CTNF 18/278,532 CTNF 85942 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaji et al. (US 2015/0340693) . Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5 , Imaji teaches a carbonaceous material for nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery negative electrode comprising: a negative electrode including a negative composite layer containing a negative active material (para 0087) including a nonaqueous binder (para 0087); a positive electrode (para 0089); a nonaqueous electrolyte solution (para 0090); and the negative active material includes a non-graphitizable carbonaceous material (para 0046). The nonaqueous electrolyte solution may include diethyl carbonate, DEC (para 0090). Imaji further teaches the true density of the non-graphitizable carbonaceous material is 1.52 g/cm 3 (Working Example 1: Table 1), which results in 388 ≤ B ≤ 538.4; and the charge amount of B is 532 mAh/g (Working Example 1: Table 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select DEC from the list of nonaqueous solvents recited by Imaji. Regarding claim 2 , Imaji teaches the true density of the non-graphitizable carbonaceous material is 1.52 g/cm 3 (Working Example 1: Table 1), which results in 488 ≤ B ≤ 538.4; and the charge amount of B is 532 mAh/g (Working Example 1: Table 2). Regarding claim 3 , Imaji teaches the organic solvent may be one type (para 0090), which would result in the solvent concentration being 100% by volume. Regarding claim 6 , Imaji teaches lithium transition metal oxides, LiMO 2 (para 0089). Regarding claim 7 , Imaji further teaches a separator (para 00129). Imaji does not teach a wound electrode assembly and a prismatic case housing the electrode assembly; however, Official Notice is taken with respect to a wound electrode assembly and a prismatic case. Wound and stacked electrode assemblies are commonly known in the art as well as cylindrical, pouch, and prismatic case-type batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited shape viewed as design choice. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARLOS BARCENA whose telephone number is (571)270-5780. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8-5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tong Guo can be reached at (571)272-3066. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/278,532 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/278,532 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/278,532 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723