Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 13-19, and 21 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 17-19 and 21 have been withdrawn. The prior art rejections are revised in view of the amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim status of claim 1 is marked as “Previously Presented.” Given the amendment that Applicant made to claim 1, the status should have been “Currently Amended” and the claim is examined on that basis. Appropriate correction is required to the status in future prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isakov ("3D printed anisotropic dielectric composite with meta-material features", MATERIALS & DESIGN, ELSEVIER, AMSTERDAM, NL, vol. 93, 5 January 2016 (2016-01-05), pages 423-430, XP029394866, ISSN: 0264-1275) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bhatt (US 2021/02373642) and optionally Hoyt (US 2015/0048209).
Regarding claim 1, Isakov teaches a method for manufacturing an electromagnetic radiation altering article (“The focus of this paper is to consider the application of AM for
the fabrication new electromagnetic materials, that after further development,
could be used to realize various artificial phenomena such as
cloaking [25–27], photonic bandgap crystals [28], left-handed metamaterials
[29,30], and novel microwave circuits and antennas [31]”, section 1), which comprises the steps of: a) forming an electromagnetic radiation altering material by providing a polymer matrix and optionally embedding a plurality of dielectric particles in the polymer matrix (“Our
printed structures comprise a thin coupon (d b λ, where d is the coupon thickness and λ is the wavelength of incident microwave radiation, in the range from 12 to 18 GHz) within which there alternating layers, or ‘stripes’, of relatively low (polymer only) and high (polymer plus inorganic particles) dielectric constant materials.”; “Our implementation of FDM used two continuous thermoplastic based filaments as feedstock, one comprising polymer only, and the other the same polymer but with a high fraction of high permittivity inorganic microparticles.
The filaments were melted in the print head and then extruded onto the forming coupon by the print head moving in the xy-plane according to the CAD file”), the dielectric particles being barium titanates particles (Table 1, section 3.1);
b) obtaining initial dielectric properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering material (“Using the dielectric properties of each type of printed material”, section 2), comprising the initial relative dielectric permittivity (εr 1) and the initial dielectric loss tangent (tan delta 1) when measured at a frequency F1 (“The dielectric properties of as-printed materials, with no layering or anisotropic design, was carefully characterized before resonating structures were designed, using a split-post dielectric resonator (SPDR, QWED) technique [39] and a Rohde&Schwarz ZNB20 vector network analyser. The resonator is designed for a nominal 15 GHz frequency and the actual measurements were taken at a frequency close to the nominal. The SPDR technique allows the determination of complex permittivity with greater sensitivity than transmission-reflection methods, albeit at a single frequency, and provides more reliable measurements in low loss (tan δ<0.05) materials.”, section 2);
c) modeling electromagnetic radiation altering features of the electromagnetic radiation altering material suitable for the electromagnetic radiation altering article obtained from the electromagnetic radiation altering material to have target electromagnetic radiation altering properties, thereby obtaining a simulation of the electromagnetic radiation altering article (“Using the dielectric properties of each type of printed material, the commercial Comsol Multiphysics RF module, which is a flexible implementation of the finite element method, was used to model the wave propagation in layered or striped coupons and to suggest the relative dimensions of each stripe to achieve the desired performance. A 3D model of the coupons, with predefined material properties (for each type of material) observed experimentally, was constructed and the electromagnetic field distribution together with complex scattering parameters were computed. Guided by the model-based design, 16 × 8 × 2 mm coupons were printed suitable for insertion following edge polishing into a Ku-band waveguide for characterization of dielectric properties using the VNA and the transmission/reflection line (TRL) technique. The TRL technique involved measuring the two port complex scattering reflected (S11) and transmitted (S21) parameters in the frequency range from 12 to 18 GHz so that the relative complex permittivity ϵr and permeability μr could then be obtained using the widely employed Nicholson–Ross–Weir (NRW) extraction method [40].”, section 2);
d) additive manufacturing the electromagnetic radiation altering article based on the simulation of the electromagnetic radiation altering article by performing an additive manufacturing method selected from the group consisting of stereolithography (SLA), selective laser sintering (SLS), digital light processing (DLP) material jetting, and any combinations thereof, wherein the electromagnetic radiation altering material is provided as a fluid photopolymerizable composition or a powder composition during the additive manufacturing (SLA and SLS are taught as alternative known methods of additive manufacturing with dielectric particles for these technologies, section 1, first paragraph; this is as an alternative to a FDM method, disclosed in section 1; in SLS, the electromagnetic altering material is provided in the powder); and
e) optionally, measuring the electromagnetic radiation altering properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering article obtained from additive manufacturing, and comparing the measured electromagnetic radiation altering properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering article with the target electromagnetic radiation altering properties (“The measured dielectric permittivities and loss for composites with BaTiO3, Ba0.64Sr0.36TiO3 and CaTiO3 are in good agreement with data published for polymer-ceramic composites of 0–3 connectivity
[42–44]”; good agreement entails measurement and comparison with target/theoretical properties, section 3.1).
Isakov teaches a method substantially as claimed. Isakov does not disclose wherein the polymer matrix is selected from the group consisting of polyamides, polymeric materials based on (meth)acrylate, vinyl ether, and epoxide containing monomers; thermoplastic polyurethanes (TPU); perfluoroalkoxy alkanes (PFA), and any combinations or mixtures thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additively manufactured materials with thermoplastic and dielectric components (abstract, [0138] [0141]), Bhatt teaches wherein the polymer matrix is selected from the group consisting of polyamides, vinyl ether, and epoxide containing monomers; and any combinations or mixtures thereof (polyamide, epoxy, vinyl, [0138]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Isakov to use polyamide instead of ABS because [0138] of Bhatt teaches that polyamide is an art recognized equivalent to ABS in this technical context.
Assuming, arguendo, that Isakov’s teachings of SLS and SLA as alternative additive manufacturing technologies to FDM on page 1, section 1, are insufficient to establish performing an additive manufacturing method selected from the group consisting of stereolithography (SLA), selective laser sintering (SLS), digital light processing (DLP) material jetting, and any combinations thereof, wherein the electromagnetic radiation altering material is provided as a fluid photopolymerizable composition or a powder composition during the additive manufacturing, then Isakov would be deficient as to this limitation.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additively manufacturing tuned variable composition for radiation shielding in various contexts ([0007-11] [0103]), Hoyt teaches performing an additive manufacturing method selected from the group consisting of stereolithography (SLA), selective laser sintering (SLS), digital light processing (DLP) material jetting, and any combinations thereof, wherein the electromagnetic radiation altering material is provided as a fluid photopolymerizable composition or a powder composition during the additive manufacturing (“Fused Filament Fabrication (FFF), and Selective Laser Sintering (SLS) to fabricate structural components that have internal microstructure and/or controlled internal variation of material composition in order to provide multi-functional capabilities such as radiation shielding, thermal isolation, Electromagnetic Interference (EMI) shielding,” [0103]; of note, SLS production is with powder that has the controlled internal variation of material composition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified any alleged deficiencies in Isakov regarding performing a SLS manufacturing method because [0103] of Hoyt teaches that SLS is an art recognized alternative to FFF (or FDM as taught in [0115] of Hoyt) to produce structure components with controlled internal variation of material composition for radiation shielding and EMI shielding. Accordingly, the prior art (including [0103] of Hoyt) establishes that SLS can be used to produce 3D printed objects with controlled internal variation of material composition to achieve the same technical focus of Isakov.
Regarding claim 2, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the plurality of dielectric particles is present and is randomly distributed and embedded in the polymer matrix (“polymer with a high fraction of high permittivity inorganic microparticles”, section 1).
Regarding claim 3, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the method further comprises the step of obtaining initial magnetic properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering material, comprising the initial relative magnetic permeability (εr 1), the initial magnetic loss tangent (tan delta 3), or both, when measured at a frequency F1 (sections 2, 3.3).
Regarding claim 4, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the step of modeling electromagnetic radiation altering features of the electromagnetic radiation altering material comprises the step of optimizing the electromagnetic radiation altering features of the electromagnetic radiation altering material for it to have target electromagnetic radiation altering properties (tuned permittivity, section 3.3), simulating the electromagnetic radiation altering properties of the simulation of the electromagnetic radiation altering article by conducting electromagnetic radiation altering calculations on the simulation of the electromagnetic radiation altering article, or both (simulation, section 3.3).
Regarding claim 5, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the step of forming an electromagnetic radiation altering material comprises the steps of selecting an initial polymer matrix and selecting a plurality of initial dielectric particles for embedding therein, and further comprising the step of replacing the initial polymer matrix and/or the plurality of initial dielectric particles by a different polymer matrix and/or a different plurality of dielectric particles (tuning with different permittivity and other differences, Fig. 3, section 3.3), and reiterating the process after the step of modeling electromagnetic radiation altering features of the electromagnetic radiation altering material (experimentation and simulation constitutes reiteration as claimed, section 4).
Regarding claim 6, Isakov as modified teaches the step of re-modeling electromagnetic radiation altering features of the electromagnetic radiation altering material and reiterating the process after the step of measuring the electromagnetic radiation altering properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering article obtained from additive manufacturing (experimentation and simulation constitutes reiteration as claimed, section 4).
Regarding claim 7, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the target electromagnetic radiation altering properties comprise dielectric properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering article comprising a target relative dielectric permittivity (εr2) and a target dielectric loss tangent (tan delta 2) (“This resonance frequency could be controlled by making use of the degrees of design freedom facilitated by 3D printing, such as the periodicity of the different units, their relative permittivities and dielectric losses.”, summary section 4; tuned permittivity, estimated permittivity, sections 3.1, 3.3), magnetic properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering material comprising a target relative magnetic permeability (μr 2), magnetic properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering material comprising a target magnetic loss tangent (tan delta 4), or any combination thereof, when measured at a frequency F2 (experimentation with different desired magnetic loss tangent and magnetic permeability, section 3.3).
Regarding claim 10, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the step of obtaining initial dielectric properties of the electromagnetic radiation altering material is performed using a measurement method selected from the group consisting of transmission method, reflection method, dielectric resonance (SPDR) method, capacitance method, LC resonance (U/I) method, perturbation method, open resonator method, and any combinations thereof (SPDR, section 2).
Regarding claim 11, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation altering features of the electromagnetic radiation altering material are selected from the group consisting of electromagnetic lenses, diffractive gratings, frequency selective surfaces or materials, electromagnetic energy absorbers, metamaterials, and any combinations thereof (left-handed metamaterials [29,30], section 1).
Regarding claim 13, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation altering material has an initial relative dielectric permittivity (εr 1) in the range from 1 to 3.0, from 1 to 2.8, from 1.0 to 2.5, from 1.2 to 2.3, from 1.5 to 2.0, from 4 to 11, from 4.5 to 11, from 5 to 10, from 5 to 9, from 5 to 8, or even from 12 to 15, when measured at 5.2 GHz according to the Dielectric Resonance (SPDR) Measurement Method (Table 1 shows a range of εr at 15 Ghz, with all other limitations met, these materials are likely within the range at the recited frequency).
Regarding claim 14, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation altering material has an initial dielectric loss tangent (tan delta 1) in the range from 0.01 to 0.04, from 0.01 to 0.03, from 0.01 to 0.02, from 0.05 to 0.15, from 0.06 to 0.12, from 0.08 to0.12, from 0.2 to 0.5, from 0.2 to 0.45 or even from 0.2 to 0.4, when measured at 5.2 GHz according to the Dielectric Resonance (SPDR) Measurement Method (Table 1 shows a range of tan delta at 15 Ghz, with all other limitations met, these materials are likely within the range at the recited frequency).
Regarding claim 15, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation altering material has an initial relative magnetic permeability (μr 1) in the range from 1 to 1.5, from 1 to 1.3 or even from 1 to 1.2, when measured at 1.0 GHz according to the LC Resonance (U/I) Measurement Method (“Using the dielectric properties of each type of printed material, the commercial Comsol Multiphysics RF module, which is a flexible implementation of the finite element method, was used to model the wave propagation in layered or striped coupons and to suggest the relative dimensions of each stripe to achieve the desired performance. A 3D model of the coupons, with predefined material properties (for each type of material) observed experimentally, was constructed and the electromagnetic field distribution together with complex scattering parameters were computed. Guided by the model-based design, 16 × 8 × 2 mm coupons were printed suitable for insertion following edge polishing into a Ku-band waveguide for characterization of dielectric properties using the VNA and the transmission/reflection line (TRL) technique. The TRL technique involved measuring the two port complex scattering reflected (S11) and transmitted (S21) parameters in the frequency range from 12 to 18 GHz so that the relative complex permittivity ϵr and permeability μr could then be obtained using the widely employed Nicholson–Ross–Weir (NRW) extraction method [40].”, section 2, with all other limitations met, these materials are likely within the range at the recited frequency).
Regarding claim 16, Isakov as modified teaches wherein the frequency F1 or F2 is in a range from 300 MHz to 300 GHz, from 300 MHz to 3 GHz, 3 GHz to 30 GHz or even from 30 GHz to 300 GHz (15 Ghz, Table 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Isakov’s teaching of SLA and SLA as alternative additive manufacturing techniques are not applicable to the simulation techniques because one of the embodiments follows a different method and there would be technical challenges in following one of the other disclosed embodiments. This is to argue that it would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use these additive manufacturing techniques to produce objects with varied internal composition for the electromagnetic materials taught in Isakov. This is not persuasive in view of Isakov’s teachings of these alternative additive manufacturing techniques to achieve varied internal composition.
In any event, for the sake of compact prosecution, further reference is made to Hoyt, [0103] of which teaches using SLS to fabricate structural components that have controlled internal variation of material composition for functions like radiation shielding and electromagnetic interference shielding. Applicant argues this a different machine architecture than what Hoyt describes, but does not explain what this difference is.
Of additional note, Applicant seems to be arguing for a comparison of the prior art to production of a much more complicated electromagnetic radiation altering article than what is presently recited in the claims. Applicant’s arguments regarding “millimeter precision” does not have a basis in the claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744