DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to the Preliminary Amendment filed August 22, 2023. Claims 1-13, 15-16, 18, and 25-28 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of improper length and improper content. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 15-16, 18, 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bloomfield et al (US 2021/0318463).
As per claim 1, Bloomfield et al teach (Previously Presented) An automated vehicle comprising:
a control unit configured to control movement of the automated vehicle to a location adjacent an estimated location of a drill hole (see at least paragraphs [0044-0046, 0054-0059]) ;
a scanning portion including one or more scanning devices configured to scan an area of terrain in the vicinity of the estimated location of the drill hole in order to determine an actual location of the drill hole (see at least paragraphs [0009-0013]), and to generate a point cloud representing at least a portion of the interior of the drill hole, the point cloud generating information regarding the orientation and condition of the drill hole (see at least paragraphs [0077, 0097]);
at least one arm associated with the scanning portion, the at least one arm configured to move the scanning portion between a home position and one or more scanning positions (see at least paragraphs [0009-0025]); and
an end effector associated with the at least one arm, the end effector being configured to perform one or more operations; wherein, upon generating the point cloud, the at least one arm is configured, based on the point cloud, to position the end effector in substantial alignment with the drill hole so that the end effector can perform the one or more operations (see at least figs 1-3, paragraph [0006, 0017]).
As per claim 2, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the automated vehicle comprises a boom and an attachment portion configured to removably attach the scanning portion to the at least one arm (see at least paragraph [0006]).
As per claim 3, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the automated vehicle further comprises one or more conduits configured to provide a passageway for fluids and/or solids to flow into and/or out of the drill hole (see at least paragraphs [0065-0067]).
As per claim 4, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the control unit includes, or is associated, with a GPS unit (see at least paragraphs [0047, 0048]).
As per claim 5, Bloomfield et al teach wherein GPS co-ordinates of one or more drill holes are known, and the control unit controls movement of the automated vehicle to a location in the vicinity of the GPS co-ordinates of the one or more drill holes (see at least paragraphs [0046-0048, 0069, 0099]).
As per claim 6, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the automated vehicle further comprises a vision system (see at least paragraphs [0052, 0097]).
As per claim 7, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the vision system includes at least one camera configured to detect a terrain and/or identify a feature thereof (see at least paragraphs [0052, 0097]).
As per claim 8, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the at least one camera is positioned on the scanning portion and/or the at least one arm (see at least figs 1-3)
As per claim 9, Bloomfield et al teach wherein data from the vision system is used by the control unit to improve movement of the automated vehicle and/or the at least one arm (see at least paragraphs [0054]).
As per claim 10, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the data from the vision system is used to improve accuracy of a position calculation of the automated vehicle and/or the at least one arm (see at least paragraphs [0054]).
As per claim 11, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the data includes scanned terrain data, sensed object data and combinations thereof (see at least paragraphs [0049, 0055]).
As per claim 12, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the automated vehicle is operated autonomously or semi- autonomously (see at least paragraphs [0047, 0049]).
As per claim 13, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the estimated location of the drill hole is determined by the automated vehicle or is provided as GPS co-ordinates (see , at least paragraphs [0047-0048, 00690099]).
As per claim 15, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the one or more scanning devices include stereo cameras, LIDAR laser scanners, radar devices and/or acoustic devices (see at least paragraphs [0052, 0097]).
As per claim 16 Bloomfield et al teach wherein the point cloud is generated to a depth of up to 50 metres into the drill hole (non-functional descriptive language).
As per claim 18, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the point cloud is used to determine a centreline of the drill hole (see at least paragraphs [0065]).
As per claim 25, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the one or more operations performed by the end effector include placing one or more tools into the drill hole, remove or reduce obstructions or blockages in the drill hole, charge the drill hole with explosives and/or remove samples from the drill hole (see at least figs 1-3 and corresponding text).
Claims 26-27 contain similar limitations as the claims above and therefore are rejected under similar rationale.
As per claim 28, Bloomfield et al teach wherein the point cloud generates information regarding the orientation and condition of the drill hole (see at least paragraphs [0053-0055, 0142]).
Conclusion
/RAMSEY REFAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664