DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the holding member as recited in amended independent claims 1 and 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations of “a holding member that holds the radiation element, the holding member being positioned lower than the radiation element in a side view” as well as, “the at least one parasitic slot is provided in a position lower than the holding member in the side view”.
Independent claim 2 also recites the limitations of “a holding member that holds the radiation element, the holding member being positioned lower than the radiation element in a side view” as well as, “the at least one parasitic slot is provided in a position lower than the holding member in the side view”.
While there is no in haec verba requirement, it is asserted that, the examiner, upon examining
the disclosure extensively, determines that these recitations and limitations are not disclosed in the original disclosure in such a way that would be apparent that Applicant, at the time the invention was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Specification, throughout describes “a dielectric member 34”, as well as, a ground plane 20 that may be a “circular or plate shaped member”. As recited in independent claim 2, the claimed holding member is recited separately from the ground plane therein.
As such, there is no discernable recitation in the Specification, or, any element , structure, or feature shown in the Drawings or Abstract, that would apprise one of ordinary skill of the holding member as recited.
Claims 3, 5-11, 13-18 depend from independent claims 1 and 2 accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Dusseux et al US 5539420 A.
Regarding claim 1, Dusseux et al teaches an antenna device(Figs 1, 2), comprising:
an antenna including a radiation element(element 1,Fig 2) capable of receiving a signal of a predetermined frequency band, and a holding member(element 5,Fig 2) that holds the radiation element, the holding member being positioned lower than the radiation element in a side view(element 5 is positioned lower than element 1,Fig 2); and a metallic portion(element 8,Fig 2) that includes at least one parasitic slot(element 3,Fig 2) provided around the antenna, wherein the at least one parasitic slot is provided in a position lower than the holding member in the side view(element 3 positioned lower than element 5,Fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Dusseux et al teaches an antenna device(Figs 1, 2),comprising:
a ground plane(element 8,Fig 2); and an antenna (Fig 2) provided on the ground plane, the antenna including a radiation element(element 1,Fig 2), and a holding member(element 5,Fig 2) that holds the radiation element, the holding member being positioned lower than the radiation element in a side view(element 5 is positioned lower than element 1,Fig 2), wherein the ground plane includes at least one parasitic slot(element 3,Fig 2) formed around the antenna, and the at least one parasitic slot is provided in a position lower than the holding member in the side view(element 3 positioned lower than element 5,Fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, Dusseex et al teaches wherein the at least one parasitic slot is provided within a predetermined range around the antenna(element 3,Figs 1, 2).
Regarding claim 8, Dusseux et al teaches wherein a plurality of the parasitic slots are provided around the antenna(elements 3, 17 Fig 10).
Regarding claim 11, Dusseux et al teaches wherein the at least one parasitic slot is provided within a predetermined range around the antenna(element 3,Figs 1, 2).
Regarding claim 16, Dusseux et al teaches wherein a plurality of the parasitic slots are provided around the antenna(elements 3, 17 Fig 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dusseux et al US 5539420 A.
Regarding claim 5, Dusseux et al discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Dusseux et al does not explicitly disclose “wherein a shape of the at least one parasitic slot is a quadrangle having a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction”.
However, Dusseux et al suggests wherein a shape of the at least one
parasitic slot is a quadrangle having a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction (‘”these cut-outs 17 may be any shape, but they do affect the required performance.” Column 5, lines 9-10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have a shape of the slot being a quadrangle having a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction as suggested by the teaching of Dusseux et al in order to achieve the required performance characteristics.
In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 13, Dusseux et al does not explicitly disclose “wherein a shape of the at least one parasitic slot is a quadrangle having a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction”.
However, Dusseux suggests wherein a shape of the at least one parasitic slot is a quadrangle having a longitudinal direction and a transverse (‘”these cut-outs 17 may be any shape, but they do affect the required performance.” Column 5, lines 9-10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have a shape of the slot being a quadrangle having a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction as suggested by the teaching of Dusseux et al in order to achieve the required performance characteristics.
In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dusseux et al US 5539420 A in view of O’Brien et al (U.S. Publication number US 20180294567 A1 hereby referred to as O’Brien).
Regarding claim 6, Dusseux et al does not disclose “wherein a length in the longitudinal direction is substantially half a wavelength of a desired frequency band.”
However, O’Brien teaches of a length in the longitudinal direction is substantially half a wavelength of a desired frequency band (“The parasitic elements 120 are designed to be slightly greater than or less than half of a wavelength in length”, para. 0033 also “the lengths of the parasitic elements 120 are dictated by the intended operational frequency/wavelength of the patch antenna system 100, as well as the thickness and permittivity of the dielectric substrate 52”, para. 0033).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a length in the longitudinal direction be substantially half a wavelength of a desired frequency band as taught by O’Brien with the antenna device of Dusseux et al in order to design it for the intended operational frequency (para. 0033, O’Brien).
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 14, Dusseux et al does not disclose “wherein a length in the longitudinal direction is substantially half a wavelength of a desired frequency band.”
However, O’Brien teaches of a length in the longitudinal direction is substantially half a wavelength of a desired frequency band (“The parasitic elements 120 are designed to be slightly greater than or less than half of a wavelength in length”, para. 0033 also “the lengths of the parasitic elements 120 are dictated by the intended operational frequency/wavelength of the patch antenna system 100, as well as the thickness and permittivity of the dielectric substrate 52”, para. 0033).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a length in the longitudinal direction be substantially half a wavelength of a desired frequency band as taught by O’Brien with the antenna device of Dusseux in order to design it for the intended operational frequency (para. 0033, O’Brien). Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dusseux et al US 5539420 A in view of Obata et al (U.S. Publication number US 20190334246 A1 hereby referred to as Obata).
Regarding claim 7, Dusseux et al does not disclose “wherein the at least one parasitic slot is provided in a position separated from a center of the antenna by substantially one-fourth or more or substantially three fourths or less of a wavelength of a desired frequency band.” However, Obata suggests the teaching wherein the slot (not explicitly a slot but 150 is a parasitic element with a quadrangular shape around an antenna 130) (Fig. 170B, 170C) is provided in a position separated from a center of the antenna (the center of 130) by substantially one-fourth or more (the distance of 150 to the edge of 130 is approximately one-fourth of a wavelength and is therefore more than one-fourth of a wavelength to the center of 130) or substantially three-fourths or less of a wavelength (see Fig. 170C) of a desired frequency band.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the slot be provided in a position separated from a center of the antenna by substantially one-fourth or more or substantially three-fourths or less of a wavelength of a desired frequency band as suggested by the teachings of Obata with the antenna device of Dusseux et al in order to adjust antenna gain increases (para. 0048 and 0049, Obata). Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Regarding claim 15, Dusseux et al does not disclose “wherein the at least one parasitic slot is provided in a position separated from a center of the antenna by substantially one-fourth or more or substantially three fourths or less of a wavelength of a desired frequency band.”
However, Obata suggests the teaching wherein the slot (not explicitly a slot but 150 is a parasitic element with a quadrangular shape around an antenna 130) (Fig. 170B, 170C) is provided in a position separated from a center of the antenna (the center of 130) by substantially one-fourth or more (the distance of 150 to the edge of 130 is approximately one-fourth of a wavelength and is therefore more than one-fourth of a wavelength to the center of 130) or substantially three-fourths or less of a wavelength (see Fig. 170C) of a desired frequency band.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the slot be provided in a position separated from a center of the antenna by substantially one-fourth or more or substantially three-fourths or less of a wavelength of a desired frequency band as suggested by the teachings of Obata with the antenna device of Dusseux in order to adjust antenna gain increases (para. 0048 and 0049, Obata). Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 9,10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dusseux et al US 5539420 A in view of Rafi et al (U.S. Publication number US 20080204326 A1 hereby referred to as Rafi).
Regarding claim 9, Dusseux et al does not teach wherein the antenna is a satellite antenna that receives a satellite signal.
Rafi discloses: wherein the antenna (14) is a satellite antenna that receives a satellite signal (antenna can operate in GPS bands which are satellite signals, see para. 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to provide wherein the antenna is a satellite antenna that receives a satellite signal as taught by Rafi et al in the antenna assembly of Dusseux et al in order to achieve the desired operating frequency characteristics(see Rafi para 0006).
Regarding claim 10, Dusseux et al does not teach wherein the antenna is a patch antenna.
Rafi discloses: wherein the antenna (14) is a patch antenna (see para. 0021 and 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to provide wherein the antenna is a patch antenna as taught by Rafi et al in the antenna assembly of Dusseux et al in order to achieve the desired operating frequency characteristics(see Rafi para 0021, 0022).
Regarding claim 17, Dusseux et al does not teach wherein the antenna is a satellite antenna that receives a satellite signal.
Rafi discloses: wherein the antenna (14) is a satellite antenna that receives a satellite signal (antenna can operate in GPS bands which are satellite signals, see para. 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to provide wherein the antenna is a satellite antenna that receives a satellite signal as taught by Rafi et al in the antenna assembly of Dusseux et al in order to achieve the desired operating frequency characteristics(see Rafi para 0006).
Regarding claim 18, Dusseux et al does not teach wherein the antenna is a patch antenna.
Rafi discloses: wherein the antenna (14) is a patch antenna (see para. 0021 and 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to provide wherein the antenna is a patch antenna as taught by Rafi et al in the antenna assembly of Dusseux et al in order to achieve the desired operating frequency characteristics(see Rafipara 0021, 0022).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art listed in the PTOl 892 Notice of References Cited attached herewith.
DAMEON E. LEVI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845