DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 8/22/2023 and 10/7/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-12 are pending with claims 9-12 being withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 10/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/7/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueda et al. (JP 2016187013A, original and translation provided and in IDS of 8/22/2023), hereinafter UEDA.
Regarding claim 1, UEDA teaches: A battery module manufacturing apparatus (UEDA teaches a battery module manufacturing apparatus [0001; Fig. 2]) comprising: a pressing jig (UEDA teaches a pressing jig (20) [0013; 0031-0032; Fig. 2].); and a base jig located under the pressing jig (UEDA teaches a base jig (30) [0041; Fig. 2].), wherein the base jig comprises a temperature convertor capable of switching between a heating function and a cooling function (UEDA teaches the base jig (30) has a heating and cooling mechanism (15) to control the temperature and is capable of switching between heating and cooling [0014; 0016-0017; 0025; Fig. 2].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (JP 2016187013A), hereinafter UEDA, in view of Covington et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0106799), hereinafter COVINGTON.
Regarding claim 2, UEDA teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including the temperature convertor heats and cools the battery module at an upper end of the base [0014; 0016-0017; 0025; Fig. 2], but is silent as to: wherein the temperature convertor comprises a thermoelectric device. In the same field of endeavor, bonding apparatus, COVINGTON teaches thermoelectric modules (620) capable of heating and cooling the platens (602, 604) [0096; Fig. 16]. COVINGTON shows the thermoelectric modules (626) are at an upper end of the base jig (606) [Fig. 16]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA by substituting the heating and cooling mechanism with a thermoelectric device, as suggested by COVINGTON, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 3, COVINGTON further teaches: wherein the thermoelectric device is a Peltier element (COVINGTON teaches the thermoelectric modules can be Peltier modules [0096; Fig. 16].).
Regarding claim 4, UEDA teaches: wherein a thermal pad is located at an upper end of the thermoelectric device (UEDA teaches a thermal pad (18) is located at an upper end of the heating and cooling mechanism (15) [0018; Fig. 2].).
Regarding claim 5, UEDA teaches: wherein a cooler is located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device (UEDA teaches the heating and cooling mechanism is also at a lower end [Fig. 2].).
Regarding claim 5, COVINGTON further teaches: wherein a cooler is located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device (COVINGTON teaches a cooler (626) is located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device (620) [0096; Fig. 16].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA, by having a cooler located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device, as suggested by COVINGTON, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 8, UEDA teaches: wherein a temperature sensor electrically connected to a controller is located at the temperature convertor (UEDA teaches a temperature control unit [0008]. UEDA teaches the mounting plate (14) is the heating and cooling control unit and the heating and cooling mechanism (15) is controlled by a temperature sensor [0014; 0018].), and wherein the controller controls a temperature of the temperature convertor using received temperature data (UEDA teaches the control unit (14) controls the output of the heating and cooling mechanism (15) based on the temperature sensor [0018].). UEDA does not explicitly teach: wherein the controller controls a temperature of the temperature convertor using received temperature data. In the same field of endeavor, bonding apparatus, COVINGTON teaches the system controller (630) receives signals from the temperature sensors (632, 634) to facilitate temperature control, preferably using a feedback loop [0096]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA, by having the controller adjust the temperature from the data from the temperature sensor, as suggested by COVINGTON, in order to have precise control of the device layer’s cooling and heating [0096].
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (JP 2016187013A), hereinafter UEDA, and Covington et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0106799), hereinafter COVINGTON, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Vogt (U.S. 5,399,223), hereinafter VOGT.
Regarding claim 6, UEDA and COVINGTON teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the cooler comprises a cooling fin. In the same field of endeavor, laminating, VOGT teaches a cooler comprises a cooling fins [Col. 7, lines 24-28]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA and COVINGTON, by having a cooler (21) comprise a cooling fin (21b), as suggested by VOGT, as it’s a known option in the art [Col. 7, lines 24-25]. See also KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 7, COVINGTON further teaches: wherein the cooler comprises one or more cooling fans located at a lower end of the cooling fin (COVINGTON teaches the cooler (626) comprises fans [0096; Fig. 16]). In the alternative, VOGT teaches the cooling block (21a) may additionally be cooled by the air flow of a cooling fan [Col. 8, lines 40-45]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA and COVINGTON, by having a cooler comprise an additional cooling fan, as suggested by VOGT, as it’s a known option in the art [Col. 7, lines 24-25]. See also KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748