DETAILED ACTION
Priority and Status of Claims
1. This application is a 371 of PCT/US22/17777 02/24/2022, which claims benefit of the provisional application: 63/153,645 02/25/2021.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1-6 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious
over Bal et al. CAS: 153: 221765, 2010; Eickhoff et al. US 2015/0018329; Mendlein et
WO 2018/195338; Rutledge et al. CAS: 161: 136817, 2014; ad Epstein et al. CAS:171: 122208, 2019.
Applicants claim a method for treating cerebrovascular or cardiovascular disease
in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering a compound
selected from the group consisting of: Ro 31-8220 mesylate; Alvocidib; AZD8055;
Saracatinib; and PF-562271 HCl, see claim 1. Dependent claims 2-6 further limit the
scope of methods, i.e., the compound is Saracatinib in claim 2, the compound is
Ro 31-8220 mesylate in claim 3, the compound is Alvocidib in claim 4, the compound
is AZD8055 in claim 5, and the compound is PF-562271 HCl in claim 6.
Applicants claim a method for reducing inflammation associated with
cardiovascular disease in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising
administering a compound selected from the group consisting of: Ro 31-8220 mesylate;
Alvocidib; AZD8055; Saracatinib; and PF-562271 HCl, see claim 10. Dependent
claims 11-15 further limit the scope of methods, i.e., the compound is Saracatinib in
claim 11, the compound is Ro 31-8220 mesylate in claim 12, the compound is
Alvocidib in claim 13, the compound is AZD8055 in claim 14, and the compound is PF-
562271 HCl in claim 15.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141
Rutledge et al. ‘817 disclose a compound saracatinib (i.e., RN: 379231-04-6) for
treating arrhythmia or myocardial infarction (i.e., cardiovascular disease).
Bal et al. ‘765 disclose a compound Ro 31-8220 (i.e., RN: 125314-64-9) for
treating hypertension.
Eickhoff et al. ‘329 discloses a compound Flavopiridol (i.e., Alvocidib) as a CDK7
inhibitor for inhibiting inflammation, see Table 7 in column 177.
Mendlein et al. ‘338 discloses a compound AZD8055 as a mTOR inhibitor for
inhibiting inflammation, see claims 12, 16 on pages 139-140.
Epstein et al. ‘208 discloses a compound PF-562271 HCl (i.e., RN: RN: 939791-
41-0) for treating scarring (i.e., inflammation).
Determination of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between instant claims and Rutledge et al. ‘817, Bal et al. ‘765, Eickhoff et al. ‘329, Mendlein et al. ‘338, and Epstein et al. ‘208 is that the instant claims are embraced within the scope of Rutledge et al. ‘817, Bal et al. ‘765, Eickhoff et al. ‘329, Mendlein et al. ‘338, and Epstein et al. ‘208. Rutledge et al. ‘817, Bal et al. ‘765, Eickhoff et al. ‘329, Mendlein et al. ‘338 and Epstein et al. ‘208 methods of use read on independent claims 1 and 10, and dependent claims 2-6 and 11-15.
Finding of prima facie obviousness-rational and motivation (MPEP §2142-2143)
One having ordinary skill in the art would find the claims 1-6 and 10-15 prima facie obvious because one would be motivated to employ methods of use of Rutledge et al. ‘817, Bal et al. ‘765, Eickhoff et al. ‘329, Mendlein et al. ‘338, and Epstein et al. ‘208 to obtain instant invention.
The motivation to make the claimed methods of use derived from the known methods of use of Rutledge et al. ‘817, Bal et al. ‘765, Eickhoff et al. ‘329, Mendlein et al. ‘338, and Epstein et al. ‘208 would possess similar activity to that which is claimed in the reference.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 7-9 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent on rejected claims 1 and 10.
Conclusion
/REI TSANG SHIAO/
Rei-tsang Shiao, Ph.D.Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
December 30, 2025