomerase, ene reductase, and a flavanone and Chavez discloses an ene reductase that can used to produce phloretin, a dihydrochalcone. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claims would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element (ene reductase) for another yields predictable results (conversion of chalcone to dihydrochalcone) to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143.
Therefore, the above references render claims 1-6, 11-12, and 14-16 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 11-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilmer (US 9,359,622 - form PTO-1449) and Chavez (Elucidation of the Function of Dihydrochalcones in Apple. Universita di Trento. Pages 1-190. 2019. - form PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Hilmer discloses a method for the biocatalytical manufacturing of a dihydrochalcone by using a transgenic microorganism comprising (i) providing an enoate reductase, synonymous with ene reductase, (ii) providing a flavanone, (iii) adding a flavanone and cultivating transgenic microorganism, and (iv) obtaining an dihydrochalcone (claim 15).
Regarding claim 3, the method of Hilmer discloses that conversion of naringenin (flavanone) to phloretin (dihydrochalcone) for 0.25 to 26 hr, which reads on an incubation time of at least 15-30 minutes (Table 5 at Column 21).
Regarding claim 4, the flavanone of Hilmer is naringenin, hesperedin or hesperetin (Column 4, line 24 through Column 6, line 54 and claim 19).
Regarding claim 5, the flavanone of the method of Hilmer is provided as a purified flavanone (claim 18).
Regarding claim 6, the method of Hilmer produces a pholoretin or hesperetin dihydrochalcone (Column 5 line 45 through Column 6, line 60 and claim 19).
Regarding claim 14, the method of Hilmer provides a plant chalcone isomerase of SEQ ID NO:3 between steps (i) and (ii) (claim 18). The chalcone isomerase of Hilmer has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (claim 27 and see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 15, the method of Hilmer comprises incubating (a) the ene reductase, (b) a chalcone isomerase, and (c) a flavanone (claim 18).
Regarding claim 16, the method of Hilmer further comprises purifying the dihydrochalcone (claim 18).
Hilmer also does not disclose using an ene reductase having at lest 90-95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:25 or 169.
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, Chavez discloses ene reductases, such as an Arabidopsis thaliana reductase (AtDBR, At5g16970), that catalyze conversion of naringenin chalcone to phloretin (Figure 1-2 at page 7 and page 8). Said Arabidopsis thaliana reductase (AtDBR, At5g16970) ene reductase is identical to the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:25 of the instant application by 1 amino acid and has at least 90% sequence identity to the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase variant (V285Q) of SEQ ID NO:169 of the instant application (see the sequence alignments below).
Regarding claim 4, Chavez discloses that phloretin is produced from the flavanone naringenin (Figure 1-2 at page 7 and page 8).
Therefore, in combining the above references, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the method of Hilmer by replacing the ene reductase with the Arabidopsis ene reductase of Chavez because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to further increase production of the dihydrochalcone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Hilmer discloses a biocatalytical method of producing a dihydrochalcone by incubating a chalcone isomerase, ene reductase, and a flavanone and Chavez discloses an ene reductase that can used to produce phloretin, a dihydrochalcone. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claims would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element (ene reductase) for another yields predictable results (conversion of chalcone to dihydrochalcone) to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143.
Therefore, the above references render claims 1, 3-6, 11-12, and 14-16 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilmer (US 9,359,622 - form PTO-1449) and Chavez (Elucidation of the Function of Dihydrochalcones in Apple. Universita di Trento. Pages 1-190. 2019. - form PTO-892) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 11-12, and 14-16 above, and further in view of Carvalho (Enzymatic and whole cell catalysis: finding new strategies for old processes. Biotechnol Adv. 2011 Jan-Feb;29(1):75-83. – form PTO-892).
Hilmer and Chavez do not disclose a method of converting a flavanone to dihydrochalcone by incubating the flavanone, a purified ene reductase, and a purified chalcone isomerase.
Regarding claim 2, Hilmer discloses purification of an ene reductase and chalcone isomerase expressed from E. coli (Example 1.2 and Example 3).
Carvalho discloses advantages of using enzymatic catalysis over whole cell catalysis. Carvalho discloses that enzymes are able to catalyze reactions at a rate far more rapid than it would occur without and continue to function under in vitro conditions and catalyze reactions in conditions not suitable for cell growth (3rd full paragraph at page 75).
Therefore, in combining the above references, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the method of Hilmer by incubating a flavanone with a purified ene reductase of Hilmer or Chavez and a purified chalcone isomerase of Hilmer. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to optimize the conversion of the flavanone to dihydrochalcone since enzymatic reactions are able to catalyze reactions at a rate far more rapid than it would occur without and continue to function under in vitro conditions and catalyze reactions in conditions not suitable for cell growth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Hilmer discloses a biocatalytical method of producing a dihydrochalcone by incubating a chalcone isomerase, ene reductase, and a flavanone, Chavez discloses an ene reductase that can used to produce phloretin, a dihydrochalcone, and Carvalho discloses advantages of enzymatic catalysis compared to whole cell catalysis.
Therefore, the above references render claims 1-6, 11-12, and 14-16 prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-39 of U.S. Patent No. 9,359,622 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent recite a method of producing dihydrochalcone.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 16 of the reference patent recites a method for the biocatalytical manufacturing of a dihydrochalcone by using a transgenic microorganism comprising (i) providing an enoate reductase, synonymous with ene reductase, (ii) providing a flavanone, (iii) adding a flavanone and cultivating transgenic microorganism, and (iv) obtaining an dihydrochalcone. Therefore, claim 1 of the instant application anticipated by claim 16 of the reference patent.
Regarding claim 4 of the instant application, claim 19 of the reference patent recites that the flavanone is naringenin. Therefore, claim 4 of the instant application anticipated by claim 19 of the reference patent.
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application, claim 18 of the reference patent recites the flavanone is added, and therefore reads on a purified flavanone (claim 18). Therefore, claim 5 of the instant application anticipated by claim 18 of the reference patent.
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application, claim 19 of the reference patent recites that the dihydrochalcone produced is a phloretin. Therefore, claim 6 of the instant application anticipated by claim 19 of the reference patent.
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claim 27 of the reference patent recites that the plant chalcone isomerase of SEQ ID NO:3 is added between steps (i) and (ii) (claim 18). The chalcone isomerase of the reference patent has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below). Therefore, claim 14 of the instant application anticipated by claim 27 of the reference patent.
Regarding claim 15 of the instant application, claim 18 of the reference patent recites incubating (a) an ene reductase, (b) a chalcone isomerase, and (c) a flavanone. Therefore, claim 15 of the instant application anticipated by claim 18 of the reference patent.
Regarding claim 16 of the instant application, claim 18 of the reference patent recites purifying the dihydrochalcone (claim 18). Therefore, claim 16 of the instant application anticipated by claim 18 of the reference patent.
Therefore, the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-3 and 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-39 of U.S. Patent No. 9,359,622 (reference patent) in view of Hilmer (US 2014/0045233 – form PTO-892), Carvalho (Enzymatic and whole cell catalysis: finding new strategies for old processes. Biotechnol Adv. 2011 Jan-Feb;29(1):75-83. – form PTO-892), and Chavez (Elucidation of the Function of Dihydrochalcones in Apple. Universita di Trento. Pages 1-190. 2019. - form PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent recite a method of producing dihydrochalcone.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 16 of the reference patent recites a method for the biocatalytical manufacturing of a dihydrochalcone by using a transgenic microorganism comprising (i) providing an enoate reductase, synonymous with ene reductase, (ii) providing a flavanone, (iii) adding a flavanone and cultivating transgenic microorganism, and (iv) obtaining an dihydrochalcone. Therefore, claim 1 of the instant application anticipated by claim 16 of the reference patent.
The claims of the reference patent do not recite a method of converting a flavanone to dihydrochalcone by incubating the flavanone, a purified ene reductase, and a purified chalcone isomerase. The claims of the reference patent does not disclose using an ene reductase having at least 90-95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:25 or 169.
Regarding claim 2, Hilmer discloses a method of producing dihydrochalcone by incubating a transgenic microorganism expressing an ene reductase and a chalcone isomerase (claim 1). Hilmer disclsoes purification of an ene reductase and chalcone isomerase expressed from E. coli (Example 1.2 and Example 3).
Carvalho discloses advantages of using enzymatic catalysis over whole cell catalysis. Carvalho discloses that enzymes are able to catalyze reactions at a rate far more rapid than it would occur without and continue to function under in vitro conditions and catalyze reactions in conditions not suitable for cell growth (3rd full paragraph at page 75).
Regarding claim 3, the method of Hilmer discloses that conversion of naringenin (flavanone) to phloretin (dihydrochalcone) for 0.25 to 26 hr, which reads on an incubation time of at least 15-30 minutes (Table 5 page 12).
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, Chavez discloses ene reductases, such as an Arabidopsis thaliana reductase (AtDBR, At5g16970), that catalyze conversion of naringenin chalcone to phloretin (Figure 1-2 at page 7 and page 8). Said Arabidopsis thaliana reductase (AtDBR, At5g16970) ene reductase is identical to the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:25 of the instant application by 1 amino acid and has at least 90% sequence identity to the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase variant (V285Q) of SEQ ID NO:169 of the instant application (see the sequence alignments below).
Regarding claim 4, Chavez discloses that phloretin is produced from the flavanone naringenin (Figure 1-2 at page 7 and page 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of the reference patent by incubating a flavanone with a purified ene reductase and a purified chalcone isomerase. Also, tt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of the reference patent by replacing the ene reductase of the reference patent with the Arabidopsis ene reductase of Chavez because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the claims of the reference patent in order to further increase production of the dihydrochalcone and/or to optimize the conversion of the flavanone to dihydrochalcone since enzymatic reactions are able to catalyze reactions at a rate far more rapid than it would occur without and continue to function under in vitro conditions and catalyze reactions in conditions not suitable for cell growth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since the claims of the reference patent recite a biocatalytical method of producing a dihydrochalcone by incubating a chalcone isomerase, ene reductase, and a flavanone, Hilmer discloses a biocatalytical method of producing a dihydrochalcone by incubating a chalcone isomerase, ene reductase, and a flavanone, Chavez discloses an ene reductase that can used to produce phloretin, and Carvalho discloses advantages of enzymatic catalysis compared to whole cell catalysis.
Therefore, the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 are rejected.
/YONG D PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
Sequence alignment between the chalcone isomerase of SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the chalcone isomerase of Gall/KF154734 (“Db”)
V9P0A9_EUBRA
ID V9P0A9_EUBRA Unreviewed; 283 AA.
AC V9P0A9;
DT 19-MAR-2014, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 19-MAR-2014, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 38.
DE SubName: Full=Chalcone isomerase {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGS82960.1};
DE EC=5.5.1.6 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGS82960.1};
DE SubName: Full=Taxifolin isomerase {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AIS36173.1};
GN Name=tai {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AIS36173.1};
OS Eubacterium ramulus.
OC Bacteria; Bacillati; Bacillota; Clostridia; Eubacteriales; Eubacteriaceae;
OC Eubacterium.
OX NCBI_TaxID=39490 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGS82960.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGS82960.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RC STRAIN=DSM 16296 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGS82960.1};
RA Gall M., Bornscheuer U.T.;
RT "Biologic pathways of E. ramulus.";
RL Submitted (MAY-2013) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
RN [2] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AIS36173.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RC STRAIN=DSM 16296 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AIS36173.1};
RA Braune A., Engst W., Blaut M.;
RT "Purification and characterization of taxifolin isomerase, an enzyme from
RT Eubacterium ramulus catalyzing a unique ring contraction.";
RL Submitted (JUN-2014) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
RN [3] {ECO:0007829|PDB:4C9S, ECO:0007829|PDB:4C9T}
RP X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHY (1.80 ANGSTROMS) OF 2-283.
RX PubMed=25849401; DOI=10.1107/s1399004715001935;
RA Thomsen M., Tuukkanen A., Dickerhoff J., Palm G.J., Kratzat H.,
RA Svergun D.I., Weisz K., Bornscheuer U.T., Hinrichs W.;
RT "Structure and catalytic mechanism of the evolutionarily unique bacterial
RT chalcone isomerase.";
RL Acta Crystallogr. D 71:907-917(2015).
RN [4] {ECO:0007829|PDB:4D4F, ECO:0007829|PDB:8B7R}
RP X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHY (2.15 ANGSTROMS).
RX PubMed=36432010; DOI=10.3390/molecules27227909;
RA Palm G.J., Thomsen M., Berndt L., Hinrichs W.;
RT "Structural Basis for (2<i>R</i>,3<i>R</i>)-Taxifolin Binding and Reaction
RT Products to the Bacterial Chalcone Isomerase of <i>Eubacterium
RT ramulus</i>.";
RL Molecules 27:7909-7909(2022).
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; KF154734; AGS82960.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; KM067454; AIS36173.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR PDB; 4C9S; X-ray; 1.80 A; A/B/C/D/E/F=2-283.
DR PDB; 4C9T; X-ray; 1.98 A; A/B/C/D/E/F=2-283.
DR PDB; 4D06; X-ray; 2.00 A; A/B/C/D/E/F=1-283.
DR PDB; 4D4F; X-ray; 2.34 A; A/B/C/D/E/F=1-283.
DR PDB; 8B7R; X-ray; 2.15 A; A/B/C/D/E/F=1-283.
DR PDB; 8B7U; X-ray; 2.80 A; A/B/C/D/E/F/G/H/I/J/K/L/M/N/O/P/Q/R=1-283.
DR PDB; 8B7Z; X-ray; 3.00 A; A/B/C/D/E/F/G/H/I/J/K/L/M/N/O/P/Q/R=1-283.
DR PDBsum; 4C9S; -.
DR PDBsum; 4C9T; -.
DR PDBsum; 4D06; -.
DR PDBsum; 4D4F; -.
DR SASBDB; V9P0A9; -.
DR SMR; V9P0A9; -.
DR KEGG; ag:AIS36173; -.
DR BRENDA; 5.5.1.6; 17131.
DR GO; GO:0045430; F:chalcone isomerase activity; IEA:UniProtKB-EC.
DR InterPro; IPR040518; Chalcone_N.
DR Pfam; PF18232; Chalcone_N; 1.
PE 1: Evidence at protein level;
KW 3D-structure {ECO:0007829|PDB:4C9S, ECO:0007829|PDB:4C9T};
KW Isomerase {ECO:0000313|EMBL:AGS82960.1}.
FT DOMAIN 6..106
FT /note="Chalcone isomerase N-terminal"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF18232"
SQ SEQUENCE 283 AA; 32503 MW; F590D5C34EC186BF CRC64;
Query Match 98.6%; Score 1526; Length 283;
Best Local Similarity 98.9%;
Matches 280; Conservative 0; Mismatches 3; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MADFKFEPMRSLIYVDCVSEDYRPKLQRWIYKVHIPDSISQFEPYVTKYAFYPSFPIPPQ 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MADFKFEPMRSLIYVDCVSEDYRPKLQRWIYKVHIPDSISQFEPYVTKYAFYPSFPIPPQ 60
Qy 61 GDRFGYARMQLTEHHWLVSPLDPRLEIKAIA ETFPMDVLVWQGQIPAAAHTDAQIDSDGD 120
||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GDRFGYARMQLTEHHWLVSDLDPRLEIKAIA ETFPMDVLVWQGQIPAAAHTDAQIDSDGD 120
Qy 121 AGRAAGKSNNAEGNPFIFAFLPMWWEKDLKGKGRTIEDGANYRFNMTIGFPEGVDKAEGE 180
|| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 AGNAARKSNNAEGNPFIFAFLPMWWEKDLKGKGRTIEDGANYRFNMTIGFPEGVDKAEGE 180
Qy 181 KWLFEKVVPILQAAPECTRVLASAVKKDINGCVMDWVLEIWFENQSGWYKVMVDDMKALE 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 KWLFEKVVPILQAAPECTRVLASAVKKDINGCVMDWVLEIWFENQSGWYKVMVDDMKALE 240
Qy 241 KPSWAQQDAFPFLKPYHNVCSAAVADYTPSNNLANYRGYITMR 283
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 KPSWAQQDAFPFLKPYHNVCSAAVADYTPSNNLANYRGYITMR 283
Sequence alignment between the ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:41 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the ene reductase of Naesby (“Db”)
BDK33098
ID BDK33098 standard; protein; 348 AA.
XX
AC BDK33098;
XX
DT 26-JAN-2017 (first entry)
XX
DE Rubus idaeus ketone/zingerone synthase (ZS1), SEQ ID 62.
XX
KW Ketone synthase; ZS1 protein; Zingerone synthase; dihydrophenylpropanoid;
KW food; genetically engineered microorganism; phenylpropanoid; plant.
XX
OS Rubus idaeus.
XX
CC PN WO2016193504-A1.
XX
CC PD 08-DEC-2016.
XX
CC PF 06-JUN-2016; 2016WO-EP062818.
XX
PR 05-JUN-2015; 2015US-0171742P.
PR 03-MAY-2016; 2016US-0331023P.
PR 17-MAY-2016; 2016US-0337576P.
XX
CC PA (EVOL-) EVOLVA SA.
XX
CC PI Naesby M, Simon Vecilla E, Eichenberger M, Lehka BJ;
CC PI Bj Oslash Rn- Yoshimoto W, Jensen NB, Dyekjaer JD;
XX
DR WPI; 2016-760613/03.
DR N-PSDB; BDK33077.
XX
CC PT Modulating production of phenylpropanoid derivative compound relative to
CC PT dihydrophenylpropanoid derivative compound in recombinant host cell,
CC PT comprises reducing or eliminating double-bond reductase activity.
XX
CC PS Disclosure; SEQ ID NO 62; 220pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel method for modulating the
CC production of a phenylpropanoid derivative compound relative to a
CC dihydrophenylpropanoid derivative compound in a recombinant host cell.
CC The method comprises: (a) increasing the production of phenylpropanoid
CC derivative compound relative to the dihydrophenylpropanoid derivative
CC compound by reducing or eliminating: (i) double-bond reductase activity,
CC or (ii) expression of a gene encoding a double-bond reductase polypeptide
CC ; or (b) decreasing the production of phenylpropanoid derivative compound
CC relative to the dihydrophenylpropanoid derivative compound by increasing
CC (i) double-bond reductase activity, or (ii) expression of a gene encoding
CC a double-bond reductase polypeptide. The phenylpropanoid derivative
CC compound is a chalcone or stilbene, and where the dihydrophenylpropanoid
CC derivative compound is a dihydrochalcone or dihydrostilbene. Also
CC described are: (1) a recombinant yeast cell capable of producing a
CC phenylpropanoid or phenylpropanoid derivative compound comprising a gene
CC encoding a double-bond reductase polypeptide, where expression of the
CC gene or activity of the double-bond reductase polypeptide encoded is
CC reduced or eliminated; (2) a recombinant host cell comprising: (a) a
CC recombinant gene encoding an enoyl reductase polypeptide; and (b) a
CC recombinant gene encoding a polyketide synthase type III polypeptide; (3)
CC a method for producing a chalcone compound or a stilbene compound; (4) a
CC method for producing the phenylpropanoid compound or its salt; and (5) a
CC method for producing a dihydrochalcone compound or a dihydrostilbene
CC compound. The Phenylpropanoids and their derivatives have desirable
CC applications, for example in the food and healthcare industries. The
CC present invention provides a method for optimized production of
CC phenylpropanoid derivatives such as naringenin in recombinant host cells.
CC The present sequence represents a ketone/zingerone synthase (ZS1), used
CC in the method for modulating the production of a phenylpropanoid
CC derivative compound relative to a dihydrophenylpropanoid derivative
CC compound in a recombinant host cell.
XX
SQ Sequence 348 AA;
Query Match 99.4%; Score 1812; Length 348;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 347; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 3 ASGGEMQVSNKQVIFRDYVTGFPKESDMELTTRSITLKLPQGSTGLLLKNLYLSCDPYMR 62
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2 ASGGEMQVSNKQVIFRDYVTGFPKESDMELTTRSITLKLPQGSTGLLLKNLYLSCDPYMR 61
Qy 63 ARMTNHHRLSYVDSFKPGSPIIGYGVARVLESGNPKFNPGDLVWGFTGWEEYSVITATES 122
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 62 ARMTNHHRLSYVDSFKPGSPIIGYGVARVLESGNPKFNPGDLVWGFTGWEEYSVITATES 121
Qy 123 LFKIHNTDVPLSYYTGLLGMPGMTAYAGFYEICSPKKGETVYVSAASGAVGQLVGQFAKL 182
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 122 LFKIHNTDVPLSYYTGLLGMPGMTAYAGFYEICSPKKGETVYVSAASGAVGQLVGQFAKL 181
Qy 183 TGCYVVGSAGSKEKVDLLKNKFGFDEAFNYKEEADLDAALRRYFPDGIDIYFENVGGKML 242
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 182 TGCYVVGSAGSKEKVDLLKNKFGFDEAFNYKEEADLDAALRRYFPDGIDIYFENVGGKML 241
Qy 243 DAVLPNMRPKGRIAVCGMISQYNLEQPEGVRNLMALIVKQVRMEGFMVFSYYHLYGKFLE 302
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 242 DAVLPNMRPKGRIAVCGMISQYNLEQPEGVRNLMALIVKQVRMEGFMVFSYYHLYGKFLE 301
Qy 303 TVLPYIKQGKITYVEDVVDGLDNAPAALIGLYSGRNVGKQVVVVSRE 349
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 302 TVLPYIKQGKITYVEDVVDGLDNAPAALIGLYSGRNVGKQVVVVSRE 348
Sequence alignment between the ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:25 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase of Chavez/At5g16970 (“Db”)
AER_ARATH
ID AER_ARATH Reviewed; 345 AA.
AC Q39172; Q501A9; Q8L865;
DT 01-NOV-1997, integrated into UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot.
DT 01-NOV-1996, sequence version 1.
DT 28-JAN-2026, entry version 163.
DE RecName: Full=NADPH-dependent oxidoreductase 2-alkenal reductase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:16299173};
DE Short=AtAER {ECO:0000303|PubMed:16299173};
DE EC=1.3.1.- {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
DE EC=1.3.1.74 {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173, ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
DE AltName: Full=NADP-dependent alkenal double bond reductase P1 {ECO:0000303|PubMed:17028190};
DE Short=DBR1 {ECO:0000303|PubMed:17028190};
DE AltName: Full=NADPH-azodicarbonyl/quinone reductase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:10848984};
DE AltName: Full=NADPH:2-alkenal/one alpha,beta-hydrogenase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:12514241};
DE Short=ALH {ECO:0000303|PubMed:12514241};
DE AltName: Full=P1-zeta-crystallin protein {ECO:0000303|PubMed:7592828};
DE Short=P1-ZCr {ECO:0000303|PubMed:7592828};
GN Name=AER {ECO:0000303|PubMed:16299173};
GN Synonyms=P1 {ECO:0000303|PubMed:7592828};
GN OrderedLocusNames=At5g16970 {ECO:0000312|Araport:AT5G16970};
GN ORFNames=F2K13_120 {ECO:0000312|EMBL:CAC01710.1};
OS Arabidopsis thaliana (Mouse-ear cress).
OC Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
OC Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae; Pentapetalae;
OC rosids; malvids; Brassicales; Brassicaceae; Camelineae; Arabidopsis.
OX NCBI_TaxID=3702;
RN [1]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [MRNA], AND INDUCTION BY OXIDATIVE STRESS.
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=7592828; DOI=10.1074/jbc.270.44.26224;
RA Babiychuk E., Kushnir S., Belles-Boix E., van Montagu M., Inze D.;
RT "Arabidopsis thaliana NADPH oxidoreductase homologs confer tolerance of
RT yeasts toward the thiol-oxidizing drug diamide.";
RL J. Biol. Chem. 270:26224-26231(1995).
RN [2]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=11130714; DOI=10.1038/35048507;
RA Tabata S., Kaneko T., Nakamura Y., Kotani H., Kato T., Asamizu E.,
RA Miyajima N., Sasamoto S., Kimura T., Hosouchi T., Kawashima K., Kohara M.,
RA Matsumoto M., Matsuno A., Muraki A., Nakayama S., Nakazaki N., Naruo K.,
RA Okumura S., Shinpo S., Takeuchi C., Wada T., Watanabe A., Yamada M.,
RA Yasuda M., Sato S., de la Bastide M., Huang E., Spiegel L., Gnoj L.,
RA O'Shaughnessy A., Preston R., Habermann K., Murray J., Johnson D.,
RA Rohlfing T., Nelson J., Stoneking T., Pepin K., Spieth J., Sekhon M.,
RA Armstrong J., Becker M., Belter E., Cordum H., Cordes M., Courtney L.,
RA Courtney W., Dante M., Du H., Edwards J., Fryman J., Haakensen B.,
RA Lamar E., Latreille P., Leonard S., Meyer R., Mulvaney E., Ozersky P.,
RA Riley A., Strowmatt C., Wagner-McPherson C., Wollam A., Yoakum M., Bell M.,
RA Dedhia N., Parnell L., Shah R., Rodriguez M., Hoon See L., Vil D.,
RA Baker J., Kirchoff K., Toth K., King L., Bahret A., Miller B., Marra M.A.,
RA Martienssen R., McCombie W.R., Wilson R.K., Murphy G., Bancroft I.,
RA Volckaert G., Wambutt R., Duesterhoeft A., Stiekema W., Pohl T.,
RA Entian K.-D., Terryn N., Hartley N., Bent E., Johnson S., Langham S.-A.,
RA McCullagh B., Robben J., Grymonprez B., Zimmermann W., Ramsperger U.,
RA Wedler H., Balke K., Wedler E., Peters S., van Staveren M., Dirkse W.,
RA Mooijman P., Klein Lankhorst R., Weitzenegger T., Bothe G., Rose M.,
RA Hauf J., Berneiser S., Hempel S., Feldpausch M., Lamberth S.,
RA Villarroel R., Gielen J., Ardiles W., Bents O., Lemcke K., Kolesov G.,
RA Mayer K.F.X., Rudd S., Schoof H., Schueller C., Zaccaria P., Mewes H.-W.,
RA Bevan M., Fransz P.F.;
RT "Sequence and analysis of chromosome 5 of the plant Arabidopsis thaliana.";
RL Nature 408:823-826(2000).
RN [3]
RP GENOME REANNOTATION.
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=27862469; DOI=10.1111/tpj.13415;
RA Cheng C.Y., Krishnakumar V., Chan A.P., Thibaud-Nissen F., Schobel S.,
RA Town C.D.;
RT "Araport11: a complete reannotation of the Arabidopsis thaliana reference
RT genome.";
RL Plant J. 89:789-804(2017).
RN [4]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE MRNA].
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=14593172; DOI=10.1126/science.1088305;
RA Yamada K., Lim J., Dale J.M., Chen H., Shinn P., Palm C.J., Southwick A.M.,
RA Wu H.C., Kim C.J., Nguyen M., Pham P.K., Cheuk R.F., Karlin-Newmann G.,
RA Liu S.X., Lam B., Sakano H., Wu T., Yu G., Miranda M., Quach H.L.,
RA Tripp M., Chang C.H., Lee J.M., Toriumi M.J., Chan M.M., Tang C.C.,
RA Onodera C.S., Deng J.M., Akiyama K., Ansari Y., Arakawa T., Banh J.,
RA Banno F., Bowser L., Brooks S.Y., Carninci P., Chao Q., Choy N., Enju A.,
RA Goldsmith A.D., Gurjal M., Hansen N.F., Hayashizaki Y., Johnson-Hopson C.,
RA Hsuan V.W., Iida K., Karnes M., Khan S., Koesema E., Ishida J., Jiang P.X.,
RA Jones T., Kawai J., Kamiya A., Meyers C., Nakajima M., Narusaka M.,
RA Seki M., Sakurai T., Satou M., Tamse R., Vaysberg M., Wallender E.K.,
RA Wong C., Yamamura Y., Yuan S., Shinozaki K., Davis R.W., Theologis A.,
RA Ecker J.R.;
RT "Empirical analysis of transcriptional activity in the Arabidopsis
RT genome.";
RL Science 302:842-846(2003).
RN [5]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE MRNA].
RA Kim C.J., Chen H., Cheuk R., Shinn P., Ecker J.R.;
RT "Arabidopsis ORF clones.";
RL Submitted (MAY-2005) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
RN [6]
RP FUNCTION, SUBUNIT, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES, AND
RP ACTIVITY REGULATION.
RX PubMed=10848984; DOI=10.1046/j.1432-1327.2000.01398.x;
RA Mano J., Babiychuk E., Belles-Boix E., Hiratake J., Kimura A., Inze D.,
RA Kushnir S., Asada K.;
RT "A novel NADPH:diamide oxidoreductase activity in arabidopsis thaliana P1
RT zeta-crystallin.";
RL Eur. J. Biochem. 267:3661-3671(2000).
RN [7]
RP FUNCTION, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, SUBSTRATE SPECIFICITY, AND BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL
RP PROPERTIES.
RX PubMed=12514241; DOI=10.1093/pcp/pcf187;
RA Mano J., Torii Y., Hayashi S., Takimoto K., Matsui K., Nakamura K.,
RA Inze D., Babiychuk E., Kushnir S., Asada K.;
RT "The NADPH:quinone oxidoreductase P1-zeta-crystallin in Arabidopsis
RT catalyzes the alpha,beta-hydrogenation of 2-alkenals: detoxication of the
RT lipid peroxide-derived reactive aldehydes.";
RL Plant Cell Physiol. 43:1445-1455(2002).
RN [8]
RP FUNCTION, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, SUBCELLULAR LOCATION, BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL
RP PROPERTIES, AND TISSUE SPECIFICITY.
RX PubMed=16299173; DOI=10.1104/pp.105.070391;
RA Mano J., Belles-Boix E., Babiychuk E., Inze D., Torii Y., Hiraoka E.,
RA Takimoto K., Slooten L., Asada K., Kushnir S.;
RT "Protection against photooxidative injury of tobacco leaves by 2-alkenal
RT reductase. Detoxication of lipid peroxide-derived reactive carbonyls.";
RL Plant Physiol. 139:1773-1783(2005).
RN [9]
RP CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, SUBSTRATE SPECIFICITY, AND BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL
RP PROPERTIES.
RX PubMed=26678323; DOI=10.1016/j.phytochem.2015.11.015;
RA Curien G., Giustini C., Montillet J.L., Mas-Y-Mas S., Cobessi D.,
RA Ferrer J.L., Matringe M., Grechkin A., Rolland N.;
RT "The chloroplast membrane associated ceQORH putative quinone oxidoreductase
RT reduces long-chain, stress-related oxidized lipids.";
RL Phytochemistry 122:45-55(2016).
RN [10]
RP X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHY (2.5 ANGSTROMS) IN COMPLEXES WITH SUBSTRATES AND
RP NADP, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, FUNCTION, BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES, AND
RP SUBUNIT.
RX PubMed=17028190; DOI=10.1074/jbc.m605900200;
RA Youn B., Kim S.J., Moinuddin S.G., Lee C., Bedgar D.L., Harper A.R.,
RA Davin L.B., Lewis N.G., Kang C.;
RT "Mechanistic and structural studies of apoform, binary, and ternary
RT complexes of the Arabidopsis alkenal double bond reductase At5g16970.";
RL J. Biol. Chem. 281:40076-40088(2006).
CC -!- FUNCTION: Involved in the detoxification of reactive carbonyls
CC (PubMed:10848984, PubMed:12514241, PubMed:16299173). Acts on lipid
CC peroxide-derived reactive aldehydes (PubMed:12514241). Specific to a
CC double bond activated by an adjacent carbonyl group (PubMed:12514241).
CC Can use both quinones and diamide as substrates, but not menadione,
CC ferricyanide or phylloquinone (PubMed:10848984). Can use 4-hydroxy-
CC (2E)-nonenal (HNE), 4-hydroxy-(2E)-hexenal (HHE), (2E)-nonenal, (2E)-
CC hexenal, (2E)-pentenal, propenal (acrolein), 3-buten-2-one and 3-
CC penten-2-one, but not (R)-(-)-carvone, n-nonanal, n-hexanal, (3Z)-
CC hexanal, cyclohex-2-en-1-one or 12-oxo phytodienoic acid (OPDA) as
CC electron acceptors (PubMed:12514241). Catalyzes the reduction of the
CC alpha,beta-unsaturated bond of 2-alkenals, of lipid peroxide-derived
CC oxenes 9-oxo-10(E),12(Z)-octadecadienoic acid (9-KODE) and 13-oxo-
CC 9(Z),11(E)-octadecadienoic acid (13-KODE), as well as 4-oxo-(2E)-
CC nonenal and 4-hydroxynonenal (PubMed:16299173). Can use 12-oxo-10(E)
CC dodecanoate (traumatin), trans-1,3 diphenyl-2-propenone, trans-1,4-
CC diphenyl-2-butene-1,4-dione, 9-oxo-12,13-epoxy-(10E)-octadecenoic acid
CC (trans-EKODE-1b) and 9,13-dihydroxy-10-oxo-11-octadecenoic acid as
CC substrates (PubMed:26678323). Catalyzes the reduction of the 7-8 double
CC bond of phenylpropanal substrates, such as p-coumaryl aldehyde and
CC coniferyl aldehyde (in vitro) (PubMed:17028190). Has activity towards
CC toxic substrates, such as 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal (in vitro)
CC (PubMed:17028190). May play a distinct role in plant antioxidant
CC defense and is possibly involved in NAD(P)/NAD(P)H homeostasis
CC (PubMed:17028190). {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323}.
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=an n-alkanal + NAD(+) = an alk-2-enal + NADH + H(+);
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:13733, ChEBI:CHEBI:12834, ChEBI:CHEBI:13757,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:15378, ChEBI:CHEBI:57540, ChEBI:CHEBI:57945; EC=1.3.1.74;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=an n-alkanal + NADP(+) = an alk-2-enal + NADPH + H(+);
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:13737, ChEBI:CHEBI:12834, ChEBI:CHEBI:13757,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:15378, ChEBI:CHEBI:57783, ChEBI:CHEBI:58349; EC=1.3.1.74;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC -!- ACTIVITY REGULATION: Inhibited by N-ethylmaleimide and p-
CC chloromercuribenzoic acid. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984}.
CC -!- BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES:
CC Kinetic parameters:
CC KM=0.53 mM for p-coumaryl aldehyde {ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190};
CC KM=0.41 mM for coniferyl aldehyde {ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190};
CC KM=0.28 mM for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190};
CC KM=10 uM for trans-1,3 diphenyl-2-propenone
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC KM=3.7 uM for trans-1,4-diphenyl-2-butene-1,4-dione
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC KM=6.6 uM for traumatin {ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC KM=0.65 uM for 9,10-phenanthrenequinone
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=11 uM for 5-Hydroxy-1,4-naphtoquinone
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=152 uM for 1,4-Benzoquinone {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=25 uM for decyl-plastoquinone {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=20 uM for ferricytochrome c {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=128 uM for azodicarboxylic acid bis[dimethylamide]
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=120 uM for 1,10-(azocarbonyl)-dipeperidine
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=3.4 uM for azocarbonamide {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=2.5 uM for NADPH for 9,10-phenanthrenequinone-reduction
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=8.2 uM for NADPH for azodicarboxylic acid bis[dimethylamide]-
CC reduction {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=13.4 uM for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=145 uM for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-hexenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=5.9 uM for (2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=232 uM for (2E)-hexenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=1420 uM for (2E)-pentenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=4650 uM for propenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=55 uM for 3-buten-2-one {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=5.2 uM for 3-penten-2-one {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=11.3 uM for (2E),(6Z)-nonadienal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=1.24 uM for 4-oxo-(2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=10.0 uM for 9-oxo-10(E),12(Z)-octadecadienoic acid
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=3.92 uM for 13-oxo-9(Z),11(E)-octadecadienoic acid
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=0.673 uM for 3-nonen-2-one {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC Note=kcat is 3.8 sec(-1) for trans-1,3 diphenyl-2-propenone. kcat is
CC 4.9 sec(-1) for trans-1,4-diphenyl-2-butene-1,4-dione. kcat is 10
CC sec(-1) for traumatin (PubMed:26678323). kcat is 98 sec(-1) for 9,10-
CC phenanthrenequinone. kcat is 1.9 sec(-1) for 5-Hydroxy-1,4-
CC naphtoquinone. kcat is 12 sec(-1) for 1,4-Benzoquinone. kcat is 0.10
CC sec(-1) for decyl-plastoquinone. kcat is 0.03 sec(-1) for
CC ferricytochrome c. kcat is 95 sec(-1) for azodicarboxylic acid
CC bis[dimethylamide]. kcat is 42 sec(-1) for 1,10-(azocarbonyl)-
CC dipeperidine. kcat is 31 sec(-1) for azocarbonamide
CC (PubMed:10848984). kcat is 88 sec(-1) for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal.
CC kcat is 42 sec(-1) for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-hexenal. kcat is 51 sec(-1) for
CC (2E)-nonenal. kcat is 63 sec(-1) for (2E)-hexenal. kcat is 35 sec(-1)
CC for (2E)-pentenal. kcat is 40 sec(-1) for propenal. kcat is 83 sec(-
CC 1) for 3-buten-2-one. kcat is 103 sec(-1) for 3-penten-2-one
CC (PubMed:12514241). kcat is 33.9 sec(-1) for (2E),(6Z)-nonadienal.
CC kcat is 20.1 sec(-1) for 4-oxo-(2E)-nonenal. kcat is 0.94 sec(-1) for
CC 9-oxo-10(E),12(Z)-octadecadienoic acid. kcat is 1.10 sec(-1) for 13-
CC oxo-9(Z),11(E)-octadecadienoic acid. kcat is 18.9 sec(-1) for 3-
CC nonen-2-one (PubMed:16299173). {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC pH dependence:
CC Optimum pH is 8.0 for 9,10-phenanthrenequinone-reduction. Optimum pH
CC is 6.5-7.0 for azodicarboxylic acid bis[dimethylamide]-reduction
CC (PubMed:10848984). Optimum pH is 6.0 with (2E)-hexenal or 4-hydroxy-
CC (2E)-nonenal as substrate (PubMed:12514241).
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984, ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC -!- SUBUNIT: Homodimer. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190}.
CC -!- SUBCELLULAR LOCATION: Cytoplasm {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173}. Nucleus,
CC nucleoplasm {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173}.
CC -!- TISSUE SPECIFICITY: Expressed in leaves. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173}.
CC -!- INDUCTION: Up-regulated upon treatment with paraquat, t-
CC butylhydroperoxide, diamide, and menadione.
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:7592828}.
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the NADP-dependent oxidoreductase L4BD family.
CC {ECO:0000305}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; Z49768; CAA89838.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; AL391141; CAC01710.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; CP002688; AED92364.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; AY120718; AAM53276.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; BT022058; AAY25470.1; -; mRNA.
DR PIR; S57611; S57611.
DR RefSeq; NP_197199.1; NM_121703.4.
DR PDB; 2J3H; X-ray; 2.50 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDB; 2J3I; X-ray; 2.80 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDB; 2J3J; X-ray; 2.80 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDB; 2J3K; X-ray; 2.80 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDBsum; 2J3H; -.
DR PDBsum; 2J3I; -.
DR PDBsum; 2J3J; -.
DR PDBsum; 2J3K; -.
DR AlphaFoldDB; Q39172; -.
DR SMR; Q39172; -.
DR BioGRID; 16836; 2.
DR FunCoup; Q39172; 1640.
DR IntAct; Q39172; 1.
DR STRING; 3702.Q39172; -.
DR iPTMnet; Q39172; -.
DR PaxDb; 3702-AT5G16970.1; -.
DR ProteomicsDB; 244727; -.
DR DNASU; 831560; -.
DR GeneID; 831560; -.
DR Gramene; AT5G16970.1; AT5G16970.1; AT5G16970.
DR KEGG; ath:AT5G16970; -.
DR Araport; AT5G16970; -.
DR TAIR; AT5G16970; AER.
DR eggNOG; KOG1196; Eukaryota.
DR HOGENOM; CLU_026673_29_1_1; -.
DR InParanoid; Q39172; -.
DR OMA; WMSDIPQ; -.
DR PhylomeDB; Q39172; -.
DR BioCyc; ARA:AT5G16970-MONOMER; -.
DR BioCyc; MetaCyc:AT5G16970-MONOMER; -.
DR SABIO-RK; Q39172; -.
DR CD-CODE; 4299E36E; Nucleolus.
DR EvolutionaryTrace; Q39172; -.
DR PRO; PR:Q39172; -.
DR Proteomes; UP000006548; Chromosome 5.
DR ExpressionAtlas; Q39172; baseline and differential.
DR GO; GO:0005829; C:cytosol; IDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0005654; C:nucleoplasm; IEA:UniProtKB-SubCell.
DR GO; GO:0005634; C:nucleus; IDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0009536; C:plastid; HDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0035798; F:2-alkenal reductase (NADPH) activity; IEA:RHEA.
DR GO; GO:0032440; F:2-alkenal reductase [NAD(P)H] activity; IDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0006979; P:response to oxidative stress; IMP:TAIR.
DR CDD; cd08295; double_bond_reductase_like; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.90.180.10:FF:000049; NADPH-dependent oxidoreductase 2-alkenal reductase; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.40.50.720:FF:000121; Prostaglandin reductase 2; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.90.180.10; Medium-chain alcohol dehydrogenases, catalytic domain; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.50.720; NAD(P)-binding Rossmann-like Domain; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR013149; ADH-like_C.
DR InterPro; IPR041694; ADH_N_2.
DR InterPro; IPR020843; ER.
DR InterPro; IPR011032; GroES-like_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR045010; MDR_fam.
DR InterPro; IPR036291; NAD(P)-bd_dom_sf.
DR PANTHER; PTHR43205:SF30; NADP-DEPENDENT ALKENAL DOUBLE BOND REDUCTASE P2-RELATED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR43205; PROSTAGLANDIN REDUCTASE; 1.
DR Pfam; PF16884; ADH_N_2; 1.
DR Pfam; PF00107; ADH_zinc_N; 1.
DR SMART; SM00829; PKS_ER; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF50129; GroES-like; 2.
DR SUPFAM; SSF51735; NAD(P)-binding Rossmann-fold domains; 1.
PE 1: Evidence at protein level;
KW 3D-structure; Cytoplasm; NADP; Nucleus; Oxidoreductase; Reference proteome.
FT CHAIN 1..345
FT /note="NADPH-dependent oxidoreductase 2-alkenal reductase"
FT /id="PRO_0000218073"
FT BINDING 52..53
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I"
FT BINDING 53
FT /ligand="substrate"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 163..169
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 188
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 192
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 208
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 232
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J"
FT BINDING 254
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 260
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 260
FT /ligand="substrate"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 284..286
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 330
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 334..336
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT CONFLICT 223
FT /note="P -> T (in Ref. 4; AAM53276)"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000305"
FT STRAND 2..10
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 14..17
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 20..22
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 23..31
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 36..39
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 41..45
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 47..49
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 54..58
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 63..68
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 79..89
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 91..93
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3J"
FT STRAND 99..112
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 116..118
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 120..122
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 131..133
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 134..136
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 138..148
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 149..151
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3I"
FT STRAND 158..163
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 167..178
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 182..189
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 190..198
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 203..207
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 208..210
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3I"
FT HELIX 215..221
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 226..233
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 235..242
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 245..253
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 257..259
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 273..277
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 280..283
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 286..292
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 293..305
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 313..318
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 319..321
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 323..330
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 335..343
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
SQ SEQUENCE 345 AA; 38134 MW; 5AFCEBB2948B2680 CRC64;
Query Match 99.5%; Score 1803; Length 345;
Best Local Similarity 99.7%;
Matches 344; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MTATNKQVILKDYVSGFPTESDFDFTTTTVELRVPEGTNSVLVKNLYLSCDPYMRIRMGK 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MTATNKQVILKDYVSGFPTESDFDFTTTTVELRVPEGTNSVLVKNLYLSCDPYMRIRMGK 60
Qy 61 PDPSTAALAQAYTPGQPIQGYGVSRIIESGHPDYKKGDLLWGIVAWEEYSVITPMTHAHF 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 PDPSTAALAQAYTPGQPIQGYGVSRIIESGHPDYKKGDLLWGIVAWEEYSVITPMTHAHF 120
Qy 121 KIQHTDVPLSYYTGLLGMPGMTAYAGFYEVCSPKEGETVYVSAASGAVGQLVGQLAKMMG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 KIQHTDVPLSYYTGLLGMPGMTAYAGFYEVCSPKEGETVYVSAASGAVGQLVGQLAKMMG 180
Qy 181 CYVVGSAGSKEKVDLLKTKFGFDDAFNYKEESDLTAALKRCFPNGIDIYFENVGGKMLDA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CYVVGSAGSKEKVDLLKTKFGFDDAFNYKEESDLTAALKRCFPNGIDIYFENVGGKMLDA 240
Qy 241 VLVNMNMHGRIAVCGMISQYNLENQEGVHNLSNIIYKRNRIQGFVVSDFYDKYSKFLEFV 300
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 VLVNMNMHGRIAVCGMISQYNLENQEGVHNLSNIIYKRIRIQGFVVSDFYDKYSKFLEFV 300
Qy 301 LPHIREGKITYVEDVADGLEKAPEALVGLFHGKNVGKQVVVVARE 345
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 LPHIREGKITYVEDVADGLEKAPEALVGLFHGKNVGKQVVVVARE 345
Sequence alignment between the ene reductase of SEQ ID NO:169 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the Arabidopsis thaliana ene reductase of Chavez/At5g16970 (“Db”)
AER_ARATH
ID AER_ARATH Reviewed; 345 AA.
AC Q39172; Q501A9; Q8L865;
DT 01-NOV-1997, integrated into UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot.
DT 01-NOV-1996, sequence version 1.
DT 18-JUN-2025, entry version 162.
DE RecName: Full=NADPH-dependent oxidoreductase 2-alkenal reductase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:16299173};
DE Short=AtAER {ECO:0000303|PubMed:16299173};
DE EC=1.3.1.- {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
DE EC=1.3.1.74 {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173, ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
DE AltName: Full=NADP-dependent alkenal double bond reductase P1 {ECO:0000303|PubMed:17028190};
DE Short=DBR1 {ECO:0000303|PubMed:17028190};
DE AltName: Full=NADPH-azodicarbonyl/quinone reductase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:10848984};
DE AltName: Full=NADPH:2-alkenal/one alpha,beta-hydrogenase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:12514241};
DE Short=ALH {ECO:0000303|PubMed:12514241};
DE AltName: Full=P1-zeta-crystallin protein {ECO:0000303|PubMed:7592828};
DE Short=P1-ZCr {ECO:0000303|PubMed:7592828};
GN Name=AER {ECO:0000303|PubMed:16299173};
GN Synonyms=P1 {ECO:0000303|PubMed:7592828};
GN OrderedLocusNames=At5g16970 {ECO:0000312|Araport:AT5G16970};
GN ORFNames=F2K13_120 {ECO:0000312|EMBL:CAC01710.1};
OS Arabidopsis thaliana (Mouse-ear cress).
OC Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
OC Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae; Pentapetalae;
OC rosids; malvids; Brassicales; Brassicaceae; Camelineae; Arabidopsis.
OX NCBI_TaxID=3702;
RN [1]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [MRNA], AND INDUCTION BY OXIDATIVE STRESS.
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=7592828; DOI=10.1074/jbc.270.44.26224;
RA Babiychuk E., Kushnir S., Belles-Boix E., van Montagu M., Inze D.;
RT "Arabidopsis thaliana NADPH oxidoreductase homologs confer tolerance of
RT yeasts toward the thiol-oxidizing drug diamide.";
RL J. Biol. Chem. 270:26224-26231(1995).
RN [2]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=11130714; DOI=10.1038/35048507;
RA Tabata S., Kaneko T., Nakamura Y., Kotani H., Kato T., Asamizu E.,
RA Miyajima N., Sasamoto S., Kimura T., Hosouchi T., Kawashima K., Kohara M.,
RA Matsumoto M., Matsuno A., Muraki A., Nakayama S., Nakazaki N., Naruo K.,
RA Okumura S., Shinpo S., Takeuchi C., Wada T., Watanabe A., Yamada M.,
RA Yasuda M., Sato S., de la Bastide M., Huang E., Spiegel L., Gnoj L.,
RA O'Shaughnessy A., Preston R., Habermann K., Murray J., Johnson D.,
RA Rohlfing T., Nelson J., Stoneking T., Pepin K., Spieth J., Sekhon M.,
RA Armstrong J., Becker M., Belter E., Cordum H., Cordes M., Courtney L.,
RA Courtney W., Dante M., Du H., Edwards J., Fryman J., Haakensen B.,
RA Lamar E., Latreille P., Leonard S., Meyer R., Mulvaney E., Ozersky P.,
RA Riley A., Strowmatt C., Wagner-McPherson C., Wollam A., Yoakum M., Bell M.,
RA Dedhia N., Parnell L., Shah R., Rodriguez M., Hoon See L., Vil D.,
RA Baker J., Kirchoff K., Toth K., King L., Bahret A., Miller B., Marra M.A.,
RA Martienssen R., McCombie W.R., Wilson R.K., Murphy G., Bancroft I.,
RA Volckaert G., Wambutt R., Duesterhoeft A., Stiekema W., Pohl T.,
RA Entian K.-D., Terryn N., Hartley N., Bent E., Johnson S., Langham S.-A.,
RA McCullagh B., Robben J., Grymonprez B., Zimmermann W., Ramsperger U.,
RA Wedler H., Balke K., Wedler E., Peters S., van Staveren M., Dirkse W.,
RA Mooijman P., Klein Lankhorst R., Weitzenegger T., Bothe G., Rose M.,
RA Hauf J., Berneiser S., Hempel S., Feldpausch M., Lamberth S.,
RA Villarroel R., Gielen J., Ardiles W., Bents O., Lemcke K., Kolesov G.,
RA Mayer K.F.X., Rudd S., Schoof H., Schueller C., Zaccaria P., Mewes H.-W.,
RA Bevan M., Fransz P.F.;
RT "Sequence and analysis of chromosome 5 of the plant Arabidopsis thaliana.";
RL Nature 408:823-826(2000).
RN [3]
RP GENOME REANNOTATION.
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=27862469; DOI=10.1111/tpj.13415;
RA Cheng C.Y., Krishnakumar V., Chan A.P., Thibaud-Nissen F., Schobel S.,
RA Town C.D.;
RT "Araport11: a complete reannotation of the Arabidopsis thaliana reference
RT genome.";
RL Plant J. 89:789-804(2017).
RN [4]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE MRNA].
RC STRAIN=cv. Columbia;
RX PubMed=14593172; DOI=10.1126/science.1088305;
RA Yamada K., Lim J., Dale J.M., Chen H., Shinn P., Palm C.J., Southwick A.M.,
RA Wu H.C., Kim C.J., Nguyen M., Pham P.K., Cheuk R.F., Karlin-Newmann G.,
RA Liu S.X., Lam B., Sakano H., Wu T., Yu G., Miranda M., Quach H.L.,
RA Tripp M., Chang C.H., Lee J.M., Toriumi M.J., Chan M.M., Tang C.C.,
RA Onodera C.S., Deng J.M., Akiyama K., Ansari Y., Arakawa T., Banh J.,
RA Banno F., Bowser L., Brooks S.Y., Carninci P., Chao Q., Choy N., Enju A.,
RA Goldsmith A.D., Gurjal M., Hansen N.F., Hayashizaki Y., Johnson-Hopson C.,
RA Hsuan V.W., Iida K., Karnes M., Khan S., Koesema E., Ishida J., Jiang P.X.,
RA Jones T., Kawai J., Kamiya A., Meyers C., Nakajima M., Narusaka M.,
RA Seki M., Sakurai T., Satou M., Tamse R., Vaysberg M., Wallender E.K.,
RA Wong C., Yamamura Y., Yuan S., Shinozaki K., Davis R.W., Theologis A.,
RA Ecker J.R.;
RT "Empirical analysis of transcriptional activity in the Arabidopsis
RT genome.";
RL Science 302:842-846(2003).
RN [5]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE MRNA].
RA Kim C.J., Chen H., Cheuk R., Shinn P., Ecker J.R.;
RT "Arabidopsis ORF clones.";
RL Submitted (MAY-2005) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
RN [6]
RP FUNCTION, SUBUNIT, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES, AND
RP ACTIVITY REGULATION.
RX PubMed=10848984; DOI=10.1046/j.1432-1327.2000.01398.x;
RA Mano J., Babiychuk E., Belles-Boix E., Hiratake J., Kimura A., Inze D.,
RA Kushnir S., Asada K.;
RT "A novel NADPH:diamide oxidoreductase activity in arabidopsis thaliana P1
RT zeta-crystallin.";
RL Eur. J. Biochem. 267:3661-3671(2000).
RN [7]
RP FUNCTION, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, SUBSTRATE SPECIFICITY, AND BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL
RP PROPERTIES.
RX PubMed=12514241; DOI=10.1093/pcp/pcf187;
RA Mano J., Torii Y., Hayashi S., Takimoto K., Matsui K., Nakamura K.,
RA Inze D., Babiychuk E., Kushnir S., Asada K.;
RT "The NADPH:quinone oxidoreductase P1-zeta-crystallin in Arabidopsis
RT catalyzes the alpha,beta-hydrogenation of 2-alkenals: detoxication of the
RT lipid peroxide-derived reactive aldehydes.";
RL Plant Cell Physiol. 43:1445-1455(2002).
RN [8]
RP FUNCTION, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, SUBCELLULAR LOCATION, BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL
RP PROPERTIES, AND TISSUE SPECIFICITY.
RX PubMed=16299173; DOI=10.1104/pp.105.070391;
RA Mano J., Belles-Boix E., Babiychuk E., Inze D., Torii Y., Hiraoka E.,
RA Takimoto K., Slooten L., Asada K., Kushnir S.;
RT "Protection against photooxidative injury of tobacco leaves by 2-alkenal
RT reductase. Detoxication of lipid peroxide-derived reactive carbonyls.";
RL Plant Physiol. 139:1773-1783(2005).
RN [9]
RP CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, SUBSTRATE SPECIFICITY, AND BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL
RP PROPERTIES.
RX PubMed=26678323; DOI=10.1016/j.phytochem.2015.11.015;
RA Curien G., Giustini C., Montillet J.L., Mas-Y-Mas S., Cobessi D.,
RA Ferrer J.L., Matringe M., Grechkin A., Rolland N.;
RT "The chloroplast membrane associated ceQORH putative quinone oxidoreductase
RT reduces long-chain, stress-related oxidized lipids.";
RL Phytochemistry 122:45-55(2016).
RN [10]
RP X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHY (2.5 ANGSTROMS) IN COMPLEXES WITH SUBSTRATES AND
RP NADP, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, FUNCTION, BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES, AND
RP SUBUNIT.
RX PubMed=17028190; DOI=10.1074/jbc.m605900200;
RA Youn B., Kim S.J., Moinuddin S.G., Lee C., Bedgar D.L., Harper A.R.,
RA Davin L.B., Lewis N.G., Kang C.;
RT "Mechanistic and structural studies of apoform, binary, and ternary
RT complexes of the Arabidopsis alkenal double bond reductase At5g16970.";
RL J. Biol. Chem. 281:40076-40088(2006).
CC -!- FUNCTION: Involved in the detoxification of reactive carbonyls
CC (PubMed:10848984, PubMed:12514241, PubMed:16299173). Acts on lipid
CC peroxide-derived reactive aldehydes (PubMed:12514241). Specific to a
CC double bond activated by an adjacent carbonyl group (PubMed:12514241).
CC Can use both quinones and diamide as substrates, but not menadione,
CC ferricyanide or phylloquinone (PubMed:10848984). Can use 4-hydroxy-
CC (2E)-nonenal (HNE), 4-hydroxy-(2E)-hexenal (HHE), (2E)-nonenal, (2E)-
CC hexenal, (2E)-pentenal, propenal (acrolein), 3-buten-2-one and 3-
CC penten-2-one, but not (R)-(-)-carvone, n-nonanal, n-hexanal, (3Z)-
CC hexanal, cyclohex-2-en-1-one or 12-oxo phytodienoic acid (OPDA) as
CC electron acceptors (PubMed:12514241). Catalyzes the reduction of the
CC alpha,beta-unsaturated bond of 2-alkenals, of lipid peroxide-derived
CC oxenes 9-oxo-10(E),12(Z)-octadecadienoic acid (9-KODE) and 13-oxo-
CC 9(Z),11(E)-octadecadienoic acid (13-KODE), as well as 4-oxo-(2E)-
CC nonenal and 4-hydroxynonenal (PubMed:16299173). Can use 12-oxo-10(E)
CC dodecanoate (traumatin), trans-1,3 diphenyl-2-propenone, trans-1,4-
CC diphenyl-2-butene-1,4-dione, 9-oxo-12,13-epoxy-(10E)-octadecenoic acid
CC (trans-EKODE-1b) and 9,13-dihydroxy-10-oxo-11-octadecenoic acid as
CC substrates (PubMed:26678323). Catalyzes the reduction of the 7-8 double
CC bond of phenylpropanal substrates, such as p-coumaryl aldehyde and
CC coniferyl aldehyde (in vitro) (PubMed:17028190). Has activity towards
CC toxic substrates, such as 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal (in vitro)
CC (PubMed:17028190). May play a distinct role in plant antioxidant
CC defense and is possibly involved in NAD(P)/NAD(P)H homeostasis
CC (PubMed:17028190). {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323}.
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=an n-alkanal + NAD(+) = an alk-2-enal + NADH + H(+);
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:13733, ChEBI:CHEBI:12834, ChEBI:CHEBI:13757,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:15378, ChEBI:CHEBI:57540, ChEBI:CHEBI:57945; EC=1.3.1.74;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=an n-alkanal + NADP(+) = an alk-2-enal + NADPH + H(+);
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:13737, ChEBI:CHEBI:12834, ChEBI:CHEBI:13757,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:15378, ChEBI:CHEBI:57783, ChEBI:CHEBI:58349; EC=1.3.1.74;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190, ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC -!- ACTIVITY REGULATION: Inhibited by N-ethylmaleimide and p-
CC chloromercuribenzoic acid. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984}.
CC -!- BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES:
CC Kinetic parameters:
CC KM=0.53 mM for p-coumaryl aldehyde {ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190};
CC KM=0.41 mM for coniferyl aldehyde {ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190};
CC KM=0.28 mM for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190};
CC KM=10 uM for trans-1,3 diphenyl-2-propenone
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC KM=3.7 uM for trans-1,4-diphenyl-2-butene-1,4-dione
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC KM=6.6 uM for traumatin {ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC KM=0.65 uM for 9,10-phenanthrenequinone
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=11 uM for 5-Hydroxy-1,4-naphtoquinone
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=152 uM for 1,4-Benzoquinone {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=25 uM for decyl-plastoquinone {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=20 uM for ferricytochrome c {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=128 uM for azodicarboxylic acid bis[dimethylamide]
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=120 uM for 1,10-(azocarbonyl)-dipeperidine
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=3.4 uM for azocarbonamide {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=2.5 uM for NADPH for 9,10-phenanthrenequinone-reduction
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=8.2 uM for NADPH for azodicarboxylic acid bis[dimethylamide]-
CC reduction {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984};
CC KM=13.4 uM for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=145 uM for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-hexenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=5.9 uM for (2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=232 uM for (2E)-hexenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=1420 uM for (2E)-pentenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=4650 uM for propenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=55 uM for 3-buten-2-one {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=5.2 uM for 3-penten-2-one {ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC KM=11.3 uM for (2E),(6Z)-nonadienal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=1.24 uM for 4-oxo-(2E)-nonenal {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=10.0 uM for 9-oxo-10(E),12(Z)-octadecadienoic acid
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=3.92 uM for 13-oxo-9(Z),11(E)-octadecadienoic acid
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC KM=0.673 uM for 3-nonen-2-one {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173};
CC Note=kcat is 3.8 sec(-1) for trans-1,3 diphenyl-2-propenone. kcat is
CC 4.9 sec(-1) for trans-1,4-diphenyl-2-butene-1,4-dione. kcat is 10
CC sec(-1) for traumatin (PubMed:26678323). kcat is 98 sec(-1) for 9,10-
CC phenanthrenequinone. kcat is 1.9 sec(-1) for 5-Hydroxy-1,4-
CC naphtoquinone. kcat is 12 sec(-1) for 1,4-Benzoquinone. kcat is 0.10
CC sec(-1) for decyl-plastoquinone. kcat is 0.03 sec(-1) for
CC ferricytochrome c. kcat is 95 sec(-1) for azodicarboxylic acid
CC bis[dimethylamide]. kcat is 42 sec(-1) for 1,10-(azocarbonyl)-
CC dipeperidine. kcat is 31 sec(-1) for azocarbonamide
CC (PubMed:10848984). kcat is 88 sec(-1) for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-nonenal.
CC kcat is 42 sec(-1) for 4-hydroxy-(2E)-hexenal. kcat is 51 sec(-1) for
CC (2E)-nonenal. kcat is 63 sec(-1) for (2E)-hexenal. kcat is 35 sec(-1)
CC for (2E)-pentenal. kcat is 40 sec(-1) for propenal. kcat is 83 sec(-
CC 1) for 3-buten-2-one. kcat is 103 sec(-1) for 3-penten-2-one
CC (PubMed:12514241). kcat is 33.9 sec(-1) for (2E),(6Z)-nonadienal.
CC kcat is 20.1 sec(-1) for 4-oxo-(2E)-nonenal. kcat is 0.94 sec(-1) for
CC 9-oxo-10(E),12(Z)-octadecadienoic acid. kcat is 1.10 sec(-1) for 13-
CC oxo-9(Z),11(E)-octadecadienoic acid. kcat is 18.9 sec(-1) for 3-
CC nonen-2-one (PubMed:16299173). {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241, ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:26678323};
CC pH dependence:
CC Optimum pH is 8.0 for 9,10-phenanthrenequinone-reduction. Optimum pH
CC is 6.5-7.0 for azodicarboxylic acid bis[dimethylamide]-reduction
CC (PubMed:10848984). Optimum pH is 6.0 with (2E)-hexenal or 4-hydroxy-
CC (2E)-nonenal as substrate (PubMed:12514241).
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984, ECO:0000269|PubMed:12514241};
CC -!- SUBUNIT: Homodimer. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:10848984,
CC ECO:0000269|PubMed:17028190}.
CC -!- SUBCELLULAR LOCATION: Cytoplasm {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173}. Nucleus,
CC nucleoplasm {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173}.
CC -!- TISSUE SPECIFICITY: Expressed in leaves. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:16299173}.
CC -!- INDUCTION: Up-regulated upon treatment with paraquat, t-
CC butylhydroperoxide, diamide, and menadione.
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:7592828}.
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the NADP-dependent oxidoreductase L4BD family.
CC {ECO:0000305}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; Z49768; CAA89838.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; AL391141; CAC01710.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; CP002688; AED92364.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; AY120718; AAM53276.1; -; mRNA.
DR EMBL; BT022058; AAY25470.1; -; mRNA.
DR PIR; S57611; S57611.
DR RefSeq; NP_197199.1; NM_121703.4.
DR PDB; 2J3H; X-ray; 2.50 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDB; 2J3I; X-ray; 2.80 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDB; 2J3J; X-ray; 2.80 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDB; 2J3K; X-ray; 2.80 A; A/B=1-345.
DR PDBsum; 2J3H; -.
DR PDBsum; 2J3I; -.
DR PDBsum; 2J3J; -.
DR PDBsum; 2J3K; -.
DR AlphaFoldDB; Q39172; -.
DR SMR; Q39172; -.
DR BioGRID; 16836; 2.
DR FunCoup; Q39172; 1640.
DR IntAct; Q39172; 1.
DR STRING; 3702.Q39172; -.
DR iPTMnet; Q39172; -.
DR PaxDb; 3702-AT5G16970.1; -.
DR ProteomicsDB; 244727; -.
DR DNASU; 831560; -.
DR EnsemblPlants; AT5G16970.1; AT5G16970.1; AT5G16970.
DR GeneID; 831560; -.
DR Gramene; AT5G16970.1; AT5G16970.1; AT5G16970.
DR KEGG; ath:AT5G16970; -.
DR Araport; AT5G16970; -.
DR TAIR; AT5G16970; AER.
DR eggNOG; KOG1196; Eukaryota.
DR HOGENOM; CLU_026673_29_1_1; -.
DR InParanoid; Q39172; -.
DR OMA; WMSDIPQ; -.
DR PhylomeDB; Q39172; -.
DR BioCyc; ARA:AT5G16970-MONOMER; -.
DR BioCyc; MetaCyc:AT5G16970-MONOMER; -.
DR SABIO-RK; Q39172; -.
DR CD-CODE; 4299E36E; Nucleolus.
DR EvolutionaryTrace; Q39172; -.
DR PRO; PR:Q39172; -.
DR Proteomes; UP000006548; Chromosome 5.
DR ExpressionAtlas; Q39172; baseline and differential.
DR GO; GO:0005829; C:cytosol; IDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0005654; C:nucleoplasm; IEA:UniProtKB-SubCell.
DR GO; GO:0005634; C:nucleus; IDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0009536; C:plastid; HDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0035798; F:2-alkenal reductase (NADPH) activity; IEA:RHEA.
DR GO; GO:0032440; F:2-alkenal reductase [NAD(P)+] activity; IDA:TAIR.
DR GO; GO:0006979; P:response to oxidative stress; IMP:TAIR.
DR CDD; cd08295; double_bond_reductase_like; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.90.180.10:FF:000049; NADPH-dependent oxidoreductase 2-alkenal reductase; 1.
DR FunFam; 3.40.50.720:FF:000121; Prostaglandin reductase 2; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.90.180.10; Medium-chain alcohol dehydrogenases, catalytic domain; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.50.720; NAD(P)-binding Rossmann-like Domain; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR013149; ADH-like_C.
DR InterPro; IPR041694; ADH_N_2.
DR InterPro; IPR011032; GroES-like_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR045010; MDR_fam.
DR InterPro; IPR036291; NAD(P)-bd_dom_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR020843; PKS_ER.
DR PANTHER; PTHR43205:SF30; NADP-DEPENDENT ALKENAL DOUBLE BOND REDUCTASE P2-RELATED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR43205; PROSTAGLANDIN REDUCTASE; 1.
DR Pfam; PF16884; ADH_N_2; 1.
DR Pfam; PF00107; ADH_zinc_N; 1.
DR SMART; SM00829; PKS_ER; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF50129; GroES-like; 2.
DR SUPFAM; SSF51735; NAD(P)-binding Rossmann-fold domains; 1.
PE 1: Evidence at protein level;
KW 3D-structure; Cytoplasm; NADP; Nucleus; Oxidoreductase; Reference proteome.
FT CHAIN 1..345
FT /note="NADPH-dependent oxidoreductase 2-alkenal reductase"
FT /id="PRO_0000218073"
FT BINDING 52..53
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I"
FT BINDING 53
FT /ligand="substrate"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 163..169
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 188
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 192
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 208
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 232
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J"
FT BINDING 254
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 260
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 260
FT /ligand="substrate"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 284..286
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 330
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT BINDING 334..336
FT /ligand="NADP(+)"
FT /ligand_id="ChEBI:CHEBI:58349"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3I, ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3J,
FT ECO:0007744|PDB:2J3K"
FT CONFLICT 223
FT /note="P -> T (in Ref. 4; AAM53276)"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000305"
FT STRAND 2..10
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 14..17
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 20..22
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 23..31
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 36..39
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 41..45
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 47..49
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 54..58
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 63..68
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 79..89
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 91..93
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3J"
FT STRAND 99..112
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 116..118
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 120..122
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 131..133
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 134..136
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 138..148
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT TURN 149..151
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3I"
FT STRAND 158..163
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 167..178
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 182..189
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 190..198
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 203..207
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 208..210
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3I"
FT HELIX 215..221
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 226..233
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 235..242
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 245..253
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 257..259
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 273..277
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 280..283
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 286..292
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 293..305
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 313..318
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 319..321
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT HELIX 323..330
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
FT STRAND 335..343
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:2J3H"
SQ SEQUENCE 345 AA; 38134 MW; 5AFCEBB2948B2680 CRC64
Query Match 93.0%; Score 1797; Length 345;
Best Local Similarity 99.4%;
Matches 343; Conservative 0; Mismatches 2; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 21 MTATNKQVILKDYVSGFPTESDFDFTTTTVELRVPEGTNSVLVKNLYLSCDPYMRIRMGK 80
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MTATNKQVILKDYVSGFPTESDFDFTTTTVELRVPEGTNSVLVKNLYLSCDPYMRIRMGK 60
Qy 81 PDPSTAALAQAYTPGQPIQGYGVSRIIESGHPDYKKGDLLWGIVAWEEYSVITPMTHAHF 140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 PDPSTAALAQAYTPGQPIQGYGVSRIIESGHPDYKKGDLLWGIVAWEEYSVITPMTHAHF 120
Qy 141 KIQHTDVPLSYYTGLLGMPGMTAYAGFYEVCSPKEGETVYVSAASGAVGQLVGQLAKMMG 200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 KIQHTDVPLSYYTGLLGMPGMTAYAGFYEVCSPKEGETVYVSAASGAVGQLVGQLAKMMG 180
Qy 201 CYVVGSAGSKEKVDLLKTKFGFDDAFNYKEESDLTAALKRCFPNGIDIYFENVGGKMLDA 260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CYVVGSAGSKEKVDLLKTKFGFDDAFNYKEESDLTAALKRCFPNGIDIYFENVGGKMLDA 240
Qy 261 VLVNMNMHGRIAVCGMISQYNLENQEGVHNLSNIIYKRNRIQGFQVSDFYDKYSKFLEFV 320
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 241 VLVNMNMHGRIAVCGMISQYNLENQEGVHNLSNIIYKRIRIQGFVVSDFYDKYSKFLEFV 300
Qy 321 LPHIREGKITYVEDVADGLEKAPEALVGLFHGKNVGKQVVVVARE 365
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 LPHIREGKITYVEDVADGLEKAPEALVGLFHGKNVGKQVVVVARE 345
Sequence alignment between the chalcone isomerase of SEQ ID NO:146 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the chalcone isomerase of SEQ ID NO:3 of Hilmer (“Db”)
US-13-954-957A-3
Sequence 3, US/13954957A
Patent No. 9359622
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Symrise AG
TITLE OF INVENTION: Method of biotechnological production of dihydrochalcones
FILE REFERENCE: SYMRISE7
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/13/954,957A
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2013-07-30
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 9
SEQ ID NO 3
LENGTH: 283
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Eubacterium ramulus
Query Match 98.6%; Score 1526; Length 283;
Best Local Similarity 98.9%;
Matches 280; Conservative 0; Mismatches 3; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MADFKFEPMRSLIYVDCVSEDYRPKLQRWIYKVHIPDSISQFEPYVTKYAFYPSFPIPPQ 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MADFKFEPMRSLIYVDCVSEDYRPKLQRWIYKVHIPDSISQFEPYVTKYAFYPSFPIPPQ 60
Qy 61 GDRFGYARMQLTEHHWLVSPLDPRLEIKAIA ETFPMDVLVWQGQIPAAAHTDAQIDSDGD 120
||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GDRFGYARMQLTEHHWLVSDLDPRLEIKAIA ETFPMDVLVWQGQIPAAAHTDAQIDSDGD 120
Qy 121 AGRAAGKSNNAEGNPFIFAFLPMWWEKDLKGKGRTIEDGANYRFNMTIGFPEGVDKAEGE 180
|| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 AGNAARKSNNAEGNPFIFAFLPMWWEKDLKGKGRTIEDGANYRFNMTIGFPEGVDKAEGE 180
Qy 181 KWLFEKVVPILQAAPECTRVLASAVKKDINGCVMDWVLEIWFENQSGWYKVMVDDMKALE 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 KWLFEKVVPILQAAPECTRVLASAVKKDINGCVMDWVLEIWFENQSGWYKVMVDDMKALE 240
Qy 241 KPSWAQQDAFPFLKPYHNVCSAAVADYTPSNNLANYRGYITMR 283
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 KPSWAQQDAFPFLKPYHNVCSAAVADYTPSNNLANYRGYITMR 283