Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2006199882 to Kenji et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,121,354 to Chronister.
As to claims 1-2 and 6, Kenji discloses a heat curable two component adhesive comprising an isocyanate component and a curing component that contains a polybutadiene polyol, a polyether polyol, and suitable tackifier additives (0024-0032) wherein the content of polybutadiene polyol is 85% (150/175, Example B3, B6, B9) or 70% (120/170, Example B2, B5). Kenji discloses suitable additives including tackifiers, but does not teach the use of terpene resins (0049).
Chronister discloses the addition of polar tackifiers to two component polyurethane adhesives wherein the second component contains 7.5% or 7.8% of terpene resins including terpene resins, modified terpene resins, and terpene-phenolic resins (5:23-40, Examples 8-10)
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the terpene resins taught in Chronister to composition of Kenji to provide strong mechanical adhesion to the substrate by allowing the adhesive to properly adhere to substrates prior to and during the period the prepolymer is crosslinking and developing chemical bonds to the substrate (5::23-28).
As to claims 4-5, Hosokawa discloses uses of the adhesives wherein high water resistance is required, accordingly, electronic or electrical parts would be applicable to the adhesive composition of Hosokawa (0051).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2006199882 to Kenji et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,121,354 to Chronister that has been explained above and is applied here as such in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0248497 to Takei et al.
As to claim 3, Kenji discloses a heat curable two component adhesive comprising an isocyanate component and a curing component that contains a polybutadiene polyol, a polyether polyol, and suitable tackifier additives (0024-0032) wherein the content of polybutadiene polyol is 85% (150/175, Example B3, B6, B9) or 70% (120/170, Example B2, B5). Kenji discloses suitable additives including tackifiers, but does not teach the use of terpene resins (0049).
Kenji does not expressly disclose the addition of castor oil to the curing agent.
However, Takei discloses polyurethane resin compositions containing a curing agent that includes polybutadiene polyols in admixture with castor oil (Table 1).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add castor oil taught in Takei to the curing agent of Kenji because the combination provides increased compatibility with the polyisocyanate component, lowers the viscosity of the polyurethane resin and achieves excellent operability (0077).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763