Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, reading on claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search for group I would result in discovery of groups II-IV and there is no additional burden; US 2009-0221531 does not teach purification ex vivo. This is not found persuasive because ex vivo is not a required part of the special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-6 and 8 recite the limitation "contaminated water". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This term has previously been defined. It is not clear if it is the same or different contaminated water.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0221531 by Coppolino et al. (Coppolino).
In regard to claim 1, Coppolino teaches a method for the removal of heavy metal contamination from water comprising contacting contaminated water with inositol hexakiphosphate-hexacitrate (IP6-citrate) to produce purified water ([0007]-[0008]; [0013]; [0023]; Table 2; [0037]).
In regard to claim 9, Coppolino teaches the heavy metal contaminated water is contaminated with antimony, arsenic, cadmium, cerium, chromium, copper, europium, iron, nickel, lead, lithium, magnesium, mercury, molybdenum, potassium, sodium, zinc, or mixtures ([0023]-[0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0221531 by Coppolino et al. (Coppolino), as noted above, in view of Adsorption of selected heavy meatls on modified nano cellulose by Madivoli (Madivoli).
In regard to claim 2, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Coppolino does not teach the IP6-citrate is provided as IP6-citrate-modified cellulose material.
Madivoli teaches citric acid is modified with cellulose to be used as an adsorbent for heavy metals (Conclusion). Madivoli teaches cellulose is an inexpensive renewable bio based raw material used as a filter membrane (abstract). Madivoli teahces citric acid modified cellulose has a good capacity to remove heavy metals (abstract).
It would be obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to incorporate cellulose as a packing material adsorbent, as taught by Madivoli, with IP6-citrate of Coppolino as it is a known raw material used for filter membranes with applications involving heavy metals. There are many advantages to using cellulose such as it being inexpensive and having a good capacity to remove heavy metals.
In regard to claim 3, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Further, Coppolino teaches the IP6-citrate- material is in the form of particles ([0007]; crystalline powder, Table 2; ).
In regard to claim 4, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Further, Coppolino teaches the IP6-citrate-modified cellulose material are mixed with contaminated water followed by filtration to remove the IP6-citrate modified cellulose particles ([0021]).
In regard to claim 5, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Madivoli teaches reducing the amount of heavy metals in water samples through adsorption with citric acid modified cellulose (3.9). Madivoli teaches adsorbent dosage was increased and metal adsorption efficiency was increased as a result (3.9). Madivoli teahces available adsorption sites increased by increasing the adsorbent dose (3.9). Modified Coppolino does not teach the IP6-citrate-modified cellulose material are mixed with contaminated water in an amount of about 0.25-2.5 g/kg contaminated water. As the method efficiency of operation, metal adsorption efficiency, cost of operation, and adsorbent sites are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said adsorbent dosage, the precise adsorbent dosage would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed adsorbent dosage cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the adsorbent dosage in the method of modified Coppolino to obtain the desired balance between the adsorption efficiency and cost (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
In regard to claim 6, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Madivoli teaches the material are mixed with contaminated water for about 1-30 minutes (3.7, Figure 6).
In regard to claim 7, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Madivoli teahces packed bed (abstract).
In regard to claim 8, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Coppolino teahces contaminated water is passed over the particles to produce purified water ([0007]-[0008]; [0013]; [0023]; Table 2; [0037]). Additionally, Madivoli teaches contaminated water is passed over the packed bed to produce the purified water (abstract).
In regard to claims 10-12, Coppolino teaches the limitations as noted above. Modified Coppolino does not teach the purified water contains 5%, 2%, or 1% or less of the heavy metals contained in the contaminated water.
As the metal adsorption efficiency and cost of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said water contamination level, the precise water contamination level would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed water contamination level cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the adsorbent dosage and length of contact time in the method of modified Coppolino to obtain the desired balance between the adsorption efficiency and cost (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/KARA M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777