Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a-d) with reference to Application Number: KR10-2021-0110992 filed on 08/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609.
Drawings
The drawing(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81 to 1.85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependents therein rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "for discharging the air to the outside" in lines 5 - 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommends replacing the phrase with “for discharging the air to an outside of the mask” for appropriate correction.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “formed by opening” in lines 1 – 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommends replacing the phrase with “formed by a sealing coupling opening” for appropriate correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20200206545).
1. Kim discloses a mask device comprising: a mask cover (12, 22, and 42, which together cover the mask) having an air suction opening for suctioning air (221, 421, [0052]); a mask body coupled to the mask cover (11, 21, 41, which together form the body, see Fig. 4, [0061], [0047]), having a fan module fixed thereto for flowing air introduced into the air suction opening (24, 44, [0048]), and has air discharge opening for ejecting the air flowing by means of the fan module (111, see [0073]) and an air outlet for discharging the air to the outside (112, see [0216, 0217]); and a sealing portion separably coupled to a rear surface of the mask body (15, see [0084], Fig. 4), and having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body (upper portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, and lower portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, whereby both portions are coupled as illustrated in Fig. 3, so as to seal the gap between mask body and the user’s face as disclosed in [0084]; see also additional discussion in [0085 – 0091]).
2. Kim discloses the mask device of claim 1, wherein the sealing portion includes: a sealing front portion contacting a rear surface of the mask body and having a front opening formed therein (see Fig. 6A, flange of 151 contacting a rear surface, or otherwise portion contacting the mask body); a sealing side portion extending rearward from the sealing front portion (side wall extending from 151, as illustrated in Fig. 6a); and a sealing rear portion connected to the sealing side portion and having a rear opening formed therein (unlabeled flange opposite labeled flange 151 in Fig. 6a, or otherwise portion opposite the mask contact).
3. Kim discloses the mask device of claim 2, wherein the first body coupling portion and the second body coupling portion are formed on the sealing front portion (the sealing portion is used to seal the gap between the body portion and the user’s face as described in [0085 – 0091], and the front portion is coupled in order to both create and seal this deformable gap).
13. Kim discloses the mask device of claim 2, wherein the front opening is formed to surround the air discharge opening and the air outlet, wherein the rear opening is formed to surround the user's mouth and nose, and wherein a breathing space is defined in a space between the front opening and the rear opening (see Fig. 3, [0084 – 0091], wherein the breathing space equates to the discussed gap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 - 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hocking (US 20190175863).
4. Kim discloses the mask device of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the first body coupling portion is separably coupled to the rear surface of the mask body by magnetic force. Hocking discloses a mask coupled to a mask body, wherein the first upper body coupling portion and second lower body coupling portion are separably coupled to the rear surface of the mask body by magnetic force (see Figs. 2, 3, [0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mask connection of Kim according to the magnetic coupling connection described in Hocking for the benefit of ensuring easy coupling/detachment of the mask seal, as well as fostering correct orientation of the seal, see [0005, 0006], [0094].
5. The modified Kim discloses the mask device of claim 4, wherein a magnet member is provided on one of the mask body and the first body coupling portion, and wherein a metal member coupled to the magnet member or another magnet member is provided to the other one of the mask body and the first body coupling portion (see Hocking, [0093]).
Claim(s) 6 - 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hocking in view of Paden (US 20110084474).
6. The modified Kim discloses the mask device of claim 5. Hocking additionally discloses a protruding magnetic connection as a body protruding forward from the sealing front portion, as found in Figs. 8b and 8c, [0100]. However, Kim in view of Hocking does not disclose wherein the mask body is provided with a first sealing coupling portion to which the magnet member is fixed, wherein the first body coupling portion includes: a body protruding forward from the sealing front portion; an insertion guide provided inside the body; and, an insertion hole formed between the body and the insertion guide into which the metal member is inserted. In the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent art of magnetic couplings, Paden discloses wherein a first insertion body (50; see Figs. 1a – 3b) is provided with a first sealing coupling portion (51) to which the magnet member is fixed (ferromagnet 82), wherein a first body coupling portion (20) includes: a body protruding forward from a front portion (21 protruding forward from 26); an insertion guide provided inside the body (89); and, an insertion hole formed between the body and the insertion guide into which the metal member is inserted (ferromagnet 81, 83, 84, which is metallic material, and fits into the hole between the body 21 and guide 89 as described in [0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the magnetic coupling of Kim in view of Hocking according to the male/female magnet surrounded by ferromagnet coupling described in Paden for the benefit of reinforcing the magnetic connection by combining it with mechanical male/female insertion, as well as for a strong yet operationally detachable magnetic connection, see [0002], [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the protruding male connection on the front sealing portion of Kim. See for example Hocking, who discloses the protruding magnetic connection as a body protruding forward from the sealing front portion, as found in Figs. 8b and 8c, [0100]. Upon providing the connection as described, Kim in view of Hocking in view of Paden render obvious the mask body is provided with a first sealing coupling portion to which the magnet member is fixed, wherein the first body coupling portion includes: a body protruding forward from the sealing front portion; an insertion guide provided inside the body; and, an insertion hole formed between the body and the insertion guide into which the metal member is inserted.
7. The modified Kim discloses the mask device of claim 6, wherein the metal member is formed such that both end portions are bent in one direction (see Paden, both end portions 83 are bent at 81), and wherein fixing protrusions engaged and fixed to the insertion holes are formed at both bent end portions (the bent end portions segue to fixing protrusion 81, which fill up the insertion hole or gap formed by 89 as illustrated in Paden, see Figs. 1a – 3c; there are a plurality of fixing protrusions and insertion holes because there are a plurality of magnetic couplings, as discussed in Hocking above, see claim 4).
Claim(s) 8 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wang (CN 207040968).
8. Kim discloses the mask device of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the second body coupling portion includes: a protrusion portion protruding forward from the sealing front portion; and a bent portion bent downward at an end portion of the protrusion portion. Wang discloses a mask body and sealing portion having an upper first and a lower second body coupling portions, the second body coupling portion includes: a protrusion portion protruding forward from the sealing front portion; and a bent portion bent downward at an end portion of the protrusion portion (see Fig. 1, latches 71 form nipples that are bent both downwardly and upwardly from the protrusion or rear stem on which they attach). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the seal connection of Kim according to the latched connection of Wang for the predictable result of a releasably sealable connection provided to the front of the sealing portion as is known in the art (see bottom of page 4, provided translation).
9. The modified Kim discloses the mask device of claim 8, wherein the mask body includes a second sealing coupling portion formed by opening to insert the protrusion portion and the bent portion into the mask body (see Wang, Fig. 1, where both the bent latch and stem/protrusion are inserted into the opening in order to effect latching of the seal).
10. The modified Kim discloses the mask device of claim 3, wherein a plurality of first body coupling portions are provided to be spaced apart from the upper portion of the sealing front portion to both sides, and wherein a plurality of second body coupling portions are provided to be spaced apart from the lower portion of the sealing front portion to both sides (see Fig. 1 of Wang, 71, as well as explanation in claim 8 above).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lewis (US 4799477).
14. Kim discloses the mask device of claim 2, but does not disclose wherein a plurality of ventilation holes are formed in the sealing rear portion. Lewis discloses wherein a plurality of ventilation holes are formed in the sealing rear portion (see Figs. 3 and 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the seal of Kim to include holes, as taught in Lewis, for the benefit of venting of exhaled gases outside the seal so as to create a barrier based on the increased mask pressure, see c. 1: 12 – 18, and additionally for increasing the comfort of the wearer by reducing the surface area of resin material in contact with skin.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Shin (KR 20180009326).
15. Kim discloses the mask device of claim 2, but does not disclose further comprising: a sealing contact portion protruding forward from the sealing front portion and interposed between the sealing front portion and the rear surface of the mask body. Nonetheless, Shin discloses a sealing portion comprising a front, middle, and rear portion, wherein the front portion further comprises a sealing contact portion protruding forward from the sealing front portion and interposed between the sealing front portion and the rear surface of the mask body (see Fig. 7 and attachment 1 below, the contact portion is “SCP”, and so forth). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the seal of Kim according to the sealing contact portion of Shin for the benefit of a seal coupling that permits easy detachment of the seal, while allowing otherwise for firm engagement between the seal and the mask body, see p. 5, para. 9 of the provided translation.
Attachment 1
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3 and 11 – 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12214229 (hereinafter ‘229) in view of Kim.
1. ‘229 discloses a mask device comprising: a mask cover (c. 26: 1 – 2); a mask body coupled to the mask cover (c. 29: 59, c. 26: 1 – 2), having a fan module fixed thereto for flowing air (c. 26: 3 – 5), and has air discharge opening for ejecting the air flowing by means of the fan module and an air outlet for discharging the air to the outside (c. 26: 7 – 8); and a sealing portion (c. 25: 59 – 63).
However, ‘229 does not disclose the mask cover having an air suction opening for suctioning air for flowing air introduced into the air suction opening, and the sealing portion separably coupled to a rear surface of the mask body having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body. Nonetheless, Kim discloses a mask cover (12, 22, and 42, which together cover the mask) having an air suction opening for suctioning air (221, 421, [0052]); and a sealing portion separably coupled to a rear surface of the mask body (15, see [0084], Fig. 4), and having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body (upper portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, and lower portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, whereby both portions are coupled as illustrated in Fig. 3, so as to seal the gap between mask body and the user’s face as disclosed in [0084]; see also additional discussion in [0085 – 0091]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mask cover of ‘229 according to air suction opening Kim for the predictable result of admitting air into the mask. It additionally would have been obvious to modify the sealing portion of ‘229 according to the releasable sealing with upper and lower coupling portions as taught in Kim for the predictable result of sealing the gap between the mask body and the user’s face, while allowing for easy cleaning.
‘229 in view of Kim furthermore render obvious dependent claims 2, 3, 11, 12, and 13 of the instant claims. With respect to claims 11 and 12, it is noted that ‘229 discloses a sealing insertion portion inserted into the air discharge opening in claim 9, where the air discharge opening corresponds to the middle portion of the mask body and forms a spaced pair, as illustrated in Fig. 4 of Kim.
Claims 1 – 3 and 11 - 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, 12, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12090348 (hereinafter ‘348) in view of Kim.
1. ‘348 discloses a mask device comprising: a mask cover having an air suction opening for suctioning air (c. 25: 29 – 32); a mask body coupled to the mask cover (c. 25: 22), having a fan module fixed thereto for flowing air introduced into the air suction opening (c. 25: 25 – 28), and has air discharge opening for ejecting the air flowing by means of the fan module (c. 25: 50) and a sealing portion (c. 26: 63 – 68, claim 11).
However, Kim does not disclose an air outlet for discharging the air to the outside; and a sealing portion separably coupled to a rear surface of the mask body, and having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body. However, Kim discloses an air outlet for discharging the air to the outside (112, see [0216, 0217]); and a sealing portion separably coupled to a rear surface of the mask body, and having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body (upper portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, and lower portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, whereby both portions are coupled as illustrated in Fig. 3, so as to seal the gap between mask body and the user’s face as disclosed in [0084]; see also additional discussion in [0085 – 0091]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mask cover of ‘229 according to the air outlet Kim for the predictable result of allowing the user to exhale. It additionally would have been obvious to modify the sealing portion of ‘229 according to the releasable sealing with upper and lower coupling portions as taught in Kim for the predictable result of sealing the gap between the mask body and the user’s face, while allowing for easy cleaning.
‘348 in view of Kim furthermore render obvious dependent claims 2, 3, 11, 12, and 13 of the instant claims. With respect to claims 11 and 12, it is noted that ‘348 discloses a sealing insertion portion inserted into the air discharge opening (claim 12 of ‘348), where the air discharge opening corresponds to the middle portion of the mask body and forms a spaced pair (claim 15 of ‘348).
Claims 1 – 4 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 17/868107 (hereinafter ‘107) in view of Kim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
1. ‘107 discloses a mask device comprising: a mask body (claim 1, “mask body”) having an air module fixed thereto for flowing air introduced into the air suction opening (claim 1, “air cleaning module”), an air suction opening (“suction hole”), and an air outlet for discharging the air to the outside (“discharge hole”); and a sealing portion separably coupled to a rear surface of the mask body (“face guard… defining a breathing space”), and having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body (“first and second magnetic bodies”).
However, ‘107 does not disclose a mask cover having an air suction opening for suctioning air; a mask body coupled to the mask cover, and has air discharge opening for ejecting the air flowing by means of the fan module having a fan module. Nonetheless, Kim discloses a mask cover having an air suction opening for suctioning air (221, 421, [0052]); a mask body coupled to the mask cover (11, 21, 41, which together form the body, see Fig. 4, [0061], [0047]), and the mask body has air discharge opening for ejecting the air flowing by means of the fan module having a fan module (111, see [0073]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mask cover of ‘107 according to air suction opening and cover of Kim for the predictable result of admitting air into the mask while protecting the mask body.
‘107 in view of Kim furthermore render obvious dependent claims 2, 3, 4, and 13.
Claims 1 – 7 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 17/868109 (hereinafter ‘109) in view of Kim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
1. ‘109 discloses a mask device comprising: a mask body (claim 1, “mask body”) having an air module fixed thereto for flowing air introduced into the air suction opening (claim 1, “air cleaning module”), an air suction opening (“suction hole”), and an air outlet for discharging the air to the outside (“discharge hole”); and a sealing portion separably coupled to a rear surface of the mask body (“face guard… separably coupled”).
However, ‘109 does not disclose a mask cover having an air suction opening for suctioning air; a mask body coupled to the mask cover, and has air discharge opening for ejecting the air flowing by means of the fan module having a fan module, and having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body. Nonetheless, Kim discloses a mask cover having an air suction opening for suctioning air (221, 421, [0052]); a mask body coupled to the mask cover (11, 21, 41, which together form the body, see Fig. 4, [0061], [0047]), and the mask body has air discharge opening for ejecting the air flowing by means of the fan module having a fan module (111, see [0073]), and having a first body coupling portion supported on an upper portion of the mask body and a second body coupling portion supported on a lower portion of the mask body (upper portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, and lower portion of the seal 15 connected to the mask body, whereby both portions are coupled as illustrated in Fig. 3, so as to seal the gap between mask body and the user’s face as disclosed in [0084]; see also additional discussion in [0085 – 0091]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mask cover of ‘107 according to air suction opening and cover of Kim for the predictable result of admitting air into the mask while protecting the mask body.
‘109 in view of Kim furthermore render obvious dependent claims 2 – 7 and 13. With respect to claims 5 – 8 in the instant application, please see claims 1 and 6 – 8 in ‘109.
Claims 1 – 3 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. US 12063990 (hereinafter ‘990) in view of Kim. It is noted that claims 1 and 11 in ‘990 disclose the features of claim 1 from the instant application, where Kim further renders obvious features to the air suction opening on the mask cover and separable seal as discussed in the rejections above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, as suggested in this Office action, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Terminal disclaimers would additionally be required to overcome the rejections under double patenting.
With regard to claim 11, the closest prior art of record to Kim in view of Wang does not render obvious wherein a sealing insertion portion is further formed on the sealing front portion so that a portion thereof is inserted into the air discharge opening and supported in the middle portion of the mask body. It is noted that it would not have been obvious to provide such a modification as the insertion portion could potentially block airflow from exiting the discharge portion, without providing any ostensible benefit. As such, no prior art has been applied under 35 USC 102 or 103 to claims 11 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
CN 212817681 – detachable seal
US 20200197649 – magnetic coupling with protrusions on seal
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799