DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/017509 02/23/2022; PCT/US2022/ 017509 has PRO 63/152,442 02/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 08/23/23 and 04/27/26 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 and species (i) Acrylamide polymer: a cationic acrylamide copolymer, (ii) Cellulose ether: hydroxyethyl cellulose ether, (iii) Associative polymer: hydrophobically modified polyacetal-polyether polymer, and (iv) Additive: dispersant in the reply filed on 05/04/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 17-28 are directed not non-elected invention and claims 4-5, 10-11 are directed to non-elected species. Claims 14-5, 10-11, 17-28 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention/species. Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-16 are examined in this Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/278548. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention and copending claimed inventions are directed to a rheology modifier comprising acrylamide polymer and cellulose ether blend, wherein regarding instant claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, copending claim 1 discloses 0.05 to 70 wt% acrylamide polymer and 30 to 99.95 wt% cellulose ether, wherein copending claims 10-11 discloses cellulose ether is hydroxyetheyl cellulose, wherein copending claim 6 discloses the weight average molecular weight of the acrylamide polymer is in the range of about 0.05 to about 15 million, wherein the copensing claims 2-3 discloses acrylamide polymer is cationic.
Instant claims 7, 13-15 are same as copending claims 9, 16-18.
Regarding instant claim 12, copending claim 15 discloses the instant claimed amount s of acrylamide polymer and cellulose ether.
Regarding instant claim 16, since the composition requirement is made by the copending claims, such composition can be used for any future intended purpose, such as dry powder blend.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/278593. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention and copending claimed inventions are directed to a rheology modifier comprising acrylamide polymer and cellulose ether blend, wherein regarding instant claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, copending claim 1 discloses 0.05 to 70 wt% acrylamide polymer and 30 to 99.95 wt% cellulose ether, wherein copending claims 10-11 discloses cellulose ether is hydroxyetheyl cellulose, wherein copending claim 6 discloses the weight average molecular weight of the acrylamide polymer is in the range of about 0.05 to about 15 million, wherein the copensing claims 2-3 discloses acrylamide polymer is cationic.
Instant claims 7, 13-15 are same as copending claims 9, 16-18.
Regarding instant claim 12, copending claim 15 discloses the instant claimed amount s of acrylamide polymer and cellulose ether.
Regarding instant claim 16, since the composition requirement is made by the copending claims, such composition can be used for any future intended purpose, such as dry powder blend.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 does not properly limit the claim 1, for instance, claim 1 require greater than 6 million Daltons (lines 3). However, claim 6 require “from about 6 million Daltons” (line 2) ‘From about 6 million Daltons’ does not come under ‘greater than 6 million Daltons.’ Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargav (US 2015/0105500) in view of Pabalan (US 2015/0183979).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-9, Bhargav discloses a rheology modifier composition comprising a blend of hydroxyethyl cellulose (Natrosol 250HBR) in amount of 85 wt% or 90 wt% and cationic polyacrylamide such as Praestol 644BC in amount of 10 wt% or Praestol 655BC-K in amount of 15 wt% (para [0055], [0058], table 4, 8), fall into instant claim range of cellulose ether in amount of 30 wt% to 99.95 wt% and acrylamide polymer in amount of 0.05 wt% to 70 wt%. Bhargav fails to explicitly disclose the acrylamide polymer having a weight average molecular weight of greater than 6 million Daltons (regarding instant claim 1), from about 6 million Dalton to about 15 million Daltons (regarding instant claim 6), or from about 8 million Dalton to about 12 million Daltons (regarding instant claim 7).
However, Pabalan in the field of a composition for enhancing viscosity (para [0024]) teaches a blend containing cationic acrylamide polymer (vinyl amine/acrylamide copolymer) having a weight average molecular weight of 35,000 to 10 million Daltons (para [0024], [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the Bhargav to include cationic acrylamide polymer having a weight average molecular weight of 35,000 to 10 million Daltons, as taught by Pabalan. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Pabalan that to do so would retain the viscosity when subjected to shear, heat or high electrolyte (salt) concentration when suitably employed in applications requiring viscous liquids (Pabalan; para [0013], [0024], [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Bhargav discloses hydroxyethyl cellulose (Natrosol 250HBR) in amount of 85 wt% or 90 wt% and cationic polyacrylamide such as Praestol 644BC in amount of 10 wt% or Praestol 655BC-K in amount of 15 wt% (para [0055], [0058], table 4, 8), fall into instant claim range of cellulose ether in amount of 50 wt% to 99.95 wt% and acrylamide polymer in amount of 0.05 wt% to 50 wt%.
Regarding claim 15, Bhargav discloses a dispersant (para [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Bhargav discloses Hydroxy ethyl cellulose (Natrosol 250HBR) was mixed with a copolymer of acrylamide and APTAC (acrylamido propyl trimonium chloride) (Praestol 644BC) to form blends (read on dry powder blend; para [0055]). During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004). MPEP 2111.01.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargav in view of Pabalan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sau (US 5574127).
Bhargav includes the features of claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 13-14, Bhargav does not disclose the composition further comprises associative polymer is hydrophobically modified polyacetal-polyether polymer.
Sau in the field of associative thickeners that are water solube polymer compositions (abstract) teaches wherein the associative polymer is hydrophobically modified polyacetal-polyether polymer (abstract; column 3, lines 51-54, a backbone of poly(acetal- or ketal-polyether) with ends that are capped with hydrophobic groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the Bhargav to include wherein the associative polymer comprising hydrophobically modified polyacetal-polyether polymer, as taught by Sau. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Sau that to do so would increase and maintain viscosity at required levels under specified processing conditions and end use situations (Sau; abstract; column 1, lines 15-17).
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766