Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claims 1 and 2 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220095346 A1 (hereinafter Khoshnevisan) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63081147 20200921, hereinafter prov), in view of US 20210297191 A1 (hereinafter Takeda) and US 20230198684 A1 (hereinafter Ling).
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan teaches A terminal apparatus comprising (Khoshnevisan Fig. 1;
[0026] The wireless communications system includes base stations 102, UEs 104 (prov Fig. 1, [0023]).
[0028] The base stations 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104 (prov [0025]).
Fig. 9 apparatus 902; [0082] The apparatus 902 may be a UE (prov Fig. 8, [0069]).):
reception circuitry configured to receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to which
a downlink control information (DCI) format is mapped (Khoshnevisan
Fig. 9, reception component 930; [0083] The reception component 830 is configured to receive a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource (prov [0070]).[0078] the UE may receive DCI scheduling the PUCCH transmission. The DCI indicates the PUCCH resource associated with the PUCCH resource configuration (prov [0067]).
[0047] The physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carries DCI. A UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space (e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space) during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (prov [0041]).
); and
transmission circuitry configured to transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) corresponding to a PUCCH resource indicated based on the DCI format (Khoshnevisan Fig. 9, transmission component 934; [0078] the UE may receive DCI scheduling the PUCCH transmission. The DCI indicates the PUCCH resource associated with the PUCCH resource configuration (prov Fig. 8; [0067]).
[0070] the UE 602 transmits a PUCCH 608 in the PUCCH resource based on the at least one of the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a or the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b configured in the PUCCH resource configuration (prov [0062]).),
Wherein: a first higher layer parameter is configured for a PUCCH format corresponding to the PUCCH (Khoshnevisan Fig. 4; [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating PUCCH formats 402, a PUCCH format configuration IE 404, and a PUCCH resource IE 406 (prov Fig. 4, [0052]).
[0061] PUCCH repetition in different slots may be supported for PUCCH formats 1, 3, and 4. A number of PUCCH repetitions is RRC configured for a given PUCCH format through the field nrofSlots (2, 4, or 8 slots) within the PUCCH format configuration IE 404. The format field nrofSlots may be referred to as a PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a. As the PUCCH format configuration IE 404 configures a format with the same PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a, all PUCCH resources with that format will have the same PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a (i.e., the same number of PUCCH repetitions) (prov [0054]).),
in a case that a second higher layer parameter is configured for the PUCCH resource, a number of repetitions of the PUCCH is a value of the second higher layer parameter (Khoshnevisan
[0064] a number of PUCCH repetitions and/or inter-slot (or inter-repetition) frequency hopping can be RRC configured per PUCCH resource configuration (e.g., instead of per PUCCH format, or overriding the configuration per PUCCH format). For example, the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold), and/or a PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b through, for example, the field interslotFrequencyHopping (indicated in bold). Both the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a and the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b are specifically for the PUCCH resource and are independent of PUCCH formats (prov [0057]).
[0072]while the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a and the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b are configured semi-statically through RRC signaling, multiple different PUCCH resource IEs may define different PUCCH resources with different configurations of the PUCCH repetition/PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping, and the UE 602 may be configured with PUCCH repetition/PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping dynamically through a received DCI 606 that indicates the PUCCH resource (prov [0064]).)
and the first higher layer parameter is ignored (Khoshnevisan [0067] With respect to conflict resolution of a legacy RRC configuration through the PUCCH format configuration IE 404 versus the RRC configuration through the PUCCH resource IE 406, if the number of PUCCH repetitions/PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping (enabled or disabled) is configured for a PUCCH format, a UE may determine whether to use the PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a or the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a. If a PUCCH resource that is configured with that PUCCH format is configured, via RRC, or activated, via MAC-CE, with a different number of PUCCH repetitions or a different configuration of PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping, the UE may override the PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a with the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a (prov [0060]).).
in a case that the second higher layer parameter is not configured, the number of repetitions of the PUCCH is a value of the first higher layer parameter (Khoshnevisan [0067] If a PUCCH resource that is configured with that PUCCH format is not configured or activated with a number of PUCCH repetitions or a configuration of PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping, in a first configuration, the RRC configuration of the PUCCH format may be assumed (for PUCCH repetition and/or PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping) when PUCCH is transmitted using the PUCCH resource (prov [0060]).),
the value of the second higher layer parameter is indicated based on the DCI format (Khoshnevisan [0064] a number of PUCCH repetitions and/or inter-slot (or inter-repetition) frequency hopping can be RRC configured per PUCCH resource configuration (e.g., instead of per PUCCH format, or overriding the configuration per PUCCH format). For example, the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold), and/or a PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b through, for example, the field interslotFrequencyHopping (indicated in bold). Both the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a and the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b are specifically for the PUCCH resource and are independent of PUCCH formats (prov [0057]).
[0065] DCI may include a PRI field that indicates a PUCCH resource with a number of PUCCH repetitions. Accordingly, dynamic indication of the number of PUCCH repetitions may be achieved by dynamic indication of a PUCCH resource (prov [0058]).),
the value of the first higher layer parameter is selected from 2, 4, and 8 (Khoshnevisan Fig. 4; [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating PUCCH formats 402, a PUCCH format configuration IE 404, and a PUCCH resource IE 406 (prov Fig. 4, [0052])
[0061] PUCCH repetition in different slots may be supported for PUCCH formats 1, 3, and 4. A number of PUCCH repetitions is RRC configured for a given PUCCH format through the field nrofSlots (2, 4, or 8 slots) within the PUCCH format configuration IE 404. (prov [0054])),
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 2, 4, and 8 (Khoshnevisan Fig. 4; [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating PUCCH formats 402, a PUCCH format configuration IE 404, and a PUCCH resource IE 406 (prov Fig. 4, [0052])
[0064] the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold). (prov [0057])
As shown in Fig. 4, PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a, nrofSlots can have values 2, 4 and 8.),
in a case that the number of repetitions of the PUCCH, having a value of N, is greater than 1, the transmission circuitry repeats the PUCCH transmission in N slots (Khoshnevisan [0064] the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold). (prov [0057])
[0070] A UE 602 receives, from a base station 604, a PUCCH resource configuration 406 (in a PUCCH resource IE) associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration 406 indicates at least one of a PUCCH resource repetition configuration (e.g., 406a). the UE 602 transmits a PUCCH 608 in the PUCCH resource based on the at least one of the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a (prov [0062]).), Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the transmission circuitry transmits the PUCCH without repetition, and the N slots are not continuous.
Ling in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the transmission circuitry transmits the PUCCH without repetition (Ling [0038] As an example of the first embodiment, the RRC configuration of PUCCH resource in TS 38.331 may add a line to indicate the repetition number of PUCCH. In the following example, the added line is named as nrofSlots with possible values of any one of {n1,n2,n4,n8}.
TABLE-US-00001 PUCCH-Resource ::= SEQUENCE pucch-ResourceId PUCCH-ResourceId, startingPRB PRB-Id, intraSlotFrequencyHopping ENUMERATED { enabled } secondHopPRB PRB-Id format CHOICE { format0 PUCCH-format0, format1 PUCCH-format1, format2 PUCCH-format2, format3 PUCCH-format3, format4 PUCCH-format4 } nrofSlots ENUMERATED {n1,n2,n4,n8} }
Note: as shown in the above, the second high layer parameter (nrofSlots in PUCCH-Resource) is selected from 1, 2, 4, 8. When it is set to 1, the PUCCH is transmitted once, i.e. without repetition.),
By modifying Khoshnevisan’s teachings of
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 2, 4, and 8,
with Ling’s teachings of
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the transmission circuitry transmits the PUCCH without repetition,
the modification results in
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the transmission circuitry transmits the PUCCH without repetition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan with Ling’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the indication of the repetition number of PUCCH (Ling [0004]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Ling does not explicitly teach and the N slots are not continuous.
Takeda in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and the N slots are not continuous (Takeda [0063] The UE may repeat the UCI, which is transmitted by PUCCH in the first slot of the number of repetitions, even in the remaining slots of the number of repetitions. The number of symbols for PUCCH and the starting symbol may be the same in each slot to which the repetition is applied. Note that the PUCCH repetition may be performed in continuous slots or in non-continuous slots.).
By modifying Khoshnevisan’s teachings of
in a case that the number of repetitions of the PUCCH, having a value of N, is greater than 1, the transmission circuitry repeats the PUCCH transmission in N slots
with Takeda’s teachings of and the N slots are not continuous,
the modification results in
in a case that the number of repetitions of the PUCCH, having a value of N, is greater than 1, the transmission circuitry repeats the PUCCH transmission in N slots, and the N slots are not continuous.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan as modified by Ling with Takeda’s above teachings. The motivation is appropriately transmitting the UCI when the PUCCH repetition is used (Takeda [0011]).
Claim 3 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 2, Khoshnevisan teaches A base station apparatus comprising (Khoshnevisan
Fig. 1; [0026] The wireless communications system includes base stations 102, UEs 104 (prov Fig. 1, [0023]). [0028] The base stations 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104 (prov [0025]).):
transmission circuitry configured to transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to
which a downlink control information (DCI) format is mapped
(Khoshnevisan Fig. 3, TX processor 316; [0050] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network (prov Fig. 3, [0044]).
[0078] the UE may receive DCI scheduling the PUCCH transmission. The DCI indicates the PUCCH resource associated with the PUCCH resource configuration (prov [0067]).
[0047] The physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carries DCI. A UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space (e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space) during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (prov [0041]).); and
reception circuitry configured to receive a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)
corresponding to a PUCCH resource indicated based on the DCI format (Khoshnevisan Fig. 3, RX processor 370; [0078] the UE may receive DCI scheduling the PUCCH transmission. The DCI indicates the PUCCH resource associated with the PUCCH resource configuration (prov Fig. 3; [0067]).
[0070] the UE 602 transmits a PUCCH 608 in the PUCCH resource based on the at least one of the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a or the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b configured in the PUCCH resource configuration (prov [0062]).),
wherein: a first higher layer parameter is configured for a PUCCH format corresponding to the PUCCH (Khoshnevisan Fig. 4; [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating PUCCH formats 402, a PUCCH format configuration IE 404, and a PUCCH resource IE 406 (prov Fig. 4, [0052]).
[0061] PUCCH repetition in different slots may be supported for PUCCH formats 1, 3, and 4. A number of PUCCH repetitions is RRC configured for a given PUCCH format through the field nrofSlots (2, 4, or 8 slots) within the PUCCH format configuration IE 404. The format field nrofSlots may be referred to as a PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a. As the PUCCH format configuration IE 404 configures a format with the same PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a, all PUCCH resources with that format will have the same PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a (i.e., the same number of PUCCH repetitions) (prov [0054]).),
in a case that a second higher layer parameter is configured for the PUCCH resource, a number of repetitions of the PUCCH is a value of the second higher layer parameter (Khoshnevisan
[0064] a number of PUCCH repetitions and/or inter-slot (or inter-repetition) frequency hopping can be RRC configured per PUCCH resource configuration (e.g., instead of per PUCCH format, or overriding the configuration per PUCCH format). For example, the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold), and/or a PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b through, for example, the field interslotFrequencyHopping (indicated in bold). Both the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a and the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b are specifically for the PUCCH resource and are independent of PUCCH formats (prov [0057]).
[0072]while the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a and the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b are configured semi-statically through RRC signaling, multiple different PUCCH resource IEs may define different PUCCH resources with different configurations of the PUCCH repetition/PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping, and the UE 602 may be configured with PUCCH repetition/PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping dynamically through a received DCI 606 that indicates the PUCCH resource (prov [0064]).)
and the first higher layer parameter is ignored (Khoshnevisan [0067] With respect to conflict resolution of a legacy RRC configuration through the PUCCH format configuration IE 404 versus the RRC configuration through the PUCCH resource IE 406, if the number of PUCCH repetitions/PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping (enabled or disabled) is configured for a PUCCH format, a UE may determine whether to use the PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a or the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a. If a PUCCH resource that is configured with that PUCCH format is configured, via RRC, or activated, via MAC-CE, with a different number of PUCCH repetitions or a different configuration of PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping, the UE may override the PUCCH format repetition configuration 404a with the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a (prov [0060]).),
in a case that the second higher layer parameter is not configured, the number of repetitions of the PUCCH is a value of the first higher layer parameter (Khoshnevisan [0067] If a PUCCH resource that is configured with that PUCCH format is not configured or activated with a number of PUCCH repetitions or a configuration of PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping, in a first configuration, the RRC configuration of the PUCCH format may be assumed (for PUCCH repetition and/or PUCCH inter-slot frequency hopping) when PUCCH is transmitted using the PUCCH resource (prov [0060]).),
the value of the second higher layer parameter is indicated based on the DCI format (Khoshnevisan [0064] a number of PUCCH repetitions and/or inter-slot (or inter-repetition) frequency hopping can be RRC configured per PUCCH resource configuration (e.g., instead of per PUCCH format, or overriding the configuration per PUCCH format). For example, the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold), and/or a PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b through, for example, the field interslotFrequencyHopping (indicated in bold). Both the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a and the PUCCH resource inter-slot frequency hopping configuration 406b are specifically for the PUCCH resource and are independent of PUCCH formats (prov [0057]).
[0065] DCI may include a PRI field that indicates a PUCCH resource with a number of PUCCH repetitions. Accordingly, dynamic indication of the number of PUCCH repetitions may be achieved by dynamic indication of a PUCCH resource (prov [0058]).),
the value of the first higher layer parameter is selected from 2, 4, and 8 (Khoshnevisan Fig. 4; [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating PUCCH formats 402, a PUCCH format configuration IE 404, and a PUCCH resource IE 406 (prov Fig. 4, [0052])
[0061] PUCCH repetition in different slots may be supported for PUCCH formats 1, 3, and 4. A number of PUCCH repetitions is RRC configured for a given PUCCH format through the field nrofSlots (2, 4, or 8 slots) within the PUCCH format configuration IE 404. (prov [0054])),
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 2, 4, and 8 (Khoshnevisan Fig. 4; [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating PUCCH formats 402, a PUCCH format configuration IE 404, and a PUCCH resource IE 406 (prov Fig. 4, [0052])
[0064] the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold). (prov [0057])
As shown in Fig. 4, PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a, nrofSlots can have values 2, 4 and 8.),
in a case that the number of repetitions of the PUCCH, having a value of N, is greater than 1, the transmission circuitry repeats the PUCCH transmission in N slots (Khoshnevisan [0064] the PUCCH resource IE 406 may provide a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration for the PUCCH resource may indicate a PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a through, for example, the field nrofSlots (indicated in bold). (prov [0057])
[0070] A UE 602 receives, from a base station 604, a PUCCH resource configuration 406 (in a PUCCH resource IE) associated with a PUCCH resource. The PUCCH resource configuration 406 indicates at least one of a PUCCH resource repetition configuration (e.g., 406a). the UE 602 transmits a PUCCH 608 in the PUCCH resource based on the at least one of the PUCCH resource repetition configuration 406a (prov [0062]).), Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the PUCCH is transmitted without repetition, and the N slots are not continuous.
Ling in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the PUCCH is transmitted without repetition (Ling [0038] As an example of the first embodiment, the RRC configuration of PUCCH resource in TS 38.331 may add a line to indicate the repetition number of PUCCH. In the following example, the added line is named as nrofSlots with possible values of any one of {n1,n2,n4,n8}.
TABLE-US-00001 PUCCH-Resource ::= SEQUENCE pucch-ResourceId PUCCH-ResourceId, startingPRB PRB-Id, intraSlotFrequencyHopping ENUMERATED { enabled } secondHopPRB PRB-Id format CHOICE { format0 PUCCH-format0, format1 PUCCH-format1, format2 PUCCH-format2, format3 PUCCH-format3, format4 PUCCH-format4 } nrofSlots ENUMERATED {n1,n2,n4,n8} }
Note: as shown in the above, the second high layer parameter (nrofSlots in PUCCH-Resource) is selected from 1, 2, 4, 8. When it is set to 1, the PUCCH is transmitted once, i.e. without repetition.),
By modifying Khoshnevisan’s teachings of
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 2, 4, and 8,
with Ling’s teachings of
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the PUCCH is transmitted without repetition,
the modification results in
the value of the second higher layer parameter is selected from 1, 2, 4, and 8, in a case that the value of the second higher layer parameter is set to 1, the PUCCH is transmitted without repetition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan with Ling’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the indication of the repetition number of PUCCH (Ling [0004]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Ling does not explicitly teach and the N slots are not continuous.
Takeda in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and the N slots are not continuous (Takeda [0063] The UE may repeat the UCI, which is transmitted by PUCCH in the first slot of the number of repetitions, even in the remaining slots of the number of repetitions. The number of symbols for PUCCH and the starting symbol may be the same in each slot to which the repetition is applied. Note that the PUCCH repetition may be performed in continuous slots or in non-continuous slots.).
By modifying Khoshnevisan’s teachings of
in a case that the number of repetitions of the PUCCH, having a value of N, is greater than 1, the transmission circuitry repeats the PUCCH transmission in N slots
with Takeda’s teachings of and the N slots are not continuous,
the modification results in
in a case that the number of repetitions of the PUCCH, having a value of N, is greater than 1, the transmission circuitry repeats the PUCCH transmission in N slots, and the N slots are not continuous.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan as modified by Ling with Takeda’s above teachings. The motivation is appropriately transmitting the UCI when the PUCCH repetition is used (Takeda [0011]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418