DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0202409 to Shinchi et al. (hereinafter Shinchi).
Regarding Claims 19 and 20. Shinchi teaches a polishing pad including a base polyurethane resin composition which may include a foaming agent [0019], i.e. a polishing pad comprising a polishing layer composed of a polyurethane resin foam. The polyurethane resin foam is derived from an isocyanate-group terminated prepolymer and a curing agent.
The isocyanate-group terminated prepolymer is produced by reacting a polyisocyanate with an aromatic polyester polyol and a polyether polyol [0019], corresponding to an isocyanate-terminated prepolymer including a polyisocyanate compound-derived configuration unit and a high molecular weight polyol-derived configuration unit composed of a polyether configuration unit and a polyester unit. The polyether configuration unit may specifically correspond to a polypropylene glycol configuration unit [0044]. The polyester configuration unit is derived from a dicarboxylic acid compound and a diol compound [0033]. The polyester configuration unit is thus reasonably considered to correspond to a polyester diol configuration unit. The dicarboxylic acid compound may be succinic acid, adipic acid, azelaic acid, sebacic acid, dodecanedicarboxylic acid, fumaric acid, 1,3-cyclopentanedicarboxylic acid, or 1,4-cyclhexanedicarboxylic acid [0039]. Each of these compounds is set forth as a species of aliphatic dicarboxylic acid or alicyclic polycarboxylic acid in [0055] of the instant specification.
Shinchi teaches the aromatic polyester polyol and polyether polyol are provided in a mass ratio of 5/95 to 70/30 [0020]. Thus, when the polyether polyol is polypropylene glycol, the polypropylene glycol configuration unit will correspond to 30 to 95 weight percent of the high molecular weight polyol-derived configuration unit. While this range is not identical to the claimed ranges of less than 60 weight of the polypropylene glycol configuration unit or 30 to 50 weight percent of the polypropylene glycol configuration unit with respect to the high molecular weight polyol-derived configuration unit, they do overlap. It has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding Claim 21. Shinchi teaches the polishing pad of Claim 19 wherein the polyester diol configuration unit is derived from a polyester diol having a number average weight of preferably 500 to 2,000 g/mol [0040].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0202409 to Shinchi et al. (hereinafter Shinchi).
Regarding Claim 22. Shinchi teaches a method for manufacturing a polishing pad comprising including a base polyurethane resin composition which may include a foaming agent [0019], i.e. a polishing pad comprising a polishing layer composed of a polyurethane resin foam.
The method comprising a step of reacting a polyisocyanate with a high molecular weight polyol containing at least an aromatic polyester polyol and a polyether polyol to obtain an isocyanate-group terminated prepolymer [0019]. The polyether may specifically correspond to a polypropylene glycol [0044]. The polyester configuration unit is derived from a dicarboxylic acid compound and a diol compound [0033]. The polyester configuration unit is thus reasonably considered to correspond to a polyester diol configuration unit. The dicarboxylic acid compound may be succinic acid, adipic acid, azelaic acid, sebacic acid, dodecanedicarboxylic acid, fumaric acid, 1,3-cyclopentanedicarboxylic acid, or 1,4-cyclhexanedicarboxylic acid [0039]. Each of these compounds is set forth as a species of aliphatic dicarboxylic acid or alicyclic polycarboxylic acid in [0055] of the instant specification.
Shinchi teaches the aromatic polyester polyol and polyether polyol are provided in a mass ratio of 5/95 to 70/30 [0020]. Thus, when the polyether polyol is polypropylene glycol, the polypropylene glycol will correspond to 30 to 95 weight percent of the high molecular weight polyol. While this range is not identical to the claimed range of less than 60 weight of the polypropylene glycol with respect to the high molecular weight polyol, it does overlap. It has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the new limitation that the polyester diol configuration unit is “derived from a dicarboxylic acid compound and a diol compound, wherein the dicarboxylic acid compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid, an unsaturated bond-containing dicarboxylic acid, and an alicyclic polycarboxylic acid” is not taught by Shinchi.
However, Shinchi expressly teaches the polyester configuration unit is derived from a dicarboxylic acid compound and a diol compound [0033]. While Shinchi does require the polyester configuration unit be aromatic, Shinchi does not require the aromaticity be provided by the dicarboxylic acid compound. Shinchi teaches this unit “is produced from a dicarboxylic acid and a diol and includes a dicarboxylic acid having an aromatic skeleton and/or a diol having an aromatic skeleton and/or a diol having an aromatic skeleton as essential components. In addition, a dicarboxylic acid not having an aromatic skeleton…may be further combined” [emphasis added] [0033]. Thus, Shinchi expressly envisions embodiments in which a non-aromatic dicarboxylic acid is used and the aromaticity is provided by only the diol, as well as embodiments in which a non-aromatic dicarboxylic acid is provided in conjunction with an aromatic dicarboxylic acid. Shinchi further teaches succinic acid, adipic acid, azelaic acid, sebacic acid, dodecanedicarboxylic acid, fumaric acid, 1,3-cyclopentanedicarboxylic acid, or 1,4-cyclhexanedicarboxylic acid as suitable dicarboxylic acids [0039]. Each of these compounds is set forth as a species of aliphatic dicarboxylic acid or alicyclic polycarboxylic acid in [0055] of the instant specification.
The Office consequently maintains the position that Shinchi is properly relied upon to teach the new claim limitation of a polyester diol configuration unit derived from a dicarboxylic acid compound selected from the group consisting of an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid, an unsaturated bond-containing dicarboxylic acid, and an alicyclic polycarboxylic acid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764