DETAILED ACTION
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
1a. Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed on 12/26/2025 (hereinafter Remarks), are acknowledged, and have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s claim amendments:
wherein the dummy indication is associated with maintenance of unified TCI state for the one or more channels;
the Examiner finds new prior art Kim (US 20190253220 A1) that discloses:
[0101] When it is indicated by a TCI update indicator that the implicit TCI update is performed, the TCI-state configuration information may include the TCI state index indicating the starting beam index and the ending beam index. When it is indicated by the TCI update indicator that the implicit TCI update is not performed, the TCI-state configuration information may not include the TCI state index indicating the staring beam index and the ending beam index.
Thus, Applicant’s claim amendments have been disclosed by prior art. The Examiner updates the rejection based on Applicant’s amendments. This office action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 20240172229 A1) in view of Kim (US 20190253220 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Gao discloses a method for configuring TCI transmission.
Kim discloses a method for transmission configuration indicator for TCI update.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Gao discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising [(see Figs 1-2 and 8)]:
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to [(see Fig 8)]:
receive, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) indicating a unified transmission configuration index (TCI) state of a plurality of unified TCI states for one or more channels and
[(Gao discloses receiving DCI configuration with TCI state indicators:
[0129] In some embodiments, for example, as shown in FIG. 2, the network device 110 configures/transmits one or more configurations 210 to the terminal device 130. In some embodiments, for example, as shown in FIG. 2, the terminal device 130 receives one or more configurations 210 from the network device 110. In some embodiments, the one or more configurations 210 may include at least one of configuration of TCI state(s), configuration of CORESET, configuration of search space, configuration of PDCCH, configuration of PDSCH, configuration of PUSCH, configuration of PUCCH, configuration of control information for data transmission/reception, configuration of reference signal (RS) transmission/reception, configuration of repetition/transmission/reception scheme. In some embodiments, the network device 110 may transmit one or two or more PDCCHs (e.g. 220 as shown in FIG. 2) to the terminal device 130. In some embodiments, the terminal device 130 may receive one or two or more PDCCHs (e.g. 220 as shown in FIG. 2) from the network device 110. In some embodiments, the DCI payload/information is same in the one or two or more PDCCHs.
[0025] It is also proposed to support a unified TCI framework for DL and UL beam indication.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)];
a dummy indication related to a TCI indication field and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) schedule
[(Gao discloses TCI state indications for PDSCH scheduling:
[0059] In some embodiments, if a UE is configured with the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI that is set as ‘enabled’ or tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 is configured for the CORESET scheduling the PDSCH, the UE assumes that the TCI field is present in the DCI (for example DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2) of the PDCCH transmitted on the CORESET.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)];
determine an action in response to the dummy indication; and
[(Gao discloses actions based on TCI state indications:
[0188] FIGS. 5A-5D illustrate examples in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5A, the terminal device 130 may be configured/indicated with TCI state 1. For example, the TCI state 1 is applied for reception of PDSCH and/or all or a subset of CORESETs. And the terminal device 130 may receive or detect a PDCCH 511 with the TCI state 1. And the PDCCH 511 or the DCI detected in the PDCCH 511 may indicate TCI state 2. And the PDCCH 511 or the DCI detected in the PDCCH 511 may schedule a PDSCH 512. And the terminal device 130 may report HARQ-ACK 513 for the PDSCH 512 to the network device 110. And after the timing 514, the terminal device 130 may receive PDSCH and/or all or the subset of CORESETs with the TCI state 2. For example, the timing 514 may be based on the second threshold and at least one of the first or last symbol of PDCCH 511 and the first or last symbol of the PUCCH or PUSCH for reporting HARQ-ACK 513.
Figs 5A-5D; Table 5.1.2.1-3; see also Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)];
communicate with the base station based on the action determined in response to the dummy indication
[(Gao discloses communication based on TCI state indications:
[0058] When the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ where μ is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH. If tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ or tci-PresentDCI-1-2 is configured for the CORESET scheduling the PDSCH, and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than timeDurationForQCL if applicable, after a UE receives an initial higher layer configuration of TCI states and before reception of the activation command, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the SS/PBCH block determined in the initial access procedure with respect to qcl-Type set to ‘typeA’, and when applicable, also with respect to qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)];
Gao does not elaborate about maintaining TCI states.
However, Kim discloses:
wherein the dummy indication is associated with maintenance of unified TCI state for the one or more channels
[(Kim discloses dummy indication (TCI state index) that maintains TCS states:
[0101] When it is indicated by a TCI update indicator that the implicit TCI update is performed, the TCI-state configuration information may include the TCI state index indicating the starting beam index and the ending beam index. When it is indicated by the TCI update indicator that the implicit TCI update is not performed, the TCI-state configuration information may not include the TCI state index indicating the staring beam index and the ending beam index.
Figs 3-4)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Gao’s method for configuring TCI transmission with Kim discloses a method for transmission configuration indicator for TCI update with the motivation being to improve utilization efficiency of frequency resources, (Kim [0007]).
Regarding Claim 2, Gao discloses:
wherein to determine the action in response to the dummy indication the at least one processor further configured to [(see Fig 2)]:
maintain the unified TCI state for the one or more channels based on the TCI indication field of the dummy indication
[(see:
[0025] In the 3GPP meeting RAN #86, it is agreed to support enhancement on multi-beam operation, mainly targeting FR2 while also applicable to FR1. It is agreed to identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL and UL beam management. For example, it is proposed to support common beam(s) for data and control information transmission/reception for both DL and UL, especially for intra-band CA. It is also proposed to support a unified TCI framework for DL and UL beam indication.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 3, Gao discloses:
wherein the TCI indication field comprises a codepoint that does not map with any of the plurality of unified TCI states, such that the unified TCI state is maintained
[(see
[0055] The UE receives an activation command, as described in clause “TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” (for example, clause 6.1.3.14) of [TS 38.321] or in clause “Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” (for example, clause 6.1.3) of [TS 38.321], used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ in one CC/DL BWP or in a set of CCs/DL BWPs, respectively. When a set of TCI state IDs are activated for a set of CCs/DL BWPs, where the applicable list of CCs is determined by indicated CC in the activation command, the same set of TCI state IDs are applied for all DL BWPs in the indicated CCs.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 4, Gao discloses:
wherein the codepoint that does not map with any of the plurality of unified TCI states indicates that there is no update to the unified TCI state
[(see
[0055] The UE receives an activation command, as described in clause “TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” (for example, clause 6.1.3.14) of [TS 38.321] or in clause “Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE” (for example, clause 6.1.3) of [TS 38.321], used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ in one CC/DL BWP or in a set of CCs/DL BWPs, respectively. When a set of TCI state IDs are activated for a set of CCs/DL BWPs, where the applicable list of CCs is determined by indicated CC in the activation command, the same set of TCI state IDs are applied for all DL BWPs in the indicated CCs.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 5, Gao discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: refrain from transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) in response to the TCI indication field of the dummy indication
[(Gao discloses HARQ-ACK scheduled by DCI, the device is refrained from transmitting ACK/NACK before reaching the schedule:
[0171] The total DAI value and/or the counter DAI value indicated in the DAI field of DCI can decide the number and order of bits in a dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook. The so-called HARQ-ACK codebook refers to a feedback sequence generated for downlink transmissions scheduled by DCI.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 6, Gao discloses:
wherein to determine the action in response to the dummy indication the at least one processor is configured to: refrain from receiving and decoding a mock PDSCH scheduled by the DCI based on the PDSCH schedule of the dummy indication
[(Gao discloses HARQ-ACK scheduled by DCI, the device is refrained from transmitting ACK/NACK before reaching the schedule:
[0060] If tci-PresentInDCI is set to “enabled” or tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 is configured for the CORESET scheduling the PDSCH, and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than timeDurationForQCL if applicable, after a UE receives an initial higher layer configuration of TCI states and before reception of the activation command, the UE may assume that the DMRS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the SS/PBCH block determined in the initial access procedure with respect to ‘QCL-TypeA’, and when applicable, also with respect to ‘QCL-TypeD’. The value of timeDurationForQCL is based on reported UE capability.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 7, Gao discloses:
wherein the mock PDSCH comprises special values for a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and redundancy version (RV)
[(see:
[0046] Scheme 3 (TDM or intra-slot repetition): n (n<=N.sub.t1) TCI states within the single slot, with non-overlapped time resource allocation. Each transmission occasion of the TB has one TCI and one RV with the time granularity of mini-slot. All transmission occasion (s) within the slot use a common MCS with same single or multiple DMRS port(s). RV/TCI state can be same or different among transmission occasions. Channel estimation interpolation across mini-slots with the same TCI index is for future study. In some embodiments, a terminal device may be configured or set with TDMschemeA by a high layer parameter. For example, the high layer parameter may be an RRC parameter. For example, the high layer parameter may be URLLCSchemeEnabler.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 8, Gao discloses:
wherein the mock PDSCH comprises special values for a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA)
[(see:
[0168] In some embodiments, when a DCI (for example, DCI_t) is applied for TCI state indication, configured scheduling Radio Network Tempory Identity (CS-RNTI) is used to scramble the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for the DCI. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of redundancy version (RV) is configured with or set to all “1”s. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of modulation and coding scheme (MCS) is configured with or set to all “1”s. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of new data indicator (NDI) is configured with or set to 0. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) is configured with or set to all “0”s if FDRA is configured with Type 0 or resource allocation is configured as “resourceAllocationType0” or resource allocation is configured as “dynamicSwitch”. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of FDRA is configured with or set to all “1”s if FDRA is configured with Type 1 resource allocation is configured as “resourceAllocationType1”.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 9, Gao discloses:
wherein the special values of the MCS and the FDRA result in the mock PDSCH having an effective coding rate larger than 0.95
[(Gao discloses coding scheme (MCS) and FDRA resource, the resource value in purely design option, and not a novel feature:
[0168] In some embodiments, when a DCI (for example, DCI_t) is applied for TCI state indication, configured scheduling Radio Network Tempory Identity (CS-RNTI) is used to scramble the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for the DCI. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of redundancy version (RV) is configured with or set to all “1”s. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of modulation and coding scheme (MCS) is configured with or set to all “1”s. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of new data indicator (NDI) is configured with or set to 0. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) is configured with or set to all “0”s if FDRA is configured with Type 0 or resource allocation is configured as “resourceAllocationType0” or resource allocation is configured as “dynamicSwitch”. In some embodiments, in the DCI, the field of FDRA is configured with or set to all “1”s if FDRA is configured with Type 1 resource allocation is configured as “resourceAllocationType1”.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 10, Gao discloses:
wherein the mock PDSCH comprises a mock time domain resource allocation (TDRA)
[(see:
[0167] In some embodiments, the Type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook is determined based on the following factors: (1) PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing values K1; (2) PDSCH time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table; (3) the ratio 2(μ.sub.DL-μ.sub.UL) between the downlink subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration μ.sub.DL and the uplink SCS configuration μ.sub.UL if different numerology between downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) is configured; and (3) time division duplex (TDD) configuration. For example, the terminal device 130 may determine the HARQ-ACK window size based on the HARQ-ACK timing values K1, for example, {5, 6, 7}. For each K1, the terminal device 130 may determine the candidate PDSCH reception occasions in each slot based on a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table and TDD configuration. In particular, candidate PDSCH reception occasions in the TDRA table overlapping with UL configured by TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated are excluded. For the overlapping candidate PDSCH reception occasions, only one HARQ-ACK position (for example, one or two HARQ-ACK bits) can be generated.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 11, Gao discloses:
wherein the mock TDRA comprises a start and length indicator value (SLIV) indication having a length (L) value of 0
[(Gao discloses FDRA and SLIV resource, the resource value in purely design option, and not a novel feature:
[0163] In some embodiments, a location for the HARQ information in the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined based on a virtual PDSCH indicated by the TDRA field in the DCI, based on the time domain allocation list configured for PDSCH. For example, the virtual PDSCH is in the same slot as the PDCCH or the last PDCCH in time domain with the DCI. For example, the terminal device 130 is configured with Type 1 (or semi-static) HARQ-ACK codebook.
[0100] As specified in the 3GPP specifications (TS 38.214), when a UE configured by the higher layer parameter PDSCH-config that indicates at least one entry in pdsch-TimeDomainAllocationList contain RepNumR16 in PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation. If two TCI states are indicated by the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ together with the DCI field “Time domain resource assignment’ indicating an entry in pdsch-TimeDomainAllocationList which contain RepNumR16 in PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation and DM-RS port(s) within one CDM group in the DCI field “Antenna Port(s)”, the same SLIV (Start and length indicator value) is applied for all PDSCH transmission occasions, the first TCI state is applied to the first PDSCH transmission occasion and resource allocation in time domain for the first PDSCH transmission occasion follows Clause “Resource allocation in time domain” (for example, clause 5.1.2.1) in TS 38.214. When the value indicated by RepNumR16 in PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation equals to two, the second TCI state is applied to the second PDSCH transmission occasion.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 12, Gao discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) in response to the TCI indication field of the dummy indication
[(see:
[0162] In some embodiments, a DCI (for example, DCI_t) may be used for indicating one or more TCI states. For example, the one or more TCI states are for joint DL/UL TCI state indication or for separate DL/UL TCI state indication. And the DCI may not schedule a PDSCH (for example, DCI format 1_1 and format 1_2). In some embodiments, upon a successful reception/decoding of the DCI, the terminal device 130 may report an ACK. In some embodiments, upon a failed reception/decoding of the DCI, the terminal device 130 may report a NACK. For example, the ACK and/or NACK may be reported in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In some embodiments, the terminal device 130 may be configured with a type of HARQ codebook. For example, the type may be at least one of Type 1 (for example, semi-static), Type 2 (for example, dynamic) and Type 3 (one shot feedback). For example, the type may be configured via at least one of RRC, MAC CE and DCI. In some embodiments, the DCI is received/detected in a PDCCH. e:
Figs 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claim 13, Gao discloses:
wherein the TCI indication field of the dummy indication updates the unified TCI state for the one or more channels
[(see:
[0025] In the 3GPP meeting RAN #86, it is agreed to support enhancement on multi-beam operation, mainly targeting FR2 while also applicable to FR1. It is agreed to identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL and UL beam management. For example, it is proposed to support common beam(s) for data and control information transmission/reception for both DL and UL, especially for intra-band CA. It is also proposed to support a unified TCI framework for DL and UL beam indication.
Fig 2, Steps 210-240, 5A-5D, 6A-6B and 7A-7C)].
Regarding Claims 14-15, the claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1-2, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claims 16-30, the claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1-15, and are rejected accordingly. Further, Claims 16-30 discloses the same operations of Claims 1-15, but are performed by a base station.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473