DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 40 has two periods at the end. One period needs to be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21,23,25-32,35-36,38,40-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Curlett 4836305.
Referring to claim 21, Curlett discloses (see fig. 31) a drill rod comprising a body (596) comprising one or more a plurality of fluid supply channels (626), a fluid return channel (628) and one or more compartments ( 690, smaller tube used for wires or cable (see col. 24, lines 3-13), wherein the one or more compartments are isolated from the fluid supply channels and the fluid return channel, wherein the body comprises a manifold (644) connecting the plurality of supply channels, and wherein the manifold is adapted for coupling with another drill rod (596) having multiple annuluses.
Referring to claim 23, Curlett discloses a cross- sectional profile of the one or more compartments (690) is different to a cross-sectional profile of the one or more plurality of fluid supply channels (626, element 690 is smaller, see col. 24, lines 3-13_ .
Referring to claim 25, Curlett discloses the body ( 596) is adapted for coupling with a fluid supply (630) of another drill rod (568) having multiple annuluses.
Referring to claim 26, Curlett discloses the body comprises a removeable casing (614).
Referring to claim 27, Curlett discloses the casing (614) encloses the one or more compartments (690).
Referring to claim 28, Curlett discloses wherein the casing (614) is adapted for coupling with another drill rod having multiple annuluses.
Referring to claim 29, Curlett discloses wherein the one or more compartments (690) extend longitudinally along a portion of the body.
Referring to claim 30, Curlett wherein the one or more compartments is separated into one or more sub-compartments ( compartments in electrical wire or connector that is carried in compartment 690, see col. 24, lines 3-13.
Referring to claim 31, Curlett discloses the sub- compartments ( compartments in cable connectors) are arranged to be longitudinal with respect to a length of the drill rod.
Referring to claim 32, Curlett discloses, wherein the body comprises one or more additional smaller compartments ( see figure 3, at 78, an insert with compartments at 80 can be inserted in one of the fluid supply lines, see col. 8, lines 33-40) .
Referring to claim 35, Curlett discloses wherein the supply channels (626) are configured to supply pressurized air.
Referring to claim 36, Curlett discloses the return channel (628) is configured to receive air laden with cuttings.
Referring to claim 38, Curlett discloses drill string comprising a drill rod, wherein the drill rod comprises a body (596) comprising one or more a plurality of fluid supply channels (626) that run substantially the length of the drill rod, a fluid return channel (628) and one or more compartments (690), wherein the body comprises a manifold (644) connecting the plurality of supply channels, and wherein the manifold is adapted for coupling with another drill rod having multiple annuluses.
Referring to claim 40, Curlett discloses a method of percussion drilling comprising a drill rod comprising a body (596), the body comprising a manifold (644) connecting a plurality of fluid supply channels (626), a fluid return channel (628) and one or more compartments (690), wherein the one or more compartments are isolated from the fluid supply channels and the fluid return channel, the method comprising; coupling the manifold to another drill rod (612) having multiple annuluses, directing fluid from the fluid supply channels of the drill rod, through the manifold, to the multiple annuluses of other drill rod ( when connected as shown in figure 29).
Referring to claim 41, Curlett discloses wherein the fluid supply channels (626) run substantially the length of the drill rod.
Referring to claim 42, Curlett discloses at least one compartment (690) is located between two of the plurality of the fluid supply channels (626).
Referring to claim 43, Curlett discloses the drill rod is capable of being for use in a pneumatic percussion drill string for mineral exploration. Note: A recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claim. In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974); In re Yanush, 477 F.2d 958, 177 USPQ 705 (CCPA 1973); In re Finsterwalder, 436 F.2d 1028, 168 USPQ 530 (CCPA 1971); In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1963); Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BdPatApp & Inter 1987).
Claim(s) 37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Costa 3077358 ( cited in office action filed 9/27/24).
Referring to claim 37, Costa discloses (see fig. 7) method of percussion drilling comprising transferring fluid from a first end of a drill rod to a second end of the drill rod via a plurality of fluid supply channels (55) and transferring returning fluid from the second end to the first end via a return channel (51), wherein the fluid flow to supply channels is separated into the supply channels via a first manifold (52) at the first end, and the fluid flow from supply channels is joined via a second manifold (52a) at the second end, and wherein the fluid flow in the supply channels (55) is uninterrupted between the first manifold and the second manifold, and wherein the fluid return channel (51) connects directly to fluid return channels of drill rods immediately above and below the body to fluidly isolate the fluid return channel.
Referring to claim 39, Costa discloses a drill rod (see fig. 6) comprising a first end, a second end, a plurality of fluid supply channels (55) and a return channel (51), wherein the first end comprises a first manifold ( 52) configured to separate fluid flow into the plurality of fluid supply channels, and wherein the second end comprises a second manifold (52a) configured to join the fluid flow from the plurality of supply channels, and wherein the fluid supply channels ( 55) are uninterrupted between the first manifold and the second manifold, and wherein the fluid return channel (51) is configured to connect directly to fluid return channels of drill rods immediately above and below the body to fluidly isolate the fluid return channel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21,23,25-32 and 35-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672