DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 6/4/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 9-12 have been cancelled. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 5-7, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant argues that the newly amended limitations are not taught by the prior art of record. The Examiner agrees that the newly amended limitations are not taught by the prior art of record. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of AXTNER et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0226277), hereinafter AXTNER.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (JP 2016187013A), hereinafter UEDA, in view of AXTNER et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0226277), hereinafter AXTNER.
Regarding claim 1, UEDA teaches: A battery module manufacturing apparatus (UEDA teaches a battery module manufacturing apparatus [0001; Fig. 2]) comprising: a pressing jig (UEDA teaches a pressing jig (20) [0013; 0031-0032; Fig. 2].); and a base jig located under the pressing jig (UEDA teaches a base jig (30) [0041; Fig. 2].), wherein the base jig comprises: a battery module mounting portion configured to support a battery module (UEDA teaches a batter module mounting portion (34) configured to support a battery module [Fig. 10; 0037].); . . . ; and a temperature convertor capable of switching between a heating function and a cooling function (UEDA teaches the base jig (30) has a heating and cooling mechanism (15) to control the temperature and is capable of switching between heating and cooling [0014; 0016-0017; 0025; Fig. 2].).
UEDA teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to the base jig comprising: a battery module supporting portion configured to support a battery module mounted to the battery module mounting portion. In the same field of endeavor, AXTNER teaches a base jig with a battery module supporting portion (104/112) configured to support a battery module (400) mounted to the battery module mounting portion (106) [Fig. 4; 0034; 0045]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA, by having a module supporting portion, as suggested by AXTNER, in order to form compartments [0034].
Claim(s) 2-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (JP 2016187013A), hereinafter UEDA, and AXTNER et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0226277), hereinafter AXTNER, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Covington et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0106799), hereinafter COVINGTON.
Regarding claim 2, UEDA and AXTNER teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including the temperature convertor heats and cools the battery module at an upper end of the base [0014; 0016-0017; 0025; Fig. 2], but is silent as to: wherein the temperature convertor comprises a thermoelectric device. In the same field of endeavor, bonding apparatus, COVINGTON teaches thermoelectric modules (620) capable of heating and cooling the platens (602, 604) [0096; Fig. 16]. COVINGTON shows the thermoelectric modules (626) are at an upper end of the base jig (606) [Fig. 16]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA by substituting the heating and cooling mechanism with a thermoelectric device, as suggested by COVINGTON, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 3, COVINGTON further teaches: wherein the thermoelectric device is a Peltier element (COVINGTON teaches the thermoelectric modules can be Peltier modules [0096; Fig. 16].).
Regarding claim 4, UEDA teaches: wherein a thermal pad is located at an upper end of the thermoelectric device (UEDA teaches a thermal pad (18) is located at an upper end of the heating and cooling mechanism (15) [0018; Fig. 2].).
Regarding claim 5, UEDA teaches: wherein a cooler is located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device (UEDA teaches the heating and cooling mechanism is also at a lower end [Fig. 2].).
Regarding claim 5, COVINGTON further teaches: wherein a cooler is located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device (COVINGTON teaches a cooler (626) is located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device (620) [0096; Fig. 16].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA, by having a cooler located at a lower end of the thermoelectric device, as suggested by COVINGTON, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 8, UEDA teaches: wherein a temperature sensor electrically connected to a controller is located at the temperature convertor (UEDA teaches a temperature control unit [0008]. UEDA teaches the mounting plate (14) is the heating and cooling control unit and the heating and cooling mechanism (15) is controlled by a temperature sensor [0014; 0018].), and wherein the controller controls a temperature of the temperature convertor using received temperature data (UEDA teaches the control unit (14) controls the output of the heating and cooling mechanism (15) based on the temperature sensor [0018].). UEDA does not explicitly teach: wherein the controller controls a temperature of the temperature convertor using received temperature data. In the same field of endeavor, bonding apparatus, COVINGTON teaches the system controller (630) receives signals from the temperature sensors (632, 634) to facilitate temperature control, preferably using a feedback loop [0096]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA and AXTNER, by having the controller adjust the temperature from the data from the temperature sensor, as suggested by COVINGTON, in order to have precise control of the device layer’s cooling and heating [0096].
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (JP 2016187013A), hereinafter UEDA, AXTNER et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0226277), hereinafter AXTNER, and Covington et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0106799), hereinafter COVINGTON, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Vogt (U.S. 5,399,223), hereinafter VOGT.
Regarding claim 6, UEDA, AXTNER and COVINGTON teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the cooler comprises a cooling fin. In the same field of endeavor, laminating, VOGT teaches a cooler comprises a cooling fins [Col. 7, lines 24-28]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA, AXTNER and COVINGTON, by having a cooler (21) comprise a cooling fin (21b), as suggested by VOGT, as it’s a known option in the art [Col. 7, lines 24-25]. See also KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 7, COVINGTON further teaches: wherein the cooler comprises one or more cooling fans located at a lower end of the cooling fin (COVINGTON teaches the cooler (626) comprises fans [0096; Fig. 16]). In the alternative, VOGT teaches the cooling block (21a) may additionally be cooled by the air flow of a cooling fan [Col. 8, lines 40-45]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify UEDA, AXTNER and COVINGTON, by having a cooler comprise an additional cooling fan, as suggested by VOGT, as it’s a known option in the art [Col. 7, lines 24-25]. See also KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748