Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 recites “wherein when the lip gap measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of the output shaft of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator” (recited in claim 1; note claim 14 is dependent upon claim 1) AND “the control unit configured to control the actuator so that the thickness of the film becomes uniform, based on the thickness of the film measured in each of the plurality of positions” which is not originally disclosed. Such recitations require the control unit to control the actuators to move the die lip so that the lip gap becomes uniform based on the measured lip gap being outside a predetermined range AND so that the thickness of the film becomes uniform based on the measured film thickness. The scope of the recitations includes the control unit controlling the actuators to move the die lip to simultaneously enable both the lip gap and the film thickness to become uniform, which is not originally disclosed and thus is new matter.
Claims 16 and 17 recite “a controlling step of controlling actuators of a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms that are disposed in the width direction of the extrusion molding die and configured to locally adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots so that the lip gap and the thickness of the film becomes uniform, based on the lip gap measured in each of the plurality of positions and the thickness of the film measured in each of the plurality of positions” and “wherein when the lip gap or the thickness measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of the output shaft of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator”, which is not originally disclosed and thus is new matter. The original specification does not disclose controlling the actuators so that both the lip gap and the thickness of the film becomes uniform based on the measured lip gap and the measured film thickness in each of the positions, and does not disclose wherein, when the film thickness measured is outside the predetermined range, the movement amount of the output shaft controlled by the control unit is adjusted so that the lip gap becomes uniform.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, line 6, recites “a lip gap” which lacks antecedent basis clarity because it is not clear if it refers to the previously mentioned lip gap or to a new one. The Examiner suggests the following amendments: “[[a]] the lip gap”.
Claims 16-17 each recites (emphasis added) “a controlling step of controlling actuators of a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms that are disposed in the width direction of the extrusion molding die and configured to locally adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots so that the lip gap and the thickness of the film becomes uniform, based on lip gap measured in each of the plurality of positions and the thickness of the film measured in each of the plurality of positions,” and “wherein when the lip gap or the thickness measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of the output shaft of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator”, which is unclear. The first recitations require the lip gap and the thickness of the film to become uniform based on the measured lip gap AND the measured film thickness measured, and the second recitations require the lip gap to become uniform based on the measured lip gap OR the measured film thickness. Thus, it is unclear if the lip gap becomes uniform based (1) on both the measured lip gap and the measured film thickness measured OR (2) on either of these measurements.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 12 is redundant to claim 11 and does not include further claim limitations.
Claim 13 is rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 12.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) in view of Gross (US 6,475,414) and CN 102744819.
Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) discloses a lip adjusting device (figs. 1-2; col. 6, line 63, to col. 9, line 17) configured to adjust a lip gap 121 between a movable lip 101a and a mating lip (not labeled but shown opposite to lip 101a in fig. 1) of an extrusion molding die (fig. 1), the method and the lip gap adjusting device comprising:
a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms 109, 110, 105 disposed in a width direction of the
extrusion molding die (figs. 1-2) and configured to adjust the lip gap 121 at respective disposition spots
(fig. 2),
wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms each comprise an actuator (including adjustment
bolts 109, 110, wherein actuation of the actuator includes manual adjustment by rotating bolt 110; col.
7, lines 30-58; col. 9, lines 10-17), and a coupling member 105 coupling a shaft 109 of the actuator
and the movable lip 101a (fig. 1); and a distal end of the coupling member 105 being either threaded
into the movable lip 101a or fixed to the movable lip 101a (figs. 1-2; col. 6, line 63, to col. 7, line 58; col. 9, lines 10-17; col. 7, lines 13-20, the coupling members (bolts) 105 are threadably engaged with die casing 101 opposite to extrusion passage surface (i.e., with the die lip as shown in fig. 1) and are fixed by the lock nuts 106),
wherein the actuator includes an actuator body 110 and the output shaft is extruded or retracted with respect to the actuator body 110 (fig. 1 shows a portion of the bolt (output shaft) 109 within the bolt (actuator body) 110; col. 7, lines 30-58, the bolt (output shaft) 109 is firmly held not to rotate so that when the bolt (actuator body) 110 is rotated the bolt (output shaft) 109 is extruded (when a portion of the bolt 109 within the bolt 110 moves outside the bolt 110) or retracted (when a portion of the bolt 109 outside of the bolt 110 moves inside the bolt 110) with respect to the bolt (actuator body) 110 by differential screw adjustment of the bolts 109, 110),
wherein the coupling member 105 is a rod member 105 (fig. 1) in which one end portion is coupled to the movable lip (figs. 1-2; col. 7, lines 13-20, the bolts (rod members) 105 are threadably
engaged with die casing 101 opposite to extrusion passage surface (i.e., with the die lip as shown in fig.
1) and are fixed by the lock nuts 106) and another end portion is coupled to the output shaft 109 of the actuator (fig. 1 shows the another end portion of the rod member 105 coupled to the bolt (output shaft) 109 by structures shown in fig. 1, including springs 108 which enable the rod member 105 and the bolt (output shaft) 109 to remain in contact during movement thereof; col. 7, line 20, to col. 8, line 38),
wherein the actuator extrudes or retracts the output shaft 109 (i.e., the actuator enables a movement amount of the output shaft 109) in order to linearly move the coupling member 105, and thereby adjust the lip gap (fig. 1; col. 7, line 1, to col. 8, line 58; the bolt (output shaft) 109 is firmly held not to rotate so that when the bolt (actuator body) 110 is rotated the bolt (output shaft) 109 moves linearly to move the coupling member 105 and thereby adjust the lip gap).
However, Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) does not disclose:
wherein the lip gap adjusting device is configured to locally adjust the lip gap at each disposition spot based on the lip gap measured in each of a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die corresponding to the disposition spots, and
wherein when the lip gap measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of the output shaft of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator.
Gross (US 6,475,414) discloses a lip gap adjusting device (figs. 5-8) configured to adjust a lip gap
between a movable lip (e.g., 31b) and a mating lip of an extrusion molding die (figs. 5-8), the lip gap
adjusting device comprising a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms 7a, 7b disposed in a width direction of the extrusion molding die (col. 5, lines 9-19, "adjusting screws 7a"; fig. 5 is a sectional view) and configured to adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots (i.e., by the plural adjusting screws 7a) (fig. 8 shows a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms disposed in the width direction of the die), wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms each comprise an actuator including an adjusting screw 7a, 7b, wherein the adjusting screws 7a, 7b are rotated by servomotors 11a, 11b and a control unit 19, 20 OR by manual rotation to adjust the lip gap (col. 5, lines 17-19 and lines 31-33; col. 6, lines 36-38).
As mentioned above, Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) discloses actuation of the actuator includes manual adjustment by rotating bolt 110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the rotating bolts 110 of Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) with servomotors and a control unit, as disclosed by Gross (US 6,475,414), because such modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for rotating bolts/screws enabling automated control of the actuators.
CN 102744819 (see English translation) discloses a lip adjusting device (figs. 1 and 4-6; [0006]-[0051]) configured to adjust a lip gap between a movable lip (fig. 5; lip movable by lip gap adjusting devices 14, 14) and a mating lip (fig. 5, the other lip) of an extrusion molding die (fig. 1), the lip gap adjusting device comprising:
a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms 14, 14 (figs. 4-5) disposed in a width direction of the
extrusion molding die (fig. 4) and configured to adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots (fig. 4),
wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms each comprise an actuator 14, 14 (figs. 4-5; [0042];
wherein the lip gap adjusting device is configured to locally adjust the lip gap at each disposition spot based on the lip gap measured in each of a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die corresponding to the disposition spots ([0042]; as shown in fig. 4, there are a plurality of lip gap adjusting devices 14, 14 at the disposition spots in the width direction of the extrusion molding die which locally adjust the lip gap at each disposition spot based on the lip gap measured by a lip gap measuring device 12), and
wherein when the lip gap measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of an output shaft (the electromagnet 14 close to the movable lip and connected thereto which moves the movable lip) of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator (fig. 5; [0042]; when the electromagnets 14 are energized, the electromagnet 14 close to and connected to the moveable lip moves so that the lip gap is adjusted, which movement is controlled by a microprocessor and a control circuit connected to the actuator when the measured lip gap is too large or too small (i.e., outside a predetermined range) so that the lip gap becomes uniform thereby enabling production of an extruded film having uniform thickness [0012], [0016], [0024], [0028], [0042], [0050]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify device of Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) wherein the lip gap adjusting device is configured to locally adjust the lip gap at each disposition spot based on the lip gap measured in each of a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die corresponding to the disposition spots, and wherein when the lip gap measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of the output shaft of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator, as disclosed by CN 102744819, because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the device capable of controlling the lip gap to become uniform by feedback control thereby enabling production of an extruded film having uniform thickness.
Hattori et al. JS 5,051,082) further discloses the device:
(Claim 7) wherein the mating lip is a fixed lip (as shown in fig. 1);
(Claim 9) fig. 1 shows an extrusion molding die including the lip gap adjusting device, the
movable lip 101a; and the mating lip, as mentioned above; and
(Claim 11) fig. 1 shows an extrusion molding apparatus for extruding resin sheet or film
(abstract) comprising the extrusion molding die as recited by claim 9, as mentioned above.
As to claim 8, Gross (US 6,475,414) further discloses the mating lip being a movable lip different
from the movable lip (figs. 7-8; col. 5, line 39 to col. 6, line 16; sheet stacks 2c, 2d are displaceable and at least one flexible wall 2e of a flow channel 1e is flexible; if both are displaceable/flexible then the mating lip is also a movable lip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to further modify the mating lip to be a movable lip different from the movable lip, as disclosed by Gross (US 6,475,414), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration (two movable lips) for the device known to be operable in the art.
As to claim 10, Gross (US 6,475,414) further discloses the extrusion molding die, comprising:
a first die block 28d including the movable lip (fig. 7); and
a second die block 29d including the movable mating lip (fig. 7), wherein the lip gap adjusting
mechanisms include first lip gap adjusting mechanisms, and second lip gap adjusting mechanisms (fig. 7),
the first lip adjusting mechanisms are a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms disposed in
a width direction of the first die block 28d, and configured to adjust the lip gap at respective disposition
spots (fig. 7 is a sectional view, and there are a plurality of lip adjusting mechanisms similar to fig. 8),
the second lip gap adjusting mechanisms are a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms
disposed in a width direction of the second die block 29d, and configured to adjust the lip gap at
respective disposition spots (fig. 7 is a sectional view, and there are a plurality of lip gap adjusting
mechanisms similar to fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the extrusion molding die with a first and second die block and with first and
second lip gap adjustment mechanisms, as disclosed by Gross (US 6,475,414), because such a
modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration (die having two movable
lips with respective lip gap adjustment mechanisms) for the die known to be operable in the art. Note
that it would be further obvious to modify the first and second lip gap adjusting mechanisms with the lip
gap adjusting mechanisms as recited by Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082), as mentioned above, because such modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the lip gap adjusting mechanisms known to be operable in the art.
As to claims 12-13, CN 102744819 further discloses the device comprising:
(Claim12) the control unit configured to control actuators 14, 14 so that a lip gap becomes uniform, based on the lip gap measured in each of a plurality of positions along the width direction of an
extrusion molding die, and
(Claim 13) further comprising a lip gap measuring unit 12 configured to measure the lip gap in
each of the plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die, wherein the
control unit controls the actuators so that the lip gap becomes uniform, based on the lip gap measured
by the lip gap measuring unit 12 (figs. 1 and 4-6; [0012], [0016], [0024], [0028], [0042], [0050]-[0051]; at a plurality of positions along a width of a die 3, the lip gap is measured by lip gap measuring device 12, and actuators 14, 14 of a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms along the width of the die 3
(fig. 4) adjust the lip gap to that the lip gap becomes uniform based on the lip gap measurements by the lip gap measuring device 12; [0024], "to that the membrane lip gap remains stable"; [0028], "ensure that the lip gap remains unchanged"; [0050] “so that the lip gap is stabilized at 0.16mm”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the control unit, as disclosed by CN 102744819 above, and to further modify the extrusion molding apparatus with and a lip gap measuring unit, as disclosed by CN 102744819, because modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the extrusion molding apparatus capable of controlling the lip gap to become uniform by feedback control thereby enabling production of an extruded film having uniform thickness.
As to claim 14, Gross (US 6,475,414) further discloses
a thickness sensor 23 configured to measure thickness of a film formed from a molten resin extruded from the lip gap in each of a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die (fig. 8 shows the thickness measuring unit 23 extending along the width direction); and
a control unit 20 configured to control the actuator 22 so that the thickness of the film becomes
uniform, based on the thickness of the film measured in each of the plurality of positions (fig. 8; col. 6,
lines 10-47, control unit 20 controls the actuators 22 and lip gap adjusting mechanisms 14e disposed in the width direction to correct variances (i.e., to make the film uniform) based on the thickness
measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the extrusion molding apparatus with a thickness sensor and a control unit, as
disclosed by Gross (US 6,475,414), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an
alternative configuration for the extrusion molding apparatus capable of controlling the actuators so that the thickness of the film becomes uniform by feedback control based on the measured film thicknesses.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) in view of Gross (US 6,475,414) and CN 102744819 as applied to claims 1 and 7-14 above, and further in view of Nakano (US 2012/0024226).
Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082), Gross (US 6,475,414) and CN 102744819 do not disclose the limitations as recited by claim 6.
Nakano (US 2012/0024226) discloses a lip gap adjusting device (figs. 1-5; [0045]-[0059])
configured to adjust a lip gap between a movable lip 3 and a mating lip 5 of an extrusion molding die
(fig. 1), the lip gap adjusting device comprising:
a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms disposed in a width direction of the extrusion
molding die and configured to adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots (fig. 1),
wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms each comprise an actuator (bellows, linear actuator)
16, and a coupling member 11, 20, and a distal end of the coupling member being either threaded into
the movable lip or fixed to the movable lip (figs. 1 and 5 show the coupling member 11, 20 fixed to the
movable lip 3),
wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms include a first lip gap adjusting mechanism,
and a second lip gap adjusting mechanism,
the first lip gap adjusting mechanism, and the second lip gap adjusting mechanism are
alternately disposed in a width direction of the extrusion molding die (as shown fig. 3; the second lip gap
adjusting mechanism includes the output shaft 11 and the actuators 16 having the pointing arrows in fig.
3 actuating that output shaft 11, and the first lip gap adjusting mechanism includes the next (to the right
in fig. 3 output shaft 11 and respective actuators 16; note that they alternate in the width direction as
shown in fig. 3),
the first lip gap adjusting mechanism comprises a first actuator 16, and a first coupling member
coupling 20 an output shaft 11 of the first actuator 16 and the movable lip 3 to each other (figs. 1-5),
the second lip gap adjusting mechanism comprises a second actuator 16, and a second coupling
member 20 coupling an output shaft 11 of the second actuator 16 and the movable lip 3 to each other
(figs. 1-5),
the first actuator is disposed close to the movable lip, and
the second actuator is disposed far from the movable lip not to interfere with the first actuator
(as shown in figs. 2-3, the lowermost actuator 16 of the first lip gap adjusting mechanism is disposed
close to the moveable lip 3 relative to the second actuator 16 of the second lip gap adjusting mechanism
being disposed far from the movable lip 3 to as not the interfere with each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the device with a first lip gap adjusting mechanism and a second lip gap adjusting mechanism, as recited by Nakano (US 2012/0024226), because such a modification is known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for adjusting the lip gap known to be operable in the art.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) in view of Gross (US 6,475,414) and CN 102744819.
Relative to claims 15-17, Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) discloses a method for manufacturing a film (abstract; col. 1, lines 7-12; figs. 1-2; col. 6, line 63, to col. 9, line 17) including:
a step extruding a film formed from a molten resin from a lip gap (abstract) between a movable lip 101a and a mating lip (not labeled but shown opposite to lip 101a in fig. 1) of an extrusion molding die (fig. 1); and
a method for adjusting a lip gap 121 using a lip adjusting device (figs. 1-2; col. 6, line 63, to col. 9, line 17) configured to adjust the lip gap 121 between the movable lip 101a and the mating lip (not labeled but shown opposite to lip 101a in fig. 1) of the extrusion molding die (fig. 1), the method and the lip gap adjusting device comprising:
a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms 109, 110, 105 disposed in a width direction of the
extrusion molding die (figs. 1-2) and configured to adjust the lip gap 121 at respective disposition spots
(fig. 2),
wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms each comprise an actuator (including adjustment
bolts 109, 110, wherein actuation of the actuator includes manual adjustment by rotating bolt 110; col.
7, lines 30-58; col. 9, lines 10-17), and a coupling member 105 coupling a shaft 109 of the actuator
and the movable lip 101a (fig. 1); and a distal end of the coupling member 105 being either threaded
into the movable lip 101a or fixed to the movable lip 101a (figs. 1-2; col. 6, line 63, to col. 7, line 58; col. 9, lines 10-17; col. 7, lines 13-20, the coupling members (bolts) 105 are threadably engaged with die casing 101 opposite to extrusion passage surface (i.e., with the die lip as shown in fig. 1) and are fixed by the lock nuts 106),
wherein the actuator includes an actuator body 110 and the output shaft is extruded or retracted with respect to the actuator body 110 (fig. 1 shows a portion of the bolt (output shaft) 109 within the bolt (actuator body) 110; col. 7, lines 30-58, the bolt (output shaft) 109 is firmly held not to rotate so that when the bolt (actuator body) 110 is rotated the bolt (output shaft) 109 is extruded (when a portion of the bolt 109 within the bolt 110 moves outside the bolt 110) or retracted (when a portion of the bolt 109 outside of the bolt 110 moves inside the bolt 110) with respect to the bolt (actuator body) 110 by differential screw adjustment of the bolts 109, 110),
wherein the coupling member 105 is a rod member 105 (fig. 1) in which one end portion is coupled to the movable lip (figs. 1-2; col. 7, lines 13-20, the bolts (rod members) 105 are threadably
engaged with die casing 101 opposite to extrusion passage surface (i.e., with the die lip as shown in fig.
1) and are fixed by the lock nuts 106) and another end portion is coupled to the output shaft 109 of the actuator (fig. 1 shows the another end portion of the rod member 105 coupled to the bolt (output shaft) 109 by structures shown in fig. 1, including springs 108 which enable the rod member 105 and the bolt (output shaft) 109 to remain in contact during movement thereof; col. 7, line 20, to col. 8, line 38),
wherein the actuator extrudes or retracts the output shaft 109 in order to linearly move the coupling member 105, and thereby adjust the lip gap (fig. 1; col. 7, line 1, to col. 8, line 58; the bolt (output shaft) 109 is firmly held not to rotate so that when the bolt (actuator body) 110 is rotated the bolt (output shaft) 109 moves linearly to move the coupling member 105 and thereby adjust the lip gap).
However, Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) does not disclose a lip gap measuring step, a controlling step or a control unit, as recited by claims 15-17.
Gross (US 6,475,414) discloses a method of adjusting a lip gap using a lip gap adjusting device (figs. 5-8) configured to adjust the lip gap between a movable lip (e.g., 31b) and a mating lip of an extrusion molding die (figs. 5-8), the lip gap adjusting device comprising a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms 7a, 7b disposed in a width direction of the extrusion molding die (col. 5, lines 9-19, "adjusting screws 7a"; fig. 5 is a sectional view) and configured to adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots (i.e., by the plural adjusting screws 7a) (fig. 8 shows a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms disposed in the width direction of the die), wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms each comprise an actuator including an adjusting screw 7a, 7b, wherein the adjusting screws 7a, 7b are rotated by servomotors 11a, 11b and a control unit 19, 20 OR by manual rotation to adjust the lip gap (col. 5, lines 17-19 and lines 31-33; col. 6, lines 36-38).
As mentioned above, Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) discloses actuation of the actuator includes manual adjustment by rotating bolt 110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the rotating bolts 110 of Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) with servomotors and a control unit, as disclosed by Gross (US 6,475,414), because such modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for rotating bolts/screws enabling automated control of the actuators.
CN 102744819 (see English translation) discloses a method for adjusting a lip gap using a lip adjusting device (figs. 1 and 4-6; [0006]-[0051]) configured to adjust a lip gap between a movable lip (fig. 5; lip movable by lip gap adjusting devices 14, 14) and a mating lip (fig. 5, the other lip) of an extrusion molding die (fig. 1), the method and the lip gap adjusting device comprising:
a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms 14, 14 (figs. 4-5) disposed in a width direction of the
extrusion molding die (fig. 4) and configured to adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots (fig. 4),
wherein the lip gap adjusting mechanisms each comprise an actuator 14, 14 (figs. 4-5; [0042];
wherein the lip gap adjusting device is configured to locally adjust the lip gap at each disposition spot based on the lip gap measured in each of a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die corresponding to the disposition spots ([0042]; as shown in fig. 4, there are a plurality of lip gap adjusting devices 14, 14 at the disposition spots in the width direction of the extrusion molding die which locally adjust the lip gap at each disposition spot based on the lip gap measured by a lip gap measuring device 12);
wherein the method further comprises:
a lip gap measuring step of measuring the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip of the extrusion molding die in each of the plurality of positions along a width direction of the extrusion molding die by a lip gap measuring device 12 (figs. 4-5; [0042]); and
a controlling step of controlling the actuators of the plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms that are disposed in the width direction of the extrusion molding die and configured to locally adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots, so that the lip gap becomes uniform, based on the lip gap measured in each of the plurality of positions (figs. 1 and 4-6; [0012], [0016], [0024], [0028], [0042], [0050]-[0051]; at a plurality of positions along a width of a die 3, the lip gap is measured by lip gap measuring device 12, and actuators 14 of a plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms along the width of the die 3 (fig. 4) are controlled to locally adjust the lip gap (at each of the disposition spots shown in fig. 4) so that the lip gap becomes uniform based on the lip gap measurements; ([0024], "to that the membrane lip gap remains stable"; [0028], "ensure that the lip gap remains unchanged"; [0050] “so that the lip gap is stabilized at 0.16mm”);
wherein when the lip gap measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of an output shaft (the electromagnet 14 close to the movable lip) of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator (fig. 5; [0042]; when the electromagnets 14 are energized, the electromagnet 14 close to and connected to the moveable lip moves so that the lip gap is adjusted, which movement is controlled by a microprocessor and a control circuit connected to the actuator when the measured lip gap is too large or too small (i.e., outside a predetermined range) so that the lip gap becomes uniform thereby enabling production of an extruded film having uniform thickness [0012], [0016], [0024], [0028], [0042], [0050]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the method with a lip gap measuring step and a controlling step, as recited by CN 102744819, because modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the method capable of controlling the lip gap to become uniform by feedback control thereby enabling production of an extruded film having uniform thickness.
As to claims 16-17, Gross (US 6,475,414) further discloses the method for adjusting a lip gap 1e, comprising:
a thickness measuring step of measuring thickness of a film 16 formed from a molten resin extruded from the lip gap 1e by a thickness measuring unit 23 (col. 1, lines 19-22, thermoplastic melts; fig. 8; col. 6, lines 11-16, at least one flexible wall (movable lip) 2e of a flow channel 1e) in a plurality of positions along a width direction of the extrusion molding die; fig. 8 shows the thickness measuring unit 23 extending along the width direction); and
a controlling step of controlling actuators 22 of the plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms 14e
that are disposed in the width direction of the extrusion molding die (fig. 8) and configured to locally adjust the lip gap 1e at respective disposition spots so that the thickness of the film becomes uniform, based on the thickness of the film measured in each of the plurality of positions (fig. 8; col. 6, lines 10-47, control unit 20 controls the actuators 22 and lip gap adjusting mechanisms 14e disposed in the width direction to correct variances (for example, to make the film uniform) based on the thickness measurements; col. 2, lines 2-7, the adjusters (actuators) can adjust uniformly over the entire width).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to further modify the method with a thickness measuring step and a controlling step, as recited by Gross JS 6,475,414), because such modifications are known in the art and would provide an alternative configuration for the method capable of controlling the lip gap so that the thickness of the film becomes uniform based on the thickness of the film measured in each of the plurality of positions by feedback control. Note that such combination would result in a controlling step of controlling the actuators of the plurality of lip gap adjusting mechanisms that are disposed in the width direction of the extrusion molding die and configured to locally adjust the lip gap at respective disposition spots so that the lip gap and the thickness of the film becomes uniform, based on lip gap measured in each of the plurality of positions and the thickness of the film measured in each of the plurality of positions. For example, as disclosed by CN 102744819 as mentioned above, the lip gap becomes uniform by actuator movement based on the measured lip gap by feedback control to extrude a film of uniform thickness; and as disclosed by Gross (US 6,475,414) as mentioned above, the actuators are used correct variances based on the film thickness measurements and the actuators can adjust uniformly over the entire width. In view of such teachings, if the measured film thickness is too small (variance), then the actuators would adjust uniformly over the entire width to make the lip gap larger until the film thickness becomes uniform at the larger desired film thickness by feedback control, and since the lip gap is adjusted larger over the entire width, the lip gap would also become uniform at the larger lip gap based on the measured lip gap by feedback control. In other words, if the film thickness is too small, the lip gap would become larger uniformly across the width and the film thickness would become larger until both are uniform enabling extrusion of a uniform thickness film at the larger desired film thickness by feedback control based on the measured lip gap and the measured film thickness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that none of the applied references teaches or suggests the combination of features as recited by the amended claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See prior art rejections above.
Applicant argues that, firstly, contrary to the Examiner's assertions, there is nothing in CN'819 to teach or suggest that the lip gap measuring device 12 measures the lip gap at a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die. Instead, as clearly shown in Fig. 5 and as clearly described in cited paragraphs [0012], [0016], [0024], [0028], [0038], [0039], [0042], and [0050], in
CN'819, the lip gap measuring device 12 is arranged at the membrane lip of the die head 3 and measures the distance (i.e., the lip gap 15) between the two stainless steel blocks 3-1 forming the die head 3, the steel blocks 3-1 being locked to each other by bolts 16.
Since there is no teaching or suggestion in CN'819 of the measuring device 12 measuring the lip gap 15 at a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die, there is also no teaching or suggestion in CN'819 of adjusting the lip gap at each disposition spot based on the lip gap measured in each of a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. CN'819 discloses that the lip gap measuring device 12 measures the lip gap at a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die, particularly corresponding to each position where a set of electromagnets 14, 14 are placed. Fig. 4 shows a plurality of sets of electromagnets 14, 14 at a plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die. As shown in fig. 5, at each position a movable die lip is locally adjustable by the respective set of electromagnets 14, 14. The lip gap measuring device measures the lip gap at the plurality of positions along the width direction of the extrusion molding die in order to provide feedback control at each position (figs. 4-5; [0042]). The feedback control at each position ensures that the lip gap remains unchanged so that the uniformity of the film thickness remains stable [0028], which uniform film thickness control is across the width direction of the extrusion molding die.
Applicant argues that, further, since the two steel blocks 3-1 are locked to each other by bolts 16, the lip gap 15 in CN'819 cannot be locally adjusted, as now recited in Claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the two steel blocks 3-1 are locked to each other by bolts 16, the lip gap 15 in CN'819 is locally adjusted as shown in fig. 4 by the plurality sets of electromagnets 14, 14 across the width of the extrusion die, each set 14, 14 providing local adjustment of the die lip [0042].
Applicant argues that, as further disclosed in CN'819, when the membrane lip gap 15 is determined to be too large or too small, the membrane lip gap adjusting device, formed of two electromagnets 14 with a gap therebetween, is energized to make the two electromagnets repulse or attract each other and thereby deform the membrane lip and decrease or increase the membrane lip gap 15. Thus, in CN'819, the adjusting of the lip gap is done by electromagnetic action between the two electromagnets 14.
As such, CN'819 also fails to teach or suggest that when the lip gap measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of the output shaft of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator, as now recited in Claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) discloses the output shaft of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap is adjustable, as required by the instant claims. As mentioned above, CN'819 discloses that when the lip gap measured in at least one of the plurality of positions is outside a predetermined range, a movement amount of the output shaft (the electromagnet 14 close to the movable lip and connected thereto which moves the movable lip) of the actuator corresponding to the at least one position is adjusted so that the lip gap between the movable lip and the mating lip becomes uniform, the movement amount of the output shaft being controlled by a control unit connected to the actuator. Even if Applicant disagrees that an output shaft of an actuator can be defined by the electromagnet 14 close to the movable lip and connected thereto which moves the movable lip (which disagreement can lead to file history estoppel), CN'819 clearly discloses actuating the actuators (electromagnets) to adjust the lip gap. And output shafts of actuators for adjusting lip gaps, as required by the instant claims, are known in the art as disclosed by Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082), as mentioned above. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation of success of combining Hattori et al. (US 5,051,082) in view of Gross (US 6,475,414) and CN 102744819, as mentioned above, because they are all in the same art and they all teach adjusting lip gaps using actuators.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744